Close
#

Plastic Doors

Reviews

35% 100% 24
Overall
%
(24)
#
Ratings Breakdown
24 reviews
5 star
0
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
16

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Plastic Doors
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
20%/
20%
waste of time and money, 10/13/14
by
I purchased a door today after finally putting heat in my garage I thought it would be nice for my dog this winter. But after getting it installed I am totally displeased. The magnet it way to weak I can sneeze at it and it blows open. And the flap no way near seals the hole. I'm sure glad I put in in an old door that in the back because come winter I gonna have to cobble up the door to seal out the cold. And I agree the plastic screws are to cheap. Wished I had read these reviews before I wasted my $69 dollars and ruined my door.
Jim Harpold
Rockville in.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Plastic Pet Door did not meet your expectations. Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and we will attempt to contact you to offer troubleshooting and replacement options. To assist with the magnet, we would suggest to loosen the screws holding the flap in order to lower the flap so it will successfully align with the bottom frame of the door. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Totally disappointed. Could it get CHEAPER?, 8/31/14
by
I've had Petsafe entry doors (medium) on my home for the past 9 years. I installed them myself and the vertical sliding inside panel has been flawless. So when my wife and I bought a new home, I didn't hesitate to go pick up the PetSafe doors that had served me well for so many years! I opened the package, pulled out the template, and proceeded to cut the hole in the first door. Assembly of the frame was nearly impossible. First, the template is WRONG. if you follow the template lines, I PROMISE you will not be able to get the screws through the cutout. The template does not take into account the screw bosses through which the screws pass from one frame to the other? Don't even try this unless you have at least one helper! Once I got the plastic shields cut to the proper width, I pull the bag of screws out and they are plastic....yes, plastic screws! "Oh well", I thought..."At least they won't rust"..... Or be able tighten them fully! This just keeps getting better, but no time to turn back now! The dogs are going crazy being cooped up in the house. I proceeded to cut the hole in the second door with the lessons learned from the first door. I got both doors hung and grabbed the shield panel and went to slide it in from the top like my old ones......surprise again! They have made them cheaper too and now they snap into place. Is this a joke? My cocker spaniel doesn't even slow down when he blasts through it!

Bottom line, I REALLY wish I had read the other reviews here before I purchased these doors. PetSafe's ability to cheapen their products and my rush basically have combined to ruin two doors.

These things are cheap JUNK! Do NOT buy them!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Plastic Pet Door does not meet your expectations! We can understand your frustration with the experience that you've had, and we would be happy to help! Please know we will be attempting to contact you to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. To assist with installation, we have provided a link to a step by step video below. The vinyl screws are used in the plastic pet door to help prevent any damage done to the door by metal screws through expansion/contraction caused by temperature changes. Our Plastic Pet Door is designed to use a snap on closing panel, but if you would like a door with a sliding closing panel, the Freedom Aluminum Door may be a better fit. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677

VIDEO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9HVWB6_N7U&list=PL35699258CD2E61A3

Rating
20%/
20%
worst cover ever!!!!!, 8/28/14
by
i do not like the cover on this doggie door. it is extremely hard to remove. i am sure the cover will break before long. i have another doggie door in my house and it has a SLIDE ON cover. i will be sure and look more closely if i have to buy another one in the future and i will not buy the petsafe plastic door with the snap-on cover. i will be sure it has the slide on cover that will lock!!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the cover of the Plastic Pet Door did not meet your expectations! The snap-on closing panel is designed with 2 tabs on each side to assist with easy removal. However, if you are interested in doors that use a sliding closing panel, the Freedom Aluminum door may better suit your needs. If you would like more information on this door, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Disappointed. Poor design., 8/2/14
by
When the plastic flap on our metal petsafe door tore at the top we went back to Lowes to get a replacement. We bought the same size door in plastic and found it did not fit exactly-- we had to enlarge the hole. The plastic door has cheap plastic pieces that fit Ito the door frame rather than the preformed piece that the metal door had. These were very hard to install and kept falling off as we tried it fit one side of the door into the other as we put it in place in the door opening. And then we found that the cover just pops on....it took our dog about 1 minute to pop through it. This is definitely a poor design. The metal one is much better. I would never recommend this door to anyone.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Plastic Pet Door did not meet your expectations. We can understand how frustrating it can be to install a new door, and we would be happy to offer assistance! For a step-by-step video on how to install this pet door, please view the link below. Also, please know that we do offer Aluminum Pet Doors that may better suit your needs. For more information on these doors, please visit http://store.petsafe.net/freedom-aluminum-doors or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK TO VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9HVWB6_N7U

Rating
20%/
20%
Panel Dilemma , 3/24/14
by
I had a Large PetSafe Dog Door in my previous home. I loved the panel that came with it that would "slide-in" and allowed the door to be "locked". When I purchased my new home, a new dog door was on the top of my to do list. I went to the store to purchase one. I notice the x-large door was cheaper than the large door (I thought it was on sale or what not) so I opted for the larger door. When it was time to install the door (my brother installed it for me), I came home to notice that the Panel did not slide in and lock like my previous dog door, instead it just "pops" on. From the outside of the door it would take very little effort for someone to "pop" the panel off. And in fact, from inside...my dogs have mastered "popping" it off themselves...making the panel absolutely useless. I've now done some research and noticed there are two types of PetSafe dog doors...aluminum and plastic. Apparently the aluminum door is what I had previously with the "sliding" panel...and now I am the disappointed owner of the plastic door with the "popping" panel. Had I known there was a difference in doors...I would have opted for a Large Aluminum PetSafe dog door; however, now I'm stuck with a useless X-Large Plastic PetSafe dog door. Now because there is an X-Large hole cut out of my door, I would have to go with an X-Large Aluminum PetSafe dog door, but I cannot afford to spend that kind of money, and a Large Aluminum Petsafe dog door will not fit the space. If I were rich, I could just buy a new door and a new dog door, and problem solved; however, I am not rich, and even the thought of having to buy another dog door when I've already purchased one is making me very upset, but the Panel for the Plastic Door is truly useless...and the Panel component is extremely important in my situation.
The Plastic Dog Door itself is a good dog door...I only have a problem with its "popping" Panel. If the Panel is an Important feature for you as well...please go with the Aluminum door, NOT the Plastic door. I sure wish I had known about the difference in the first place!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear about the XL Petsafe Door mix-up! Please know that we do offer loyalty discounts on other doors that may better suit your needs and will be contacting you shortly to discuss those options. Meanwhile, if you have any questions about the different doors and styles we carry, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.


Rating
80%/
80%
Great Door design, simple and reliable., 3/16/14
by
I've gone through several door designs and this one works the best, it's simple and reliable. Mine is five years old, I have two big dogs using it every day. The flap has finally cracked due to age, weather and use but I'm more than satisfied and plan to buy a replacement today. It does blow open a bit in strong wind but mine is in the garage so not a big deal, I put the cover on for big snow storms. A little improvement on the magnet strength might solve this.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are glad to know you've had success with your Petsafe Pet Door! For these Plastic Pet Doors, using 2 flaps instead of 1 can help weigh down the door and help prevent drafts in strong winds. If you have any questions on how to do this, please contact our customer care at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
great...BUT..., 3/6/14
by
Well fits great dogs love it but it is constantly open the wind has it wide open it's so light that the flap never sticks to the magnetic strip at the bottom and it's winter here now and the draft is horrible can I buy just the replacement flap but a heavy duty kind!? Any thoughts??!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that this door has failed to meet your expectations. We do have possible solutions to your situation. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may find the best option for you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Once panel closure snaps on, it stays snapped on!, 2/12/14
by
When I had a new basement door installed this month, I purchased a pet door for my cats which was installed. It has a snap-on closure.

The cover is SO TIGHT that I cannot get it off. I have used a small crow bar to try and release it to no avail. Even when I get just one side open enough to insert my fingers, it snaps back, pinching my fingers. I am unable to get my fingers under both sides at once. So the door is virtually useless.

I am told there is an aluminum version of the door with a slide panel, but the size of the cut-out is smaller, so I could not replace it with that model.

I think the company needs to test these products better for ordinary home use and to make both types of closures in the same size. I don't think I will ever buy this brand again. I've never had problems with other brands.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:We apologize that you have had this experience with your Plastic Door. The snap-on closing panel has two tabs, one on each side, that should assist in easily removing it from the frame of the pet door. Please know that we do offer a loyalty discount for other Petsafe Pet Doors. If you'd like to know more about this offer, or any of our products, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
Great door...wish it was chew proof, 2/11/14
by
Great door and it works really well. My new English Golden just lays by the door. When the wind blows it open he chews off the edges first and then the bottom magnet. Not good for him but he does it when we leave. Trying to figure out how to put metal or something less chewable on the corners and bottom. Great door though and it works really well.

Rating
20%/
20%
Worst Design by Petsafe Yet, 1/26/14
by
I have used Petsafe doors on several doors in 3 different houses. I have used cat doors and large dog doors and all have worked wonderfully until now. So good in fact that I stick with the brand every time I need a door but, this time I purchased the same large dog door and was disappointed in the changes. Although I did not like the design, I trusted based on my past experience, that it would be fine just more trouble. I was wrong! Not only was the installation a lot more time consuming and troublesome, it doesn't work as well either. Cutting the pass through, door thickness inserts without an engineering degree and a professional grade exacto knife is impossible to get a clean seal. The outside panel has exposed chrome nuts and black pass through inserts that look like crap on my beautiful $400 door. The flap does not seal. I had been propping the door open for my dog until I installed the door, the weather was getting bitterly cold. Too cold to leave the door open so I got the door installed so I could block the cold. The next morning I was surprised and concerned that it was still just as cold in the garage. How could that be?!?!? Then I noticed that when the wind blows (even slightly) the flap opens letting in the same cold air that I thought I was blocking (no other petsafe door has done this). Even when it doesn't open, air still comes in around the flap. And finally, the solid insert to block the doors operation is snap on instead of siding on full length grooves. Very easy for a thief to push off to get access to the inside door lock or just crawl through. What was wrong with the old design?!?!?! It worked wonderfully and was very easy to install. Bad design decision.... it will cost you customers

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Plastic Door! We do appreciate your loyalty, and can understand how frustrating it can be to have a product that does not meet your expectations. Please know that we do offer an installation videos and troubleshooting assistance which are available by using the links below. Unfortunately, the closing is provided for aesthetic and energy efficiency purposes and is not intended as a security device. If you are interested in a different style closing panel, there may be other doors that would better suit your needs. Please know that this product does have a 1 year limited warranty, and we do have replacement options for you and offer a Loyalty Discount on other Petsafe doors. If you'd like to discuss these options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9HVWB6_N7U&list=PL35699258CD2E61A3
LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/doors/door-wall-entry/plastic-pet-door

Rating
20%/
20%
Disappointed , 1/25/14
by
I owned and use many of your products, I have the storm door with the dogie door built in. I also have the sliding door insert which I have no issue with at all. The one I was replacing was the quick fit dogie door because after 7 years with 2 dogs the plastic flap started to rip. I had this originally installed at my old apartment and brought it with me to my house over 3 years ago. I'm not disappointed that after 7 years it failed, that is expected. What I'm disappointed with is the quality of new plastic door. I purchased everything from Lowe's Home Improvement, they no longer carry the quick fit so I purchased the plastic one. The overall quality is low in my opinion, you need to cut the plastic strips that go from the inside to the outside frame, so if I were to get a different door I would need to buy a new dogie door also. Second the screws that hold it together are plastic. I personally do not see this product lasting more than 2 years tops.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the PetSafe Plastic Pet Door has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We do offer replacement accessories such as the Core Covers and nylon screws through our Customer Care Center should you need these in the future. If you would like to discuss this issue with us or to order any replacement items, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
Cheap!, 1/14/14
by
Got this as a gift, installed last year and the plastic is broke for the flap, if you don't live in constant 70 degrees, spend the extra money and get the metal kind!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that you have had this experience with your Plastic Door. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty and as we can understand that you may not have a receipt, additional replacement options may be available for you. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
20%/
20%
Flimsy- Magnet strip breaks off then its useless!, 12/20/13
by
I've owned two of these now and am going to switch to something more sturdy...The jiggly plastic housing for the magnets breaks quickly from the dogs flying in and out of the door (big feet- hard claws- i have two English Cream Golden Retrievers). Then the door won't seal and even before the magnet housing breaks off when it DOES seal, lots of cold air and dust leak in. Going to spend more money and get a better door from another manufacturer!

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Plastic Door. Please know that we do have replacement options for you and offer a Loyalty Discount on other Petsafe doors. If you'd like to discuss these options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
40%/
40%
Poor closure, 12/17/13
by
Installed OK - all plastic parts (screws and bolts). For the few months we've had the unit it is still holding up. But even in the slightest wind the flap does not hold and cold air blows in. The security snap on cover is very difficult to get back off. We have ordered the Extreme Weather (supposedly uses the exact same cut out as the Plastic) and hope this will work better.
When we moved in and there was an old two flap PetSafe door that, even though rather beat up, still worked well - the flaps remain closed in inclement weather. Also liked the slide in security door.



PETSAFE RESPONSE:We apologize that you have had this experience with your Plastic Door. We hope that your Extreme Weather Door better suits your needs. Please know that this PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. If you have any questions about any of our products and their warranties, you are welcome to contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we can assist you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Do NOT Buy this ALL PLASTIC door, VERY difficult to install!, 12/15/13
by
We have had many PetSafe pet doors and have always been pleased with them. We recently adopted a St Bernard and he was getting too big for our old door. We have been putting off replacing the door with a new larger version because of the cost (though the Aluminum doors are worth the cost) and were surprised to find this "Economical" choice and purchased it - BAD IDEA. The ENTIRE door is plastic, the only metal is the hinge and the nuts, everything else (including the "bolts") are plastic. This door was also EXTREMELY difficult to install even for my contractor husband - it took the two of us over an hour to install the thing because the plastic flanges that fit inside the door and between the two dog doors don't stay in place and kept falling out. Now that it is installed the we are wondering just how long this "economical" (ie CHEAP) door will even last. And the "cover" for inclement weather just snaps over the frame - a strong gust of wind could knock the cover off! DO NOT GET THIS DOOR, SPRING FOR THE ALUMINUM DOORS because they are worth the cost.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the Plastic Door has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your door does have is covered by a one year limited warranty. To assist in installation, we do provide a video that you can view at the link below. Please know that if you do experience trouble with your door, it is covered by a one year limited warranty, and we'd be happy to assist you. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9HVWB6_N7U&list=PL35699258CD2E61A3

Rating
20%/
20%
Doesn't seal well, 12/13/13
by
This is the second door that I have purchased from this company. The first one was the medium size and the door was great. Sealed well and never had a problem. Even with high winds the door stayed sealed. We got a German Shepard and had to get the large door so he could fit thru it and the large door does not seal. The magnet is weak and with a light breeze the door opens on it's own. I have tried readjusting the flap to no avail. Also the side of the large door there are gaps allowing cold air to blow right thru as well. I am very disappointed in the large door. Living in Massachusetts it is not condusive to have cold air blowing and trying to keep one's home warm.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the Plastic Door has failed to meet your expectations. Please know we do appreciate your loyalty and your feedback. We understand how a frustrating it can be to experience a draft with your pet door. You can add an extra flap to your door to assist in wind resistance. Dual flaps are heavier and less likely to blow open in strong winds. If you have any questions or would like to discuss this issue further, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
Of the four pet doors I have tried, this is the best, 11/24/13
by
I installed this door four years ago in a lexan replacement panel in my sliding glass door. It has allowed complete freedom for our Collie and Black Lab all this time. The only reason I came back to this site was to buy a replacement flap, which after countless full speed passes is showing ware. If used as suggested, it is a great product.

Rating
20%/
20%
disappointed, 11/22/13
by
The door installed quickly but the magnet is not strong enough to hold the door closed in the wind. This is the second pet door we have purchased from this company, and the first one was great. I think that makes this door even more disappointing.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the Plastic Door has failed to meet your expectations.To give your single flap pet door better wind resistance, you can add an extra flap to your door. Dual flaps are heavier and less likely to blow open in strong winds. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
New Freedom, Good Product, 11/13/13
by
After years and years of owning pets, I wish I had bought this door LONG ago. It has completely changed our way of living because we no longer have to get up and let the animals in or out at all times during the day or especially at night.

The door came with good instructions that were easy to follow. Being a handyman I'm sure made it easier for me than for others. But if you follow the instruction the door can be installed with little trouble. I did have a little trouble with the black plastic parts that go between the inside and outside frame but a little painters tape solved needing extra hands for getting it to fit together.

With a little time to coax our dog through the door the first few times we taped the flap up out of the way so there was just the raw opening in view. With one person inside and one outside, we called him in and out several times and then removed the tape and after a couple times pushing the flap open, he was on his own going in and out. He would go out and have a look of "look what I can do!" and run back inside.

Like I said, it has changed our lives, freeing up time to get up and let the dog in or out, and at our 'older' age, it has really been a blessing. Thank you PetSafe!

Rating
20%/
20%
Doesn't stay sealed, 10/19/13
by
Had this door installed in out new home. Plastic flap does nit seal. It flaps in the wind and rain comes in. We will have to replace with a different door. VERY disappointed!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your PetSafe Plastic Pet Door. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
20%/
20%
Door shows wall installation on box but does not work in wall, 8/30/13
by
I purchased this product because the package showed that it also works through an exterior wall. When I installed the door the plastic inserts were not wide enough for the wall so I called PetSafe and the representative said no problem, he would send me the wider inserts. When I received them they were he same ones that came with the original unit. I again called PetSafe and was told that in order for this unit to work on a exterior wall you have to construct your own "tunnel" that goes through the wall. PetSafe was only willing to offer a unacceptable discount on a much more expensive unit that comes with the tunnel. Also, the magnet does not seem to hold the flap securely so wind will often blow it open. I would not recommend this product to others.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this door has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you choose to reconsider the offer, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Never again, 8/16/13
by
I have installed three (3) dog doors over the past years. This being the most recent. This product is an extremenly poorly constructed dog door in comparison with what I have purchased and installed in other houses. Typically I have been able to install these type of doors with little effort but the door core inserts that supposely snaps into the the frame of the dog door would not stay in place and caused the installation to be extermly frustrating. I used the pattern provided to cut the hole for the door and found it to be slightly bigger than needed to be. I would not recommend this product to others.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you encountered difficulty while installing your pet door. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Won't stay sealed, 7/22/13
by
I had a handyman install a pet door for me and he bought this one. It looks cheap (to be fair it was) but the worst part is that when my pet uses it the magnetic part at the bottom doesn't catch. So my air-conditioning is blowing to the outside and I am going to have to replace the door before this winter when the cold outside air will be blasting inside. I am choosing another brand of door as this one is totally unsatisfactory.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the Plastic Door has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
worst designed door on the market, 7/20/13
by
I have installed 3 dog doors usually cut the door opening and screw-in the door. This one you need to cut the 4 piece insert for the door's depth, then hold all 4 pieces in-place put the back of the dog-door on and insert the bolt and nut, I had to use tape to hold in center insert in-place. Then you will strip the bolts because there nylon the flap and door frame are good quality so I gave it 2 stars pet smart executive should install there door before making a decision to save $0.20


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the Plastic Door has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

×