Close
#

In-Ground Fence™

Reviews

70% 100% 10
Overall
%
(10)
#
Ratings Breakdown
10 reviews
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
2

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: In-Ground Fence™
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
Great Fence!!!!, 11/23/14
by
This fence is perfect for my 2 dogs. Great fence no problems after 2 years. knock on wood..... I'm glad that I can buy a petsafe fence and not half to buy and expensive fence perfect for my 1/2 acre yard!!!!

Rating
60%/
60%
Disappointed at the beep and correction mode, 8/31/14
by
We have it set up, but we have not used it on the pup yet (and I WISH we could, after she took me for a run last week). We have decided not to use it because we are disappointed in the beep then correction mode. When the collar gets to the warning zone, then there is just one single beep... if you even step 1" once you hear that beep, the correction kicks in and you get corrected for the next 4' (2' on either side of the wire - lowest setting). We really have tried to figure out if there is a way to make the beep occur earlier and ultimately we would like more than one single beep before getting corrected. Apparently from what we can see, there is not a setting for this. I have MANY friends and family who swear by their fences (some in-ground and some wireless), but they ALL say their systems beep more and start at a longer distance when in the warning zone. I love the idea of the fence and the majority of reviews... BUT, because our yellow lab pup is only 2 months (even though she is over the weight for the system), we are not ready to use it on her until she is a bit older, because we don't care for how the beep then correction mode works. Perhaps we will try tone-only for a while and get her used to that.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the tone of the In-Ground Fence receiver does not meet your expectations! Please know that this system is designed so that there is a 20% Warning Zone and an 80% Correction Zone. This means that, for instance, if you set your Boundary Control Dial to give 10 ft of signal from the wire, then the first 2 feet will be the Warning Zone, and the last 8 feet will be the Correction Zone. If the warning seems to be too short, it may be best to set your Boundary Control Dial to a higher setting.For more information on the layout of your wired containment system, please view the link below. If you need assistance in setting your boundary, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. We would be happy to assist you!

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/fencing/in-ground-fences

Rating
100%/
100%
Freedom for everyone! , 3/15/14
by
We have two beagles. We adopted one at 8 weeks. That was an easy training session! We adopted Lucy from the Animal Rescue and she was already a year old. What were we going to do? We didn't have a clue about training this dog that seemed like she came from the Circus! In two days she was free to run the 3+ acres we fenced! It is so amazing we installed a fence over 6 acres at our vacation home. We didn't even do any training there - both dogs understood the fence immediately when we walked then toward the line and they heard the tone. Our lives would be totally different without the fence and both our dogs lives would be totally different without the fence. Thank you!

Rating
40%/
40%
Keeps shocking even out in the house, 2/18/14
by
I bought this fence eight months ago. It was fine until about two months ago when it stopped working, even with new batteries. Than about two weeks ago it started working again. Only this time it keeps randomly shocking, even inside the house. It will continue to shock until the batteries are completely removed. This continued even after we tried replacing the batteries twice.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear about your trouble with the Petsafe In-Ground Fence™. Please check our troubleshooting tips on our website for possible solutions to your issue. For instance, try to make sure the boundary wire is not running parallel to and within 10 feet of electrical wires, neighboring containment systems, telephones wires, television or antenna cables, or satellite dishes. Also, you may want to try and remove your battery for several minutes and lift the tab underneath the battery before putting installing a new one. If you are still experiencing trouble, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so we can provide further troubleshooting.

Link : http://www.petsafe.net/support/fencing/in-ground-fences/in-ground-fence#troubleshooting

Rating
100%/
100%
My beagle loves her freedom!, 2/9/14
by
I purchased this fence so I could eliminate the chain tying my beagle out side. After installing the fence we followed the directions on training her were the boundary was. She did receive on shock and has never crossed the boundary since! She loves being able to run the entire yard and has been so much easier it house-train. Thank you petsmart for a great product!

Rating
100%/
100%
Works as described, 11/19/13
by
We purchased it for our shepard mix Cooper. He ran whenever he had the chance. Our neighbor had the system and advised a trial. Within 2 weeks, Cooper was never leaving the boundaries. Its been almost a year and we can leave him alone in the yard for the afternoon and he never leaves. The first collar battery died in 2 months, we replaced it and its been over 6 months and its still working fine. I highly recommend this product as it works as described. I only wish it had a training collar to add.

Rating
100%/
100%
golden retriever, 11/12/13
by
We have had the product for a year or so and it has worked flawlessly. Our escape artist very large very intelligent golden retriever has not left our large fenced yard. We literally
spent thousands on fences, patches any way to keep him from going under, over, thru you name it he did it. Bought this product and in a couple of days he has not been out since. Great product.

Rating
60%/
60%
Wire is inadequate, but works good otherwise., 10/16/13
by
I installed this system with supplied wire plus addition rolls for a total of 1500 ft loop. But I could not get the transmitter to work with it. I ran all kinds of tests on loop and it was intact and continuous. I tested it with a digital continuity tester. I pulled the entire loop back up and reinstalled 16 gauge wire, plugged it back in and it has worked fine since.
Save yourself the frustration and buy decent wire for your loop and pitch the flimsy little wire that comes with it.

Rating
20%/
20%
Transmitter doesn't hold up, 8/16/13
by
We started using the large dog in ground kit 3 years ago and so far I have had to replace the transmitter 5 times! It just keeps beeping even on the short loop test. I try my fathers on it and it works fine! I'm tired of having to purchase the whole kit for 210.00 each time because I can't find where just the transmitter alone is sold. I have lost 2 goats and a cat because the transmitter stops working and the dogs know how to test to see if its working by the vibration. I think the transmitter should last longer then a few mth.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Small dog but not strong enough, 8/14/13
by
This system did not stop my dog. She's a English setter and pointer mix, but she's pretty small. She's very smart, but hyper. We assumed since she's still a puppy and a quick learner she would catch on. Training on the leash went great and she wouldn't dare cross the wire once she figured out the system. Even if I crossed it she wouldn't follow. But the second I felt comfortable enough to let her off the leash she took off right past the wire and ran out then back in quite a few times before I caught her. The system is good, but if your dog is even the slightest hard headed or hyper like mine, it won't work. I bought this exact system at Lowes, but it does not have anywhere to adjust the level of static correction. I'm going to have to spend more money to get a stronger collar now.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the In-Ground Fence™ was not a suitable fit for your pet. We would be happy to assist you in determining a product that will suit your pet's needs. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. We look forward to hearing from you.

×