Close
#

Snap-On Closing Panel

Reviews

23% 100% 12
Overall
%
(12)
#
Ratings Breakdown
12 reviews
5 star
0
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
10

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Snap-On Closing Panel
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
40%/
40%
Easy off....too easy., 8/17/14
by
Love the door and so does my pointer. But I just figured out how she is getting out when I don't want her to. She pushes the center of the door with her nose and the sides pop and she is singing born free once again. Also has blown through it easily at her 45 lbs. No way to really secure this door when we leave town. I am a theater designer and once again have to figure out how to make something work that I already paid quite a bit of money for. I checked the website and don't see another door insert for real security available.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the problem you've encountered with your Snap-On Closing Panel! We can understand your concern for your clever pup, and we are happy to help! Depending on the door you have, it may be possible to have 2 closing panels in place, one on the inside and one on the outside, to help prevent your pet from leaving at her leisure. To find out if your door has the ability to use 2 closing panels, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for assistance. If your door is designed for only one panel, however, we would be happy to offer replacement options to better fit you and your pointer's needs.

Rating
20%/
20%
door cover, 7/12/14
by
I wish I had read reviews on this first but found out the hard way that these door caps just don't cut it ! now I need to replace the one I have really don't think its fair to have to pay to replace a inferior product @ my expense. Your doors work well but the caps leave a lot to desire.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Snap-On Closing Panel fails to meet your expectations, and we appreciate your time and feedback on your experience. Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. For more information on our warranty, please view the link below or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/policies-and-terms/warranty-information

Rating
20%/
20%
Extremely difficult to remove for humans but not dogs!, 5/18/14
by
We have struggled with this cheap contraption. Some days I needed a pair of pliers just to get it off. Then my puppy was able to tear it off and proceed to tear it up! What a joke. I see I'm not the only one as there are many out there with this same issue. How about a redesign and supply one to your valuable customers? I have another door of yours for our exterior door and it functions as it should. C'mon PetSafe!


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear the Snap-On Closing Panel does not meet your expectations! Please know that there are tabs on each side of the closing panel that should be helpful when removing the panel. This product does include a 1-year limited warranty, and we will be attempting to contact you to provide possible replacement options. If you need assistance, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Too brittle and flaps too narrow, 4/8/14
by
Our cat door is positioned high in a window so it's difficult to get a good grip on the flaps to open the door. We've been using a pliers but the flaps eventually snapped off. If it was made of a more rubbery than rigid material it would be easier to get it on and off but it would have to snap shut tightly because otherwise the cats can get it off. Needs a redesign.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the design of the Snap-On Closing Panel has failed to meet your expectations! We can understand how frustrating it must be to struggle to remove the panel. Because you have a cat door that seems to be a little hard to reach, there may be another style door that would better fit your needs. Please know that we do offer Electronic Smart Doors or Magnetic Cat Flaps which offer different locking options. You can view these doors by using the links below, or you are welcome to contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for more information!

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/doors/electronic-doors

Rating
20%/
20%
Breaks too easy, 3/22/14
by
I have two issues here. Like everyone else that's reviewed this plastic piece of junk. 1) It breaks way too easy and is easily pushed off by medium to larger dogs. I had to duct tape it on and that only worked for a short while. Duct tape, not the fault of PetSafe. 2) I wanted to get a replacement because my younger dog who still loves to chew is getting into the garage again and chewing. Well, I can't seem to find a replacement for it. Mine is 16" wide by 27" long. Does this size even exist anymore?

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you have encountered problems with your Snap-On Closing Panel. Please know that this product does include a 1 year limited warranty. Depending on the door you have, you may be able to use 2 closing panels to put one on each side of your frame. Adding the additional closing panel can sometimes help prevent your pet from pushing through. The measurements you gave should be an XL size closing panel, which we do have in stock through our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. Please know that we will be following with you to help get the replacement that you need.

Rating
20%/
20%
Not Goood Door, 3/7/14
by
The dogs were able to get the door off as soon as I attached it. Fortunately we have a fenced yard and they didn't run away.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:We apologize that our pet door's closing panel has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Fragile, 1/13/14
by
The wind blew it off. When it rolled down the sidewalk, the area that latches it to one side of the door broke off.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your PetSafe Closing Panel. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
As useless as the "Extreme Weather" Pet Door, 12/7/13
by
My dog pops this cover off with her nose in a few seconds. If I put the cover on the opposite side, she can push right through it. So even if I felt like investing any more money into this ineffective system, it wouldn't work.
As for the "extreme weather" door itself . . . gaps in the sides of the flaps let in so much cold air that the inside flap is iced over today - it's 8 degrees outside. I can see daylight on both sides of the flaps. I have pictures to show the problems.
I don't want to purchase ANYTHING to "fix" the flaws in this door. I want a refund. And a new kitchen door - so I can start over with something different. Why is there not a no-star option??
ARE YOU LISTENING PETSAFE????

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the design of your door fails to meet your expectations. Please know that we do offer a refund for the products purchased through our website or our Customer Care Center within 30 days. For more information on returning the product, please contact us at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
The Snap-On Closing Panel is worthless., 10/19/13
by
I have installed your 10 1/2 x15 plastic pet door. The door itself is fine; however my dogs can easily scratch the panel off and go outside whenever they wish, which most often is at night when they can incessantly "bark at the moon". Fortunately, I have a fenced-in back yard so they are contained. But they disturb the neighborhood. Being dogs, they don't understand my admonitions.

Rating
20%/
20%
Substandard door cover., 10/11/13
by
Unfortunately I have to agree with another review stating that the plastic door does not keep a fairly smart dog in who wants back out. The type of door that has the slide down panel into grooves on the door frame is a much better design and more dog proof.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation. Please know that they have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review and feedback.

Rating
20%/
20%
Doesn't provide a securely closed doggie door as it doesn't secure properly, 10/4/13
by
I had a similar problem with this door, except the wind blows the door off during storms. I purchased the Extreme Weather Pet Door hoping it would help keep out the cold wind, rain and snow. It does have three panels to help keep out the weather, but the wind just blows it open as well. I'm guessing I'll need to purchase another Snap-On Closing Panel so I can put one on the outside of the doggie door as well as the inside doggie door. Because we upgraded our doggie door, the time, effort and cost it took to put in this new door, it isn't worth purchasing another single flap doggie door with an inserted doggie closing panel even though it worked better than this new one.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this closing panel has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. If you would like to discuss this issue with us or need assistance purchasing an additional closing panel, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING, 8/26/13
by
This is the closing panel that comes standard with the extreme weather pet door. And its a joke!

I have 3 dogs. I used to put this thing on if I wanted to be sure they stayed inside while I was gone for a while because I had a neighbor complaining about barking. Before I could get into my car, the dogs were outside . . . barking because they were being left behind.

This is an expensive pet door. The closing panel should be MUCH MORE SECURE!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this closing panel has failed to meet your expectations. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you continue to experience this issue, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

×