Close
#

Simply Clean® Litter Box System

Reviews

64% 100% 51
Overall
%
(51)
#
Ratings Breakdown
51 reviews
5 star
12
4 star
12
3 star
8
2 star
11
1 star
8

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Simply Clean® Litter Box System
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
80%/
80%
Litterbox, 7/20/14
by
Simple product to put together. I only gave it 4 stars because the last box I had only lasted 11 months. I had two other boxes previously and hope they don't discontinue this model. I was very pleased with the customer service when I called about the current litter box I have. I really appreciate the time they took to help me.

Rating
100%/
100%
Greatest thing ever!, 7/2/14
by
We had ours for 2 years with two cats its was wonderful. Then the bowel stopped turning. silly wife threw it away and went to the store to get a new one. But the store we bought it at doesnt carry this any longer. So weve been looking and i figured i would try to find one on the net and found this site.
We are buying one today im very happy to have found this product again and next time ill be getting replacement parts before the wife throws it out again.

Rating
100%/
100%
Love this litter box, have used it for about 5 yrs without trouble till now, 6/26/14
by
This litter box has been worth every penny. I have used it for 5 yrs (maybe longer) without any trouble till now. I need to replace one motor kit, but that is little for the time it has saved me. We lived in the south and often took 4 day trips and could leave our old cat alone with a neighbor checking on her. But we moved up north and added a kitten to our family. The kitten took over this litter box, and the older cat moved on to a regular litter box (most of the time).
When the motor became noisy and then stopped working, I had to add 2 other litter boxes.
My cats are particular about having a clean box, and I had no idea the amount of work this box saved me. It also helps when we travel, because our pet sitter doesn't mind just changing a bag every few days, but it's hard for her to get down and scoop the other boxes. I plan to move on to a larger litter box this winter, but I'll keep this one for a back-up.

Rating
40%/
40%
Not what I had hoped for, 6/20/14
by
At first I was very excited to get this for my now 10 week old kitten until he used it. I bought top of the line clumping litter as it suggested using just clumping litter, this does not matter I have noticed. It does NOT remain in the litter box and gets everywhere. And let me remind you, I have a ten week old kitten. The shape is awkward although it remained quiet for the first week. It now has a buzzing sound that goes away once I unplug the AC adapter cord and re-plug it back into the unit. The video in the advertisement had me totally fooled. I wish that Pet Safe made a tent or cover of some sort as this would help with smell and litter being everywhere. Speaking of smell, I put a small amount of litter or baking soda in the bag that collects all of the feces and used litter to alleviate some of the smell and it does not work. Even with changing it daily. The box that it came in, I cut the top off and used the remaining part of the box to put the litter box back in so that I would have a base and higher walls so litter would not be everywhere. This still did not work. I give this such a poor review because I am not satisfied with the product at all. It did not satisfy what my original thoughts were about the unit. PLEASE do your research before buying! This may be good for a small ferret or rabbit. Definitely not a kitten or cat. I wish I was able to do a return, however, I have ruined the original box by cutting it to try to make this device better. Bottom line is do not waste your money. Do your homework!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Simply Clean Litter Box System has failed to meet your expectations! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. For best results, this product is recommended for cats that are at least 6 months of age or older. The buzzing can be originating from various locations, but we would first suggest to ensure that your AC adapter is fully inserted into the litter box. If this does not fix the issue, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for more information.

Rating
80%/
80%
Great litter box and cust service, 6/19/14
by
I've had my auto litter for almost two years now. I read all the reviews before I purchased it. There were neative and positive reviews but I had to take a chance on it. I was sick of wasting litter and smelling peep and poop ugggg. I did have to contact them for a replacement part at 9 months. A motor for the bowl. They shipped one out very quickly with no questions asked. I really was expecting a bad experience based on reviews I've read. Maybe I got an understanidng CS rep and just got lucky. So, I'm a satisfied customer. I absolutely hate that 1 year warranty because maybe some companies bank on their product lasting 367 days. I had to cintsct them again a little after 1 year and they again replaced the same part. No charge again. That was so important to me because I have since referred 2 people who actually purchased a litter box from.PetSafe from Petsmart. I wouldn't have done that if they hadnt helped me with my issues. I rave about the self cleaning litter box to my friends and that is the truth. I wish many others had my experience with the PetSafe cust service dept. Just let them.know that you will write a review if they don't help you so close to that 1 year warranty date. I read reviews for EVERYTHING I buy. Alwayz! I'm ordering an extra motor just to have on hand and I don't mind paying for it myself. Some things just wear out over time and the auto litter box is such a brilliant idea. It saves my nose, my sanity, and my litter budget. Kudos to PetSafe from me! Fyi I wasn't so lucky with a vacuum cleaner especially made for pet hair by Windtunnel. I wrote a review for that purchase. Word of mouth is the power we have at our disposal as customers. Thanks

Rating
60%/
60%
Oh, the motors.., 5/19/14
by
Great concept , and I love it when all is good. However, in the past year I've had to replace the bowl motor twice and conveyor once...it just seems like that shouldn't have to be.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your time and feedback on your experience with the Simply Clean Litter Box System. We can understand how frustrating it must be to have to replace parts after owning the product for a short period of time. Please know that if you are using this system for up to 2 cats that are older than 6 months of age, your motors should last you much longer than a few months! When purchased at retail, the Simply Clean Litter Box and Replacement Motors have a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance on this product. Please call our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677 so we may assist in finding a solution.

Rating
100%/
100%
Best Litter Box Ever, 5/5/14
by
This is a great litter box. I've had it for 6 months and my cats love it. They always have a clean box. AND I don't have to scoop it. I just tie bag up and throw away.I have cancer and going through chemo., not suppose to scoop. This works great. And if necessary friends are able to do it easily.Customer Service is best I've ever had! Had a problem with conveyor belt. Called and they are sending me a whole new box, expressed shipping even, Thank You! Thank You for the great product and service.

Rating
20%/
20%
awesome system when it works properly , 3/24/14
by
This is an awesome auto cleaning litter box. I own 3 cats and having one of these meant that they always had a clean box to do their thing.

Unfortunately, the whole system depends on their gear system to rotate the pan to the conveyor area. The motor gear is metal, great choice, but the pan gear it plastic, horrible choice. The way it comes assembled, the gears do not fit well, imagine tip to tip contact. After some time passes, the plastic gear tip wears out and the rotation stops, no more clean box for the cats to use. I have disassembled the whole unit to clean out the loose litter that falls inside as well as taken preventive measures to keep the littler from falling but the gear misalignment was too much and the plastic gear gave out.

I see that they offer the replacement kit here but it still uses the plastic gear. I would love to have this box fixed and working since I'm currently doing the scooping but I would rather have the problem fixed rather than just putting a band aid on it.

Besides, I only need the pan gear, not the motor or the plastic mounting base.

Rating
60%/
60%
"OK" product, Great customer service!, 3/5/14
by
have had less than a year replaced both motors and finally the whole unit, thanks to the great customer service they were no cost to me!

Rating
80%/
80%
I don't know why they had to change the design!!!!!, 2/21/14
by
Hi, I bou ght this litter box three years ago, and we have three cats that love it along with my wife! Unfortunately the spinning bowl was stuck in one position and not rotating, so we contacted customer service and they were very nice to deal with. They sent a new gear that turns the bowl free of charge even though the warranty was up! After installing it I noticed that the bowl would spin counter clock wise, then it would spin the other direction causing it to plug up......So I ordered a new one and my wife noticed the conveyor was not picking anything up only to find the bar that causes the fingers to move had broken off. So I thought to borrow the conveyor part that broke off the old one, only to find out that they changed the design and the new one has thinner metal bars that allow the fingers to convey the droppings. So I contacted customer service and they are the best people and told me to send them a copy of the receipt and they would send a new one! Their customer service department is the best I have ever dealt with. And I would like to say that I love this idea but the new one has lighter made metal than my older one. And I hope it is just a fluke that the bar broke right at the bend. Other than this, it is the best litter box out there in my book!

Rating
40%/
40%
Would be perfect if it included a dome or shield, 2/17/14
by
We just purchased this item, so we haven't had time for any motor issues like other customers have reported. I think I would love it, if only it included a dome or shield of some sort to keep the cats from kicking the litter outside the container.

We have two smaller cats, and although they like to scratch the litter when they do their business, they haven't caused a mess with our previous, non-automatic litter boxes, probably because the sides of this receptacle are much lower. Is there something we can attach to the edges that would help with this problem?

Otherwise it seems like a good product. It's very quiet and I love that we can use any kind of litter or baggies with it. The cats adapted to it immediately. Please tell me there's something we can attach or add that will solve our scatter problem!!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are always looking for ways to improve our products and we do appreciate your feedback and suggestions! Due to the design of this product, a hood would not be able to fit properly, but there is a Litter Guard included with the Simply Clean that is designed to help minimize litter from leaving the bowl. Please know that we do offer other the Sweep One Litter Boxes that have the privacy hood accessory. These products can be viewed by using the Link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/pet-care/litter-boxes

Rating
80%/
80%
Loved it but, 2/12/14
by
I loved the simply clean litter box but after about 9 months the motor started getting real hot and stopped working.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear that you have had success with your Simply Clean® Litter Box System! If your conveyor or bowl motor has stopped functioning, please know that replacements are available. This product does have a 1 year limited warranty, and we are happy to offer replacement assistance. The motors are also available on our website and you can access them by using the link below. If you need assistance, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/simply-clean-conveyor-motor-repair-kit

Rating
80%/
80%
Great product, just a terrible condition to work in!, 2/4/14
by
The wife and I really do love the Simply Clean Litter Box, unfortunately this product has to work in a really terrible environment, and I don't mean just crappy. The dust from the litter must cause a lot of motor failures, and our unit was one of them. We are happy to say the warranty was covered with no problems and a new motor is on the way. I would like to thank the customer care dept.

Rick Howard

Rating
80%/
80%
Nice Design, 1/24/14
by
I love this litter box's cost effective, silent, efficient operation. I've had it six months, however, and the conveyor mechanism stopped working. I took it apart, sprayed the moving parts of the conveyor with WD-40 and cleaned out the litter that had accumulated under the the bowl. Voila...problem solved.
The fact this device scoops waste into free plastic grocery store bags, makes this occasional maintenance quite worthwhile.. A far superior product that those noisy, expensive back-and-forth rake systems with their proprietary plastic containers.
Make sure you use good clumping litter.
My two cats love it. :)

Rating
80%/
80%
Good Design, Some Flaws, 1/14/14
by
Was owner of Litter Robot for many years. My Himalayan over the past few months developed the habit of not turning around and spraying out the door. Unit had to go. Saw this and was impressed with the design, etc. Read all the reviews about product before purchasing with all the fixes, etc. Purchased through Amazon and set up unit per instructions, with thoughtful consideration to all reviews read. Motors were a little noisy, but used some dry silicone spray (which is safe for plastic parts) on the bottom motor and also the wheels and pan. Noise problem solved. However, found that the guard kept coming loose from under the "lift" and would turn around to back side.

Design flaw #1: The litter lift ramp pivots up when the screws are loosened to get to the littler tray. The pivot goes INTO a hole on the top near the litter buck on the side with the screw, but only SETS into a "slot" on the side near the tray and where the guard hooks under to keep from sliding around. Fix: I simply put a small screw which fit in between the round pivot peg and underneath the front edge of the "slot". Used a screw as it would "screw" in over the top of the peg and under the front edge of the slot. Holds the lift ramp down now on the inside and against the guard. No more moving around.

Design flaw #2: The litter ramp cover does not hold down well on the two pegs provided. Fix: I put about 1 and 1/2 wrap of painter's tape around the peg on the litter lift. The cover holds down on the pegs snugly now. No more lifting off.

While the front side of the box looked too small for my Himalayan to use, it actually had more area than the inside of the Litter Robot. He has never had a problem with switching to a new litter box fortunately. I simply put the raked litter from the old box into it. He used it no problem.

Great box with "small" fixes.

Rating
40%/
40%
Initial cost is not total cost of product, 1/7/14
by
The litter box itself is decent. I never have issues with clumps getting stuck or small pieces falling out of the conveyor. My only issue with this product is the poorly made motors. The motors only have a year warranty. Funnily enough, right after my year warranty was up, one of the motors broke. I ordered a new one at an ok cost (expensive when considering how frequently it needs to be ordered). Once it arrived, I placed the new motor on. A day later, the other motor broke. I had to order another motor and wait for the second one to arrive before the litter box was truly up and running. I literally had a non-working litter box for a month and a half (standard shipping takes 10-14 days so I had to wait a month just for the two motors to come in). I have read other reviews where the motor is also the issue. I think you have to expect to buy new motors every year. This being said, the initial cost of the product is not the only payment you will need to make. You should also expect to buy the replacement motors throughout the product's life. Other litter box brands usually last years without the motor dying, however there are issues with the rack getting caught and what not. You'll need to decide what's more important to you. Spending money in the beginning, but having small, fixable issues throughout, or spending money on motors every year to have a simple litter box that doesn't require much maintenance. I personally wish I had used the money for another brand...

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the design of the Simply Clean® Litter Box System has failed to meet your expectations! Please know that even outside the 1 year warranty, we are still able to offer replacement assistance. We are always looking to improve our products, and we do appreciate your time and feedback on the quality of this device and its motors. Please know that this information has been passed on to the appropriate team for review. To learn more about the replacement options we have available, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Great concept and design, but unreliable. Needs an update., 12/14/13
by
I purchased a simply clean litter box 12-18 months ago. It's the first automatic litter box I've had, and upon doing a good bit of research, it did appear to be one of the best for the initial price, continuing price of regular use, and design. No special litter required and no special bags or trays necessary; simply use a plastic bag for easy emptying and your usual litter. Big positives on those aspects.
As far as the design, it is indeed a great concept. There's nothing to go wrong except two motors. One motor drives the conveyer the moves waste to the bucket, and the other rotates the litter box an entire rotation every hour. Seems simple.
Except the fact that I've now had two motors for the litter box rotation die on me. The first lasted 8-9 months (I can't recall exactly when I purchased the litter box) and unfortunately, I did not save the receipt that long. In any case, a replacement was as simple as calling the company, going through a few menus on the phone, and speaking with a very helpful and knowledgeable representative. Replacement cost was less than expected and had the litter box working again within two weeks.
Now, I find myself in the same situation 6 months later. Once again, the motor has burned itself up. I clean the box regularly, to include lifting the tray and cleaning out the under side probably monthly. And yet... Bam.
Extremely disappointed, especially as I leave in a week for the holidays, planning to be gone for several weeks and assuring a friend that checking on my cat would be minimal work (as the waste bin doesn't fill up for at least a week). Now it appears I'll be on the phone Monday with PetSafe, hoping they can expedite shipping and get a new one to me by end of week at their expense. I have had this product for no more than 18 months and am looking at half the original cost simply in replacement parts. I had planned on purchasing one of these for family, but will be avoiding that now.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that you've had this experience with your litter box system. While we understand how frustrating it can be to have a malfunctioning litter box especially around a holiday season, we are happy to know that we were able to assist you with a replacement. Please know that your system does carry a 1 year limited warranty, and the same warranty applies to each replacement motor purchased at retail. We are always striving to improve our products, and we appreciate your time and feedback.

Rating
60%/
60%
Good for diggers, not much horizontal area, 12/6/13
by
This is good for diggers since you can fill it deeper than most other automated litterboxes. It doesn't have a large area horizontally, though, so not all of my cats will use it. It doesn't get all of the pieces, but about on par with other litterboxes. I had one motor issue after I'd had the box for a year or so, and customer support was great, sent me a new motor and all works well now. It's easy to maintain, too. Overall, it's good for the price.

Rating
40%/
40%
Love and Disappointment, 12/3/13
by
When I bought this product in 2011 and it only lasted about 6 months before the motor went out. It has been the only cat box that offered a quality cleaning. Since, then I have been watching the reviews to see if they have improved the product. I am very disappointed that at the end of 2013 people are still going through the same issues. I wouldn't mind buying one every few years from being used, however, I refuse to keep throwing money at a company that is clearly not fixing the problem. I would love for this to be fixed and to become a consumer once again. Can you improve the quality of parts and make it a little bit more heavy duty maybe one for over 12lb cats. I would gladly pay the price for a guaranteed improvement of this product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your time and feedback on the Simply Clean Litter Box System. Please know that we are always looking to improve our products, and we have made some recent improvements on certain parts of the latest model. While these boxes are designed for up to 2 cats that are 12 lbs or less in weight, we do have other litter box devices that may better suit your needs for larger or multiple cats. Please know that this system also has a 1 year limited warranty. If you experience motors failing within a short period of time, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for replacement options.

Rating
80%/
80%
Good design easy parts replacement, 12/1/13
by
We currently have three units in our house and have three cats running about. The boxes work great but you should be alerted that you will have to replace the box drive motor about every 6 to 12 months. They are pretty inexpensive and easy to replace, so do yourself a favor and buy couple of them and keep on hand for replacement. When you put the last one in order some more. With that said it would be nice for the petsafe to offer parts for sale on the site instead of having to call in to order. I will be trying the new LIGHT clumping litter TidyCat started selling. This litter is much lighter and would reduce the load on the gear motor which should increase the life.--Keep your receipt as it ill be warranted for a year I think and they will replace the motors for free during that time--. Hope this helps and I will repost later if the light litter makes a difference.

Rating
80%/
80%
Overall a Decent Machine, 12/1/13
by
I have had this litter box system for about 3/4 months now. I absolutely love the ease of the machine. Literally, all you have to do is pull out the draw, throw away the bag and replace it. I have two major issues with the machine. The first, I have to place a heavy object on top of the machine for it to work. The green light will not stay on and therefore the machine does not work unless there is something heavy on it. My other issue is that the "wall" on the machine never stays in place, so my cat constantly kicks the litter out of the box. I wish there was a way that I could cover and disguise the entire machine, so if you could make a box for me to put my litter box in, that would be amazing!!!

Rating
60%/
60%
Love the product, hate the lack or reliability, 11/26/13
by
I own six of these litterboxes. Only two are working at the same time. I have ordered parts and switch parts around to make them work. Theoretically, I wanted more than enough to keep up with 5 cats. They back up, the conveyor stops working or the motor gives out. I would be your happiest customer if they were more durable. Customer service is great!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your loyalty and your feedback. Please know that we are always working on ways to improve our products, and have made some updates to the latest version of this Litter Box System. Your Simply Cleans do have a 1 year limited lifetime warranty and we are happy to assist in getting replacement motors or parts if needed. If you need further assistance, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Great WHEN it works. , 11/12/13
by
I LOVE it WHEN it works. But we have had to replace parts SEVERAL times in the 4-5 years we've had it. We've had the machine replaced 3 times and then 3 more times needed parts. The fault in the machine is that the litter VERY easily fall under the bowl and get into the gears. My husband actually built a metal trap to keep the litter from going inside but the gears still seem to blow up every 2-3 months. The gears are not very expensive but its a labor of love. I HATE cleaning cat litter so I just deal with the poorly put together machine. It would be SO MUCH better if it had a top or dome cover to keep the litter inside.

But the pros are it continuously cleans and you can use old plastic grocery bags which is great. But PetSafe PLEASE make it designed better or make a top for it.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this system has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
great for about 6 months , 11/7/13
by
i bouht this box about 6 months ago and fell in love with it, it was totally perfect for my 6 cats, which i realize is 4 more than recommended :(, but today it stopped working after calling the service center i found out that one or both motors is not working and i no longer have the receipt, BUT the replacement motors are only $35 for both w/shipping, and i find that very fair for the loads this box is taking, so all in all, i would recommend this box but not for a large amount of cats

Rating
40%/
40%
Not durable at all, 10/28/13
by
bought the litter box less than a year ago, going on my second motor replacement. when it does work its great, but every six months it needs a new motor.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize that you have experienced a problem with your Litter Box System. Please know that we are always working to improve our products and have made some recent improvements with the latest models. This Litter box does have a 1 year limited warranty and if a motor happens to fail within that time, we'd be happy to discuss replacement options with you. If you'd like to discuss your issue further, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Loved it till is stopped working, 10/26/13
by
I loved this product for the 2.5 months it worked. Then last night, it started making a horrible clicking and grinding noise and is not working. We tried everything but can't make the sound stop. I feel bad because I have been raving about this litter box, and I don't want all my friends to have the same experience.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your time and feedback on this Litter Box System! We are happy to hear you were having great success with it, but apologize for the recent noise concerns. Please know that there are some situations that can cause your litter box to make a clicking or grinding noise, but we do have a link to some troubleshooting tips that can help! If you still would like assistance in determining the cause of the problem and ways to find a solution, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/pet-care/litter-boxes/simply-clean-litter-box-system#troubleshooting

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product-great service, 10/25/13
by
This is, by far, the best and smartest thing I've ever purchased. We bought our Simply Clean Litter Box System a little over a year ago and haven't had any trouble with it outside of general wear and tear from a not-so-smart feline and seasonal heat. Unlike nearly every other self-cleaning litter box system, I can recycle grocery shopping bags for the collection box and my preferred choice of litter and the litter last an incredibly long time. This is the perfect solution for my busy household and quite cost-effective.

Recently, the conveyor motor stopped working and I went into a panic. I saw a number posted on the site and gave them a call not sure what to expect. If anything, I thought I could purchase a new motor. Pet-Safe has hands down, amazing customer service. I was treated kindly and ****** was empathetic to my situation. And although I was past my warranty, she provided a resolution that worked for me.

Thank you so much!

Rating
60%/
60%
Needs Better Motor, 10/21/13
by
When it worked, it worked great. However, I'm on my third motor in less than a year. You need a better main drive motor and gearbox. As the gearbox is the biggest problem. This is my second Simply Clean litter box. The first one failed (gearbox) after more than one year.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your Simply Clean™ Litter Box System. The unit does carry a one year limited warranty and we would be happy to assist you with possible warranty options. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
good but.., 10/13/13
by
i love this product, bought it from amazon for 80 dollars. Worked great for 2 month and a half and stopped working yesterday. The green power light just died and i have no idea how to solve this.. please make it more durable man.. come on.. had to go to supermarket for new litter boxes so my cat can still take a dump

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have encountered a problem with your Simply Clean™ Litter Box System. Please follow the link below for troubleshooting options regarding this issue. If you try these steps and the power light is not restored, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

http://www.petsafe.net/support/litter-boxes/simply-clean-litter-box-system

Rating
100%/
100%
I LOVE IT!, 10/10/13
by
I have had this box for over a week now and absolutely love it. I debated and researched over several automatic cat boxes and am soooo happy I choose this one! We have four of our own cats and three fosters right now. This single box stays completely clean throughout the day with seven cats using it. Before this box we had issues with our cats going to the bathroom throughout our house. Since we have had this box we have not found one mess outside the litter box. We plan to buy another one of these boxes soon. I have a post on my blog that I plan to update every month I have the cat box to note any problems I have if anyone might want more info on my experience - http://www.ealisasays.com/petsafe-simply-clean-continuous-clean-litter-box/.

Rating
20%/
20%
poor quality item messed up under warranty they finally replaced and now 6 month, 10/8/13
by
2nd item broke and will not replace

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your Simply Clean™ Litter Box System. Our records indicate that our Customer Care Team was able to help you resolve this issue. Please contact us at 1-800-732-2677 if you have any further questions or concerns.

Rating
40%/
40%
Great concept, well worth it if it works, 10/5/13
by
The first time I got this litter box it worked great for almost a year and then the motor went out. I called customer service and they were great at sending out a completely new litter box quickly with a return label for the one which did not work anymore. After a few weeks that motor went out, I called again and the motors were on back order so until they received them, I had to wait for a replacement. Once I received that new litter box, it worked a few months and of course, the motor gave out again. By this time the year of my original purchase was had lapsed and I didn't want to go through the trouble of having to call customer service once again for the same problem every few months. I went back to using a traditional box that we manually clean out every day. ; -(

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your Simply Clean™ Litter Box System. Please contact us for additional replacement options that may apply for your situation. You can reach our Customer Care Center directly at 1-800-732-2677. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
100%/
100%
Excellent product. Excellent Customer Service, 9/22/13
by
I bought this product about 9 months ago because I HATE CLEANING THE LITTER BOX. This product is a God-send. I empty the bag which collects the waste and throw the bag in the garbage approx. every 2-3 days. It is so quiet. I did have some litter get in between the motor which caused some noise, but I simply cleaned it out. About a month ago the bowl would not spin. The called the company, told them that I had lost my receipt (1 year warranty) but I bought a motor for the bowl ($14.95 with free shipping). Cant beat that!! Got the motor within 3 days, easy to put it and it back to PERFECT! I was actually going to go buy a new one when then told me I just needed the replacement motor. They were very knowledgeable and friendly. A++++++++++

Rating
20%/
20%
Repeat failures, 9/8/13
by
Customers be warned. Do not purchase Petsafe Simply Clean litter boxes. They do not last. The conveyor rods break after a couple months. My second one just died the same death as the first!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your Simply Clean™ Litter Box System. Our records indicate that our Customer Care Team was able to help you resolve the issue. Please contact us at 1-800-732-2677 if you have any further questions or concerns.

Rating
20%/
20%
loved the concept of the litterbox but did not live up to its claims, 9/1/13
by
I went through two of these boxes in a year. first box worked for almost a year and then the motor died. bought a new one because it was less hassle than repairing the box myself. second box only lasted less than a month. the conveyor stopped taking the litter into the receptacle. I really loved this box I just wish it was made out of sturdier materials. will not buy another one until they resolve their issues with it.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the Simply Clean™ Litter Box System. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation.

Rating
80%/
80%
it worked great untill the gears stripped, 9/1/13
by
I bought this cat box roughly 6 months ago...for the most part it works great and super quiet! The only problems were that is does leave small nuggets behind and the plastic gears which turn the unit stripped out within the first 6 month. After taking it abart to clean it we noticed this problem. Sure with I could order spare gears! I loved this cat box so much until it broke. Very little maintenence except for weekly litter changes and monthly cleanings. Wish mine still worked. Also would be great if it came with a dome top to prevent litter messes on the floor. Excelent product: needs to come with replacement gears and a dome.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you have encountered a problem with your Simply Clean™ Litter Box System. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Not Happy, 8/28/13
by
The motors keep failing. I have had this litter box for 5 months. The first one I bought made a loud clicking noise, so I took it back to the store and swapped it. New one worked for a few weeks before top motor went out. Got motor replaced. Another month went by and bottom motor went out. Got that one replaced. Now it has been less than a month and the bottom motor has quit working again!! Top motor is making that clicking sound again. I like the design of it (although it could be bigger), and when it works, it's great. But this thing has been a continual pain in my side because it keeps having problems. I've had traditional rake boxes, but they have problems too. Guess I'll be calling customer service again!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your Simply Clean™ Litter Box System. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
80%/
80%
The latest design works well. Replacement gears needed for older models., 8/18/13
by
This is for the most part an overall good product. It is a real blessing in a multiple cat household with a busy work schedule. The older models had a problem with litter getting in between the motor gear and the intermediate gear that drives the teeth on the litter pan. The plastic gear teeth soon wear out making the motor unable to rotate the pan. The newer models don't seem to allow the litter to get into the gears as much, but replacement gears need to be made available. Making the gear out of metal or a much tougher material would solve the problem and make this a five star product for sure.

I have two older units deadlined due to the gear issue. No motor or electrical issues at all. I just need replacement gears for them to be put back into service.

Rating
80%/
80%
great for when you travel and for multi cat households, 8/17/13
by
I am on my third box in two years, it has a great warrenty but unfortunately i lost the receipt. However, i have had no noise problems. I have saved a lot on litter and by being able to use recycled shopping bags instead of the overpriced plastic things i had to buy for the litter maid. It has cut down enormously on the odor. I frequently travel for work and this litter box can go a few days without being emptied, which helps a lot. The box isnt perfect but it is one of the better ones out there and definately one of the most economical options in terms of electric litter boxes.

Rating
40%/
40%
Noisy, Noisy, Noisy, 8/10/13
by
I bought one from PetSmart and had to take it back because it was just simply noisy. They replaced it with a second and it too was noisy. I kept it thinking that it would work itself out (maybe because it was new) but it has gotten louder and louder.

A friend got one and theirs is noisy too. Rattles and vibrates.

They are good to use if you have it way far away from any room where you want to be in peace.

You should probably move on to a different box.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this system has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. Our Sweep One™ Advanced Auto-Cleaning Litter Box System may be a better option for your situation as it does not operate continually, only "sweeping" once the pet has used it. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
love the design hate the motors, 8/10/13
by
I've owned 3 of these litter boxes. First one lasted about 3-4 months-motor went out. Bought a new one and plugged it into a timer that ran a half hour twice a day. This saved the motors for a little more than a year. Bought another one for a gift and they said they weren't even going to try it, so ended up with our third box. Didnt know you could order new motors until a few weeks ago. Just waiting on them in the mail.

Rating
20%/
20%
Total Pain, 8/1/13
by
Bought this about 6 months ago and have had nothing but trouble with it! From the ring that goes around the rotating box hampering the movement, to smaller clumps jamming the "teeth" & causing the motor to whine and click... to the geer that turns underneath breaking. This litter box is a total pain and not worth the money spent. Even when working it still smelled!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the Simply Clean Litter Box system. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
100%/
100%
Incredible Product/Incredible Company!, 8/1/13
by
We replaced our litter boxes with Simply Clean and love them. More importantly, our cats love them! We did have a problem with one of the units with one of the motors going out. PetSafe shipped us replacement motors at no charge which corrected the problem. A few months later one of those motors failed, and they volunteered to ship a new litter box. I have never dealt with a company that is so willing to make sure customers are completely satisfied. I have recommended Simply Clean to most of our friends!

Rating
100%/
100%
Love it!!, 7/29/13
by
I bought 2 of these in Feb. 2013 off of Amazon. Within a few months both conveyor motors had to be replaced, Petsafe sent me the motors free of charge. Now mine has went out again totally different reason. One of the prongs got bent and stuck which in turn burnt the motor out. I called them up, the sweetest lady answered the phone, I explained what had happened, and she said since I had problems with it before she was sending me a new litter box free of charge. That's what I call excellent customer service. I love this litter box, It makes it so much easier to keep the litter clean, since I have a bad back ( no more bending and scooping), it's so easy to care for even my 6 yr. old son can clean the litter box without making a mess. I like to keep a small bag in the collection box I think it makes it easier on cleaning.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great Product, 6/25/13
by
I got a solid 3 years from this litterbox before a bag accidently wrapped itself around the gears and burnt out the motor. I have 2 big cats, both over 15 lbs and they did just fine in this box. It moves slow enough that neither knew it was moving at all. I'm on this site buying a replacement one because being without it for the last few months has been terrible. Saw the average reviews and thought I should share my feedback.

- needs power near by
- collection try is medium in size (for 2 cats, it needs to be emptied twice a week)
- I just used the same clumping litter I've always used and it worked fine
- bag your discard tray for easier clean up, but make sure your bag doesn't get in the gears!

Rating
100%/
100%
great litterbox, 6/17/13
by
I use to use the Littermaid but they changed it from the first one they had out and it wasn't as good. I tried this one and love it. It is much better. I first one run for years before the motor gave out and when I called for a replacement motor, they were out of stock so they sent me a whole unit. I don't know how long ago that has been, but it is still going strong. There is only one other litterbox I would have if I had a place for it and that is the one that washes itself.Thanks Simply Clean!

Rating
20%/
20%
Terrible!!, 6/17/13
by
We actually ended up buying 2 of them. The first one broke after like a month of use by 1 cat. We couldn't return the system but decided to give it a try again and it broke again but something different after like 2 months of use. My husband then took parts out of the other one and fixed it and it ended up breaking again! So this was all within about 3-4 month span. Terrible!!

Rating
20%/
20%
Disappointed consumer, 6/10/13
by
Good concept!

However in my estimation the system failed: did not remove litter - conveyor dysfunction; was not cat friendly - cat mined litter and other presents all over the floor; and it took up too much room. I was disappointed in product; but when I called help line representatives were very helpful, respectful, and attentive.

Rating
100%/
100%
Excellent, 6/7/13
by
I was skeptical about hearing that some folks had issues with the motor, but I have had mine for 10 months and I think its super awesome. The cats preferred it over their other box. They took to it right away and stopped using the old box.

Rating
100%/
100%
outstanding- I love it!, 6/1/13
by
I have had these for several years now. I bought this brand after two previous attempts with other models were very disappointing. I bought three of them. Two for my cats and another for my mom's. So much easier that having to scoop out litter manually and the cats appreciate having clean litter too. Highly recommend!

Rating
40%/
40%
Sub-par conveyor motor...= not as quite as you would think., 5/28/13
by
The motor on the conveyor to the litter box started making loud noises after only two months and quit working completely after five months. I ordered a new motor, when it finally arrived it worked long enough for me to put the lid on. When I checked on it in the morning, I found a mound of litter on the side of the box and the motor was extremely hot and I had to unplug it cause I was afraid it becoming a fire hazard. The only reason I am keeping this unit and not changing back to the Littermaid Pro catbox is due to how much easies this unit is to dispose of the waste verses the others I had in the past. It's very sad that I have to wait till the middle of June before I should expect another motor. I hope this one works, if not I’ll switch back to the littermaid and I will have no problem telling anyone who will listen the one positive and many negatives about this litter box.

×