Close
#

ScoopFree® Original Self-Cleaning Litter Box

See Product Details

27 Customer Reviews

70 100 27
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
27 reviews
1 star
6
2 star
3
3 star
2
4 star
3
5 star
13

Add your ScoopFree® Original Self-Cleaning Litter Box review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
20/
20%
by
I am now on my second tray refill. The first refill was simply a huge mess after a short time as I did as the manual that came with the product suggested and mixed some of the "old" litter in with the new litter. I would strongly recommend against doing this! After my cat finally got adjusted to the new litter box I switched to a new litter tray. The manual indicates that if you have one cat that each litter tray should last 3-4 weeks. I have one male cat who stays well hydrated so I did not expect this to last 3-4 weeks. I anticipated more like 2-3 weeks. One morning after about 1.5 weeks I woke up to the worst smell I have ever smelled. I truly smelled like something toxic. When I began investigating I saw that the litter box was not doing much of anything. My cat has a tendency to urinate in the same spot in the litter box. As a result the litter was not absorbing his urine even though I was occasionally stirring the litter up. I have no clue what I was actually smelling but when I started moving the litter around hoping that it would absorb the litter, no chance of that happening. I only discovered how bad this stuff smells. The box itself was wet. This was a mess worse then a regular litter box to clean up! In addition to all of this the thing that first had me really not liking this litter system was the litter itself. It is not quite like stepping on Lego's but close to it. The ONLY thing I like about this box is that my cat does not seem to manage to throw the litter out of the box. Just means I need to get a litter box that is a little taller and bigger then what I have been using.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to review the ScoopFree Original Litter Box. We can understand how it would be frustrating to have a stinky litter box for sure! You may find it helpful to know that the crystal litter life is very much impacted by it's location. If there is moisture in the air (laundry room, bathroom, basement), the crystals may absorb moisture from the air which can reduce the overall life of the crystals. We will reach out to you privately for further assistance!

Rating
100/
100%
by
My sense of smell has increased in my age ,,,so having a cat box to scoop got unbearable ,,,,,,,,,With this cat box the smell is gone I really mean bye bye. No scooping no smell. Thank you really love this product.

Rating
20/
20%
by
WE bought this product after Thanksgiving 2016 at our local Petsmart where we also adopted our cat at the store as well. Today, I noticed the litterbox wasnt raked and the light was not on (and not blinking as well). I attempted to press the button, unplugged item and plugged back on and the light did not come on nor did the rake operate. This is after approximately 2 months of use for a fairly small cat. Lesson learned is to immediately registry for the warranty and save the receipt. I apparently didnt save the receipt and now stuck with a broken litterbox with plenty of littertrays.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to reach out and let us know that this has happened! Please know that this system is backed by a 1 year warranty and we want to offer troubleshooting to you as well as a fair solution. We will be reaching out to you privately so that we can ensure that you have a working litter box for your new kitty!

Rating
100/
100%
by
LOVE LOVE LOVE this litter box! I have one cat and have to change it once every 2-3 weeks. (the more cats you have, naturally, the more frequently you have to change the trays). Have been using this litter box for approximately five years. Also bought one for our son when he moved on his own and got a cat. Simple to clean and has been very reliable. No scooping, no mess. Would highly recommend this product to others.

Rating
20/
20%
Very Poor12/21/16
by
This was the biggest waste of money I have ever spent.! The refill trays have to be changed about every three days and they are very expensive. I would never recommend anyone to buy it. You also have to scoop the waste everyday

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Brenda! We are terribly sorry to hear of the distress that you have experienced, and we want to do all that we can to get your litter box running normally.

Please ensure that the litter box is placed in a dry, well ventilated area. If it is stored in a basement, bathroom, or laundry room, the crystal litter will soak up moisture from the air before the waste and the litter will not last as long as it should. If you are scooping the litter, it is possible that the sensors need to be cleaned with a Q-tip dipped in rubbing alcohol. Once cleaned, they will be able to sense when the cat is in the litter box and the rake will work consistently.

We really wan to find a way to help you and we will be reaching out privately for a solution. Thank you for letting us know that you are having trouble!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I am 60 yrs old, arthritis, & really love my kitty. I was having a lot of trouble with the heavy litter box, clay litter usage, & refilling. So I tried this Scoop Free Self-Cleaning Litter Box. WOW! I am free of extra daily pain and trouble, & Fuzzy "loves" it also. Its been 4 or 5 years and we are still happy we have it!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I cannot rave enough about this cat box. It is quiet, easy to use, has reduced the cost of litter for us, reduced the odors and the amount of dust-off from the litter. We have the unit with the privacy cover and are in year 2 of being very proud owners!

Rating
60/
60%
Litter box9/9/16
by
This is a monthly system that I used with an adult cat for 7 years.
The urine soaked through and ruined the grout on my floor.
The boxes are pretty expensive but it did what IRS supposed to and you can contact the distributor with issues and they will replace it free of charge.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Katherine! Please ensure that the litter box is being kept away from humid areas such as the bathroom and laundry room so that the crystals are not absorbing excess moisture from the air. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please reach out to us at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80/
80%
by
I bought this when I got my new kitten. I like the concept of not having to clean the litter box when he was younger, but as he got older he poops a lot. I think it may be due to the kitten food. I recently changed him to adult food, so hopefully he won't poop as much. I have found that if I clean the poop section every week it will last for 4 weeks, if I don't, then it has to be changed a put every 3 weeks. When I do scoop the poop I stir the litter up and add a little bit of baking soda cat litter deodorizer. That helps a lot. The only other issue is it is a bit cumbersome when I clean it, since I always rinse and wipe off the metal rake. I always put the lid under the box, never have issues with soaking through. When I dump it, i duct tape the box and throw in trash.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience with the ScoopFree® Litter Box, Rebecca! You may find it helpful to know that this litter box works best with cats over the age of 6 months as kitten waste can be much softer and harder to absorb. We hope that a change in diet will help your trays last longer! Please ensure that the litter box is being kept away from humid rooms such as a bathroom or laundry room as this sort of location can reduce the crystal's absorption rate when the crystals are absorbing moisture from the air. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. We love hearing from our customers!

Rating
40/
40%
by
I purchased this litterbox less than a month ago and I have already changed the litter trays 3 times needless to say doesn't last more than 5 to 8 days for 1 cat. I enjoy not having to clean the litter box daily but the smell of feces is constantly there now unlike when I used regular litter box the smell would go away once cleaned. I unfortunately cannot afford to keep this litterbox maintained apparently the trays are a ridiculous amount of money.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, Allison! Generally, odor control is one of the main features of the ScoopFree® Litter Boxes and part of the reason why this product is loved by so many cat owners. However, there are several factors such as your pet's age, health and diet as well as the location of the litter box which could be contributing to the odor you are experiencing. We will be attempting to get in touch with you privately to provide some troubleshooting steps and tips. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our Customer Care Center by calling 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
40/
40%
by
Be mindful that not every cat is the same due to the amount of times he or she uses the litter and that is with controlled food portions he eats too. Not enough crystals especially when the cat tries to cover his urine and excrement and there are empty spots left on the tray. Heavy smell after 7 days, it does not eliminate odour. Had I not purchased extra cat litter to top up just a little bit the stench would have been unbearable. This is a bit of a dud but stuck with it now that I have spent so much money on it.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're sorry to hear that the litter trays do not seem to be lasting as long as they should, Dee! Typically odor control is the #1 thing people love about the ScoopFree. One thing to keep in mind is, if the litter box is set up in a very moist room such as a laundry room, this can cause the crystals to absorb some of the moisture in the air, which can make them less effective at absorbing the waste. In order to help us understand why you are getting atypical results, please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​ and we will be glad to help out.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I got this litter box as a gift. It works great! I have a compromised immune system, so not having to touch the litter is a godsend! I also love that it doesn't stink. I highly recommend this product to anyone who wants a low maintenance litter box!

Rating
100/
100%
love it12/30/15
by
have been using this for years.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I've had the litter box for a little over a month now and replaced the box at the 30 day mark. I really thought it could go longer, but changed it because the product information said 20-30 days. It had no smell even after 30 days. My cat took to it perfectly and I've owned automatic littler boxes for at least 20 years. Starting with the [brand names removed]. They all have pluses and deltas, but I'm sold 100% on the Scoopfree model. I ordered the boxes on an automatic shipment from Amazon.com. I do have a small cat (Singapura) and that might be why it lasts so long and she only eats dry food. Best litter box made today.


Rating
20/
20%
by
I HAVE TWO KITTENS AND I HAVE HAD TO CHANGE THE BOX EVERY 4-5 DAYS OR I NOTICE THERE IS A URINE ODOR. I THINK I MAY JUST GO BACK TO USING A REGULAR LITTER BOX BECAUSE I HAVEN'T HAD THIS TYPE OF ODOR.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're sorry to hear about the odor issues that you are having with your ScoopFree, Brittany! Please keep in mind that kittens typically use the litter box more than adult cats and their waste can create more odor, which will lead to the litter trays lasting for less time than is typical. For better results, you may want to try stirring the crystals occasionally with a paint stick or other disposable tool. This will distribute the urine better, which will help the crystals absorb the waste more effectively. If you continue to have odor issues, please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​. We are available from 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
60/
60%
by
We have two cats and two (yes 2) ScoopFree litter boxes. The trays are really expensive and really, really really don't last as long as advertised, mainly due to urine and the cardboard tray underneath. Our cats seem to "go" in one place so while it does percolate through the crystals, the bottom of the cardboard tray gets spongy. I've tried raking the crystals - they turn greenish after a week where my cats "go," and that's a hot mess. And if they have loose stools (which sometimes happens) the rake gets yucky and spreads the icky stuff around. So, I'd suggest a heftier cardboard tray when this item is retooled by the manufacturer, at the very least, to improve this item.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're very sorry to hear that you are going through litter trays quicker than usual, Gina! If your cats tend to go in the same spot each time, try using a paint or something else disposable to stir the litter in that area. This should distribute the waste better and allow the crystals to absorb more of it. Please also be aware that, depending on your cats' age, health, and diet, you may experience atypical tray life. If you continue to have issues, please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​. We are available from 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
80/
80%
by
I love it! I just wish ya'll had a rechargeable battery because I only have one outlet in the bathroom where I keep the litter box and it's all the way across the room. When I put it in my laundry room right beside a plug my cats didn't use it because they weren't used to it being in that spot.

Rating
80/
80%
by
I have 4 cats. I've tried every type of non-automatic litter box & have spent a small fortune every month to keep my cats attracted to the litter box (I have one that likes to pee in corners), keep the house smelling good, and keep me from having to clean the litter boxes constantly (I have 2 jobs; my time is precious).

That being said, I researched all of the options available and came to the conclusion that there is no perfect litter box. This one had decent reviews, so I thought I'd give it a try. I really like this litter box, so much so, that I'm buying a second once, since I have 4 cats. The cats took to it right away. It is easy to clean. The cats appreciate the cleanliness. If you are a busy person who doesn't have time to clean the litter daily, it is worth the expense, but you will be paying for the convenience. It's not cheap, but none of the automatic litter boxes are.

Here are a few suggestions to Petsafe that I think will make the litter box even better: (1) Make the bottom of the box thicker, so you don't have to use the top of the box as a second layer to prevent leakage. No one wants to wrestle the top off of the bottom of a dirty littler box. I know one day I will pull too hard and the dirty litter will fly into my face! (2) Make the litter box itself a little longer; I have three big cats and some are pooping on the rake because their bodies are so long their hind quarters hover right over the rake. So, I have to clean the rake off as well as change the tray. (3) A little more odor control for the urine would be nice (4) Lower the price of the trays; they are outrageously expensive and with 4 cats, I have to change the tray every four days. If I wait 5 days, the litter is yellow-green in color, reeks, and the poop section is so full, the rake can't put anymore in it. Four days is the absolute max for 4 cats. I have a six-pack of trays on auto order, so the trays are averaging $13.49 per tray ($107.92/ mo.)

​PETSAFE RESPONSE:
Thank you very much for sharing your suggestions for the litter box, Deborah! We are always in the process of redesigning and implementing numerous improvements for our products and we will be happy to pass along your suggestions to our product development teams for review. For best results, each ScoopFree Litter Box is recommended for up to 2 cats. More than two per litter box can cut down on the amount of time that each litter tray stays fresh. However, sometimes you can increase the amount of time your litter trays last by stirring the crystals occasionally, which can spread the urine out over more surface area, allowing the litter to absorb more. If you have any issues with the litter box, or any questions, please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​. Hours of operation are 8AM-8PM EST Monday-Friday and 9AM-5PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Have had one since 2010 and it's worked flawlessly. Starting to get cranky now and I will replace it with another. I use another good brand of crystals and always have. Still $13 a bag but cheaper than cartridge. Then I replace the cartridge ever 3 months or so. They're lined so you really don't need to replace them every time.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:
Thank you very much for sharing feedback on your experience with the ScoopFree Litter Box! We are so happy to hear that it has worked well for you, and we appreciate you finding a replacement litter solution that best suits your needs. Please note that we recommend using only the ScoopFree litter trays with this system as the rake is mechanically calibrated for use with this type of crystal litter. Any alternate type of crystals could have the potential to put undue strain on the rake/motor and possibly damage them.

Rating
100/
100%
by
GREAT invention. Our cat had NO trouble getting used to it. The timer gives plenty of time and if sensing cat returns it won't go off.
Our cat has never gotten in its way. I like that she has clean litter each time she goes into the box and that I have no smell in the house.
I would not want to use anything else.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I bought this litter box in early 2009 because I was going in for back surgery and knew I wouldn't be very mobile for a couple of months and bending down to clean out a litter box would be even further down my favorites list than usual.

My cat had no problem adjusting to this litter box and she's a diva, so there you go. I did have to get rid of the hood though. She has a ton of very long hair and I think she felt a little claustrophobic in it. Once the hood was removed - perfect.

I wouldn't have a cat anymore without one.

Rating
40/
40%
by
Got this litter box about 13-14 months ago and didnt have any issues outside from the high priced litter trays (subscribing for the trays doesnt save you all that much but is very convenient). The rake is stuck and nothing seams to fix it. Gave this a 2 star just for it working for the first year. This is the 2nd automatic litter box i have purchased in 2 years. For the price on the system and trays, i would expect it to last much longer than it did.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your experience with the ScoopFree® Original Self-Cleaning Litter Box! We are sorry to hear of the trouble you've experienced with your rake, and we would be happy to help! If the rake is stuck, it is usually due to litter that has gotten lodged in the tracks on the side of the box. If you find litter in the tracks, usually canned air can help remove it. We also recommend to position your litter box to the upright position (as if you were changing the litter tray) and run the rake through while its vertical. If you are still experiencing issues, please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677 for more troubleshooting and replacement options.

Rating
20/
20%
by
i got this litter from petco, because my cat need a new one. and I saw it was clean free( scoop free) and it had no sound to it and the litter was soft to the cats feet. So i got it, the worst thing i ever got. it makes noise very loud to and my cat doesn't even use it because of the noise and litter. I have to go back to the old litter box now.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the ScoopFree® Original Self-Cleaning Litter Box did not meet your expectations! Many customers find success with this litter and can often acclimate their cats with ease. If your cat is unfamiliar with any motorized litter box, the sound can be alarming at first, but often times cats will adjust. The crystal litter is unique and may feel different to your cat. To help with acclamation, we often suggest to place the ScoopFree® where the old litter box was originally and put a handful (not much) of the older litter on top of the crystal litter to help your cat become familiar. If you would like more information on this system, or need more tips, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I LoVE LoVE LoVE this litter box. Can't say enough good things about it. We have 3 cats and they actually will come in the house and use it. Now - I have to admit, I do need to change the litter about once a week since we have 3 cats but well worth not having to clean it out many times a day AND it never smells!!!!

Rating
100/
100%
by
This thing is TOUGH. I have only 1 cat and I change the litter tray about every 3 weeks. Feeding my cat special food that is low in waste products makes a big difference in how fast it fills up. The one I have has been in continuous use for 3 years and I have not had a single problem with it. My cat is a big cat and she fits very well in the box, no waste on the outside of the box. I can't say enough good things about this litter system. I'm considering getting my daughter one.

Rating
100/
100%
LOVE this box4/20/14
by
I have tried other automatic litter boxes, and none of them compare to the Scoop Free boxes. My cats have done their best to try and break the boxes by standing on the rake while it is moving, but have not succeeded. The boxes have wonderful removable trays that make it easy to replace litter without scooping or touching the litter. We have 3 cats, and 3 Scoop Free boxes. I have bought additional units for family members because I love ours so much. I highly recommend this self-cleaning litter box!

Rating
20/
20%
by
The box does its job however the litter trays are grossly overpriced. Average cost for 2 cats is almost $40.00/month.

All in all.... don't buy it.

There are other automated cat boxes out there... be careful some are far worse than Scoopfree.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the litter trays have failed to meet your expectations. Please know that we do offer subscription plans that can reduce the price of purchasing one tray at a time. Because each cat is different, it is hard to say how often you will need to replace your litter, however, we do offer different subscription amounts and frequencies to better suit your needs. If you'd like to discuss these options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.