Close
#

YardMax® Rechargeable In-Ground Fence™

Reviews

78% 100% 8
Overall
%
(8)
#
Ratings Breakdown
8 reviews
5 star
3
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: YardMax® Rechargeable In-Ground Fence™
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
80%/
80%
I am happy with this device., 10/25/14
by
It needs a stronger collar for big dogs like the stubborn dog collar and better tips for long hair dogs, I do like extra space it gives my dog to run around.

Rating
100%/
100%
Saved our dogs., 9/11/14
by
This fence saved our dogs from certain harm. We have 2 large dogs under 1 year old that are one of the more stubborn breeds with a high tolerance for stimulation (apparently). We tried another brand's wireless fence to avoid the trouble of burying wire. Even set at highest correction with repeated training, plus I trimmed neck hair and made certain probes were in contact with skin. At first, they would give it careful consideration, soon they were completely disregarding it. Our neighbor was intolerant of the dogs coming on his property and was threatening to shoot them. I did not want to leave the dogs tied up all the time, and our property would be very costly to fence. So we decided to try the YardMax. We had heard that in ground would work better than the wireless. We set it up without burying the wire, on about 3 acres. I had 30 days to return it if it didn't work so didn't initially go through the trouble of burying the wire. My dogs had already had repeated training to the flags, so I just did a quick reminder session and later let them loose. Both crossed and pretty immediately came back. One was whimpering, the other stood there a couple seconds getting the stimulation and when I called him, he came back also whimpering a little. Both were set at level 5 out of 6. They stayed in bounds the rest of the day. The next day I put the collars on and set them loose, I was not out supervising and they disappeared for about 2 hours. I was disappointed. I turned up the stimulation to the highest, 6. Since that day, the female has never left the bounds. The male whom is bigger and more stubborn, left a couple more times. He now stays in the boundary, even when another dog or squirrel tempts him. He just figured out it wasn't worth it, I guess. The YardMax has been a lifesaver for my dogs, and eases my mind! Completely worth every cent, in our opinion, and would get it again in a heartbeat.

Rating
100%/
100%
Outstanding Product (Trianing is the Key), 4/21/14
by
First off this product does exactly everything they advertise. If you have problems, you simply did not train your dogs properly, or you got a faulty unit (it happens, get over it) and need to contact PetSafe to get it remedied.
This product makes your training corrections consistent.
I have 2 extremely hyper retrievers one is very large and will ignore e-collar corrections occasionally but he does not ignore corrections from the YardMax. I spent 6 weeks training and working with the dogs every day and they WILL NOT cross the line not even for food that is just over the boundary. Not to chase cats, squirrels, UPS, other dogs. They will not come any closer than 4 feet from the boundary.
Good Training is the Key.

Rating
80%/
80%
So Far... So Good!..., 4/12/14
by
This is my third invisible fence. The first two were Innotek with rechargeable collars. The systems worked fine but the collars were short lived and expensive. I decided to try this PetSafe unit with the rechargeable collar. So far so good.
This system worked just like my previous systems and the collar is holding a charge above my expectations. The Innotek collars were easier to recharge by leaving them on the transmitter box or with the wall plug hanger. The PetSafe collar requires you to manually plug them in with the supplied charger and cable. Not a big deal really.
The controls are easy to use on the transmitter but setting the stimulation level on the collar is a pain. You need to wait for the flashing lights on the collar and then press the button on the collar to set the level. I am sure my timing is off but it takes me several tries to change the stim level. A nice feature is the contact tone that lets you know if the collar is making contact with your dog when you turn the collar on and put it on within 30 seconds. The higher end Innotek collar did the same thing but only after you took the collar off of the charger and immediately put it on the dog. The PetSafe system allows you to turn the collar off and back on to use this feature. We'll see how long the collar lasts. I love the quick release on the collar. My first Innotek collar had this and it is great for taking the it off as soon as your dog enters the house or car.

I am pleased with this system so far.

Rating
100%/
100%
2 months in, working great, 4/7/14
by
We have 3 dogs: pug + boston terrier + husky. The boston enjoyed running down our quite street when a vehicle passed by... He is exceptionally fast. Within the first week they all learned the yard limits and have not attempted to leave our 1.7 acres. I have removed their collars a few times, and still not have had any issues. Our neighbor installed the same system for their 2 labradoodles. They also are very satisfied with their YardMax.
I would suggest this system to anyone who wants to keep their pups in their yards, and also keep the yard open. Buying this saved me a lot of time , work and money! (A BIG Thanks to my brother who spent Saturday installing it while I was at the office! )

Rating
20%/
20%
Didn't work at all - solo frustrated (as well as my dogs!), 3/31/14
by
Collar was activating all over my yard - wouldn't shut off. Scared the heck out of all of us! Can't keep this. . . Will have to look to a pro.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you experienced trouble with your YardMax® Rechargeable In-Ground Fence! As pet owners ourselves, we can understand your concern. Please know that there are troubleshooting tips that may help determine the cause of the issue and offer a solution. For instance, with this system, you may need to ensure that the Boundary Wire is not in close proximity to telephone wires,television cables,etc. These wires can cause unintended activation with your collar. More installation and troubleshooting tips are available at the link below, or by contacting our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/fencing/in-ground-fences/yardmax-rechargeable-in-ground-fence

Rating
80%/
80%
Same guy as before.....make sure to RAM CHARGER IN, 12/15/13
by
So maybe my unit is not defective....got the charge light to come on after ramming it into the collar to charge (curved receiver and square charger surfaces).

Rating
60%/
60%
It works, but its some work (VERY energetic black lab), 12/15/13
by
Ok, so the install is a bit of a challenge (you're gonna bury hundreds and hundreds of wire underground, across drive-ways, etc). I am very hands on, lets call me a 9 out of 10, and have a section of bermuda lawn and un-groomed property - so she can run the whole place instead of eating my house.

So my Zoey is a year old, 70 pounds, field bred, and can jump a 5 foot fence from a standing position (olympic class jumper) and has, through her antics, helped to introduce me to every neighbor within a 1/2 mile. There's a road close so time for and underground fence. Kit is simple, buy more wire than you walk off as your requirement, and be cognizant of sprinkler lines, cable lines, and other shallow utilities, and you play an interesting game because you have to get deeper than an aerator for your yard goes, and shallow enough not to run into other lines. I did my whole yard in two sessions with a hand edger blade - not fun, and ran across driveway in the expansion joint and caulked it down (works ok).

Zoey learned very quickly by getting shocked, laid down and eyes twitching (dont let your wife see this - but she did learn not to challenge the beeping collar). So the answer to the question "WIll by dog get enough correction (shock) to stop....uh YEAH!!

The collar charging is a bear, and the unit has only one red/green LED and it's about impossible to figure out what the heck it means - even with the manual.

Mine has been in a week, and my charger is apparently shot, or the battery, or something. I assume Petsafe will stand by it though, because in truth Zoey is more cautious than challenging to the system and is learning slowly where she can and cannot go.

I could have gone with the wireless system, but the boundaries are somewhat undefined (driven by wireless signal reaching her collar), so I went with the more difficult in ground wire party.

Good luck....

×