Close
#

Stay+Play Wireless Fence®

Reviews

75% 100% 33
Overall
%
(33)
#
Ratings Breakdown
33 reviews
5 star
17
4 star
4
3 star
4
2 star
2
1 star
6

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Stay+Play Wireless Fence®
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
Stay and Play awesome product, 10/24/14
by
We purchased stay and play 3 years ago and still working great. Our labs have never left the yard. We have only had a problem with a collar not recharging so I contacted customer service and they replaced it with no problems. I didn't even have receipt, I only had cancel check showing large purchase at Petco. They were wonderful and would buy this product again. I am getting ready to train our new lab puppy.

Rating
60%/
60%
Love Hate Relationship, 10/19/14
by
We purchased the Stay+Play Wireless Fence just over a year ago and absolutely loved it! We were very satisfied with the freedom it gave both our large dogs while keeping them confined to our yard. Unfortunately as I've read in several other reviews, one of the collars gave out so we had to purchase an extra one. A few months later, the transmitter is no longer working.
I am now purchasing another complete system since I've already purchased a new collar and I am being optimistic that with all the reviews on the lack of longevity with this system that someone has gone back to the drawing board to improve the quality of a fantastic system (when it is working).
$350 (new unit) + $170 (extra collar) + $170 (extra collar) + $350 (new unit) = $1040 (excluding tax!) I'm giving it one last chance - call me a fool!


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you've experienced with your Stay+Play Wireless Fence®! We are happy to hear of the success you and your dogs have had with the system, and we appreciate that you continue to use our products. Please know that this system is backed by a warranty and we do offer replacement assistance even after the initial warranty period is over. Also, many issues that may cause the system to stop working can be resolved by placement and troubleshooting tips from our Product Experts. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
not compatible with our home, 10/19/14
by
We bought the PetSafe Stay+play system for our 1 year old adopted dog. She had been a stray before and because of that she will not use the bathroom on a leash. Our vet recommended the invisible fence idea as a less expensive alternative to a traditional fence especially since we have several acres of property. So we bought this system hoping that it would give her the freedom she desires while keeping her safe. We did not know, however, that due to the fact that we have a metal roof on our house the system (and all other PetSafe systems according to the customer support representative we spoke with) are not compatible with metal roofs. This would have been nice to know before spending so much money on a product that we now cannot use.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Stay+Play Wireless Fence® was not suitable for your needs and apologize for any confusion! Please know that this product is backed by a warranty as well as a 90-day return policy if purchased through PetSafe.net. As stated on the packaging, a variety of factors, including terrain, topography, and metal objects may affect operating range. More information on where to install your system can also be found at: http://www.petsafe.net/support/fencing/wireless-fences/stay-play-wireless-fence#install-setup .

For more information on our return policy, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677, or visit: http://www.petsafe.net/support/policies-and-terms/return-information

Rating
100%/
100%
wireless fencing - i love it, so does !the dog, 9/23/14
by
i've owned/used this system about 3.5 years, since the dog was 4 months old. he's a 'rescued dog'. the system quit! i sent an email and they helped me trouble-shoot and that did not work, BUT, they gave me a serious discount on a new system and i got it within one week! me, the dog and my son are all happy now, especially our neighbors. our neighbors count on our dog to do surveillance on the area and he is back on the job. I LOVE THIS THING!!!

Rating
60%/
60%
Lasts just past the warranty of 1 year, 9/8/14
by
With a 100lb. Boxer and a 15lb. Bichon, this product was spectacular for setting boundaries on our property of over seven acres - allowing our beautiful dogs to have a grand ole time running and playing. They respected their boundaries nicely.
After 2 years their collars lit up like a carnival, buzzing and beeping at every step they took outside the house. It took a few days before we finally coaxed them back outside.
Buying two more systems does not thrill me - I could have installed an invisible fence system and not dealt with the renewal of two Pet Safe units every two years. What to do....

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your feedback on your experience with the Stay + Play Wireless Fence. We are sorry to hear of the trouble you experienced with your system. Please know that these products are covered by a 1 year warranty, and our Call Center is happy to assist with any troubleshooting or replacement options even after the warranty has ended. We are happy to hear that your Boxer and Bichon are still enjoying their outside area. If both of your collars were responding at a much closer range than usual, this could be due to signal interference. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Cannot live without it!, 9/5/14
by
We've had this product for three years now without any problems whatsoever. Of course, we have replaced the batteries a few times but they hold up well.
We only have the charge the collar about once a month. Our St Bernard has tremendous respect for his collar.

Rating
20%/
20%
Initial quality is fine. Designed to last just past the warranty period., 7/26/14
by
Initial quality is fine. $25 worth of materials, $25 worth of assembly costs, $25 worth of marketing/sales costs, and the balance is fluff. There must have been considerable effort by statisticians to determine the input of component quality to form a predictive model to ensure the unit would make it to just past the warranty period. The product doesn't physically come apart, it fails electronically. I was careful in the installation of the transmitter unit to ensure its protection from power surges by putting it on a gfi circuit, a power strip with a surge protector, and a power surge plug. It still failed. I am on my third collar, with using a surge protector, and following the recharging protocol. Having said this, I haven't found a system that will necessarily work any better. What choice do I have but to buy another unit.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you have experienced problems with your Stay + Play Wireless Fence, and can understand how frustrating a non functioning system must be! Please know that we do offer replacement options even after the 1 year warranty, and we will be attempting to contact you regarding the problems you've encountered. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
THE BEST investment we have made for our "kids", 5/4/14
by
We cannot say enough about how GREAT this product is. We live in a rural setting with 2 large (45 and 65 lbs) rescue dogs that love to hunt. We could not train them to stay on the 1 acre property. After purchasing this "system" and going through the recommended training, it has worked 99%. One of the dogs has a slightly higher setting than the other, but they love to roam the area and have not left it for any reason (another dog, deer, etc.) Additionally, I have put the collar device to my wrist and have walked through the perimeter and have gotten only a "tingle". We are so impressed and would HIGHLY recommend this product.

Rating
100%/
100%
Rubi is Safe!!, 5/3/14
by
We have a 90 lb Shepherd/Lab mix on a 15-acre property next to a rural route in the Allegheny National Forest. Rubi loves to run and chase balls, but she also kept taking off to chase deer and greet local campers. We already had one dog hit and killed on the road, and couldn't let it happen again. It's amazing!!! She has been trained in less than 2 weeks. She seems a lot more calm, and I don't have to worry about her bolting out the door every time I open it. Today, she even stayed in her area when 2 dogs came by for a visit. I thought I was going to have to use the "Stubborn Dog" collar, but she's responding so well, I think I can return it to Tractor Supply. The next step will be to take it back to our home in Ohio where she has less room to negotiate, but I think she'll figure it out quickly. I really like the portability of the wireless system.

Rating
80%/
80%
Pretty Good Product, 4/23/14
by
I've had the Pet safe system delivered around Mid March. We set it up, and the first thing I noticed that it was a bit wishy washy on the boundary, I understand that there is a 2 foot boundary line however it's still a bit off especially with the height difference btw my two dogs. But it's not unmanageable. So far it's working well. Our dogs are the world’s best con artists and have Houdini style escape methods. These dogs are masters at getting through the current fence weather it’s over or under or just through, they’ll do it. Which is why we went this method and a wired system would not work as our front yard is under construction through VDOT. So we’ve gotten through the training and they picked up VERY FAST. Pretty much after a week they figured out the limitations of the system. My golden has the stay and play Stubborn collar because he’s very head strong. My Lab Hound has the normal collar. We’ve been using it for about 2.5 weeks and just had its first charge early last week. That was the same charge to use for set up and then constantly on since then. My husband has a car problem so in my one acre lot, I have two garages, a car trailer, a camping trailer and about 5 vehicles in our two drive ways. Works great around them haven’t seen any issues where the metal is causing issues with the signal. Its been great knowing my dogs can run around free and not have to worry about them getting into the road, or digging more trenches to install the wired underground fence. Will let you know if anything changes as the system gets older!!!

Rating
20%/
20%
Disappointing longevity , 3/29/14
by
Let me start by saying that when it works, the Petsafe Stay and Play is a simple to use and very effective pet containment system. My problem with this product is that within two years I have had to replace the original collar, the second collar I purchased for our second dog, and now the transmitter is bad. $350 for the system, $110 for the second collar, $220 in replacement collars, and now $200 for a new transmitter if I want a working "fence". Quite frankly I'm reticent to spend the money, as I can not trust the collars to last more than another six months. I had a Petsafe in ground system at my previous home and never had an issue with it, if you are interested in a Petsafe product I would recommend going that route as their wireless system is poorly designed and constructed at best.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great products and excellent customer service!, 3/26/14
by
We have used the wireless containment system for a couple of years now and have been very happy with it. We have had an issue with one of the systems but the customer service was fantastic and replaced it. They were very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend Petsafe products.

Rating
100%/
100%
It's Fantastic and Better Than The Havahart Radial Fence., 3/25/14
by
I had been using the Havahart Radial Fence until the collar shorted out. We live near the ocean and have a canal behind us. The dog jumped in the canal last time and fried the old unit out. I bought this unit with some concern. It's been running now for 2 weeks and has been working incredibly well.

In the end we decided that the Play and Stay may be the right solution due to it's simplicity. The collar is a receiver and not a transceiver like other brands. We operate out of a wooden apartment on the second floor WITH a metal roof and the bottom floors are cinder block. There are multiple units like that and the unit works great due to it's simplicity.

The dog wanders around between the block walls and sometimes as much as four block walls are between the controller and collar. I do think that the fact that the top floors are wooden allow a a better penetration of the signal. The boundary is a bit odd shaped but so far there are no dead spots. We also no longer worry about the dog in the canal shorting out the collar. Crocodiles are still an issue. lol.

The plus to this is that since the unit is a receiver only, the battery has had a crazy long life compared to my old wireless collar (transceiver). I was always watching the battery levels on the old one. The boundary itself is a bit looser than I'd like but once the dog hears the warning once, he doesn't really feel like challenging it again for awhile.

We do live in Belize, Central America. It's hot here. I did notice that the controller does throw off some heat. We put the unit up high in the living room but think it's ventilated enough. We don't use air conditioning here. Hopefully the heat doesn't kill the unit.

Anyways, my thanks and a big thank you for a solution that's been vexing us here!




Rating
80%/
80%
Great Product Except The Battery, 3/16/14
by
With a new Puppy, combination Jack Russell and Dachshund, Jackshund, bought this system and within 3 days Kelly, @4months old was trained. It has been a pleasure to let Kelly have the run of the yard. We live on @3/4 acre with a golf course fairway behind us. Kelly enjoys watching the golfers come and go. My only issue is the battery replacement. There is none. I cannot understand how a good product could have you force you to spend $130.00 for a battery. That is holding you hostage. You don't know this until you now own it. You already have @ $360.00 invested. A better design would allow for a user to replace the battery w/o having to spend 1/3 of the orginal price.
A better method is to have a replacement program where one would return the collar for a reconditioned one for a nominal fee, $30 -$40?


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that Kelly is able to enjoy her view of the golf course! Please know that this product does carry a 1 year limited warranty and beyond that we do offer replacement options at a lower cost than retail! If you do have issues with your battery no longer charging, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
Going from old to new., 3/11/14
by
I have the original wireless system and have had it for over 10 years and was very happy with it. I'm thinking of up dating my system with the stay n play. I like the fact that it is smaller for traveling, I travel with mine all the time. Like the new features the stay n play has that the original system doesn't have and the collar works with the old and new systems and it's rechargeable.

Rating
100%/
100%
Life Saver, 3/9/14
by
We live in the country and have lost several dogs on this road.
People drive wide open around a bend and don't see our dogs until its to late.
I would rather not have a dog if I have to keep them on a leash.
That was until Stay and Play.
Buddy our rescue dog loves being outside in the day and inside at night.
With Stay and Play he can enjoy the out side anytime he wants.
And also with the PetSafe dog door he can come and go as he likes.

The Stay and Play took no time to set-up and for him to learn.
As he has gotten bigger we have had to adjust to his size and corrective response.

Dogs are not just a mans best friend, We are also a dogs best friend.
Thanks PetSafe

Rating
20%/
20%
Poor, 2/24/14
by
We have a golden retriever. She is 10 months old and about 70 lbs. When we first put the collar on her we had to set it on the high for it to do any good. During this cold weather, with a full charge, she roams like she doesn't have it on. I checked it with the tester and it seems to work but has no effect on her.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize that you are having trouble with your Stay + Play Wireless Fence® receiver. If your golden retriever has a long or thick coat, consider using the long contact points to reach through the fur. Also know that it is sometimes necessary to trim the hair around the contact points to make sure that contact is consistent. Long probes can be purchased by calling our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. You may also want to check our FAQ at the link below for any additional support or contact us for assistance.

link: http://www.petsafe.net/support/fencing/wireless-fences/stay-play-wireless-fence#faqs

Rating
100%/
100%
Love this Product, 2/8/14
by
Our puppy was quite the escape artist until we purchased Pet Safe. Our daughter had successfully used Pet Safe for her two larger dogs & third time was certainly a charm. Our Puppy learned within 2 days and sometimes even without his collar now he honors the boundary. He amazes our neighbors which gives us even more reason to compliment your product!
From: Rehoboth Beach, DE

Rating
100%/
100%
This is a really great product , 12/14/13
by
A friend got this for our dog's birthday.. I just love it.. she learn how to stay in our yard really fast... it has stop working and I call.. When I call them they was really nice to me and they are going to ship me a new one out... This is a really nice and a great company. The people that work for your company are really nice and they will help you if you have any question. I will tell everyone to get one of your Stay + Play Wireless Fence and tell them how nice you was to me.. Thank You Tabitha Helsley

Rating
100%/
100%
Outstanding company, 12/8/13
by
I purchased this product about two years ago for our lab and it worked great on her and didn't take long to train at all (maybe a day). However lightening struck it and I immediately called the company who replaced it in a couple of days at no charge. A year later the collar stopped sending a warning tone when out of the boundary so called the company once again who replaced the collar and base for a small fee even out of warranty. I highly recommend this wireless fence, it works great and the customer service is outstanding.

Rating
100%/
100%
Wife Says it is the Best Gift I Got Her in a Long Time!, 11/9/13
by
My wife has two Jack Russell Terriers that she would have to walk on leads 3-4 times a day. This was especially hard in the winter and I was concerned they might pull her down (one is rather large for a Jack). We looked at this product for several months before deciding to purchase, and were afraid that nothing would stop the dogs from running once outside without a leash. When they get on a scent there was typically no stopping them. We followed the training schedule, first with sound only, then with a correction setting on two (lowest shock setting). It only took one - two experiences with a correction before they were trained. Today they are much happier dogs because they are not on a leash and they get much more exercise than ever before. My wife says it is the best gift I had gotten her in a long time.

Rating
100%/
100%
Love the mobility of this product!, 11/2/13
by
We bought the Stay and Play for our 75 lb border collie/lab mix, and it has been a great convenience for our family! Our favorite use of this product is that it gives him a large area to play in at home, but it also allows us to bring him when we travel. The ability to adjust the roaming area makes it extremely versatile when we take him to different locations. We have saved hundreds of dollars in boarding fees. Recently, the collar was working intermittently, so I called the customer care center. Although we are out of the 1 year warranty, the lifetime warranty allowed us to replace it for only $45 with free shipping of the replacement collar, and free return of the old collar. We are very pleased with the customer service.

Rating
40%/
40%
I was happy when I purchased it, but now not so much, 10/27/13
by
I bought the unit about 7 or 8 months ago, but cannot find my receipt so now I'm stuck. When I first got it, I loved it. I have 2 cocker spaniels that are now just a year old. They love the outdoors, but recently the collars for the unit are not holding a charge. I'm afraid to leave them outside because I never know when they are working. I'm very disappointed as I spent over $500. For the unit and an extra collar. I think you should stand behind your product. Obviously I am not the only one with this issue. I am hesitant to purchase 2 more collars for fear it will happen again. Very disappointed.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this system has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss additional replacement options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Very pleased with Stay & Play unit!, 10/24/13
by
I have two large dogs on my Stay & Play unit, set at its widest area, and have had great success! By properly training my dogs at a medium high level on their collars, I was able to back off the daily correction and both the standard Schnauzer and Chessy respond immediately to the tone. Consequently, they wear their collars fairly loose and I have I found that by making sure that the contact points of their collars are not touching any metal parts of their regular collars, I need only recharge once every 7 to 10 day period. Even though they are enticed daily by horses, moose, rabbits, passing cars, and the occasional cat- they Stay in their yard while still being able to watch the world go on about its business. Thanks Stay & Play - now my dogs and neighbors are safe!

Rating
60%/
60%
Works great, but...., 9/25/13
by
I also have two collars, originally because we have two dogs. Now I am always cycling collars on and off the charger for the one dog that likes to wander. I also cannot leave the wireless unit plugged in because it makes a sound similar to a smoke alarm. For the money I paid for the collars and unit I would expect top notch everything. Spent nearly $500, and I probably wouldn't buy again. Worked great for 2 months but plugging the system in and out all the time isn't worth it.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40%/
40%
Collars don't hold charge - No replaceable batteries! , 9/6/13
by
Collars wont hold a charge less than a year from purchase. No way to replace the batteries to you stuck with buying $179 collar for it to die again in another year. Needs to have replaceable batteries!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this system has failed to meet your expectations. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We hope to hear from you soon.

Rating
80%/
80%
Works for me, 9/5/13
by
My lab mix kept crossing a busy road to visit doggie friends. We paid the higher price for this 3/4 acre system. I followed the directions and it works great. My dog broke through twice while playing with another dog but I increased the level and he hasn't done it since. My only con or why only 4 stars is the price for additional collars and units to expand the reach. I would love to give my dog more room to play and a have a very long lot. One unit covers the driveway area and one side of the house. I need two more 3/4 acre units.

Rating
100%/
100%
Gets the job done, 8/26/13
by
It was used to contain a very stubborn black Lab with the static correct set to the lowest level. Collar size MUST be adjusted properly as instructed in the manual to ensure consistent operation. The dog never left property after being trained and would not come within 6 feet of the boundary marker which is about 3 feet more than the actual boundary.
Since my property has trees on all sides I elected to use yellow vinyl marking tape instead of the provided marking flags which I felt the dog might not see in the under growth. The tape has certain advantages beside visibility ; one can for example place the tape across the driveway or placed across other large obstacles; it can be laid down on the lawn and easily moved and replaced for mowing.
I have to conclude that other reviewers were getting unsatisfactory results because they didn't take the time to setup the fence properly, didn't adjust the collar properly, or have a dog who simply isn't phased by receiving the static shock and who would be difficult to train regardless the training technique applied.

Rating
60%/
60%
Fantastic WHEN it works!! VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!, 8/5/13
by
I received this containment system as a gift for a new home for my five miniature pinschers. The system works great and kept my dogs safely on my property. After about six months one of the collars seized and stopped working and would no longer take a charge. I called the company and was told w/o a receipt they would be unwilling to help me or my only other option would be to purchase another collar at a reduced selling price of $99.00 directly from them. When I explained that it was a gift and did not have a receipt, they continually told me they could not help me. A year later...all my collars are not working and Pet Safe refuses to replace any of the collars for me. VERY VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE and based on this alone I would not recommend this system to anyone.

Rating
100%/
100%
Recommended, 8/1/13
by
We have had this for over 4 years, and it works a treat. It has enabled our Lab to have much more freedom than we would normally allow, we open the door and out she goes. After a while she got to know where the boundaries are, and she doesn;t try to go over them. The great thing is that we have taken it to friends houses when they have been dog sitting, which is a huge bonus

Rating
20%/
20%
Piece of Junk, 7/14/13
by
We bought this product for our dog who is at flight risk whenever we open the door in hope that she would be able to have fun playing in the yard. We read about this product and while we were setting it up, it was very spotty and very inconsistent and we could not find the boundaries. Don't waste your time or money with this product.

Rating
100%/
100%
Good product, 7/8/13
by
I have had this product well over a year now. I have 3 dogs, each over 110 lbs, all on the same system. The ability to add 2+ collars to the system and is wonderful. Many other systems on the market only allow up to 2 collars on one transmitter unit. Initial training to the unit is easy. Portability is the best feature about the system. When we have family BBQ's at the In-Laws or even other places, we bring the system with us. When ever we go places the dogs will go out until the hear the tone on the collar when they have reached their limit instead of associating physical boundary markers, making the need of the boundary flags nonexistent. Good product, still going strong, can take anywhere, affordable, effective, and easy to train.

Rating
20%/
20%
Not worth the hassle, 7/2/13
by
We have owned 2 of these units and the transmitters have quit working on us with both of them. The first quit within a month of buying it and we were sent a new one quickly. It worked for about a year (just out of warranty) and we are stuck with multiple collars and no working transmitter. If you care about your pet, I would probably stay away from this product.

×