Close
#

Stay+Play Wireless Fence® Rechargeable Receiver Collar

Reviews

49% 100% 30
Overall
%
(30)
#
Ratings Breakdown
30 reviews
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
6
2 star
8
1 star
10

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Stay+Play Wireless Fence® Rechargeable Receiver Collar
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
60%/
60%
Great product when it works , 6/30/14
by
We are currently on our third collar for the Stay and Play. The system works fantastic with the warning beeps and keeps my 180 lb Great Saint inside the perimeters of our acreage. However, we are on our 3rd collar within a year. The first one stopped holding a charge after about 3 months and our second one just completely stopped giving electric charges (still beeps though). As we did not have the original receipts, we were advised warranty would not cover it. Very frustrating and expensive.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the problems you've encountered with your PetSafe Stay + Play Receiver Collars. We can understand your frustration in having to get replacement products within such a short period of time. Please know that even if a copy of your receipt is unavailable, we do still have replacement assistance available. For purchases made through retail stores or other approved websites, we would recommend to register your product at the link below as soon as it is purchased so if a warranty claim is needed, the information will be on file. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677 for more information.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/product-registration

Rating
40%/
40%
Great system, terrible battery, 6/3/14
by
The system worked great for the last year. Then suddenly the battery will no longer hold a charge. I charge the collar for several hours and it goes dead in a matter of minutes. It's quite a scam to make a battery with a lifespan that's approximately a year so you'll be sure to get your $129 for the replacement collar. Great job making it a non-replaceable battery. Very shrewd...

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the problem you've experienced with your Stay + Play receiver collar. We can understand how frustrating it must be to experience a weakened battery just after 1 year of owning the product! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year limited warranty, and we do offer replacement assistance outside of that warranty.
Typically, a full charge on the receiver collar will last about 3 weeks. We recommend to only charge the collar once the Low Battery Indicator Light is flashing. This will help prolong the battery life to 3-5 years.
To learn more about our replacement options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great system , 5/26/14
by
This has been a great product. We have 4 dogs (an Airedale, Jack Russell, Giant Schnauzer mix, and a Great Pyrenees/Lab mix). All stubborn! It took me less than a day to train, and the system has worked great- we love it! We have deer and multiple other species in our yard and this has contained our dogs well. It is quite an expensive investment, but well worth the safety of our dogs. I am in the process of buying one more collar- just waiting for a sale.

Rating
80%/
80%
Collar itself, 5/23/14
by
The receiver has worked fine for me and did it's job. The collar for the receiver on the other hand was destroyed by my two dogs playing within 3 weeks of having it. So now I have a receiver with no collar and a dog that runs out of my yard. I would just suggest making the clasp out of metal instead of plastic, that would solve my issue. I haven't had it long enough to experience the charging issues everyone else is having though.

PetSafe Response: We are sorry to hear that the design of the Stay + Play Wireless collar has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that this system is backed by a 1 year limited warranty, and we do have replacement options available for your receiver collar. We do also have another style strap that is not a quick release clasp, but may better suit your needs. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Love it, 5/14/14
by
We bought our wireless fencing system and extra receiver to extend the area when we got our new lab puppy 2 years ago. The system has been amazing. We live in the country and had previous dogs that would run away when not being watched. With this wireless fence we have never had to worry. We have even taken it to our dog sitters house to use.
Unfortunately we have lost the rubber cover on our rechargeable collar and I am concerned that it is no longer water proof. I haven't been able to find the replacement part yet for it and hope that i don't have to replace the entire collar.
We recharge the collar every 2-3 weeks or so and otherwise it is maintenance free.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear that you have had success with your Stay+Play Wireless System! If you have lost the mud plug for the receiver collar, please know that we do offer replacements in the Stay+Play Collar Accessory Kit. This kit can be purchased at the link below, or by contacting our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/stay-play-collar-accessory-kit

Rating
20%/
20%
Doesn't work or hold a charge, 5/10/14
by
Unfortunately my two collars do not hold a charge for more than half and hour, and when I tested the boundaries, it never made a peep. I looked at the purchase date and it was a year and a month ago. During the cold Chicago Winter, I didn't pay any mind to it. Now that it's Spring time and I want to use it, it doesn't work. I thought of looking up the warranty to find that I am a month short. Now I'm stuck with 2 non working collars and can't afford to purchase new ones. Thanks for making a faulty product. I did like the product when I was able to use it last Spring-Fall.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear you had trouble with your Stay+Play Wireless Receiver! We can understand how frustrating a dying battery can be, especially when a fully charged collar should last up to 5 weeks. Please know that even though you are 1 month over your purchase date, we are happy to work with you in finding a replacement solution. We will be attempting to contact you shortly in order to discuss possible replacement options. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Company doesnt seem to stand behind this product, 3/7/14
by
With so many reviews saying the same thing, that the collar does not hold a charge, I am surprised that the company does not stand behind their product and do something about it for their customers!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Stay + Play Wireless Fence Receiver Collar. The unit does carry a one year limited warranty and we would be happy to assist you with possible warranty options. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
20%/
20%
Does not hold a charge!! , 3/7/14
by
We bought this system (which is not cheap) and an additional collar for our other dog, and neither collar hold a charge. Definitely would not buy and I have told neighbors and others not to buy this product! Since there is no replacement battery option, the only other option is to buy another collar at the ridiculous price of $130.00. We will probably end up buying an entire new system, BUT NOT THIS ONE

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Stay + Play Wireless Fence Receiver Collar. The unit does carry a one year limited warranty and we would be happy to assist you with possible warranty options. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Love System, 3/3/14
by
We have had this system for almost 2 years! We love it still using original collar. We use this everyday. When we travel we even take the whole system with us so when there is no fence around the yard she can still have freedom to run! It was easy to train her and sometimes I think she knows her boundary line without having collar on! We recommend it to all our dog friends!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your time and feedback on the Stay + Play® Wireless Fence. We are happy to know that your pet is able to run wherever you travel. Thank you for the recommendations!

Rating
60%/
60%
Wireless Fencing & Poor Quality Rechargable Collars, 2/26/14
by
Really like the system as a whole but after 6 months the collar wouldn't hold a charge! Looks like this is a problem after looking at other reviews. I should have investigated a little more because the collars are expensive to replace!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your feedback and apologize that the battery on the Stay + Play® Wireless Fence Receiver Collar has failed to meet your expectations. The average battery life is estimated at approximately 3-5 years; however, excessive overcharging can shorten the battery life. To extend the battery life, please try to avoid overcharging the receiver collar. The receiver collar will flash red when the battery is low, and it is at this time that the collar should be charged. The average charge should last up to 3 weeks depending on use. Please know that this Petsafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
Stay & Play Nice when they work!, 2/15/14
by
I purchased (3) collars and just over 6 months one has gone bad already. This is going to be an expensive investment to contain my (3) small dogs in the future if the others fail. Hope the one I am about to order lasts longer!

Rating
40%/
40%
Love it when it works, 1/29/14
by
Have had this less than a year and the collar wouldn't take a charge. I just ordered another one and hopefully this one lasts longer.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the Stay + Play Wireless Fence Receiver Collar. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40%/
40%
Doesn't hold a charge, 1/29/14
by
I've had this system for about 18 months and the collar will not hold a charge. sad considering this unit cost $400.00 at Pet Smart.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with the Stay + Play Wireless Fence Receiver Collar. We do offer replacement options for products after the first year of ownership. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
40%/
40%
Collar no longer charges after a year, 1/24/14
by
Really unhappy that just after a year, with minimal use that the collar no longer holds a charge. With the cost of the unit and collar I would think it would last more like a minimum of five years with the lithium battery. Now we have to purchase a replacement collar and risk that one also holding a charge for only a year, or scrap the whole unit. I really like the system, but it seems like others have the same problem....product flaw worth the risk to get a new collar at the cost???

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40%/
40%
Will not hold a charge, 1/23/14
by
Same as previous reviewers our collar will no longer hold a charge. We have one collar with a replaceable battery and one stay and play rechargeable collar. We were glad there was a rechargeable version so we wouldn't have to replace the batteries but would rather buy and replace batteries instead of looking for our dog throughout the neighborhood. We have had the collar just over a year. Great idea - disappointing results.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with the PetSafe Stay + Play Wireless Fence Receiver. We do offer additional replacement options for products over one year old and we would like to speak to you further about these options. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
20%/
20%
Collar no longer charges, 1/18/14
by
Just like the other reviews, the collar no longer holds a charge..we have two dogs on this system and the other collar uses batteries w no problems...disappointing the cost of the system and extra collar.. The collar hasn't lasted 1 year..


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your PetSafe Stay + Play receiver collar. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may assist you with obtaining a replacement. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Worked great for 3 months , 12/15/13
by
Worked great for the first three months, then the caller would not hold a charge anymore. The red light stayed on all the time, even after it was on charge all night.
The batteries can't be replaced in the collar. That's the biggest problem they have
I can't afford $129 every three months that ridiculous.
Just wish I could replace the collar batteries.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Stay + Play has failed to meet your expectations. We can understand how frustrating a battery that will not charge must be for you. The collar does not have replaceable batteries, but please know that this product comes with a 1 year limited warranty, and replacement options might even be available after the first year.

Rating
60%/
60%
Play & Stay Wireless System & Collar, 12/11/13
by
I bought this system and an extra collar for my second dog. My dogs play hard and chewed the collar stap, the only collar I can find that will work is only 18" long which is really tight on their necks. The 20" collar is too wide to fit through the unit's slots. Why are the replacement collars not available on your website? One of my dogs is less than a year old and I need a larger collar for her. I've checked at Petsmart and they don't carry them either. Where can I purchase replacement collars without the unit?

I had alot of problems with the Play & Stay wireless system. I have a large detached garage and the signal doesn't go through it, so the dogs got out of the yard until we put 30' of fence on each side of the garage to reach where the signal was. There was no warning about the signal strength and that it would not go through exterior buildings.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that you are experiencing trouble with your Stay + Play Wireless System. Please know that we do carry replacement straps for the receiver on our website or through our Customer Care Center. If your pet needs a collar strap that extends to larger that 23 inches, you can attach an additional strap to extend the size to the original collar. These straps can be purchased by using the link below.
If your experiencing signal problems with your system, you may want to view our support page on this product. For instance, fixed large metal objects such as metal sheds can affect the signal by reducing the maximum range of the system at the location of the object.

If you'd like to talk to a Customer Care Representative about the issues you're experiencing, please call 1-800-732-2677 so that we can assist you.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/bark-collar-stay-play-fence-replacement-collar-strap


Rating
100%/
100%
Works great, 10/26/13
by
I purchased this system over a year ago and it works great. The only problem I have is my dog keeps getting ahold of the collar in the house and chews on it. I am very satisfied with my purchase.

Rating
20%/
20%
disappointing, 10/17/13
by
I purchased this product about 8 months ago. It worked good until last month when the collar would no longer hold the charge. Our dog is now visiting neighbors that do not find him welcoming! Going to have to purchase a new collar because our receipt was lost. Very disappointing for the cost paid of over $350.00 for the system.
Emailed the company and they want me to send receipt. After sending email back that we have no receipt, no responce.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the Stay + Play Wireless Fence Receiver Collar. We also apologize if you did not receive our most recent follow-up to your email with additional replacement options. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40%/
40%
Product not holding charge, 10/16/13
by
I too wish I had read the reviews. Just like the other reviewers, I bought my wireless stay & play system with 3 collars, one stopped recharging and the other two are discharging every other day. I called Petsafe customer care and the troubleshot it and said they need my receipts from Petsmart however I moved after I bought them last year and can't find my receipt.... So I suppose I'm out of luck- I looked online for replacement collars but they are $129 a piece!! Not sure what I can do!!!! I spent a lot of money for this system!!!!! Sooo frustrated!!!!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Stay + Play Wireless Fence Receiver Collar. As we understand that you may no longer have the receipt, additional replacement options may be available for you. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
40%/
40%
Wireless Receiver Collar, 9/21/13
by
We are on our second collar. The first quit working in the first six months after purchase. We received a new one and a year or so later, this one won't hold a charge. Very disappointed. The price for a new collar is a lot more that I expected.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with PetSafe Stay + Play Wireless Fence Receiver. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide you with further troubleshooting suggestions and warranty replacement options.

Rating
60%/
60%
No charger??, 9/15/13
by
I have the original wireless system for my older dog but recently got a puppy who only weighs about 5 lbs so we couldn't put her on the same system. This collar is compatible & starts at 5 lbs, which is awesome!! Only downfall - after paying $179 for a collar, I find it beyond rediculous that you have to purchase the charger seperately for another $20. If you charge that much for a collar, it should come with a charger or at the least, make it available in stores. I bought the collar at petsmart and now have to wait to use it because I don't have a charger. Rediculous!

Rating
20%/
20%
Wished I had read the reviews before I made the purchase!, 9/13/13
by
I purchased the Stay and Play Rechargeable Collar System a little over a year ago and the collar will no longer hold charge. I am very disappointed, as I spent the extra money hoping I was getting a better product. Next time I will make sure to read the reviews before making such an expensive purchase.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Stay + Play® Wireless Fence Receiver Collar. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Rating
100%/
100%
I love this collar and wireless system! The dogs love it too! , 9/5/13
by
The dogs have their freedom and I don't have top worry about cars. It works for our bigger dog and the puppy. Can't beat it!

Rating
40%/
40%
Charger for this collar, 8/19/13
by
i bought this collar to go with PIF-300 that i already owned for my bigger dog.
where do i get the charger?


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

You can purchase the charger through our website or by calling our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. The model number to reference is RFA-463. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Works fine until it dies, 8/14/13
by
Works as advertised but collar lasted less than a year and now won't hold a charge. $180 for a new collar. Can't afford that every year. Should have a replaceable battery. Looking for something else and kicking myself for spending so much for something without a replaceable battery.



PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you have encountered a problem with your Stay + Play Wireless Fence Receiver collar. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Same Problem...., 7/30/13
by
Less than a year... won't hold charge.... crappy collar. Not worth $180.00.



PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Stay + Play Wireless Fence receiver collar. We would be happy to help you resolve this issue. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Not good, 6/16/13
by
I also only had this less than a year and the collar will not charge anymore. I didn't even use it that much. Now they want $180 for a new one that will wit right away. That's some great customer support.

Rating
60%/
60%
OK, 5/23/13
by
This product works well at keeping dogs in my yard. I am quite disappointed that I am replacing the collar less than a year later. It no longer holds a charge.

×