Close
#

Little Dog Static Remote Trainer

Reviews

63% 100% 13
Overall
%
(13)
#
Ratings Breakdown
13 reviews
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
3
1 star
3

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Little Dog Static Remote Trainer
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
WONDERFUL PRODUCT!, 11/18/14
by
Once I got the collar fitting right and I also (as another reviewer did) tested the stimulation levels on myself. Level 1 and even 2 seemed imperceptible; then I went right to level 8 and certainly felt THAT! and decided to start with level 8 for the most emphatic "NO" signal. The first time I zapped Maggie as she started to take off after a vehicle she yelped and instantly ran away from the vehick and right back into our yard. Shortly after that another vehick went by and without any stim she got herself away from that one too.
To ensure the establishment of this vehicle avoidance response, I am continuing the training - I put the collar on when we go out and take it off and TURN IT OFF when we're inside. A few days later she made as if to chase and I zapped her again. Since then, she's had many 'opportunities' to chase but has not done it at all.
I'll still continue using the collar until I'm 100% sure she's been convinced she must never chase a vehicle. I hated to cause her enough distress to yelp, BUT that little bit of pain is nothing compared to what she'd feel if a vehicle hit her!
After I'd ordered this item on the phone, I read the reviews and felt a bit discouraged. But so far, no problems at all with batteries or any function.
I LOVE this gizmo. I'm VERY satisfied with it. It's going to keep my sweet pooch SAFE.
P.S. The phone help I got in the process of ordering was SUPERB!

Rating
40%/
40%
battery life is terrible, 10/27/14
by
The collar is great for a few days. Then the batteries die. And they are very expensive.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry that the battery life of your Little Dog Static Remote Trainer has failed to meet your expectations! Please know that we recommend to turn your receiver collar off when not in use to help prevent a short battery life. The batteries are CR-2032 batteries which can be found at many local retailers, and prices may vary. For your convenience, we also have a battery subscription plan available that offers these batteries at a discounted price along with free shipping. For more information, please view the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/3-volt-lithium-coin-cell-batteries-2-pack

Rating
100%/
100%
Works Great, 10/27/14
by
I use it on my large male cat (when I let him outside) & all I need to do now is use the green tone button to get compliance & it is very rare that I must use the stimulation/shock button. I have been using it twice a day for 2 months now for 2 to 3 hours a day & I am still using the original batteries. A pack of 3 replacement batteries only costs a dollar.
Fantastic product.

Rating
60%/
60%
Poor battery life in collar, 10/26/14
by
We purchased this for our dog and the batteries are dead after only 2 weeks. I would turn it on and about 15 seconds later it turns off. When the batteries were full it worked wonders but now we are back to square one.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you experienced trouble with your Little Dog Static Remote Trainer! Please know that for best results, we recommend to turn the unit off when not in use. If the system is left on continuously the maximum battery life will be up to 2 weeks. For more battery information, please view page 11 of your manual (available at the link below), or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/training-behavior/remote-trainers/little-dog-remote-trainer

Rating
40%/
40%
Battery life stinks, 10/1/14
by
I only use this collar when I take my mini Dachshund outside. I will put the collar on her, turn it on, go outside for a little while. When I come inside I remove the collar and turn it off. The batteries only last an average of 3 days!

Rating
100%/
100%
Total change in my miniature Daschund, 9/24/14
by
We were really struggling with our little doxie. He is now 7 months old. We bought this device about three weeks ago and wow what a difference. When we call him outside he comes immediately. He has stopped the biting and uncontrolled behavior. Now we can just enjoy this loveable little guy without constantly reprimanding him for something. Great product.

Previously we had tried classes and everything we could think of. He was just a defiant little strong willed guy. He is absolutely beautiful in color. I wish I could post a picture. He is a rare shaded cream. We love him to death.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your story with the Little Dog Static Remote Trainer! As pet owners ourselves, we are always happy to hear how we have helped create a positive experience for you and your pet. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you and your Doxie pup!

Rating
40%/
40%
batteries do not last, 3/5/14
by
It started out great, then went downhill from there. I have had this device for about a month and have had to replace the batteries in the collar four times. In another two months I will have spent in replacement batteries what the entire unit costs.

Rating
80%/
80%
Nice Product For Most part, 2/22/14
by
I have a Jack Russell & Bull mix. I think this is great unit but if I made unit i would of put more time into the handheld unit. This clip is kinda like kids 2 way radio cheep but works. I looked around for case and other ways to keep on belt while doing yard work or playing, I found nothing yet. My dog was out of control jumping on anything that moved, running after any animal and trying to bite. After only 4 days with unit my dog is role model. Family found out about us getting dog and all want to come see. Well as they all say how do you get dog to listen? Reply PetSafe. I have been looking at other units to see probes. I think they could be little shorter for dogs with no hair. Or pet safe to just put in package for you to test different sizes. Other brands do come with different sizes. I would say over all you wont be mad if you buy this unit.

Rating
20%/
20%
Unit battery intesive and effectiveness poor, 12/24/13
by
Very battery intensive. Going through $7.00 packages of batteries every couple of days. System function erratic because batteries in either control unit or collar are low. Even at what the control unit says is a high static level for collar, is not effective on dog. I do not recommend this product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you have experienced trouble with the Little Dog Static Remote Trainer. We can understand how replacing batteries every few days must be frustrating. Please know that the standard battery life on this system is about 1-3 months depending on use. If your CR-2032 batteries are rapidly draining in the device, there may be some troubleshooting steps available to you. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for troubleshooting or replacement assistance.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product! , 10/11/13
by
I have a very stubborn, determined and difficult Jack Russell. I was about to give up on him but decided to try the training coller. I'm amazed with the instant results and how well mannered my little dog can be. After only a few days, with minimal shock, he began to respond to the sound only and Iis quickly learning voice response.
I'm very pleased and my Jack Russell is my buddy again.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great Training Aid, 9/22/13
by
We got this collar as a training aid for our dog and it has worked very well. I tried the collar on my arm first, as I wanted to see what the shock felt like, it just feels like static, nothing more. My dog listens so well with the collar and all he needs to hear is the tone before he stops barking or chasing something.

Rating
20%/
20%
disappointed, 8/24/13
by
ON the second day one of the post came of the static box and I was looking for a replacement post.. anyway to get this fixed? A lot of money for only 2 days use

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your Little Dog Static Remote Trainer. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Waste of money, 7/22/13
by
We bought this product and not 2 days later the shocker/ noise maker falls off.



PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

×