Close
#

Drinkwell 360™ Ceramic Fountain Pump

See Product Details

54 Customer Reviews

73 100 54
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
54 reviews
1 star
4
2 star
10
3 star
10
4 star
8
5 star
22

Add your Drinkwell 360™ Ceramic Fountain Pump review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
100/
100%
by
After trying a cheaper plastic pump with mixed results, I bought this pump about 4 years ago. While I have gone through numerous filters, the pump has continued to work well. I have used a toothpick to clean the chamber where the impeller fits, just to get the slime out of the little groove. The brush kit is great but even the little one is a tad too big for that impeller chamber. As for someone's complaint about the clips breaking: use a flat blade screwdriver to gently pop them off.

My babies will not drink out of a bowl any longer; my Maine Coon uses his left paw to stir the water even more (he likes the action of the water) and then scoop it up like a raccoon and my Calico just stands at the edge of the bowl with her mouth open under the running water! It's very entertaining just to watch them enjoy it so much!

PetSafe Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy to hear your pump has lasted so long. That is great!

We also enjoy hearing your babies are so happy with the fountain as well. It can be funny to see cats that like to play in the water stream.

Should we be able to assist you with anything in the future, please feel free to reach out to us at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I've had the Drinkwell 360 for my 4 pups for nearly 4 years now. Still running strong. This week the pump stopped working though. Apparently there is no exact replacement pump for this fountain. BUT, I heeded to some of the reviews and comments and went to YouTube for a video on cleaning the internal parts of the pump. Worked like a charm and was super easy to do! The fountain is running like new again.

Rating
100/
100%
by
After spending lots of money on various types of cheap fountains I finally splurged buying the stainless steel 360 and So Happy I did!!! I've had it now for over 2 yrs. Very easy to clean and my cats love it. The first pump lasted a little over a year and going on a year for with current pump. I will be ordering a backup pump today as my senior cat, whose health is failing due to kidney failure, refuses to drink from anything other then "his" water fountain. I can't say enough good things about this fountain, or the pumps (knock on wood). I picked up an extra off brand pump on sale assuming I could use it as a back up but it was not only LOUD but also the flow wasn't nearly as smooth or same pressure as the originals.

My only wish is there would be a smaller version of the 360 style. *Hint Hint

Thank you for a great product!

PetSafe Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, LuTine! We are so happy to hear the fountain is working well for your cat. We enjoy hearing of how our products make a difference with our customers and their pets. Your suggestion for a small version of the PetSafe Drinkwell 360™ has been forwarded to our design team for review and consideration. Should we be able to assist you in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-866-738-4379.


Rating
40/
40%
by
I am about to order my third pump and i do take the time to clean it as instructed with a brush. I would just stop using it if my cats didn't love it so much. I am not sure what can be done but it stops working within a few months and it is going to cost too much to keep replacing it.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

​Thanks for the review, Milena! We hate to hear that our pumps have not been lasting for you! This is certainly not a normal occurrence as our pumps should last much more than a few months. We recommend removing the faceplate, stator, and impeller at least once a month for cleaning, to keep everything in working order. We will reach out via email to collect some more information to see how we can help. Additionally, if you would like immediate assistance, please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
40/
40%
by
I love the fountain easy to clean and the stainless steel keeps the water cool. HOWEVER, I'm now ordering ordering my second replacement pump. They don't last long and takes time to receive it. I'm actually ordering two replacements so I don't have to wait for the replacement to arrive next time. It's starting to get too costly to keep this pump.

PetSafe Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Mary. We are sorry to hear you are having some trouble with your fountain pumps.

It is not typical for the need to replace the pumps so often. Should the pump cavity have become clogged the water will not flow as it may have in the past. To clean the pump cavity you will need to disassemble the fountain to remove the pump. On the pump you will need to remove the faceplate, the intake plate and the impeller. This will allow you to use a brush to clean the cavity. Before reassembling the pump, place a small drop of food safe oil such as veggie or canola oil on the bottom of the impeller blades for lubrication.

We have reached out to you directly so that we may gather some more detailed information to assist you with this issue.


Rating
60/
60%
by
We've had the ceramic fountain for about 8 months and our cats love it. Because we have multiples cats, I religiously take the pump apart every 3-4 days and clean the fountain exactly as directed. I also change the filters at the same time, but the pump has been running very slow for the past month. I tried the vegetable oil on the impeller and it didn't help at all.
I've been reading the reviews, and am leery of purchasing another pump as they seem to be just as bad.
How can you help me on this matter?

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are so glad to hear that your cats have enjoyed fresh water from the Drinkwell Ceramic Fountain, but we are sorry to hear that the pump is not flowing smoothly.

If you are cleaning the fountain regularly and pulling out the little white magnetic impeller, you are doing everything correctly! However, sometimes these filters can get a little packed down from sitting on the shelf in the store/warehouse.

Please remove the filter completely and leave it out for a few hours just for the sake of testing, the fountain should flow normally. With the filter removed rinse the filter thoroughly and knock it against a table or a counter to loosen the charcoal, soak it in a glass of water for a few minutes, and then place it back in the fountain and the issue should be corrected.

We will reach out to you privately as well for further support. We want to do everything we can to ensure that your cats are hydrated!

Rating
60/
60%
by
I wanted to share our experience with the pump. We really like the fountain itself but the pump stopped working very quickly. We followed the suggestions above re taking apart the pump (outside cover piece, then the piece over the impeller and removed the impeller too), and flushing/cleaning of the parts and the overall pump. We then sprayed a small amount of (organic) food-safe canola oil cooking spray on the impeller. We put pump back together and it worked! The water flows even stronger than it did right out of the box, likely did to the small amt of canola oil on the impeller. Hopefully we won't have to repeat this too often but happy it worked this time. Thank you to above commenters for the suggestions that helped us get ours functioning again.

Rating
40/
40%
Mixed7/11/17
by
I love that my pets (3) can have fresh water constantly but the pump plugs up CONSTANTLY!!! It's very frustrating and expensive.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We can understand how it would be terribly frustrating to have a fountain pump that clogs frequently, Robin! Some customers are not aware that the pump comes apart for cleaning. Please be sure to take the pump apart as shown in the video at the below web address:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NES1Hw5Lu

This should make a big difference! If you continue to have trouble, please know that these fountains carry a 1 year warranty and we want to do anything we can to create a better experience for you and your fur babies. We will reach out to you privately for support!


Rating
80/
80%
by
I bought the stainless steel 360 about 2 years ago for my two cats. They use this fountain often. When they were kittens, one of them would make a mess as she liked to play in the water, but she seems to have out grown this issue. After 2 years I just cleaned the pump for the first time after it stopped working. Thank you for the detailed directions on how to do so. I'm happy to say it is working again! I do clean out the bowl and filter area about every 2-3 weeks, replacing the filter as I do so and giving the pump a rinse. This product would get 5 stars if there was a less expensive filter alternative. I did take advantage of ordering the filters in bulk, which is a good cost savings.
Note on the stainless steel - if you get mineral deposits due to your water source, I've found these clean up easier if soaked in a vinegar and water solution for about 10 minutes. I always eyeball the amount of vinegar, but would guess its about a 10:1 ratio of water to vinegar. Then I use a kitchen scraper to scrape off the deposits.
Note on cleaning the pump - after doing so I put mine in a clear pitcher of water to test it out. It not only worked, but spit out some more gunk that I missed or couldn't get to. So I did that about 3 times, changing the water each time until the pump was running clean.

Rating
100/
100%
by
We have had our fountain for about 1.5 years and the pump stopped working after a cleaning yesterday. A little bit of food quality oil on the sides of the impeller chamber, pin and impeller shaft did the trick (found this information from factory reply's to a similar problem). Happy cat.

Rating
20/
20%
by
I am on my third about to be my fourth pump for this fountain in about a year and a half. The last one only lasted two months and has quit working already! I wrote the date on the tag when I bought it and first plugged it in 4-29-2017 and it has stopped working. My cats love this fountain but I am at my wits end. I clean the fountain religiously I take everything apart and clean it well about every 4 days. I like my cats to have clean fresh water so don't tell me it needs to be cleaned! I don't understand what is happening with these pumps but i'm getting really p.o.'d!!!!

PetSafe Response:

Thank you for takin the time to share your review, Vicky. We are truly sorry to hear you have been experiencing these issues with your Drinkwell 360™ Ceramic Fountain Pumps; we can understand how frustrating this can be.

It is possible that lubrication of the impeller in the pump will help with this issue. To lubricate this part, you will need to disassemble the fountain to remove the pump. On the pump you will need to remove the faceplate, the intake plate and the impeller. You will then just want to brush out the impeller cavity while it is open. Before reassembling the pump, place a small drop of food safe oil such as veggie or canola oil on the bottom of the impeller blades for lubrication.

If this does not resolve the issue, please reach out to our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for troubleshooting and warranty help.


Rating
100/
100%
by
I bought the Drinkwell 360 almost 3 years ago...and just this week the pump finally got tired and stopped working! I have one of the smaller ceramic fountains for my kitties which I bought two years ago and continues to work with no problems. I know my dogs and kitties love the fountain because while waiting for the new fountain to arrive they barely drank the "still" bowl of water! I am going to buy the little pump for the 360 and put it in another room for the crowd....they love the products and I don't want to use any other brand of fountain. This is my fourth Drinkwell I've owned and never do I have problems. I clean the pumps, bowls, and cone religiously so the hair does not stop up the flow of water. Thank you for making such a reliable, sensible, and smart looking pet fountain. I love my barkers and meowers so I'll only get the best for them -- always!!

Rating
20/
20%
by
. . and religiously cause I've kept track. On my 3rd pump. And out of nowhere too. This morning it was working fine. I go to clean the pagoda and its filter casing (leaving the filter aside, of course), I assemble the fountain back together, add the water as always, plug the pump in, and nothing. This is how PetSafe gets the consumer.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We are terribly sorry to hear that you have not had good luck with the pumps! The fountain does carry a 1 year warranty, and we have some tips that are likely to improve your overall experience with the fountain.

When the pump is taken completely apart and the magnetic impeller is removed, please ensure that the internal cavity is scrubbed out and a drop of vegetable oil or olive oil is placed on the pin in the pump to lubricate. Please also remove the filters completely and see if that makes a difference. Sometimes the little cell filters can get packed down and they just need to be rinsed and knocked against the counter a bit.

We will also reach out to you privately because we want to help, but we can be reached at 1-800-732-2677 for product support.

Rating
60/
60%
by
I love this fountain and have had it for years and the pump finally gave out. But the new replacement pump works about as well as the old one on its last legs. Barely a trickle. I tried the maintenance suggested, including drop of oil at the bottom of the impeller, and it's just not working well. I don't even hear the water trickling and it just has a limp stream. This is after two weeks. Plus the motor seems to be a little loud, but maybe because there's no sound of water. I will be calling about the warranty, but based on the reviews below, it looks like there are some quality issues with this pump. Hoping my next experience is better.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to review the Drinkwell 360™ Fountain Pump. We are sorry to hear that you are having with your pump, but we are happy to help! Feel free to give us a call at 1-800-732-2677, but we will also reach out to you privately for assistance.

Rating
100/
100%
by
The pump that came with the Avalon water fountain I purchased about 2 years ago finally stopped working. I purchased two new pumps from PetSafe a couple of weeks ago, and installed one last night. After putting the fountain back together and filing it up, I connected the AC adapter and pump cord and - it didn't work!!! I lifted the cone-shaped part of the fountain off and discovered that the pump was barely moving the water. Since it was late, I went to bed and promised my three kitties that I would fix everything today. They said, "Yeah, right, Mom."

This morning I looked on my receipt and found a customer service number I could call. Only 3 clicks to the call center, and I was connected to a very pleasant woman in two to three minutes. She looked up my order, and proceeded to walk me through a troubleshooting process that fixed the problem entirely!

When a pump is new, you should disassemble it, remove the impeller, rinse it thoroughly, use a cotton swab to wipe the inside of the impeller chamber, then add a drop of cooking oil to the impeller shaft. Once you've done that, put the pump back together, put it in the fountain, and connect it.

It worked! I was so thrilled!

Thank you PetSafe for a great product and an *outstanding* customer service experience.

You have a loyal customer for life :-)

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, Mary! We're so glad to hear that we were able to get your pump working quickly. We've passed your kind words along so that the associate you spoke with and her manager know how much she is appreciated. Thanks again!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I purchased the Pagoda foundation for a kitty diagnosed with kidney problems three years ago. It was just what she needed to encourage her to drink more water. She just loves it. To this day it is still running with all original parts. I clean it every week faithfully and replace both filters every two weeks; I use the recommended cleaning brushes and run it with spring water only. To me, it is worth all the effort because it has helped my kitty!

Rating
80/
80%
by
... when I went to do the vinegar soak to clean the little pump, it ate away at the rubber suction cups. No idea why. The pump still works fine, but will no longer stay attached to the ceramic base. I'd hate to toss the whole pump if there is any way to fix it, since the motor works fine. Don't suppose I could get some replacement suction cups, eh Petsafe?



​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're sorry to hear about the issue you've run into with the suction cups on your fountain pump, Gigi! Please keep in mind that vinegar is technically an acid, which is why we recommend always using a solution of vinegar and water (the ratio of water:vinegar should be around 1:1) and only soaking the parts in this solution for a couple of hours. That being said, we'd be more than happy to help out with this. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379 for assistance.

Rating
100/
100%
by
... i have been the 'jerk'. I have had three of these pumps and two fountains. The Stainless 360 was great, but too big. I love the current Pagoda fountain; it is just the right size for my two boys (cats), one of whom loves to play in it and get his head wet from it. Given that the current pump 'died', i bought / tried two others that alluded to being able to work with the fountain, but in reality, i had to make modifications and compromises. I avoided this pump because they seem to 'die' quickly on me (less than a year). I have hard water and do regularly clean the pump with vinegar, so i did not need to see the video. Or so i thought. In frustration, today i watched the provided video at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NES1Hw5LuY . Well, it has been me who has not been cleaning completely - i have not been removing the impeller and it, of course, was loaded with lime deposit. All i can say is now we back in business as it should be and fountain life is once again good! Thank you!

Rating
80/
80%
by
You will not be getting the "straw" for your pump and you will not be getting the white rubber stopper that goes on the wire to seal water from the rim of the dish. You must use the straw that came with your original purchase. To use your stopper, you must cut it on one side and mount it to the wire. You get exactly what you paid for, the pump and the adapter.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to review the Drinkwell 360™ & Ceramic Fountain Pump. This pump includes all that is in the image, and no other accessories as it is compatible with a variety of fountains. The rubber stopper is an added feature, and is not necessary for function. If you are in need of additional accessories, it is likely that they are separately available. Please give us a call if you need any additional assistance at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I thought that I needed to replace my fountain. was looking online and realized I could replace the pump. Then I read some of these reviews and realized you need to clean it. I watch a youtube video and it is so easy to clean I had 8 mo of grime that had gummed up the magnet impeller I was amazed at how dirty it was and felt bad that my babies had been drinking contaminated water. Once cleaned it worked like a charm. I only wish that it was included in instructions of use. I have one cat that absolutely won't drink out of a bowl but loves the fountain.

Rating
80/
80%
Thanks!10/27/16
by
I thought I was going to need a new pump, but I thought I'd read reviews first. The first review was a complaint about a second pump in just a few months. Petsafe left a response with a video about cleaning the pump and I'm back in business without purchasing a new pump.
I'd give the product five stars, but I can't use the pagoda part of the fountain because one of my cats constantly knocks it over. He knocks over the pump too, but as long as the water level is high it still pumps and filters so I'm happy.
Thanks for the info Petsafe.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

You are welcome, Tara! We are so glad to hear that this fountain and pump have worked well for you, and that the cleaning instructions helped. We are sorry to hear that your cat knocks the tower over. That must be frustrating! If you have any questions please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
60/
60%
by
I am getting ready to ordermatologist my 2nd motor replacement since last November for this thing. Motors do not seem to last very long. Why don't you make it out of steel instead of cheap plastic. Also why not add something like a small coffee filter for it to sit in, inside of the white foam part for extrash filtering. I have 3 cats and one of them has thick spit. He is the one that slowly causes the motor to slow down. Am constantly having to replace charcoal and spongy filters plus clean the pump. It is a lot of work. There has to be a better design. Maybe look at some Aquarian tank filters for ideas. Sincerely louann shepherd

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience with the fountain pump, Louann. We are sorry to hear that you have to replace your pump so frequently, and can understand how this would be frustrating. Please ensure that the pump is being taken apart completely as shown in the video below:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NES1Hw5LuY

Soaking the fountain in a 50/50 mix of hot water and vinegar can make a huge difference in breaking down the Bio-film created from your cat's saliva.

Metal pumps would be extremely expensive to manufacture which would make the cost of the fountain too high for most customers. Our fountain pumps are designed similarly to aquarium pumps, which are mostly composed of plastic.

With proper cleaning and maintenance these plastic pumps will last years.

We appreciate any and all feedback! Please know that your feedback has been passed along to the development teams for review. If you have any further questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379 so that we can find a way to create a better experience for you and your kitties!

Rating
40/
40%
by
I bought this replacement pump for my Drinkwell 360 that I've had for several years. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to pump with enough pressure to actually get the water flowing well I thought maybe I was doing something wrong, but it seems to have gotten worse. When I first bought it, the water was flowing out the spouts but just enough to pour down the stainless steel cone tower. It wasn't what the cats are used to but they worked around it. I have one cat who prefers to drink from the flowing water and he wasn't too pleased. However, over time (only a few months), the water flow has gotten worse. This morning, after cleaning the fountain and taking apart the pump, as usual, there is now no water coming through the spouts. I hear the water circulating, but nothing is coming out. Disappointed


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're terribly sorry that the replacement pump you purchased is already not working correctly, Annette! Please ensure that when you have disassembled the pump for cleaning, that you are removing the impeller piece and scrubbing or wiping out the cavity where the impeller sat previously. If you try to remove the impeller and it feels as though you may break it, don't worry as this is simply a magnet on the other end of it which may give a little bit of resistance.

However, if you've attempted all the recommended cleaning steps and this is still an issue, please be aware that the pump carries a one-year warranty. If this is the case, please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​ and we'll be more than happy to assist you.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I have 5 cats and they all love it! Yes. There is quite a bit of cleaning and maintenance. BUT! This is a electric motor pump submerged in pet drinking water 24 hours a day! I've gotten behind on cleaning and replacing the filters several times and the pump stopped working. But I followed manufacturer directions and gotten it flowing EVERY time. Until just today after 4 years it finally quit. I'm impressed! And the replacement motor is only $15! Highly recommend.

Rating
80/
80%
by
I left a frustrated review about the pump breaking all the time in my cat water fountain. But after talking with Customer Service I have to amend my review. They took care of my issue with one phone call, selling me the necessary replacement parts (the pump itself) at a 50% discount. There was no hassle, they were polite and pleasant on the phone, and took care of everything immediately. Thanks!

Rating
40/
40%
by
My cats love the fountain, but the pump is a constant aggravation. It locks up almost like clockwork every few days requiring emptying the water and taking the whole pump apart to try to free it up. It is bad enough that the thing requires maintenance every few days, but worse, the thing does;t come apart easily. First it is darn hard to take off the front plastic cover and one is always worried it will break. Then the big problem is the magnetic pump propeller; the magnet is so strong the propeller will not come out without prying it loose with pliers. In the process I have broken the little plastic propeller blades twice and had to purchase replacement pumps. I would keep shopping elsewhere were I looking again to purchase a kitty water fountain.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We can understand how regular maintenance of a fountain may be time consuming, and we are sorry to hear that you have had so much trouble with the components. We would be happy to hear from you and discuss some methods that will make taking the fountain apart easier on you, and we appreciate your feedback! For further assistance, we can be reached at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
40/
40%
by
We have had our fountain for about 6 months and the pump went out. If my fish pumps worked like this, I would be major PP'd!!!!! I have a 55 gallon tank and I have never seen a pump as crappy as this one!

BEWARE!!!!!!!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your concerns, Kelly! We are sorry to hear that your pump is giving you trouble, but we can certainly help out. Please ensure that the pump is being taken completely apart as shown in the manual. Remove the magnetic impeller and scrub out the pump as pet hair and saliva can build up and clog things a bit. We will be contacting you privately to find a solution and a way to help out.

Rating
40/
40%
by
I have had the Avalon fountain for a couple of years, and I am having to replace the pump for the second time. This time, after a cleaning, I plugged it back up after filling with water and the pump did not work. I have cleaned the fountain and pump weekly, as per instructions, since I bought it. The pump was taken apart and scrubbed with Dawn soap and a brush each time. It is definitely a faulty pump! My filters were also changed every two weeks. It is only used by one cat. I have had several other fountains over the years and never had to replace a pump. I am happy with the fountain, but I am VERY unhappy with the pump.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are sorry to hear that the pump in your Drinkwell 360™ Fountain has given you trouble, Phyllis! You may find it helpful to know that putting a drop of vegetable oil or olive oil on the pin inside the pump lubricates it and can help with longevity. If you are in need of further assistance please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379 so that we can help!

Rating
60/
60%
by
I purchased the 360° Stainless fountain for multi pets in November, 2015, for my one English Bulldog. Bulldogs have lots of slobber & goo so I expected to have to clean it more frequently than I was told I'd need to. I clean it weekly, faithfully following the instructions from the video. It still slows down a couple of days after I clean. I also scoop out his goo after EACH time he drinks & use ONLY bottled water I purchase at the store. It's a huge investment in time & money,especially given how often I must clean & change the filter & pre-filter. Still, I could live with that, except I'm on here to purchase a new pump because it will no longer suction to the base. I've been having problems for several months...about 3 months now. It just won't suction at all anymore and I'm really rather upset about it. For the price of the fountain PLUS the ongoing expense I just should NOT have to replace a pump for such a ridiculous reason! I'm so disappointed, but I'm doing it as my bulldog loves his fountain and I love him.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're glad to hear that your dog enjoys the fountain so much, Risa! However, we're sorry that the suction cups on the bottom of the pump have stopped working as they should. This is not a common issue that we run into and we'd be more than happy to get this taken care of for you. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I saw the Pagoda fountain on sale at PetSmart when I was getting ready to welcome my new kittens . I loved the clean look, so I bought it. My boys used it from the start. Two years later it's still going strong. I like the fact that they are drinking plenty of fresh water which is so important to a cat's health. This is a great product and I highly recommend it.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I was very pleased to see this pump here. It was just what I needed and at a decent price too. It also came very quickly in the mail.

Rating
80/
80%
by
My cats have had this fountain for two years now. They refuse to drink out of anything else. Due to the high calcium content in our water, I have to replace the pump every 6-9 months even with regular cleaning and vinegar solution cleaning. Didn't know about the need to use oil every so often. That might give me a little more time before replacement. In theory, I should use filtered or distilled water, but it's cheaper to replace the pump twice a year than purchase water for refilling every 3 days. Part of the pump problem is the shedding from one of my cats. Her fur is very fine and long, and gets in everything including the pump even though we use the pre-filter. There's only so much wear and tear this little pump can handle before expiring. The pump is also very quiet until it hits the refill level. Considering the nominal cost of the replacement pump, I'm satisfied with the product.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I bought this Pagoda white 2yrs ago, I loved it so much I bought my now ex-boyfriend one for his kitties. About 16 months into the life of the fountain the pump starting losing pressure. My sister completely disassembled the pump... and it worked for about a month, I have cleaned the pump off an on and it continued to decrease. However now... with a very annoying hurting pump noise so ... I was finally thinking to purchase a new pump until I read the previous comment from a lady pretty much with the same issue. SO ... I watched the How-to cleaning the pump video and read the comment response about adding Veg oil to the pin hole of the little propeller... I didn't see how that could work but... IT DID... the pump is clean and QUIET... I'm totally impressed and content... Lesson learn, don't throw away the products manuals before glancing at maintenance. Never thought about needing to clean it... well, I am now holding off from getting a new pump now that mine is smooth running and all I hear is the pleasant water falling. Thank you so much for this. I hope this review helps someone.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I've had my pagoda 2 tier fountain for about 2 years, I'm one of those people who would put away the manuals without reading. So, in 15 months I had never cleaned the pump. Then the pressure begun to drop and my oh very wise sister pull the thing apart and cleaned years of gunk. The pump was okay for about a month and went back to the same. I cleaned a couple of times since but it would last 3 weeks down to lately less than a week. Just as I was going to purchase a new pump I came to your site and saw the "how t pull apart video" then i did just that, the pump worked but it has been noisy and I ran into this post and response about putting veg oil inside the pin area of the little propeller ... MAGIC!!!! my pump is happy, nice and quiet and all I hear is the beautiful full water flow. Thank you so much. I will hold out on getting a new pump and will continue to maintain the care of my fountain weekly and the pump bi-weekly as per the advice given.

Thank you so much

Rating
100/
100%
by
Ive had my oringal pump for 2yrs. It started going bad so I looked up how to fix it and WAHLAH! The pump comes apart in three pieces so you can clean out the goonk. This is what I've been doing for two yrs. I probably opened/cleaned it out like 6times in two yrs. But you got to find the small line/groove to place a butter knife or smaller in it to pry it open. But anyhoo...my pump finally went back so now I have to buy another one. I'm just glad it cheap. Hope my new one works for the next 2 yrs.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, T.! We are glad to hear that you are happy with your fountain. You may find it helpful to know that the pumps need to be cleaned every 2 weeks in order to keep it running for years to come. Please also know that putting a drop of veggie oil down inside the pump on the pin that holds the impeller can also keep it running smoother and longer. If you have any questions or need help with anything please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
40/
40%
by
I got the pagoda fountain last summer for my cats and they loved it until recently when the pump is no longer fully working. The pump has been cleaned regularly when the filters have been replaced. The water flow is almost completely gone, for a while it would speed back up once I cleaned it but by the next day the flow was again reduced to a trickle. Very disappointing.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Katie! You may find it helpful to know that sometimes the carbon and coconut shells in these filters get a little bit packed down while in storage. Please remove the filter from the fountain and see if the flow improves. If this is the case, please rinse the filter thoroughly, maybe knock it against the kitchen counter a bit to loosen it up. This should make a huge difference. Also, lubricating the magnetic end of the impeller inside your pump with a smudge of vegetable oil or olive oil can improve the flow. This fountain carries a 1 year warranty and we are here to help! If you continue to have difficulty or have any further questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-800-732-0144.

Rating
60/
60%
by
The drinkwell 360 is great for multiple dogs, my wife and i are dog fosters so we may have up to 9 dogs at a time , every now and then more. keeps water fresh and clean for several days, but every time i take it apart to clean it the cover gets weaker and weaker. i don`t really need the whole new pump as i do regular routine maintenance to it as per instructions at least every 14 days if not more often. The cover that the pump is behind is very thin soft PLASTIC , and every time it gets a little more cracking. After trying several repairs it`s just to thin and cheap , it is totally cracked in half now. Yes the pump still works great. I would like to purchase the .15 cent piece of plastic or if they made a better one i`d even pay a couple of bucks or so, however i have to buy the WHOLE PUMP THAT I DO NOT REALLY NEED. Now ill have 2 working pumps and probably in six more months have to buy another.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Don! We are sorry to hear that you have had trouble with the face-plates for your fountain pump, and would like to help out. Please give us a call at your earliest convenience so that we can come up with a more permanent solution for you, as this is highly unusual. Our Customer Care Center phone number is

Rating
100/
100%
by
I really like the fountain a lot its easy to clean, My two Chocolate Point Siamese cats love drinking from it and it helps me to keep them off my counters cause they like the sound of trickling water!

Rating
60/
60%
by
The end cap with the grill is easily broken when removed to clean the impeller, otherwise the pumps are quite and work fine. Wish I could buy just that part rather then having to buy an entire pump assembly just for the cap.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Mike. Your comments and concerns will be passed along to the appropriate parties. If you need help with troubleshooting tips please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I love the fountain that I purchased for my cats! Just have to be good about keeping the filters replaced and the pump cleaned.

Rating
100/
100%
by
So, I had similar probs. with my fountain.... UNTIL I read that I had to clean the pump! Super easy! YouTube it! Took 2 minutes and my filter runs like new!!


Rating
40/
40%
by
The pump stopped working after 1 year. Need to replace. I guess with the pump on all the time it can not handle the workload. The fountain is great just need the pump to keep going.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thanks for sharing your experience with us, Thomas! We're sorry to hear your pump has stopped working. There is no set lifespan for the pumps, but we do have some information to help keep your pump working as long as possible! If you weren't aware, your pump comes apart for cleaning. Even with using the filters, it's possible for hair or other debris to find its way into the pump and wrap around the part which turns and draws in the water. On average, we recommend cleaning the fountains about once a week and taking apart and cleaning the pump every 2 weeks. You can view a short video showing how to do this by copying and pasting the link below into your browser:

https://youtu.be/3NES1Hw5LuY

When you have the pump apart, clean the pieces individually with a a small brush such as one from the Drinkwell Fountain Cleaning Kit (item CKPH). On occasion, you may want to soak the pieces in a 50/50 mix of hot water and white vinegar to help remove any mineral or saliva build up. It may not be visible, but this type of build up can impact the function of a pump. You can also dab a small amount of an edible oil, such as olive oil, to the magnetic end of the impeller. This will lubricate it and help the impeller move freely in the pump. If you continue to have any problems with your pump, please feel free to give PetSafe Customer Care a call at 1-866-738-4379​. We are happy to help in any way possible! Our hours are are Monday through Friday 8:00 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. Eastern and Saturdays 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Eastern.

Rating
60/
60%
by
I have the Drinkwell 360 and I bought it about a year ago, and now have to replace the pump. I clean it regularly and have noticed that the water flow in the last 3 months has continually declined, to where it dribbles out of the fountain head.

I honestly thought I was buying a quality product and having to replace the pump after a year is not what I expected at all.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize for the issues you've had with your fountain, Joy! Please ensure that, when you are cleaning the fountain, you are fully disassembling the pump (including removing the impeller) and cleaning it out. Even if the pump looks clean when you take it apart, many times saliva or mineral buildup, which is invisible to the naked eye, is what is clogging up the pump and must be scrubbed or brushed out rather than simply rinsed. This very commonly leads people to assume that the pump is clean when in reality it is still clogged.

Please copy and paste the link below to view a video of this process:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NES1Hw5LuY

If the above steps do not solve the issue, please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​ and we would be happy to assist you. We are available from 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
20/
20%
by
I bought the fountain in August 2014. It is September 2015 and I need another one. I have used only distilled water and have cleaned it in accordance with the directions weekly (yes, I read and followed all the instructions in the manual, watched the Youtube and read what the customer service emailed me). The longest it has gone without cleaning was 10 days when my house-sitter did not clean it out. This pump should be more reliable than that! Unfortunately my cats love the water coming from the fountain so I am rely in a dilemma.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We're sorry to hear you've had such difficulties with the pump for your fountain, Mary Lou! If disassembling and cleaning the individual pieces of the pump hasn't resolved the issue you are experiencing, please give our Customer Care Center a call at 1-800-732-2677 and we will be happy to see how we can help. Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. Eastern and Saturdays from 9:00 to 5:00 Eastern.

Rating
80/
80%
by
I have the stainless steel model. The cats love it. This is the second pump that I have replaced in the last 6 years. Very easy to replace. As long as I can replace the pumps I will never need another water fountain.

Rating
100/
100%
Works GREAT! 8/17/15
by
Bought the pump and loved it! works perfect!

Rating
60/
60%
by
I have had the Avalon fountain for less than 3 weeks and have cleaned it according to the manual that came with it and it is barely pumping the water up through the spout. When I first set it up you could hear the water splashing in the bowl but now it is a little more than a trickle! But my cats love it!


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for your feedback, Bonnie! Sorry to hear that your fountain is not pumping water as freely as it was before! Please ensure that you are disassembling the pump and scrubbing the impeller, as sometimes mineral and saliva build-up, which can be invisible to the naked eye, is what is clogging the pump. If you have cleaned it in this way and are still getting low water pressure on the pump, please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​ and we'd be glad to help out! We can be reached between 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
60/
60%
by
I have had to replace this motor twice in less than a year. I don't know what the problem is. I replace filters and clean it every month. Having to pay $20 every few months is ridiculous. I have had a plant fountain in my window that I have never had replace the motor for in its 5 years. I may just change to that motor to avoid this poorly made product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback Anna! I apologize that this pump has not met your needs and expectations, I hope I can help. The key to long life for these pumps is to clean them bi-weekly with hot water and vinegar, be sure that you are taking the pump apart completely according to the manual and pulling out the little white impeller. While this is out, scrub the inside of the pump with the 50/50 mix of hot water and white vinegar, then take a smudge of vegetable oil or olive oil (something safe and consumable) and put it around the magnetic end of the impeller to lubricate the fountain. These tips can make a huge difference! The fountain overall has a 1 year warranty from date of purchase. When the pump is sold separately it has a 90 day warranty. If you need further assistance, please call our Customer Care Center directly at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
40/
40%
by
Beautiful fountain, and very quiet... However, spending nearly 20$ every four to five months is ridiculous. This will be my first replacement pump, so I will see how long it lasts, but I am replacing one I bought new out of Petsmart. I kept it very clean and it never ran low of water, but one day it simply stopped. No strange sounds or low power, no warning. Unfortunately forme, it stopped working just a couple weeks outside of the 90 day warranty. Not happy.

PetSafe Response:

I apologize for the trouble you are having with your fountain pump. When cleaning any of our fountains it is absolutely vital to take the pump apart, pull out the impeller, and clean thoroughly. I would suggest using a 50/50 mix of hot water and white vinegar rather than dish soap. Another tip to keep your pump running for longer is to lubricate the magnetic end of the impeller with a smudge of vegetable oil or olive oil. This can make a huge difference, I hope this is helpful! If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us for assistance at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
100/
100%
Great product4/20/14
by
It is working very well on my 360 stainless steel Drinkwell. It pumps just as good as the original.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I have had a Drinkwell 360 plastic fountain for over 5 years now. I have replaced the pump twice during that time, but I feel these pumps work just fine for their use. Please keep in mind, I have several cats, and this fountain is in a barn so it is exposed to much more elements of dirt than if you would have it located inside your home. Since I have started using a pre-filter that I learned about on PetSafe's site, the pump is much cleaner and continues to have a strong output of water flow. I would definitely recommend using the pre-filter. The pre-filter catches most of the dirt and hair that get into the fountain, thus extending the life of the pump.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Previously, I had searched high and low for a Drinkwell 360 replacement pump because of the unflattering reviews I read earlier. To my surprise, customer support at Dr. Sterns and Foster recommended I contact the manufacturer despite the negative reviews.

The Radio Systems customer support representative was extremely courteous and helpful.
The replacement pump is even better than the original! It appears as if the pump manufacturer and Radio Systems heard what customers had to say!



Rating
80/
80%
by
I have the 360 Platinum and I was hesitant to buy this replacement pump after seeing the other review but I couldn't find another anywhere. I took the old one apart and cleaned it, it started working again but my foster kittens stole the end piece and it spins apart without that. The new pump came and I am finally able to get 3 streams of water. With the original pump there was never enough power to get a stream to come out of more than 2 spouts. Definitely glad I got this replacement pump.

Rating
20/
20%
by
Piece of junk, it doesn’t fit Drinkwell steel 360 fountain. Made in China of course.
This is not worth the plastic that it’s made of. If I had wanted to duct tape up my Drinkwell 360 fountain, I would not have spent the money to buy it or get it shipped in 2 days. Total waste of money.
I will never ever buy another Drinkwell product again. I am spreading the word to all to stay away from Drinkwell products.