Close
#

UltraSmart® Rechargeable In-Ground Fence™

Reviews

55% 100% 12
Overall
%
(12)
#
Ratings Breakdown
12 reviews
5 star
4
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
3
1 star
4

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: UltraSmart® Rechargeable In-Ground Fence™
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
20%/
20%
Great product, but lost trust in the company!, 6/26/14
by
I was going to give this a great review, but it looks like I've been gipped! I bought this system last summer (2013)- under the notion we could buy replacement collars when needed. It was a difficult install, but we felt it was completely worth it because it works wonderfully keeping our escape artist dog safe in our yard. While we were scared to invest so much time and money into this product, we did our research and were very confident we were buying the best collar on the market- one that would be around for awhile. I was very pleased with it up until now, as it appears that when I will need a replacement collar (which I'm sure won't be too far off) I'm going to be out of luck, because it has been discontinued and there are no other compatible collars. I seriously can't afford buying a brand new system every year, or in the near future when my collar runs out! This is very disappointing.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of your concern with finding a replacement receiver collar that will work with your UltraSmart In-Ground Fence. We can understand how frustrating can be when a system has been discontinued. Please know that our decision to discontinue this product was due to technological advancements, but your product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and we would be happy to offer assistance if a warranty replacement is needed. For additional receiver collars, we have found that many of our retailers still have additional UltraSmart receivers available for purchase. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
DISCONTINUED--DO NOT BUY. Can't get replacement collars which are an issue, 5/28/14
by
We bought this system last June. It has worked GREAT!!! However, the collar that comes with this system comes off easily & once it does, our dog chews it up. He got the first one off within the first month. I had purchased a spare collar ($105) & we just used it. I tied it on with silicone tape & Velcro. We made it 6 months before he got it off & chewed this one up. Now, I find the system has been discontinued as of January 2014 & the company does offer another collar that is compatible with this system. Before this I would have given this product 10 stars if possible, now I have to say--DO NOT BUY IT!!! The collars will probably be a problem for you.

Rating
40%/
40%
Major Disappointment!, 5/20/14
by
We put a lot of time and energy into putting in this fence. It worked great at first and we loved it. However, the collars are junk! We bought a second collar and now that one didn't even last 6 months and now they are discontinued! Great...I was looking to get a different collar and they all say "Not Compatible" with Ultrasmart In Ground Fence! Really, we can't win.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the problem you've encountered with your UltraSmart Rechargeable In-Ground Fence. We can understand how frustrating it must be to have a product become unusable after a short period of ownership. Please know that we do offer replacement options for your system and extra receiver collar even though this particular product has been discontinued. We will be attempting to contact you shortly for replacement assistance. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Discontinued and Good Luck Buying Extra Collars, 5/12/14
by
We just purchased this system last year after having tons of problems with the basic system. We liked that we could add a dog/collar and that it was rechargeable. We rescued a new dog only to be told by customer service that this system has been discontinued and NO OTHER COLLARS are compatible. Also, they NO LONGER SELL these collars to add a dog. If I have a warranty issue on our current one they can give me a new one. So basically, we dropped $600+ for an upgrade that means nothing a year later. They did offer me a 30% discount on another upgrade. I was waiting for them to sell me some snake oil... I'm not sure why they are still selling this unit on their website if it is discontinued. Especially without stating that it is a discontinued model!?

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you experienced a problem finding a replacement receiver collar that will work with your UltraSmart In-Ground Fence. We can understand how frustrating it is to be unable to find an additional receiver collar for your system due to its discontinuation. Please know that our decision to discontinue this product was due to technological advancements, but we have found that many of our retailers still have additional UltraSmart receivers available for purchase.

The UltraSmart Rechargeable In-Ground Fencing System is currently in stock through us directly, which is why the product is available on our website. The warranty does guarantee that the product will be free from defects in material or workmanship for a period of 1 year from the purchase date. In the event a replacement is needed, even for discontinued products, we are happy to find a replacement solution that will best suit your needs. If you would like to discuss the warranty, or if you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great Product!, 4/1/14
by
We have been using this system for about seven years with our two, 80 pound dogs. We have an area about four acres contained in our boundary set-up.
The collars are tough and waterproof, and comfortable on our dogs all day. In the seven years we have had the system, we have had to replace both collars one time.
Would highly recommend this system, and we have tried several others in the past.

Rating
60%/
60%
Needs a stubborn dog collor, 3/18/14
by
The system works great. I love the way the outdoor rock zone works with the system. I have a lab and the normal collar is not strong enough to get his attention. If they could make a stubborn dog collar or if there would be one that is combatable with this system. I would rated this system 5 stars if there were a stubborn dog collar for it.

Rating
40%/
40%
Collar, 3/11/14
by
I purchased this fence about six months ago and it works great, except for the collar it just stopped working. And I am not the only one with this problem. You would think something would be done about this. So I ordered a new one for 135.00 dollars and it isn't even new it's a REFURB .What is the warranty on this collar, so I have all I need when I send this back,cause it will happen. Also I will never refer anyone until the Collar is fixed. Thank You, Ron Lucchesi

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Ron, Thank you for your feedback on the Ultrasmart System. We do apologize that your receiver was not working. We do offer troubleshooting assistance and please know that there is a 1 year limited lifetime warranty on your initial product, and for refurbished products, we offer a 90 day limited warranty. If it has been over the warranty, and your product is not working, please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677 for more replacement options that may be available to you.


Rating
100%/
100%
Working great, 2/12/14
by
We installed this system our-self to cover 2 acres. Our 2 pups responded real well to the training. I couldn't ask for a better system. Love the collar recharge reminder on the unit. Purchased this system April 30, 2013, set it up May 9, 2013. Everything has worked great until recently; one collar quit working. Talked to customer service, courteous, helpful and sending a new collar. Collars are sturdy as these pups tug and pull on them in their play. Wasn't expecting them to hold up but they have. Sturdy rubber looking and haven't been chewed on. Since you can't replace batteries, I do wish you could just replace the receiver at a lower cost than the whole collar. Collar has a year warranty so that is great. Love the way it signals you as to the status of it working. Green, yellow then red. I would recommend, and have, this product to family and friends and others. This was a well planned decision.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great transmitter. Would buy again!, 2/10/14
by
The system was easy to install with a rented shallow burial trencher.
In September of 2012 it was $80 for the whole weekend. I opted for this route as I have several acres.

I used a piece of 1/2" copper pipe I had laying around to core the dirt under my side walk which was a huge time-saver.

The transmitter has always performed well. (going on 1.5 years)

My first experience with customer service was this week as I ordered a new collar for an additional dog and it stopped working a little over a month later. The woman I spoke with was very friendly and the receiver IS covered under warranty.

My dogs are abusive with the collars and have not had the problems described by others with the exception of the receiver dying, which I can easily attribute to infant mortality and petsafe replaced. I do think the holes could be sized smaller and ended up tying the collar with string and only use the plastic clasp.



Rating
100%/
100%
Good product, 1/16/14
by
We have been using this for a year now on our lab. It works great easy install and the collar has lasted with no problems.

Rating
40%/
40%
UltraSmart In ground Fence.... Not all it is cracked up to be!, 11/22/13
by
We purchased this system in August of 2013 and Installed it in September. I am on my second replacement receiver collar. They just are not working properly. The receivers only will sound if you are on top of the wire and it must only be a foot off the ground. We have adjusted and tested the boundary and collars repeatedly. It has just been a real disappointment. Customer service is always friendly and helpful but I wish I didn't have to call them every other week on this item. It has left us with no protection when our animals are outdoors. We paid a great deal for this fencing in hopes that we would not have to incure the cost of a visible fence but it appears that is going to be the only way we will have piece of mind that our animals are safe. Just wish we would have just built the fence in the first place and saved over $500.00 on this system. :(


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this system has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Do Not Buy, 10/29/13
by
Collars are a joke. Made of cheap plastic that breaks down and cracks about every 3 months. Pet Safe does not warranty the collar what so ever. Stay away from this product.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the UltraSmart In-Ground Fence collars. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Unfortunately, this warranty does not cover accessory items such as batteries, straps, contact points, etc. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

×