Close
#

Indoor Ultrasonic Bark Control

Reviews

50% 100% 22
Overall
%
(22)
#
Ratings Breakdown
22 reviews
5 star
1
4 star
7
3 star
3
2 star
2
1 star
9

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Indoor Ultrasonic Bark Control
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
80%/
80%
Works like a charm, 7/8/14
by
I set it close to the front door as our dogs really get to barking when the doorbell rings and then continue barking at guests. Within a day, that behavior ceased. Worth the money.

Rating
60%/
60%
Works ok. Needs a power switch., 5/18/14
by
I think I would like this product better if it had a power switch. It is a pain to unlatch the back door (which is tough to pull off) and take the 9 volt battery out every time we are finished using it during the day. The directions even clearly say to take the battery out when not in use so that if your dog barks while playing, he is not being punished. A power switch would be so much easier.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are always looking for ways to improve our products, and we appreciate your time and feedback on the Indoor Ultrasonic Bark Control. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. If you'd like to speak with a representative about your bark control device, please call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. If you'd like to give us more feedback on our products, please visit the link below to be a PetSafe Idea Partner!

LINK: http://labs.petsafe.net/

Rating
20%/
20%
Disappointed, 5/18/14
by
I am disappointed in this unit. It didn't seem to faze my dog and from him barking so much the battery lasted only about a week. Replacing the batteries is a real hassle because it is difficult to pry the connectors off the battery . Waste of money . There should be an off switch to conserve battery .


Rating
80%/
80%
Works except..., 5/3/14
by
So I have a 10 yr old springer spaniel who barks when we are not home...we recently got complaints from neighbors and decided to try this solution. We bought this and after a week he has stopped barking completely. Now the only complaint I have about this is that other things set it off...like me sneezing and my dog goes running or if my husband is watching a sporting event and yelling at the tv it will set it off. I also agree there should be an on off button rather than having to take the battery out so it doesn't go off.

Rating
80%/
80%
I think it works. Interrupts my dog's constant barking, 4/30/14
by
My dog is a pain. He will bark to all neighbor dogs. He will bark at all commercials and anything not human on the TV. It was becoming problematic. Found this. Now when he barks, he gets this noise blast and cowers and grumbles. So much more pleasant than his bark. I believe it to work. Only problem is that it may pick up on people's loud yells. It this cures him of his barking, Ill be one happy dog owner.

Rating
20%/
20%
Does Not Work!!, 4/23/14
by
This unit had no affect on my 2 Toy Poodles. The first day, they seemed to hear it but after that it didn't have any affect on them. This unit is a waste of money.

Rating
80%/
80%
Gets Dogs attention immediately, 4/21/14
by
Works great at getting dogs attention. I have three dogs two of which bark loudly out the window at anyone passing by or at squirrls or rabbits. After only one day they have reduced their barking. But it does work almost too good. If I talk to loud or TV is goes up it may go off, cause the dogs to look around. My Jack Russell seems to be overly sensitive to it, and has become highly anxious after it has gone off cause her to pace around the house panting for over an hour.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear you have had success with the Indoor Ultrasonic Bark Control system. Please know that it is possible that the device may give unintentional activation when too close to televisions, radios, etc. We are sorry to hear that your Jack Russell seems to be anxious around the device, and we do understand your concern. Like any bark control product, every dog can respond to the system differently. We do recommend to be near your pets during initial use to help calm and train them to understand the purpose of the device. If you have any questions or would like to discuss this product with one of our Customer Care Representatives, please call 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Not nearly strong enough signal, 4/9/14
by
We purchased this product without first check the reviews. I wished we would have taken the time to do this first. The unit worked great on our two small dogs for about three days. After that it was back to the same barking as if the unit was not working at all but it was. I can't imagine this working on any dog for any length of time. The signal or frequency is just not strong enough and they get immune to it in just a short amount of time.

Rating
20%/
20%
I bought this and it is not going off without manually pushing button. , 4/7/14
by
The dog barking is not enough to make it work. I have basically set it right on top of her and it doesn't work. I push the button and the puppy doesn't really respond but my older dog who doesn't have barking issues reacts. Nothing too bad but you can tell he hears it. The puppy definitely does not have hearing issues either.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Indoor Ultrasonic Bark Control doesn't seem to be the right fit for your puppy! Please know that we do offer other bark control products that may be a better fit. We would suggest to use a spray, or static bark device that would respond to the pet that is wearing the device instead of possibly affecting both dogs. To learn more about these products, please use the link available below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/training-behavior/bark-control

Rating
20%/
20%
Waste of Money, 4/6/14
by
This unit was a waste of money. I've gone through three batteries thinking that maybe the batteries were old or weak but no improvement. I have three small dogs and it didn't phase any of them.

Rating
40%/
40%
On/Off Switch and Battery Compartment, 4/5/14
by
Such a simple thing yet not incorporated in the product design. Leaving it in a "ready" position = battery discharge. Having long fingernails and having to keep removing the battery to dis-arm the unit it truly a pain. There is no reason an on/off switch could not be implemented.
The battery compartment. The way the wire opening is situated in the compartment (to the side) puts the wire in a crimped position when connected to the battery and the cover in place, putting undo stress on the wire. I suggest maybe having the battery lay in the unit on it's side narrow inside of as it is, on the flat side. This would eliminate the crimped wire.
I haven't tried the unit itself, but the mechanics of this unit could be better designed.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are always looking for ways to improve our products, and we do appreciate your feedback! Your suggestion has been forwarded to the appropriate team for review. Please know that this device has a battery life of about 2 months, depending on how often it is used. To conserve battery life, we recommend to remove the battery when not in use. We also have other bark control solutions available that may be more suitable to your preferences. To learn more about them, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677, or view the link below.
LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/training-behavior/bark-control

Rating
60%/
60%
Worked for about a week, 2/25/14
by
Unit worked for maybe a week before it stopped working correctly. Very weak ultrasonic sound that has become ineffective at this point (I tested it when new). Hopefully Petsmart will take it back and give me back the 50 plus bucks I spent on this. Ugh, so much for sleep again.....

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your feedback on this product! As pet owners ourselves, we can understand how frustrating it can be to lose sleep over nuisance barking! Please Know that this Bark Control device does include a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to discuss troubleshooting and replacement options with you. To discuss a solution, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
Works on my howling CAT!, 2/9/14
by
Last night I finally told myself I would put my cat up for adoption. I just could not take it any more. Four years of trying to control/fix/help her behavior to no avail. She's not sick, hungry, doesn't want in or out, just wants to howl as loudly as possible the moment I fall asleep (and for ten hours thereafter.) She simply wants me to spend every moment pleasing her.

Enter the Ultrasonic Bark Control.

My ex-roommate had given it to me, brand new, because he didn't need it and I was moving into a place with dogs next door. I never needed it for the dogs, so it just sat in my box of things. Well, this morning that changed. As a last attempt, I thought I would try it.

As soon as she started to wail, I hit the button, and she didn't know what hit her. She was mortified. After about 15 minutes, she started to approach me and wail some more. I hit the button and OFF she went! She hasn't made a peep since. This is after two nights of non-stop meowing and fussing. (And zero sleep for me.)

I really hope this continues to work as I don't want to give her up. Really, compared to everything else I've tried, this is looking very promising.

Rating
20%/
20%
Doesn't work!, 2/3/14
by
Scared my Maltese the first time and after that it did nothing. I don't even know if it is emitting a sound or not. Now the red light comes on for just about any sound at all. I don't have the receipt so I just threw away my money!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the design of this product has failed to meet your expectations! There may be another Bark Control Device that would be a better fit for your Maltese. Please know that your unit does come with a 1 year limited warranty, and we do have replacement options available even if you are unable to locate your receipt. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so we may find a solution that best suits your needs.

Rating
40%/
40%
Could be a good product but...., 11/25/13
by
OK but it has no on/off switch. You must remove the battery each time, so I have to fumble to reconnect when the barking starts. Would be great if it had a turn off button.
Not good if you have more than one dog ( or loud kids) Penalizes the dog not barking.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation. Please know that they have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review and feedback. If you would like to discuss this issue further, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
Works one for dog, not the other, 10/7/13
by
I have two dogs; a ShihTzu and a Lhasa Apso, both 13 yrs old. The Lhasa Apso is blind and barks often, especially in the morning upon awakening very early. The unit does not emit an ultrasonic tone, i.e. it doesn't light up red, for the Lhasa but does for the 'good' dog. I have tried the spray and the pulsing collars already. And training. The shock collar would not be fair for a blind dog. Thanks anyway!

Rating
20%/
20%
What a waste of money~., 9/16/13
by
Used it for several months,,,, no affect what so ever on my Sheltie. Cost me a lot extra on batteries,

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Indoor Ultrasonic Bark Control unit is not a good fit for your pet. If your pet is not responding well to the ultrasonic correction, we would recommend considering one of our spray, static, or vibration bark control products to help attract your pet's attention and deter your pet's barking. If you would like to discuss any of these options with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
works pretty good, 9/15/13
by
I have used on my 25lb dog and it works instantly. works great on my neighbors dogs qnd my daughters german shepherd, but does not work on my 5lb chihuaha or my 7lb min pin. They are not bothered at all by it and unfortunately they are the ones I need help with the most.

Rating
80%/
80%
It works!, 8/27/13
by
Our older dog completely "gets" it and immediately associated the noise with the barking and immediately stopped barking at the things he used to bark at. His little brother (a puppy) still barks occasionally but I think that might be because he is a puppy and impulse control is harder for him at this age. It has sounded off a few times when they do something that is not a bark (e.g., drop a hard object such as a cow hoof from the couch onto our wood floors). Overall we are pretty pleased with it and our house is much quieter these days.

Rating
20%/
20%
Didn't work for my little dog!!, 8/25/13
by
I bought this indoor bark control because I have a little chihuahua/terrier mix and all she does is bark and bark and bark!! Nothing has to even be outside and she barks so I thought I would give this product a try. I should of left it in the store because all she does is bark then look at it and starts barking all over again. This device is worthless and doesn't do anything to keep my yappy dog from barking. I have been using this thing for over 3 months and nothing, nothing at all. If this device hasn't done anything by now then I don't think it will ever do anything in the long run. I am very disappointed in this indoor bark control device. Should of saved my money like I was going to.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Indoor Ultrasonic Bark Control unit is not a good fit for your pet. If your pet is not responding well to the ultrasonic sound, we would recommend considering one of our Spray, Static, or Vibration bark control products. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Very pleased!, 7/30/13
by
My husband & I have 2 Lhasa Poos who constantly barked at everything, if a car goes down the street, a blade of grass or leaf blows in the wind. We were planning our first camping trip with them and I knew we would get thrown out of the campground with 2 barking dogs and had to do something. I stumbled upon this on ebay and even though the reviews were not all that great, I decided to give it a try. It was amazing!! No barking all weekend! I carried the bark controller with us on the first day and a half of our trip while walking the pups, they have never been on leashes their entire 4 years of life and walked along like they had been on a leash since puppies and again...no barking. There were other dogs in the campground and ours are not very social and don't really care for any other pets but again...no barking. I did not carry the unit the rest of the weekend. We are now home, the unit is in our living room on a shelf and there is silence in our home instead of the constant barking and carrying on. I would recommend this controller to anyone who is looking for some peace and quiet.

Rating
20%/
20%
Doesn't work!, 7/26/13
by
We bought this product because we have a Maltese that barks at anything and everything. We used it as soon as it arrived. The first time the dog barked, he stopped because I guess he heard the sound. After that it didn't work at all, he barks just as much as he did before we got it. I am in the process of returning it now. Don't waist your time or money.....this product is useless!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the Indoor Ultrasonic Bark Control was not a good fit for your pet. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 and we would be happy to help you find a product that will suit your needs. We look forward to hearing from you.

×