Close
#

Stubborn Dog In-Ground Receiver Collar

Reviews

79% 100% 16
Overall
%
(16)
#
Ratings Breakdown
16 reviews
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
1

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Stubborn Dog In-Ground Receiver Collar
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
worth every penny, 8/13/14
by
We have had our fence for about a year and we love it. Wish we would have installed one years ago. Strongly recommend!

Rating
60%/
60%
great fence, broken collar, 7/27/14
by
We love the fence and it's convenience! It's worked very well for our stubborn 70 lb black lab mix with lots of rabbits and chipmunks to tease her. We've had the system for just over a year, and the collar is broken. No way to fix it, no choice but to buy another. Hopefully we don't need to buy a new one every year :-/

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear that you have had success with your lab and her Stubborn Dog In-Ground Receiver Collar. Please know that we do offer replacement options even after the initial warranty period has ended, and we would be happy to help you! For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
works great, 6/25/14
by
I have had this system for Years. A 90lb a 70lb pitbull a 13 lb min pin. mastiff and another lab puppies and they have never crossed the line. The one my lab is using was from my other dog and I haven't had to change the battery in over 6 months. I'm buying another collar for the mastiff puppy. I love this product.

Rating
80%/
80%
Works good but few issues, 6/12/14
by
I have a 90lb lab and a 60lb Lab mix. It works great except the collar seems to fall off often. They like to chase one another in the back yard and nip at one another but I notice that they are able to get the collar off one another at times which caused them both to venture out into the woods. Wish there was a more durable collar maybe one that buckled instead of snapped. Also does this product come with a remote? I wanted to train my dogs not to jump on people and furniture but didn't want to spend more money on a different collar. Would be great just to use the same collar.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your time and feedback on your experience with the Stubborn Dog In Ground Receiver! We are sorry to hear that the straps do not meet your expectations, and we can understand your concern for your 2 wandering labs!
Unfortunately we do not have an alternate strap available for this particular receiver collar. However, many pet owners who prefer the buckle style strap have found success with the use of third party collar. Please know that the Stubborn Dog In-Ground Fence is not compatible with any handheld remotes for a trainer. A different system would be required as they utilize different technologies. For more information on our Remote Trainers, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677, or view the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/training-behavior/remote-trainers

Rating
100%/
100%
Works great on a 90 pound Boxer, 5/12/14
by
Works great on our 90 pound Boxer that has a mind of his own when the UPS deliveries come in. Like others have said...Cheep collar (so I made my own) and unsatisfactory Customer Service...but the product does the trick!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear that you and your Boxer have had success with the Stubborn Dog Receiver! We do apologize that the design of the strap does not meet your expectation, and that you have had an unsatisfactory interaction with our Customer Care. If you'd like to discuss your experience, please call 1-800-732-2677. Our Customer Care representatives are standing by to help with any questions or concerns that you may have.

Rating
100%/
100%
keeps in my 2 rottweilers, 3/28/14
by
We had some major trouble with our rottweiler rooming out of our ten acres, onto neighbors property.it was way cheaper to put this in and train the dogs to it. It works amazingly. I never have to call out for them, as we put it around five acres around the house. They have ran through it, but only to chase our 4 wheeler, and havent done it since.
Only issue we have encountered in the month it has been installed was the receiver fell off the collar about a week ago. We lost the pins and the washers to it, but luckily found the receiver. It was a easy fix, I just took a piece of plastic, filed it in an oval and drilled two holes, screwed in the two extra pins that came with the collar. It should hold until we buy the actual washers.
Regardless, this was worth way more then the money put into it... it has saved me a lot of stress, worrying about if they where going to take off again.

Rating
20%/
20%
Dog runs out into the street, 1/2/14
by
My son bought this collar and petsafe containment system. We have always used innotek systems which I bought. This is my second black lab. The innotek system was about 14 years old so my son replaced it with petsafe because the dog runs the fence in about 4 weeks and is always trying to bounce on the wire and wears out the battery. The ninevolt battery only lasts 1 week on the pet safe system. He gets out and the neighbors complain, I am not happy with this system. Either my son is not setting it up right or this system is not worth the money he spent. Not happy

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize that you have experienced problems with your Stubborn Dog In-Ground System. The normal battery life on the collar should average from 1 to 3 months depending on use. If you are experiencing a shorter battery life, we recommend to remove the older battery from your receiver for a few minutes before inserting a new 9-volt alkaline battery. If the receiver still fails to contain the pet, please view the troubleshooting steps for this product provided under our support tab. Also know that this Petsafe product does come with a 1 year limited warranty. If you need further assistance, please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
purchased pigoo in ground , 12/24/13
by
we purchased this fence and self installed. we have had it for 6 months now and it is remarkable. we have a mixed pound puppy, a beagle that is very curious, and she has jumped our chain link fence three times.
since the in ground fence she does what she want to do in our big yard, but stays 4-5 feet away from the chain link. the training cycle was fun and easy for us. she was on her own in one week.

Rating
80%/
80%
good electronics, cheapo collar, 12/8/13
by
I've had this six months for my spunky pit terrier. He listens ok to his old master but ignores me, my friend says because my voice is pitched too high (well I'm female I can't go any lower). This is a great dog except that he enjoys splitting out the door and making me chase him. People think all pits will bite them so of course there is much whining when he gets out. This collar was very expensive, I wish they would make a remote that worked with the fence collars. I want to have something I can carry with me since he insists on jumping out of the vehicle too and I'm afraid he'll run in the street etc. Their products are expensive but this and the wireless transmitter have worked great to keep him from pushing past me out the door. I'd give this a five if they used a better quality webbing on the collar, this is really cheap stuff guys for a few cents more you could get some better quality webbing that won't fray so easily if anything rubs on it. Fortunately the collar is easy to replace but for all this money I don't feel I should have to. I bought the flexible contacts right away and it seems more comfortable on the dog and work just as well. I haven't had any problems with the screws stripping out and I haven't had to change a 9 volt yet just spend the bucks on the energizers and they'll last a good long time of course after a week of testing the waters he pretty much backs off when the beeping starts these days but I had to set the zone all the way out so he got enough shocks to change his mind he was rushing it but that stopped since I turned it all the way up and made the zone deeper.

Rating
40%/
40%
Dog is beating the system, 11/19/13
by
I have the stuborn dog system and I have a 24Lb Puggle. She has since been able to cause the main box to no longer send a signal to collar by sitting close to the inground wire and letting it vibrate her. After about 5-7 minutes of it vibrating her, she is able to walk out of the yard and the main box still is lit, no beeping noise and appears to be working. When we find her, I bring collar to the wire outside and then to the wire near box, and no tone, no vibrate, no nothing. I unplug box and the collar then picks up the signal and tones, vibrates and shocks. Customer service told me that it is a safety feature so the dog doesn't get hurt. If it is only vibrating, why is box shutting down signal but appears to be working. I can keep chasing this dog around a busy street. HELP, Any Ideas

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your Stubborn Dog In-Ground Receiver and we would love to help. The system does have a "safety time-out" feature that will occur after 30 seconds of correction and also an "anti-linger" feature which means that if your puggle happens to stay near the warning area for more than a few seconds, a correction should be administered. If there doesn't seem to be a response other than vibration, you may want to check your correction level to make sure you are on the proper setting. To do this, please refer to your manual under "Prepare The Receiver Collar" or view our troubleshooting tips provided at the link below. If your transmitter box seems to be powering off inconsistently, a replacement may be needed and can be offered to you by contacting our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/fencing/in-ground-fences/stubborn-dog-in-ground-fence

Rating
100%/
100%
problem & solution, 10/21/13
by
this product is all that it claims to be.
I had a problem and called support. they helped me take care of the
problem over the phone.

Rating
40%/
40%
Great Collar - Lousy Service from Pet Safe, 10/6/13
by
We use this collar with our 12 Siberian Huskies and recommend its use on all of our fans. At times when we are training with our 20 volunteers we have as many as 26 huskies running free on our 3 acres using the stubborn dog collar. It is great because it give each of these running dogs a life of freedom and independence they often don't see. We currently have 4 broken transmitters and 15 broken collars which weather and the high activity level of our dogs have contributed to. My attempts to contact the Pet Safe customer service departments have never even been answered. This of course is very disappointing as we are out in public and meet thousands of dog owners each year. It is the only thing makes us hesitate to fully recommend the Pet Safe products.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that our Customer Care Center has failed to meet your expectations and that you have not received any of our previous responses to your emails. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We would like the opportunity to assist you with these receiver collars. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for additional troubleshooting and replacement assistance.

Rating
80%/
80%
Overall what I expected, 9/2/13
by
I have so far not had any issue with the main function of the collar itself. It delivers a shock as expected and was easy to use. My only complaint which seems to be common is that they really tighten the screws down so you end up stripping them trying to put in the battery.

Rating
80%/
80%
Great Collar - does job well, 7/25/13
by
Purchased this for our dogs who have used the regular collars for several years. They are definitely stubborn dogs (Lab and Rottweiler) and had no problem taking the shock and running through the fence. We have had the Stubborn Dog Collars for about a week now and they have not even attempted to leave their boundary. We put the collars on, reminded them of where their boundary is, and that is all it took.
I am confident these collars will continue to keep them where they are supposed to be. I believe the shock has been set to 3, we'll see if it needs to be raised in the future...
My only complaint for these is the flimsy nylon snap-together collar. For the price of these and to accommodate large dogs, Pet Safe really ought to mount these on higher quality, sturdy collars. We had to replace our old ones and I expect these collars will break as well. Also, regarding packaging, there is no need to tighten the screws into the device so tight. We stripped out several of the screws trying to get the back off to insert the battery. Great product all in all, but there needs to be higher quality collars and parts with these. I would even pay a little more to not have to deal with those 2 issues.

Rating
100%/
100%
Worth the money and works great, 6/26/13
by
I am caring for a friends very active and stubborn pit terrier. Without the alpha male in the house he was being a dash out the door problem when I was trying to leave or come home. I use this with the PIRF-100 indoor wireless transmitter. There must be more than one version of this product, mine has five correction levels, beep tone(s) but there is no vibration option. It took about fifteen minutes to install the battery, setup the wireless transmitter and set the collar. For my active horse dog I set it to level three, first you get one beep, then three then the first zap. If the dog ignores the first correction the next two increase in level to maximum. I tested it yesterday, when he rushed the door he apparently ignored the first two zaps but level three made the point, you'd think somebody stepped on his foot or his tail and the collar reacted quickly all within about fifteen seconds or less. When I came home last night he walked to the edge and got the first beep and turned around, apparently had enough of that. This morning when I left he didn't even try just went back to bed. Very happy with this, he's a sweet dog just very wilfull. As a concerned furry parent I felt I should experience the zap myself, the level three was annoying enough I didn't try the four or five, it is like somebody walking across the floor in winter time and touching you to discharge the built up static charge, even the 3 got my attention I think five would hurt. Now PetSafe here's a suggestion for a new product. You have training collars and remotes but how about a remote that works with the fence collars? I'd buy one, you have so many modular products I bet you'd sell a lot of them. This dog also needs some help with leash manners, he already understands the door and if the pulling on the leash was the same correction....

Rating
80%/
80%
Good investment, 5/5/13
by
We have had this for about 6 months now. We have 80 acres and needed to keep our dog in the 3 acres around the house and out of the pasture. Our dog literally runs faster than a greyhound so this system had to stop her before she could run through it. Since she is so active, we had to set the boundary at around 10 feet, and after a short training exercise, we keep the device on 1 (vibrate and audible) or on 2 (above plus minor shock). Easy adjust up to a 5 setting, which will pretty much shock her silly. She plays with one of horses to the point of horse grabbing the box with his teeth and lifting the dog off the ground. Yes, they play rough. This caused the box to become separated from the nylon collar. Lost one of the probes. Then we found the device in the yard a couple times before could get a probe replacement kit. We ended up abandoning the nylon collar idea because the device kept getting pulled through the holes and bought an 18" Bret Michaels leather collar with pink stitching, drilled two 5/16 holes and attached it securely. Our dog is very very rough with everything and this system is the best investment we have made for her safety. I can't even coax her within 20 feet of the boundary - she just lays down and waits for me to get well within her area before she comes to me. This is definitely worth the money.

×