Close
#

Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Door™

Reviews

53% 100% 29
Overall
%
(29)
#
Ratings Breakdown
29 reviews
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
5
1 star
12

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Door™
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
20%/
20%
worst purchase ever!, 9/22/14
by
I am on day 9 of my new door, and I am so dissatisfied. Within 12 hours of installation the screws holding the interior door stripped, causing the entire front panel (door and all) to fall off. We had to rig it in order to use the shutoff door. The exterior is no better, as I have to tighten the screws on the panel every few days or the exterior door will fall off. Throwing the reciept away before installation is the worst decision I have made in a long time. I would really reconsider buying this product.


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry that the Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Door™ has failed to meet your expectations! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and our Product Experts are happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance! Please contact our Customer Care Center for more information at 1-800-732-2677.

For installation guidance, please view our video at the link below:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JN9zAwPsAVY&list=PL35699258CD2E61A3

Rating
20%/
20%
Product works when new...flaps don't last, 9/8/14
by
I've got the Aluminum Wall Entry model [large] going on 3 years. Product worked great at first. Now, both the indoor and outdoor flaps have warped to the point there is no seal. Wind and bugs enter freely. Flaps should have lasted longer. The replace cost is way to high. I'll buy a different brand of door and change it out before I pay over $75.00 for two replacement flaps. I'm very disappointed in the quality of the product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Door did not meet your expectations! We can understand how frustrating it can be to need replacements for both your inner and outer flaps. Unfortunately, depending on placement, use of your pet door, and environmental factors, some flaps may need to be replaced more frequently than others. Our product experts would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance in an effort for you to get the most out of your PetSafe Pet Door. For more information, please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
Medium Wall Entry Pet Door, 8/6/14
by
Installed product mid-July, 2014. Installed through 9" double brick wall. Had to build up a wooden tunnel between the two halves. Instructions and templates very good. Have two dachshunds that figured it out within 12-hours. Only draw back is plastic frame, but so far everything is good, couple of screws pulled through went to hardware store got washers and different concrete screws. The outside of my frame is in the shade, decided on this after reading other reviews. It is fun just to see them using this and us not having to get up and let them out--Thanks

Rating
100%/
100%
Love it., 7/21/14
by
Love it, wife loves it dogs love it. 3yrs and not a single issue. East side of San Diego home so it gets plenty of sun without fading or cracking. Must have been installed correctly.

Rating
100%/
100%
Wonderful, 7/20/14
by
We have had an under ground fence and two doggie doors for 15 years and have never replaced anything until this year and only because they have worn out. I would recommend pet safe products to anyone. Thank you.

Rating
60%/
60%
LOVE IT! But plastic cracks.., 5/29/14
by
we have had tiny poodles and large shepherds use this door with no trouble and the double flaps keep the cold air out in the winter. However, the plastic cracked outside around all the magnets and now the flap doesn't close correctly. I'm afraid to buy a replacement because it will happen again.....

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear of your success with using your Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Door, but we are sorry to hear that the plastic frame has become damaged. We can understand your concern, but please know that this pet door is backed by a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer replacement assistance for your Wall Entry door. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
It's JUNK! Don't buy it., 5/27/14
by
They call it an aluminum door but it's 90% flimsy plastic. Spent a lot of framing the opening in the wall because it was clear the thin plastic would not hold up without extra support. The day after t the door was installed, one of my dogs ripped the outside aluminum frame our of the thin plastic housing. The frame was attached to the plastic with four No. 6 wood screws and they pulled out when the dog exited the door. I'd have given zero stars but that was not an option.

Rating
40%/
40%
Plastic, 5/17/14
by
Bought this door a few years ago it has worked out ok but two years after purchase the plastic frame on the outside began to weaken from sun exposure and the screw holes that attach the door to the wall broke out. I added some washers and re installed the door and six months later the plastic broke out around the washers. I was going to purchase another door since I got 2 years out of it before failure but have decided to go with an actual all aluminum door from another company. On the positive side, I figure if you are installing this door in an area that is shaded 100% of the time it would last longer. Installation was very simple and easy.

Rating
20%/
20%
Plastic is cheap, lacking durability for medium+ dogs. do not buy plastic. ZERO!, 4/27/14
by
Purchased 2 years ago noticed the plastic enclosed panels was beginning to chip away inside along the enclosed plastics walls. glued down an extra layer of carpet/padding inside the panels and 2 years later the carpet was what kept holding the panels together.
I never noticed until all of a sudden the bottom screws popped out and the door panels were lose and barely hanging onto the plastics paneling. Finally the dry wall started cracking and then then the interior "aluminum door " panel fell off.

If you want an american made product that will last, never have an isssues and 100% aluminum or metal this is not what you want to spend your money on.
New enclosed wall panels Aluminum $75
New dry wall and paint for interior wall $150
New flaps that are 100% gaurenteed lifetime warranty $40

Need I say more?....

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the design of the Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Door has failed to meet your expectations! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year limited warranty, but we are happy to offer replacement assistance once the initial warranty period is over. We would be happy to assist you in finding ways to improve your experience with us, and to discuss the problems you've experienced with your current pet door. Please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677 so we may find a solution that best suits your needs.

Rating
20%/
20%
Poor design, poor materials, 4/24/14
by
Whoever designed this product must have failed basic engineering, or has no engineering background. If your dog weighs more than 15 lbs, you will certainly have a product failure in your future. The metal frame screws into cheap, thin, low density plastic with 4 screws. Horrible design, and once the cheap plastic gives way, no chance to fix it. Tried larger screws, which lasted only 1/2 the time of the original smaller screws.

Save your time and money and buy something else.

Rating
20%/
20%
the only reason it got a one is because there is no 0. , 4/15/14
by
the door is cheaply made and very poor quality. I have not had it long enough to get the dogs trained and the screws have already started to come out. It is nothing but plastic except for a small square that surrounds the door like a frame and it is very weak. Don't waste your money.

Rating
100%/
100%
Buying another one, 3/18/14
by
a couple years ago I bought the medium for our cats. the double magnetic doors worked well and provided a good insulation from our Seattle weather. , the scary part was cutting a hole in the side of my house. The instructions were easy to read though and we are pleased. However we now have large dogs and I am going to purchase the large one.

Rating
80%/
80%
Great tip for your wall entry aluminum door, 1/7/14
by
I got my wall entry aluminum door two years ago. I have been very happy with it, but this winter I noticed a lot of cold air drafting into my house through the doggy door. So I installed weather stripping around the edges and it made all the difference! I just bought adhesive weather stripping at the hardware store for $4 and it improved the performance 95%! I am thrilled with it!

Rating
40%/
40%
Not ideal for extreme cold weather, 12/12/13
by
Upon initially installing this product, my dog really enjoyed using this product. Perhaps too much. My only problem with this product is extremely cold weather. The outer vinyl flap contracts and allows for the cold air to come in contact with warmer air (from the home) and ice builds up in between the telescopic pieces. Basically, the door is rendered useless until it thaws out. There should be a separate flap in the middle to act as a buffer to eliminate this problem.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Door™ has failed to meet your expectations. We are always looking for ways to improve our products and do value your feedback. Please know that your suggestion has been passed on to the Pet Access team for review. If you'd like to be a part of our development process, you are welcome to participate by using the link below.

LINK: http://labs.petsafe.net/

Rating
100%/
100%
This door is the greatest. , 12/11/13
by
This door had to be installed in a brick wall that was 7 3/4" thick. Even in the very cold weather, the doors do well to keep out the cold. I can't say enough good about these doors. My dog loves it too.

Rating
40%/
40%
NOT durable enough for the price, 12/10/13
by
The wall liner that is made from black plastic is way too thin and brittle. After 3 years it is cracked and wobbly.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Door™ has failed to meet your expectations. We do offer optional support installation instructions to help support your door. These instructions can be accessible by viewing page 6 of the manual available in the link below. Please know that we have replacement options available to you and would welcome your call to our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution for you.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/doors/door-wall-entry/wall-entry-aluminum-pet-door

Rating
100%/
100%
Simply amazing and wonderfully convenient, 11/11/13
by
My husband and I own two adult American Eskimos. We have gone through several dog doors ever since our dogs were puppies and oh boy, they do like to tear the inexpensive plastic flaps up within two months or so. When we bought this pet door, it was very easy to install, especially compared to other pet doors we have tried (We inserted it actually in a non-sliding GLASS door and it still worked!). The flap is sturdy enough and resisted my dogs' chewing. It is also much less expensive than the pricey glass-door doggy door inserts we have tried. (We have to put the doors in glass doors in the laundry room because we also own a cat that just loves to go outside and sneak out... so we actually close the laundry room door when the dogs are out and keep them there during the day). And we never knew it would work in a glass door, but it did. Our dogs only took two days to get fully used to it, zero accidents, and now they are both ten years old and still both using the door like pros! We are so happy--thank you SO much PetSafe! I look forward to buying more products from here in the future.

Rating
20%/
20%
very poor design, 11/11/13
by
this door contains more plastic than aluminum. i bought the door in large for my german shepherd. it fell apart after a month. the plastic broke, i had to rebuild the plastic frame out of wood. now i rely only on the aluminum part that holds the flaps. after 2 years now the flaps are falling apart too, they are breaking, and in cold weather, they are to stiff, and don't seal good enough. cold air is entering the house.
i can really not recommend this door to anybody.


Rating
100%/
100%
It's a great product, 11/5/13
by
I've had this for our 2 labradors and 1 Weimaraner for 7 years. I've replaced the exterior flaps twice (I expected to replace them 7 times by now). The interior flap has never been replaced.

I don't understand the negative reviews. We live in Southern Nevada and have to deal with extreme weather all the time. No issues with the pet door.

This is also our second time putting a pet door in the wall and PetSafe wall entry's are the only way to go.

Great product. Tricky to install CORRECTLY - but, worth the time. And, you could always hire a handyman if you're nervous about it.

Rating
20%/
20%
Extremely disapointed, 11/4/13
by
We purchased this door upon the recomendation of our local pet shop employee who said that it would be a good choice for our Aussie. In barely a year the outside frame has broken at the screw holes and must now be secured w/ the addition of aluminum washers, the interior of the door between the two flaps has cracked on 3 sides, the flaps themselves are torn and cracking and now that it has begun to turn cold here my wife and I spend our nights shivering in our bedroom. I am extremely disapointed in your product that both lets the warm air out and cold air in, is increasing my heat bill since it is anything but a weatherproof door and now not even a year later I am having to replace your poorly designed, poorly crafted product. To make matters worse I find out that you only offer a 30 day warranty?! Why even bother?


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the PetSafe Wall-Entry Aluminum Pet Door. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the product and make us aware of this issue. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may assist you with obtaining a replacement. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
flimsy monting system, 10/27/13
by
I have the same problem as Derek. The dogs stripped out all four screws on both the inside and outside mountings in a few weeks. Trying to find the right fix now - I guess toggle bolts since the plastic frame isn't thick enough to let a drywall insert grab.

1 star until they devise a fix for this oh-so-basic problem.


Rating
20%/
20%
Horrible! Do not buy this door!, 10/24/13
by
1. The only aluminum is the frame for the flap. The rest is cheap plastic.
2. The way the aluminum frame is attached to the cheap plastic is horrible. My dog knocked the frame off the first time she went through the door and I had to find a way to try to resecure it so that it would stay on.
3. They say this fits a 2x6 wall and it doesn't properly. The inner and outer plastic enters halves should slide together and over lap but they don't. When installed there is a gap about 1/4" wide that you have to figure out how to fill some how.
This is the last PetSafe product I will purchase as cheaply. As this one is made.
Totally disgusted with how much this cost me and I am now stuck with it.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the design of the Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Door™ has failed to meet your expectations! We can understand how having installation issues must be frustrating. Please know that the tunnels are able to fit up to 7¼ inches thick, but extension tunnels are available if needed. For assistance, we have provided a link to the installation video. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JN9zAwPsAVY

Rating
20%/
20%
Poor Construction Design, 10/12/13
by
The only thing aluminum about this door is the frame for the flaps. Lasted two weeks with my pup and he tore off one of the frames with the flap attached. They are only held in by four small screws that screw into the flimsy plastic material. Whoever designed this apparently didn't know what a large breed dog can do.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your PetSafe Wall Entry Aluminum Pet Door. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
80%/
80%
Can't live w/o my dog door, 10/9/13
by
Great product holds up well. I did have to get longer screws w/mollies as the ones that came w/it wasn't holding and they kept comming loose. Once I changed them out I haven't had a problem. Have had it about 4 years w/4 dogs and just now am having to replace the flapers

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product, 8/20/13
by
I have had this door for about 6 years. I only now going to replace the flaps. They are still working great I just thought it needed a face lift. I live in Maine they have done their job. I have no complaints.

Rating
40%/
40%
Poorly made, 6/18/13
by
This product worked great for my new puppy for all of 5 weeks. The only thing aluminum is the frame for the flaps. I thought this product may hold up because I completely boxed the tunnel in, inside of the wall. My pup was coming thru the entry and the aluminum flap was ripped off. This is only held in by 4 self tapping screws that screw into nothing but the cheap plastic. Very cheaply made. Concept, ease of installation and the design looks is great, but material choice wasn't considered for their "large" breed type door. This was only 5 weeks, and I bought the door for my dog to grow into. Definitely kicking myself for going cheap. Sorry PetSafe, your product should be recalled for this...

Rating
100%/
100%
Great Door, 6/8/13
by
We bought this door to replace a smaller door that we currently had. We had this door installed into an exterior brick wall and the product fit exactly how the directions said it would. We have 4 door who use this door on a regular basis and it has held up wonderfully.

Rating
40%/
40%
Cheap and flimsey, 5/16/13
by
When ordering I thought this would be an aluminum frame with plastic telescoping wall, however 95% of this product is nothing but cheap plastic...and as far as the telescoping (plastic) wall goes I think the plastic bag the instructions came in would hold its shape better than what the door has. Most defiantly not worth what you charge. The flaps would not swing freely and we had to end up cutting out the telescoping wall and build our own interior wall so the the flaps would swing freely.

Rating
20%/
20%
not worth the money, 5/15/13
by
Only aluminum is the actually outer edge where door plate slides in. Screws provided aren't long enough to secure . Few head buts and the dog is in.

×