Close

Save 10% Through Monday with code THX10

Offer excludes subscriptions.
#

Wireless Pet Containment System™ (REFURB PIF-300)

Reviews

87% 100% 17
Overall
%
(17)
#
Ratings Breakdown
17 reviews
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
1

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Wireless Pet Containment System™ (REFURB PIF-300)
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
80%/
80%
Keeps beagles contained, 10/9/14
by
We have 2 beagles and recently lost a third. We live in the country and have rabbits, squirrels, and deer on a daily basis. The dogs do not try to chase beyond the border. It works great as long as you notice that the battery is dying. I might not know it, but the dogs do. A better dead or dying battery alert would be great. I definately would recommend it to anyone.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product! Highly recommend!, 9/9/14
by
We bought this product nearly 10 years ago for our Rottweiler. We have had a minor issue with a collar, but no issues with the transmitter. Customer service is always very helpful! I highly recommend this product!

Rating
100%/
100%
love it!, 8/26/14
by
I have a 70lb pitbull and its wonderful keeps him in his boundaries even if something comes in the yard he will chase it until he hits his boundaries then he just freezes up and comes back! Great product!

Rating
60%/
60%
Works, if no appliance or vehicle interference, 5/27/14
by
I purchased the refurbished unit. The unit itself worked fine. First the collar was set to it's maximum correction level, when they are supposed to be factory set to beep only. I purposefully had my hand on the contact points while testing the collar and containment area to check the level of correction and got quite a shock. I immediately changed it to beep only, which is what it was supposed to be in the first place.Due to the layout of our house, we had limited choices of where to place the transmitter and still keep it in the middle of our property. However, no matter where we placed it, we still had interference from our appliances and motor vehicles. Unfortunately, these all tend to line up at certain points and create an intermittent signal or no signal at all to the collar receiver.This would not be an issue if we only wanted our dogs in our backyard area. However, our backyard is rather small so we wished for them to have full range of both back and front yards, which of course encompasses the appliances and cars.I would recommend this product if you do not have your washer & dryer on your main floor or in the containment area and your motor vehicles are not within the containment area. Otherwise, an in-ground wired system would be your best choice.

Rating
100%/
100%
outstanding, 4/21/14
by
We have owned our unit for over ten years. It has outlasted the dogs it was purchased for, the store we bought it at, and the houses we lived in. We have moved it 2 times and have used it for different dogs with additional collars. 4 dogs in total. We bought it after our little cocker spaniel wandered into the woods behind our house and got his collar tangled in the brush behind our house, and was trapped for several hours. Upon his passing, we purchased 2 new cocker spanials and an additional collar. A few years later, we moved near a busy road and moved the system. We always felt the dogs were safe. After having a new baby, we did not feel our SON was safe near the highway, so we moved again and brought our system to the country! Our neighborhoods did not allow fences,so I am so thankful for his system.. too bad it does not work on kids, I would not have had to move!! The spaniels have passed, and we now have a Golden. Again, our system works for her too! Customer service has been amazing when contacted. They have worked us through all issues, walking us through solutions and replacements. I have recommended them to everyone. Since we can't have fences and have large lots this is perfect. My daughter just got a 12 lb. mixed dog. I guess we will be getting a new collar!! Never a problem..except when the batteries die. Works with Rain, Snow, etc . Thanks!!

Rating
100%/
100%
Dependable and easy to use!, 4/18/14
by
I was given the Petsafe Wireless Containment System as a gift and it was the best gift!! Before we had this system my dogs had to be in a small pen or on a leash when outside. Due to lack of freedom they were hyperactive and it was hard to truly enjoy them. Now that we have this system, they can enjoy their freedom and burn off some energy and this makes our play time much more fun! I recommend a Petsafe Wireless Containment System to every pet owner I meet!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear that this wireless system is working well for you and your dogs! If there is anything we can do to improve your PetSafe experience, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
Works great WHEN it works, 4/6/14
by
I loved this product so much that I purchased a second one when the first one stopped working after 2-3 years. I thought at the time it should have lasted longer, but was desperate for a new unit so I bit the bullet and purchased another one. Now, after 2 1/2 years this unite has stopped working as well. I have tried everything recommended for resetting ect. but nothing will jar it into working again. The battery is working, all the proper lights are on, but the boundary "line" has gone from spotty to none.
I'm so sad, because when it worked, the unit was great, but I just don't think a $200 plus unit should die after 2 years and I'm not willing to pay that every 2 years.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear you've experienced trouble with your Wireless System! Please know that this system has a 1 year limited warranty, and beyond that, we do offer replacement solutions! We can understand how frustrating it must be for this system to not effectively contain your pets, and we would love to offer troubleshooting assistance. Please know we will be attempting to contact you to help find a resolution. For more information, contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
Works great, except with excessive snow depth, 3/20/14
by
We purchased this model in July and it worked great until February when 2+ feet of snow was on the ground. There is still about a foot in our yard and it is not working. Why is this happening? There were no disclaimers regarding snow and the performance of the transmitter and fence. Living in Wisconsin we need this to perform 12 months out of the year and not 8.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you experienced trouble with your Wireless Pet Containment System. We understand how having a unit not work properly must be frustrating for you and your pet! Please know that these units have been tested to work in -10 degree temperatures. The unit does create a signal in a dome-like shape, so 2 ft of snow can decrease the boundary. We do offer many troubleshooting tips on our website located at the link below. If you need further troubleshooting assistance, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/fencing/wireless-fences/wireless-containment-system

Rating
100%/
100%
100% Works For Very Large Dog, 3/18/14
by
I highly recommend this to anyone even questioning if a electric fence will work for there stubborn large dog.I have a pure breed American Pit-bull ,he is not neutered , he is 15 months old 70+lbs and in his high energized teenage years!We live on a farm with many temptations for a dog to chase cats,chickens,ect. This is the best thing for a dog learning his boundaries!The first time he passed the fence the wireless system harmlessly shocked him for 30seconds after passing his boundary, it stopped and gave him enough time to come back into the area then reset so he could not cross back out the boundary without getting shocked again.It only took one time for him to learn! He now knows the beeping signal is warning and immediately runs toward the yard without any hesitation and the best thing is he didn't even have to get shocked just that one time was enough! We even have cats that roam our farm and one was testing him he ran after the cat but when he hit the boundary line he came to a complete halt!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are glad to know that you've had success with the wireless system. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to further improve your experience with your dog and his fence!

Rating
20%/
20%
very disappointing , 3/4/14
by
this product is not practical! the signal did not consistently work and the signal bounces off of metal objects (vehicles and household appliances). I needed the signal to cross our driveway the most, but if a car was in the driveway there was no signal. i put the main box approximately 10ft from the washer and drier, and when walking the perimeter, the signal also stopped where the washer and drier were in between me and main box. i find that very incovenient considering most all households have a washer and drier and vehicles! and i had to pay the shipping to return it.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you had experienced trouble with your Wireless Containment System. We do recommend to keep your transmitter at least 3 feet away from large metal objects. Fixed large metal objects such as metal sheds can affect the signal by reducing the maximum range of the system at the location of the object. However, if you are able to relocate your transmitter to an area away from large metal objects, like a spare bedroom, your system may be more successful. Often, even synchronizing your collar to the transmitter can help improve communication.But, if you have a great deal of metal in your yard that you feel my impact your system, you may want to consider an in-ground wired containment system for you and your pet instead. You can view the synchronization steps in the manual that is available at the link below.
LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/fencing/wireless-fences/wireless-containment-system#troubleshooting

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product and customer service, 1/5/14
by
I've had it 3 days it set up easy I put collar on my 1 yr old German Shepard that Loved visiting neighbors when he caught me not looking we walked the new area 2 times left him loose the 1st night and he has not left our yard the first time. He loves not being tied I love knowing he not in the road and visiting all the neighbors Freedom is Good.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great!, 11/2/13
by
Great product! We have a 75 lb shepherd mix and a small terrier and this system kept them inside the boundary with no problems. We have recently fenced in our yard however this system has been passed on to my dad for his large shepherd and Brittany spaniel - he said it works like a charm! We've had this system for nearly 5 yrs. we've never had a problem with it and it continues to keep our babies safe.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great system, 11/2/13
by
We have two small dogs that we fenced in. We added a patio and wanted them to be able to use it too. I got the system about 2 months ago and trained them as the instructions suggested. At the 4th day they were adjusted to the boundaries, yes they got corrected a few times, but we praised them when they got back in their area. One of them went passed the " line" on the 6th day and returned quickly. I have the unit in my garage and have a range of 50 feet the house doesn't interfere with the signal. Thanks for creating a great product and keeping pets safe.

Rating
100%/
100%
TERRIFIC, 10/19/13
by
We have used this system since 2005. And we have 2 Great Danes, male and female, and my husband said it would never work with our Danes and they have never once gone beyond the barrier. I would highly recommend for any breed of dog!!!! GREAT item to have! We now have 2 systems to enlarge their area.
And if anything happens to box they take care of you!
LOVE LOVE this!!!!!!

Rating
100%/
100%
Loving it!, 9/30/13
by
We adopted a beagle/hound mix as a puppy. He has separation anxiety when we leave for work and the children go to school, or anytime we have to leave. Because of this we were never able to crate train him; not even with the medication from the vet . He has torn up chewed up and eaten more things than we care to mention. We want to leave him out but he tries to follow us up the road and bugs the neighbors until we get back. Putting in a traditional fence would be difficult at best do to with the wooded areas around our yard. For this same reason the invisible fencing was not an option,and he only tries to dig or chew his way out of an outdoor kennel. When I saw this product and the reviews I figured we could not go wrong. He is now safe in our yard. He also has the ability to play and run in areas of the woods. This has given us peace of mind and him freedom. He is still tearing up old flower pots and boxes but we can clean that up easier than the household items. We bought the refurbished one and love it. Absolutely no problems, only success. We followed the set-up and training instructions exactly. He was trained in less than two weeks.

Rating
100%/
100%
Works great!, 8/12/13
by
We have been using this system for several years with zero problems. It was very easy to set up, the training was a piece of cake and the dogs stay safe where they belong. Highly recommend this product.

Rating
100%/
100%
Works Excellent, 8/6/13
by
We have used this now for over a year, results have been excellent, and support from manufacturer (when we had a small glitch) was Great! Batteries last a long time (several months? - long enough for me not to notice) and are readily available at stores. Dogs are well trained to it, and happy with their collars. A very good buy.

×