Close
1-866-738-4379
Live Chat
#

Stubborn Dog In-Ground Collar

See Product Details

33 Customer Reviews

77% 100% 33
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
33 reviews
1 star
1
2 star
5
3 star
5
4 star
9
5 star
13

Add your Stubborn Dog In-Ground Collar review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
60%/
60%
by
I have been using this collar for 8+ years. I have bought at least 10 collars because I have to put 2 of these on my super chocolate lab Raskal. They only last about 6 to 8 months each. The little plastic button cover comes out and water gets in em. I have glued em in but I think the other dogs chew em open. The last one the whole button was gone. Wish you made a more basic one that just stays on lvl 5. Also I have tight end the screws down so it won't leak and then strip the heads trying to undo them. Need to have a different head type other than Phillips.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on the Stubborn Dog In-Ground Collar with us, Richard. We know how much you want to keep Raskal safe and protected in his containment area. While we certainly understand the thought of using two collars on pets which may be a bit more high spirited, please know we recommend a pet wear only one receiver collar at a time. Not only is one receiver collar more comfortable for your pet, but multiple collars can actually hinder the ability of each collar to work as well as possible. Since both collars would need to be placed in the same area (high and centered on your pet's neck), there wouldn't be enough room for each collar to correctly fit. If your dog is testing the boundary while wearing one collar, it may be time to do refresher training with Raskal. Even for pets which know and respect their boundaries, it's always a good idea to have a few sessions every once in a while to brush up on training. If you find the clear plastic cap for your collar is missing, we do have these available for purchase individually through our Customer Care Center for a nominal fee. If you find your other pets are chewing on Raskal's collar, you may want to gently correct this behavior each time you encounter it. While the casing of the receiver collar is designed to be durable, most dogs will have a bite strength of many hundreds of pounds of pressure per square inch. That's a lot for most things to endure! We understand it would be convenient to have a receiver collar that is only one certain level of correction. Many years ago, we did have such a collar. However, because every pet is so different (including dogs of the same breed) in what level of correction is best for them, it's hard to say which dogs would benefit from a collar with only the one correction level. We recommend using the lowest level of correction to which your pet responds. Most dogs respond well before the highest level on the Stubborn Dog In-Ground Collar. While we see how tightening the lid screws as tightly as possible would seem the best way to ensure it is water tight, over-tightening the screws could cause excess pressure which could lead to damage and stress fractures in the casing. It's best to make sure the screws are in securely, but not too tight. As most people have Phillips head screw drivers already in their homes, this seems to be a better fit for most collar owners than other, less common types of screws. If you have other issues or concerns about your collar, our product experts would love to see how we can help you and Raskal! Please feel free to give us a call anytime during our office hours at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
100%/
100%
It works6/27/16
by
The collar works on my 9 pound dog at the highest setting. I tried lower settings but she would run through the fence. Crazy. My older dogs wear the normal small dog collar at a 3 out of 5 setting. Most of the time they don't even wear their collars.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are glad to hear that the system works well for your pups! Please note that training is extremely important, and we do not advise leaving the dogs unattended in the yard without full training and the collars in place to reduce risk of escape. If you have any questions or concerns, give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. We love hearing from our customers!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
We have 2 labs,( Minnie and Maggie), the fence keeps both dogs with in the fence boundaries, even when they are not wearing their Collers, best fence on the market, thanks pet safe.

Rating
40%/
40%
by
This worked really well when we first got it. We have a lab who wants to dig under the fence to go play with the neighbor's dogs. Unfortunately the collar stopped working after almost 2 months and I can't pay $100 every few months for it to continue working.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Than you for sharing your story, Katie! We are sorry to hear that the collar did not meet your needs and expectations, and can understand how it would be frustrating to need a replacement so soon. Please know that your collar is covered by a 1 year warranty and we are here for you! More information is needed to better assist you, it is possible that with troubleshooting we can get your lab's collar running again. Please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
We have had this system for about 5 years, have had a few ups n downs but all in all it works great. Ours stopped working about a month ago, and went online to order 6 new stubborn dogs collars, thinking maybe ours was just old and tired, our dogs bring them back caked in mud wet from cooling off in the pool, or chewed on by the young one. I heard the reviews and the pertaining to the dogs standing close to the fence until its safety feature kicks in is what I guess one of our GSDs has figured out, because I have seen him do it. Going to try unplugging the box and see what happens. To fix the collar problem I went to a hunting dog web site and got their "vinyl"? collars a different color for each dog. Just get a hole punch, measure the pins, punch the holes, and you have an indestructible collar that doesn't stretch and they haven't been able to chew through it. Family of 3 Labs and 3 GSDs.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Stubborn Dog In-Ground Fence Collars, Betsy! We are glad to hear that this has worked well for many years for your Labs and GSDs. More information is needed to better assist you with your system so that we can ensure your dogs stay put in the yard. Please also know that we do have some alternate Polyurethane-coated nylon straps that are available through Customer Care. For a solution, please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I have two yellow labs, Sun and Moon. Moon loves to blow bubbles in the swimming pool, Sun does not. Sun's collar has been working fine since May 2011. Moon has had to have his expensive "waterproof" replaced - now for the third time and there is no alternative but to buy it.

Otherwise, I'm pleased with the fence.


PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, Laura. We are glad to hear that the fence works well for Sun and Moon! The Stubborn Dog In-Ground Receiver Collar is completely waterproof if there are no cracks in the housing and the battery lid is properly and tightly installed. If you continue to have difficulty, please give us a call so that we can help and find a solution. For troubleshooting assistance give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
100%/
100%
Excellent 2/11/16
by
I have been using the in ground system since 2014 and would recommend it to anyone.
After today's experience with Petsafe customer service I am extremely impressed with this Organization.
In essence the people I spoke with were extremely polite, respectful, more then helpful and their language is English.
My issue was solved with one call !
Thank you Pet Safe for a product that works and most of all for having the value to appreciate and take care of your customers.
Mike Moore


Rating
60%/
60%
by
We found that the collars work. The price indicates that they will last. They don't. I wish that you sold the collar with back up collar without the unit attached, so that when we need to replace the material collar we can and transfer the unit. We have problems with the prongs.
They fall out even after we babysit them and try to keep them tighten. I feel the quality vs. the problems indicate that this should be about a 40.00 product. There should be a longer life to the collars at $90.00. Feel a bit taken advantaged of.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Gayla! We are sorry to read of the difficulty you have experienced. Please know that we do have replacement straps for this unit as well as some alternate straps that may better meet your needs. Additionally, many customers have found success with putting a thin coat of clear nail polish around the edge of the probes to create a seal and keep the probes in. Sometimes, the probes can be loosened if the collar strap is not quite snug enough and the pup wiggles them loose over time. Please know that your collar has a 1 year warranty and that we are happy to do some troubleshooting and find a solution for you. Please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I have been using this collar for a few years now, and I am very happy with it. Prior to buying these I had the tone/static shock collars only and they were not effective. I switched to this one and put it on vibrate. It works every single time. They respond to vibration much quicker than they do the tone. Only rarely do they get shocked.

I'm replacing 2 of them because one got lost outside (still looking for it). The other, the box has come undone, and I can't find the other part of it. My only complaint about these collars is that after awhile the screws that hold the box together, come out and get lost. Thus taping the boxes together with electrical tape. For that reason I give it 4 stars intead of 5.

Nevertheless, I am buying two more, because they WORK. I wish they had the vibrate option on every collar, not just "stubborn dog".

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Kristen. Please know that your feedback as been passed on to the appropriate parties for research and development purposes. We are happy to hear that these collars do the trick to keep your pups safe. Please know that we do sell an accessory pack with extra screws, to obtain these, give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
We have had this product for 3 years now and it works a treat with our husky! The only thing is, the short contact pins keep loosing and coming off, we check it every time we put the collar on but it doesn't seem to do much diffenence! We need to replace these quite often which is the only downside of this product!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that our system is keeping your husky safe! If you tighten the probes down and apply a little clear nail polish around the edge it can help keep the probes in place. I hope this is helpful! If you have further questions or concerns, please call our Customer Care Center directly at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
40%/
40%
by
Have had to replace my collar twice in a 16 month period and need a new one now. When it works it's great but at 80 some dollars a pop it gets old quick!!!!

SportDOG Response:

I am sorry to hear that you are having trouble with your collars so frequently. There are many factors that could be causing this and we would love to help you find a solution. Please call our Customer Care Center so that we may find a solution for you. Our phone number is 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product6/25/15
by
I've had my underground fence for 4 years. It works great for my 2 German Shepard's. One male is almost 4 years old and weighs about 100 lbs. The other, female, is just 6 months old. I bought her collar 3 months ago and just stated having trouble with it. It would work one minute and not the next. I called Petsafe customer service and with no hesitation, they sent me a new collar. Thanks Guys, GREAT SERVICE.

ps. Straps could be a little better

Rating
60%/
60%
by
We've had the stubborn in ground fence for our coonhound for about 2 years. It worked great until the collar started to act up recently. It only works sporadically and we have to test it each time before letting the dog out. If the collar was more reliable it would be 5 stars. We had the same strap issue as other reviewers, but chalked it up to an overzealous dog.

​PETSAFE RESPONSE:
We're sorry to hear that you've had issues with your receiver collar, Holly! Inconsistent activation can be caused by a number of different things, including partial wire breaks, interference from metal objects or appliances, or issues with the equipment. We would be more than happy to help solve the issue and replace any equipment that fails troubleshooting. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​. Hours of operation are 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
60%/
60%
Ok6/5/15
by
I had to get this to keep my dog from climbing or jumping over my fence. I just ran the wire on the top rail and it worked well for a few years.. Only bad thing is the plastic clip on the strap cracked like 3 weeks in and then I went threw 2 more straps in the next few months.. So just bought and fit the receiver to a better colar I bought and haven't had a problem since

PETSAFE RESPONSE:​
Thank you for sharing your experience with the receiver collar, Todd! We're sorry to hear that you had issues with the strap, but glad to hear that you were able to figure out a solution to the issue. If you have any further problems with the receiver collar, please give us a call as we do have alternate straps available which may suit your needs better. We can be reached at the number 1-866-738-4379. Hours of operation are 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
100%/
100%
Did the job.4/18/15
by
I recently moved to the country and we have a large yard but no fence. We had to build a metal fence for our dogs which worked for a month or two. Then our Pitbull/Pointer figured out how to chew the metal fence. We decided to buy this electric fence and it worked for 2 weeks until she chewed the collar off!! Please come out with a rubber/ indestructible collar for my stubborn dog!!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:
Thank you very much for your feedback! We're so pleased to hear that the system is working out so well for you, but are sorry to hear that the strap on the receiver collar was chewed. Please know that we do have replacement straps available and may have an alternate strap of a different material that would be compatible. So that we can discuss this, please give our Customer Care Center a call at the number 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
40%/
40%
ok11/12/14
by
we use this product with our golden retriever and lab corgi mix. The fence works great but one of our collars is broken after only 6 weeks of use. The prongs keep unscrewing themselves and we've gone through the short and long ones and are now forced to buy more. Very low quality product if it doesn't stay together longer than 6 weeks.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your experience with the Stubborn Dog In-Ground Receiver Collar. We are sorry to hear of the problems you've experienced with your probes, but we are happy to help offer a solution! In many cases, if your probes are frequently becoming loose or falling out, the washers that help keep the probes tight may be missing. We do offer replacement washers in our probe kits, however. For more information, please view the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.


LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/fencing-collars-accessory-pack

Rating
100%/
100%
collars10/30/14
by
We have about 3 acers & put a wireless fence in about 6 years ago. I really, really love it. My dogs have so much freedom to run and play. They don't get shocked anymore because they know where to stop. We had 2 dogs at the time we installed the wireless fence, now we have 6. I really love the fencing on rainy and cold days when they can go out & I dont have to. I just wish the collars did not cost so much. Even though I would still never give up my fencing.

Thanks Pet-Safe for your product.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
We have had our fence for about a year and we love it. Wish we would have installed one years ago. Strongly recommend!

Rating
60%/
60%
by
We love the fence and it's convenience! It's worked very well for our stubborn 70 lb black lab mix with lots of rabbits and chipmunks to tease her. We've had the system for just over a year, and the collar is broken. No way to fix it, no choice but to buy another. Hopefully we don't need to buy a new one every year :-/

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear that you have had success with your lab and her Stubborn Dog In-Ground Receiver Collar. Please know that we do offer replacement options even after the initial warranty period has ended, and we would be happy to help you! For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
works great6/25/14
by
I have had this system for Years. A 90lb a 70lb pitbull a 13 lb min pin. mastiff and another lab puppies and they have never crossed the line. The one my lab is using was from my other dog and I haven't had to change the battery in over 6 months. I'm buying another collar for the mastiff puppy. I love this product.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I have a 90lb lab and a 60lb Lab mix. It works great except the collar seems to fall off often. They like to chase one another in the back yard and nip at one another but I notice that they are able to get the collar off one another at times which caused them both to venture out into the woods. Wish there was a more durable collar maybe one that buckled instead of snapped. Also does this product come with a remote? I wanted to train my dogs not to jump on people and furniture but didn't want to spend more money on a different collar. Would be great just to use the same collar.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your time and feedback on your experience with the Stubborn Dog In Ground Receiver! We are sorry to hear that the straps do not meet your expectations, and we can understand your concern for your 2 wandering labs!
Unfortunately we do not have an alternate strap available for this particular receiver collar. However, many pet owners who prefer the buckle style strap have found success with the use of third party collar. Please know that the Stubborn Dog In-Ground Fence is not compatible with any handheld remotes for a trainer. A different system would be required as they utilize different technologies. For more information on our Remote Trainers, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677, or view the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/training-behavior/remote-trainers

Rating
100%/
100%
by
Works great on our 90 pound Boxer that has a mind of his own when the UPS deliveries come in. Like others have said...Cheep collar (so I made my own) and unsatisfactory Customer Service...but the product does the trick!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear that you and your Boxer have had success with the Stubborn Dog Receiver! We do apologize that the design of the strap does not meet your expectation, and that you have had an unsatisfactory interaction with our Customer Care. If you'd like to discuss your experience, please call 1-800-732-2677. Our Customer Care representatives are standing by to help with any questions or concerns that you may have.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
We had some major trouble with our rottweiler rooming out of our ten acres, onto neighbors property.it was way cheaper to put this in and train the dogs to it. It works amazingly. I never have to call out for them, as we put it around five acres around the house. They have ran through it, but only to chase our 4 wheeler, and havent done it since.
Only issue we have encountered in the month it has been installed was the receiver fell off the collar about a week ago. We lost the pins and the washers to it, but luckily found the receiver. It was a easy fix, I just took a piece of plastic, filed it in an oval and drilled two holes, screwed in the two extra pins that came with the collar. It should hold until we buy the actual washers.
Regardless, this was worth way more then the money put into it... it has saved me a lot of stress, worrying about if they where going to take off again.

Rating
20%/
20%
by
My son bought this collar and petsafe containment system. We have always used innotek systems which I bought. This is my second black lab. The innotek system was about 14 years old so my son replaced it with petsafe because the dog runs the fence in about 4 weeks and is always trying to bounce on the wire and wears out the battery. The ninevolt battery only lasts 1 week on the pet safe system. He gets out and the neighbors complain, I am not happy with this system. Either my son is not setting it up right or this system is not worth the money he spent. Not happy

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize that you have experienced problems with your Stubborn Dog In-Ground System. The normal battery life on the collar should average from 1 to 3 months depending on use. If you are experiencing a shorter battery life, we recommend to remove the older battery from your receiver for a few minutes before inserting a new 9-volt alkaline battery. If the receiver still fails to contain the pet, please view the troubleshooting steps for this product provided under our support tab. Also know that this Petsafe product does come with a 1 year limited warranty. If you need further assistance, please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
we purchased this fence and self installed. we have had it for 6 months now and it is remarkable. we have a mixed pound puppy, a beagle that is very curious, and she has jumped our chain link fence three times.
since the in ground fence she does what she want to do in our big yard, but stays 4-5 feet away from the chain link. the training cycle was fun and easy for us. she was on her own in one week.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I've had this six months for my spunky pit terrier. He listens ok to his old master but ignores me, my friend says because my voice is pitched too high (well I'm female I can't go any lower). This is a great dog except that he enjoys splitting out the door and making me chase him. People think all pits will bite them so of course there is much whining when he gets out. This collar was very expensive, I wish they would make a remote that worked with the fence collars. I want to have something I can carry with me since he insists on jumping out of the vehicle too and I'm afraid he'll run in the street etc. Their products are expensive but this and the wireless transmitter have worked great to keep him from pushing past me out the door. I'd give this a five if they used a better quality webbing on the collar, this is really cheap stuff guys for a few cents more you could get some better quality webbing that won't fray so easily if anything rubs on it. Fortunately the collar is easy to replace but for all this money I don't feel I should have to. I bought the flexible contacts right away and it seems more comfortable on the dog and work just as well. I haven't had any problems with the screws stripping out and I haven't had to change a 9 volt yet just spend the bucks on the energizers and they'll last a good long time of course after a week of testing the waters he pretty much backs off when the beeping starts these days but I had to set the zone all the way out so he got enough shocks to change his mind he was rushing it but that stopped since I turned it all the way up and made the zone deeper.

Rating
40%/
40%
by
I have the stuborn dog system and I have a 24Lb Puggle. She has since been able to cause the main box to no longer send a signal to collar by sitting close to the inground wire and letting it vibrate her. After about 5-7 minutes of it vibrating her, she is able to walk out of the yard and the main box still is lit, no beeping noise and appears to be working. When we find her, I bring collar to the wire outside and then to the wire near box, and no tone, no vibrate, no nothing. I unplug box and the collar then picks up the signal and tones, vibrates and shocks. Customer service told me that it is a safety feature so the dog doesn't get hurt. If it is only vibrating, why is box shutting down signal but appears to be working. I can keep chasing this dog around a busy street. HELP, Any Ideas

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your Stubborn Dog In-Ground Receiver and we would love to help. The system does have a "safety time-out" feature that will occur after 30 seconds of correction and also an "anti-linger" feature which means that if your puggle happens to stay near the warning area for more than a few seconds, a correction should be administered. If there doesn't seem to be a response other than vibration, you may want to check your correction level to make sure you are on the proper setting. To do this, please refer to your manual under "Prepare The Receiver Collar" or view our troubleshooting tips provided at the link below. If your transmitter box seems to be powering off inconsistently, a replacement may be needed and can be offered to you by contacting our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/fencing/in-ground-fences/stubborn-dog-in-ground-fence

Rating
100%/
100%
by
this product is all that it claims to be.
I had a problem and called support. they helped me take care of the
problem over the phone.

Rating
40%/
40%
by
We use this collar with our 12 Siberian Huskies and recommend its use on all of our fans. At times when we are training with our 20 volunteers we have as many as 26 huskies running free on our 3 acres using the stubborn dog collar. It is great because it give each of these running dogs a life of freedom and independence they often don't see. We currently have 4 broken transmitters and 15 broken collars which weather and the high activity level of our dogs have contributed to. My attempts to contact the Pet Safe customer service departments have never even been answered. This of course is very disappointing as we are out in public and meet thousands of dog owners each year. It is the only thing makes us hesitate to fully recommend the Pet Safe products.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that our Customer Care Center has failed to meet your expectations and that you have not received any of our previous responses to your emails. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We would like the opportunity to assist you with these receiver collars. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for additional troubleshooting and replacement assistance.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I have so far not had any issue with the main function of the collar itself. It delivers a shock as expected and was easy to use. My only complaint which seems to be common is that they really tighten the screws down so you end up stripping them trying to put in the battery.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
Purchased this for our dogs who have used the regular collars for several years. They are definitely stubborn dogs (Lab and Rottweiler) and had no problem taking the shock and running through the fence. We have had the Stubborn Dog Collars for about a week now and they have not even attempted to leave their boundary. We put the collars on, reminded them of where their boundary is, and that is all it took.
I am confident these collars will continue to keep them where they are supposed to be. I believe the shock has been set to 3, we'll see if it needs to be raised in the future...
My only complaint for these is the flimsy nylon snap-together collar. For the price of these and to accommodate large dogs, Pet Safe really ought to mount these on higher quality, sturdy collars. We had to replace our old ones and I expect these collars will break as well. Also, regarding packaging, there is no need to tighten the screws into the device so tight. We stripped out several of the screws trying to get the back off to insert the battery. Great product all in all, but there needs to be higher quality collars and parts with these. I would even pay a little more to not have to deal with those 2 issues.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I am caring for a friends very active and stubborn pit terrier. Without the alpha male in the house he was being a dash out the door problem when I was trying to leave or come home. I use this with the PIRF-100 indoor wireless transmitter. There must be more than one version of this product, mine has five correction levels, beep tone(s) but there is no vibration option. It took about fifteen minutes to install the battery, setup the wireless transmitter and set the collar. For my active horse dog I set it to level three, first you get one beep, then three then the first zap. If the dog ignores the first correction the next two increase in level to maximum. I tested it yesterday, when he rushed the door he apparently ignored the first two zaps but level three made the point, you'd think somebody stepped on his foot or his tail and the collar reacted quickly all within about fifteen seconds or less. When I came home last night he walked to the edge and got the first beep and turned around, apparently had enough of that. This morning when I left he didn't even try just went back to bed. Very happy with this, he's a sweet dog just very wilfull. As a concerned furry parent I felt I should experience the zap myself, the level three was annoying enough I didn't try the four or five, it is like somebody walking across the floor in winter time and touching you to discharge the built up static charge, even the 3 got my attention I think five would hurt. Now PetSafe here's a suggestion for a new product. You have training collars and remotes but how about a remote that works with the fence collars? I'd buy one, you have so many modular products I bet you'd sell a lot of them. This dog also needs some help with leash manners, he already understands the door and if the pulling on the leash was the same correction....

Rating
80%/
80%
by
We have had this for about 6 months now. We have 80 acres and needed to keep our dog in the 3 acres around the house and out of the pasture. Our dog literally runs faster than a greyhound so this system had to stop her before she could run through it. Since she is so active, we had to set the boundary at around 10 feet, and after a short training exercise, we keep the device on 1 (vibrate and audible) or on 2 (above plus minor shock). Easy adjust up to a 5 setting, which will pretty much shock her silly. She plays with one of horses to the point of horse grabbing the box with his teeth and lifting the dog off the ground. Yes, they play rough. This caused the box to become separated from the nylon collar. Lost one of the probes. Then we found the device in the yard a couple times before could get a probe replacement kit. We ended up abandoning the nylon collar idea because the device kept getting pulled through the holes and bought an 18" Bret Michaels leather collar with pink stitching, drilled two 5/16 holes and attached it securely. Our dog is very very rough with everything and this system is the best investment we have made for her safety. I can't even coax her within 20 feet of the boundary - she just lays down and waits for me to get well within her area before she comes to me. This is definitely worth the money.