Close
#

Replacement Flap

Reviews

60% 100% 31
Overall
%
(31)
#
Ratings Breakdown
31 reviews
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
7
2 star
5
1 star
7

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Replacement Flap
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
Love this doggie door!, 8/28/14
by
I have this doggie door on the north side of my house. It is exposed to all weather elements and under constant use by 5 dogs, and I finally need to replace the flap after several years. I don't know what I did before installing this door. Yeah, now I remember, I got up to open the door every few minutes, letting one in, then letting another one out. Now I just greet them when they come and go! Thanks PetSafe!

Rating
60%/
60%
Replacement flaps, 8/18/14
by
I replace my flaps once or twice a year. I raise dogs and have 2 doggy doors that are used continually. The newest doggy door that uses the PAC11-11039 flap didn't last very long at all. The plastic that holds the flap onto the door has now broken so will have to fashion something out of metal, like it should be to last. The edges of the flap crack very quickly just from the in and out motion that the dogs cause to the door to use it. These flaps are not very weather resistant either due to the bending of the flap by normal use and the magnet doesn't work after the dogs used it for a period of time.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you've encountered with your Replacement Flap. Please know that your PetSafe pet door and flap is backed by a 1 year warranty, and we would be happy to offer replacement assistance.The Flap Holder is designed to allow you to adjust the flap so that the magnet may catch properly. If you need a replacement Flap Holder, we do offer these accessories through our Customer Care Center. For more information, please call our product experts at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Wonderful!, 8/1/14
by
I truly enjoy this dog door and flap. It takes a lot of abuse every day by my 7 dogs. I have had my original flap for almost 3 years and am just now replacing it. I'd say that is pretty good quality! It does allow some air to seep through but so does my sliding glass door. I know some folks have some gripes about it, but nothing in life is absolutely perfect.

Rating
100%/
100%
This door is a must-have if you have pets!!, 7/7/14
by
We had to special order this door at Lowe's, but once it arrived and we installed it, the pets have simply adored it. I have a siamese cat that loves to hunt and go outside and even though I've tried to 'ground' him and keep him indoors, he just loves to go out. For our dogs, it's been a blessing. We are a big dog family and it's wonderful that they can go in and out during the day while we work. Not having to open the door and close the door whenever they want out or in is awesome too. When my boxer started getting up in years, he couldn't hold his bladder for as long as he used to (I guess it happens to all of us!) and the pet door helped him so much since he didn't have accidents in the house. Saved me from spending a fortune on puppy pads too, which stink up the house. Now, we have a 9 week Cane Corso puppy and he learned how to utilize the door after 2 days or so and it's helping him learn to go out whenever he needs to!! Thank you PetSafe for making these pet doors, but more importantly for making the replacement flaps continuously available and reasonably priced! Our big dogs go out and come in a lot, as they like to keep tabs on their back yard, so they wear out often. Seems so often in life that you find something great, but then the replacement parts are no longer made. We tell everyone how much we love our pet door. Thank you again!

Rating
100%/
100%
Flap Attachment modifications, 5/24/14
by
For $40 bucks the replacement flap is a BUY. Anything like this that gets a lot of use will wear out eventually.
We could not get along without it and the retrievers give it a real work out. I did try a modification that has worked pretty well on the last 2 or 3 flaps I replaced that might be helpful to others and possibly for the company to review for product immprovements.

It has been a while since I bougt the entire door kit (original install), so I think this info is correct.I used some small washers at the screw connections to spread the load of the small screw out somewhat. Pretty effective but I think when our housekeeper tries to clean the door she pulls on it and still splits the plastic at the screw connections.Next I am going to try a drilled aluminum bar on the inside of the flap door connections to further spread out the load the screws create when tightened into the plastic. The plastic has very little tensile strength compared to the screw head when tightened.

Company might consider this as an option for some if not all the plastic doors as a product improvement, especially for large animals or excessive usage.

Rating
100%/
100%
Love it!, 4/18/14
by
I've had my dog door for a couple of years now, and it's been a lifesaver! I have two large and destructive dogs......and am just now needing to replace my flap. It's served it purpose well, and I look forward to another couple of years with my new flap.

To those who have complaints, I have this to say: It's a dog device, and it no doubt recieves a great amount of "use" from whatever size dogs you may have. Let's be honest....it's a plastic flap designed to save you the trouble of letting your dog in/out throughout the day. You can't expect it to be 100% airtight and not have a small amount of air leakage (or whatever else your complaint may be). In fact, most actual house doors don't seal 100%. If you dont like the product, then dont use it.........but don't complain when you have to let your dog in and out 20+ times a day.

On that note, my dogs and I thank you for making our lives easier!


Rating
40%/
40%
YIKES!!!!!!, 4/17/14
by
$27.90 shipping and all for a small doggie door which cracked even from normal use by a 10# dog. Talk about a bird nest on the ground????? But the good news is that I do have a solution in mind, take the cracked flap and reproduce one myself....fooled twice shame on me.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize that the price of the Replacement Flap does not meet your expectations! Please know that this product does have a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to discuss replacement options with you through our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Too costly for biannual replacement., 3/18/14
by
Our cattle dog destroys these flaps due to constant use. No abuse such as biting them or tugging at them, just blasting through them in top gear. It also seems that a softer durometer flap would last better in the cold months as it seems they get hard and break easier in the winter. I am not willing to buy another one for what I have been paying and will likely get with McMaster Carr or somwhere like that to find a suitable replacement material. Thanks but no thanks petsafe.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the design of our Replacement Flaps do not meet your expectations. We can understand how a damaged flap can be frustrating. Please know that this product does come with a 1 year limited warranty. We'd be happy to discuss replacement options with you! Please call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may help find a solution.

Rating
80%/
80%
Couldn't function without it!! , 3/18/14
by
We have 4 large dogs that use this door all day, every day, a million times a day...if it wasn't for the 2 two youngest (puppies still) we wouldn't even have to be replacing the flap...they have chewed the corners of the flap completely away....these are two girls that can eat rocks and tree roots, so I would say it's pretty durable if it can withstand our pack!!

Rating
40%/
40%
Cold Air too, 3/4/14
by
I also have an issue with my Classic Aluminum X Large Door. Mine is located in the same room as the furnace and every time the furnace comes on the flap opens up so I have to put the slider in and restrict my 2 dogs access. My flap measures 13 3/4 x 24 5/8 and I cant seem to find a replacement flap to see if it will help keep out the cold and you don't make an extreme weather door that would fit my door opening.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you are having trouble with your Petsafe Door. The replacement flap for the Classic XL Door is model A04026-4-11, which you can purchase at the link below or by contacting or Customer Care. Please know that we do appreciate your feedback on the need for an XL Extreme Weather Door and that your comments have been passed on to the Pet Access team for review. If you need further assistance, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Link: http://store.petsafe.net/classic-replacement-flap

Rating
60%/
60%
ok, 3/2/14
by
I installed my door about 1 1/2 yrs ago. It has large chunks on the sides breaking off and letting in tons of cold air.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that this door has failed to meet your expectations. While your door is covered by a one year limited warranty, we would still love to find a solution for you even after the warranty period is over. Please know that we do have replacement options for many of our doors and flaps and we would be happy to discuss the options with you. If you would like to know those options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
very pleased!, 2/16/14
by
We installed two of these flap doors about 11 years ago. We have the extra large and it was used daily by two large Newfoundland Dogs. No problems until this year when we think the plastic at the hinged part just wore out. Lots of wear and tear over 11 years. We now have an 8 month old Newfoundland who is going to probably finish off the flap so we are being proactive in replacing them...or at least having a replacement on hand.

Rating
60%/
60%
No size flap matches what I have, 2/13/14
by
We have been pleased with our PetSafe large aluminum frame door since we installed it about 6 years ago. But our newly adopted mixed breed puppy chewed the bottom of the flap, and when I go to find a replacement, I don't find that the dimensions match (even though the door says it is a PetSafe large). The flap is 10 1/4" wide by 17 1/4" long. Did you change the dimensions of the doors and replaceable flaps?

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear you have had success with your PetSafe pet door! We are sorry to hear about the measurement mix-up. The measurements on our website are approximate, and your flap's dimensions may vary due to use and weather. It sounds as if the flap you have should be a Large. To be sure, most of our flaps have a model number printed on the flap itself, usually at the top. If you need further assistance, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
cold weather problem, 2/9/14
by
I've used the petsafe doors for more than 5 years. The only problem has been, in extremely cold temperatures (lower than -5F), the vinyl flap snaps off at the top. Its obvious the vinyl can't flex at such a low temperature. I think some kind of "hinge" could be utilized to eliminate the problem. Other than that we have had no problems.

Rating
60%/
60%
Extreme weather Door flaps not up to single digit cold, 1/7/14
by
I have had an Extreme Weather triple flap doggy door on my porch here in Bloomington, MN, suburbia. Inside the porch, water doesn't freeze all winter, as it is well insulated. I have another PetSafe doggy door that let's my small dog from the porch into my house. I like both doors, as far as working and sealing our the cold and bugs well. However, I'm now on my third set of flaps for the porch to outside doggy door. They crack horizontally as soon as we have a night/day in the single digits. When we had one night a week or so ago that was near zero, the two Neoprene flaps that were less than a year old, both went from fine to brittle and then cracked overnight. A few nights later, with it was -10°F, they both cracked all the way across near the top and fell completely off. PetSafe sent me replacement flaps, but currently has no solution. If I install the new flaps today, they will no doubt be cracked and have fallen off by this weekend. So, what to do??? On the upside, the flaps on the porch to house door have lasted last 8-10 years for my present and former dog. So, I love the convenience, but PetSafe needs to design a new flap that stays flexible to a much lower temperature. New flaps every two years sounds reasonable to me, not every time it gets a bit nippy outside. :o)

Rating
40%/
40%
Flap leaks air and sags, 12/24/13
by
We have the same experience as Mr. Lichon -- the flap doesn't sit well in the frame. Weather fluctuations cause the flap to gap, letting in hot summer air or freezing winter air. And with a big hole in the wall, that's a lot of air. The screws keep coming out as well. This door gets minimal use and has been up a bit over a year.
We never had this problem with our previous doggie door, although it had the locking frame so the flap had a second part covering the edges.
We'll call the company after the holidays and see what they might suggest to solve the issue.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you experienced these issues with your Replacement Flap. Please know that these flaps are designed to be adjusted vertically or horizontally to properly fit your frame. To give your single flap pet door better wind resistance, you can add an extra flap to your door. Dual flaps are heavier and less likely to blow open in strong winds. If your screws seem unable to easily be removed from your frame, you may need replacements. We do have them available through our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Overpriced for plastic, 12/14/13
by
I have 2 large dogs, so I need to have an XL door. I use 2 of the doors, one on the inside of a garage wall and one on the outside. The corners of the flaps wear off and need replacing every winter. $128 for 2 molded pieces of plastic seems outrageous. If I could find a better product I'd switch.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing an issue with your Replacement Flaps. Please know that these flaps do have a 1 year limited lifetime warranty. To learn more about this warranty, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we can offer replacement assistance.

Rating
20%/
20%
Cold Air 2, 12/11/13
by
Similar to the previous review the replacement flap is not as snug as the original. Same size aluminum door. My issue as more to do with the length being two short. the gap is to large for the magnets to pull up the metal closure strip. I have pulled it out and to make sure I didn't install it wrong but it is pretty basic. It is just to short.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing this problem with your replacement flap. Please know that this flap can be adjusted up or down and from left to right as the flap can shrink and expand with temperature changes. However, if this fails to resolve the problem, the flap may need to be replaced as it could have become warped. If this is the case and a replacement is needed please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a solution.



Rating
60%/
60%
Cold air, 11/23/13
by
I have the Alum XL wall door ...13 3/4 X 23 3/4 flap opening
Wish they made a winter door ...just flap replacement...for my door
It has openings on two sides for cold air to enter
Any solutions???


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your PetSafe Aluminum Pet Door. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great Addition to Our Home!!, 11/21/13
by
I've had my Medium Aluminum Petsafe Door for over 7 years now, and I'm just now replacing the flap. And, I've had 7 Jack Russell Terriers going in and out for that long!! I strongly recommend this product!!

Rating
80%/
80%
Good for 4 years, 10/17/13
by
Nothing Lasts Forever.I Just ReplacEd Mine After 4 Years. ConsideriNg My Two Pets go In And Out 25 Times Or More A Day Each. Not Bad.

Rating
80%/
80%
flap leaking cold air, 10/11/13
by
This product worked great at first until the weather got cold and the plastic flap did not seal all the way and cold air leaked in causing frost to build up around the edges. It needs a better type of seal.

Rating
100%/
100%
Dependable, long lasting, 9/10/13
by
Been in my home 16 years, and only replaced the flaps once....(I have two dog doors in my home) and ONLY because it was ugly looking after so many years of cleaning it. GREAT PRODUCT!!!

Rating
80%/
80%
the dogs love it, 8/30/13
by
I love this -- we have the one with the extreme weather door- and while we periodically have to replace the flaps-- (big dogs run fast ands hard!!!)- we have been pleased with the product for 18 years!

Rating
20%/
20%
Don't waste your money !, 8/11/13
by
If this flap could last more than 6 or 8 months, it may be worth the excessive cost. But it is complete trash.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have encountered a problem with your replacement flap. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Not worth the money, 8/6/13
by
Doesn't last and isn't worth the cost to replace. Not sure what to do. Make own?


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Poor quality, 8/4/13
by
Vinyl stretches at top and gaps. Splits at bottom sides next to magnetic strip. Lasts maybe yr or two. Too expensive.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation. Please know that they have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Product does not hold up!, 7/28/13
by
I installed 12 of these medium sized dog doors. In the year since I have bought them all 12 plastic flaps have failed and been replaced under the 1 year warranty. Again, I am in need of 7 replacement flaps and I refuse to believe these doors are failing due to my dogs. Most of my issues stem from the fact that the magnetic strips don't stay on the vinyl or flap portion of the door. There are no chew marks they simply do not hold up to use in a kennel environment. I agree with others who have said that this product does not hold up. I contacted the company...again....to be instructed to read the warranty. Good thing I didn't want to read the warranty before purchase because it's not available on the box which should have been my first clue as it only mentions a 10 year warranty not a 1 year warranty for manufacturer defects? I also think it ridiculous to expect customer's who purchase the entire door for $36 dollars to pay $33 for the flap only? Unreal and you can believe I will be researching a new approach. I simply can't afford to replace 7 flaps at that price only to have them fail again. Epic fail!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this system has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Over priced, not designed for longevity, 7/10/13
by
This is the 3rd door flap I've purchased in about 4 years. Every one has failed at the top where the plastic is thinner than the main flap. I usually fix with duct tape for awhile before buying a new flap. It seems excessive to pay 75% of the original door price for only the flap. It's too expensive and not designed for longevity. I purchase these parts reluctantly.

Rating
60%/
60%
Replacement Parts cost too much, 7/7/13
by
Like most pups mine destroyed the flaps on the all weather door (all 3). Of course my prior dog loved the door and left it alone but the flap did wear out after 2 years so I got the all weather with 3 flaps. Unfortunately the first dog died so can't say how long the ALL Weather door lasted but when I got the pup , well, liked I said he destroyed it in about 2 months. I looked at replacement parts and WOW! $42.00 for a single flap? I took the old flaps out of the dog door and saw how they were attached and then went to Home Depot, got some clear vinyl flooring, some metal edging and made my own flaps. Cost? $15.00 for enough material to make two doors.

Rating
40%/
40%
Doesn't last long., 6/11/13
by
Lasted exactly one year. Buying another one for $68. Really?

×