Close
#

Ssscat® Spray Deterrent

Reviews

60% 100% 10
Overall
%
(10)
#
Ratings Breakdown
10 reviews
5 star
1
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
3
1 star
1

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Ssscat® Spray Deterrent
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
40%/
40%
Sucks!, 5/24/14
by
The concept works but the nozzle top does not fit properly on the can! Within one week I needed a refill! ...which I reluctantly purchased at $11.99 for .115 ml. from a local pet shop! This week I bought a 12 Oz. can of spray duster at Walmart for less than $5.00 and the SSScat nozzle fit on to it perfectly! I really should share this on you tube.....save people a lot of money!! Why don't you lower you prices? Maybe you will improve sales!
Susan

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you experienced trouble with your SSScat Spray Deterrent. We can understand how upsetting it can be to experience a situation like this, and we appreciate your time and feedback on this product. Please know that there are approximately 120 sprays in each can, but the amount of times the device sprays does depend on the settings of your device and your pet's activity.
We also recommend to only use the SSScat Refill because it has been tested to be used as a deterrent for pets.
To fasten the device to the spray can, place the motion detector device on top of refill can by pressing down firmly, the device will clamp on to the can. Next, slide the ring down to secure the device into position.
Please know that your device is backed by a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance if you are still experiencing difficulties with your SSScat Spray Kit. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.



Rating
100%/
100%
Works fantastic!!, 4/29/14
by
We were eager to get this in the mail to keep our indoor cats away from the patio door when the door is open. Waited with my video camera and it works like a charm!! Hilarious video too! Cats won't go near the door when it's open. We turn it off when the door is closed. One cat, one spray was all it took. The other cat needed a second spray.. just to make sure! This is great and we're going to get another one for our other door.

Rating
80%/
80%
Lets me sleep again, 2/18/14
by
I have a cat that likes to scratch on the door at 2AM. This product was a great way to train him to stay away from the door at night! I bought two. Unfortunately one of them was defective, but the company resolved this issue with their limited warranty! I was impressed. Now I sleep soundly at night because this spray scares my cat away from the door if he even tries to scratch. Definitely will be a future customer of this company!

Rating
40%/
40%
Ssscat unit leaking, 1/30/14
by
Bought two Pet Safe Ssscat units the heads on both started leaking after 6 months. Both units work fine on my cats and did an execellent job before the cans depressurized.

Rating
40%/
40%
Sensor lids problems, 12/22/13
by
We cannot get the sensor lid onto the new can. Is there some trick to this? We are wasting all of the spray trying to get the top on the can. Any help would be appreciated.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you have experienced trouble with your spray deterrent device. Once you remove the Spray refill lid, you should be able to hold the Motion Detector Device to the top of the refill can. While pressing the device down firmly onto the refill can, slide the ring on the Motion Detector device down to lock it into place. If you are still having difficulties attaching the refill can, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for more support.

Rating
20%/
20%
it work, but cans of air are rediculously overpriced, 12/16/13
by
The motion sensor is sensitive and as soon as my cat is on the counter the spray activates...however I got at most 12-15 sprays out of each can and then they were empty. There is supposedly an adjustment for volume of air expressed each spray, but the 5 tabs do not indicate which is more and which is less. Also, the on/off switch is not labeled other than with an icon, and you waste a few sprays determining if it is turned off or on. Refill cans are listed on this site at $10.95. I got refills at Amazon for $6.32 each. For what the refill cans contain, a fair price would be, at the extreme $1.00 a can (you can buy a can 4 - 5 times this size, with paint - 'spray paint', for a few dollars). They contain compressed air. My cost for the unit and three cans of air was about $24.00 at Amazon. As I said, it works to deter my kitten, but I got roughly 10% of the ''about 120 sprays per can" with each of the three cans I purchased. I give the product 5 stars for how well it works, 1 star for value, and zero stars for truth in advertising.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the SSSCAT Refill Spray does not meet your expectations. Each can should average to about 120 sprays per can. To prevent using spray in determining if the device is on, you can always remove the device from the can. After turning on the unit, wait about 30-40 seconds, then wave your hand across the motion sensor. You should hear a "click" which will indicate if it is on and working. If you continue to have reduced sprays with new refills, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may help find a solution.

Rating
80%/
80%
This product is expensive .... however IT WORKS FOR MY CATS!!!!, 12/3/13
by
I have 3 units set up in 3 different places. They have worked great! The cans are empty and the cats have stayed away from those areas. I don't believe they spray 120 times. I am buying refills in case the cats need a reminder. This product is expensive, however after trying other "smell removing" products, I think this is the answer for me.

Rating
60%/
60%
Overpriced & not 120 sprays!, 11/12/13
by
I bought the initial kit and a refill to train my doxies to stay away from an area rug. It worked but there is no way there are 120 sprays! The first can yielded about 20- & the dogs reacted to my husband shrieking; the second can squirted about 10 times. It would be far more effective if the motion detector also made a loud noise. Then if it ran out the noise would still be a deterrent. It is overpriced for what you are getting. Directions for installation & de-installation should also be printed on the can for ease of use.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience. With the decreased number of sprays that you are receiving per can, I would recommend replacement of the motion detector portion as it may be leaking the spray. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide you with the proper replacement procedures. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
60%/
60%
Helps but.., 10/27/13
by
No way is there "about 120 sprays" in each can, I'd say no more than 30 making this a pretty spendy way paying for canned air. It doesn't keep my cats out of the areas I use it unless I keep the can turned on all the time. I use a can near my plants, on my kitchen counter, kitchen table, and dressors. I would agree it's better than using nothing.

Rating
80%/
80%
Works great - setup is a pain., 7/13/13
by
I had to enlist the aid of my 6'3", 200-pound son-in-law to put this thing together. It does not "snap on" as the instructions say. Rather, you have to hold it down with one hand while you lower the "collar" with the other and it takes very strong hands. Once set up, it works as a great deterrent for my cats; however, they had better learn fast because I suspect that after a while they will get used to it and ignore it.

×