Close
#

Healthy Pet Simply Feed™ 12-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder

See Product Details

27 Customer Reviews

87 100 27
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
27 reviews
1 star
0
2 star
2
3 star
0
4 star
12
5 star
13

Add your Healthy Pet Simply Feed™ 12-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
80/
80%
by
This is the only feeder my cat can't stick his arm inside and empty the feeder. I wish you could program it for certain days as well . I'd love to be able to just program it for weekends only like my old feeder. It works great for my cats.

PetSafe Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, VNovak. We are so happy to hear you enjoy your pet feeder and it is working so well for your cat. We value the feedback you have provided and will pass it along to our design team for further review. If you need any assistance with PetSafe products please feel free to reach out to us at 1-866-738-4379. We are always happy to help!



Rating
40/
40%
by
We purchased the Healthy Pet Simply Feed PFD00-14574 pet feeder 7 months ago to feed our 70 lbs Lab. This feeder is a great concept and was relatively easy to set up. The first couple of months we had trouble with the major name brand large breed food bottlenecking in the hopper funnel. We went through the process of agitating the food with our hands and then going through the conveyor preparing steps to get the feeder to function properly. We then decided to go through the process of changing the brand of food thinking this would solve the problem. It didn't! I don't think this feeder works well with large breed dog foods. It would be great if PetSafe would make a feeder that works with larger kernels of feed.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're so sorry that our Simply Feed hasn't been working with the kibble for your Lab. It is worth noting that the feeder does have an automatic agitator that should help prevent such scenarios. From your description, it may help to remove the lid and unlock your button pad. Then, press the ENTER and LEFT buttons at the same time to activate the conveyor. Please check to see if the agitator is moving. If additional troubleshooting is needed, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
This automatic cat feeder has worked wonderfully for the last one year, totally eliminating my cat's food anxiety and vomiting habit. When what I hope is an uncommon error message kept reappearing, the company promptly sent me a replacement after measures to fix the error failed. Thanks, Brandy!

Rating
80/
80%
Purrfect!6/7/17
by
A bit of a learning curve to set up but customer care is AWESOME with helping.
Works flawlessly.
I have three cats who eat 1/4 cup each per meal. (I give them canned food for dinner but when I'm away, that's not an easy option.) One or 2 days of only kibble is OK.
This item comes with a large bowl. It would work for 1 or 2 cats but I have 3. My solution (stolen from an Amazon review) was to get a cafeteria tray, cut out a notch in the tray for the bottom-front of the feeder to fit flush and let the food dump out onto the tray. Plenty of room for everyone to eat.
Purrfect!

Rating
100/
100%
by
The programming is not intuitive, but the function of the feeder is wonderful. No more nagging cat! And the customer service from PetSafe is outstanding! One wish is for a warning of some sort when feeder is getting low on food.

Rating
100/
100%
by
We bought this for our cat after wasting money on a cheaper version by [Other Brand] that our cat was able to rob food from until there was hardly any left at mealtime. This PetSafe feeder is dependable, has many setting options for meal size and times, and our cat does not even attempt to steal food from it. Some reviews said it was difficult to program, but I didn't have any trouble by going through the directions step by step. It has only been a week, so I am still waiting for my cat to learn that waking us up early has no impact on when he gets fed. I highly recommend this feeder. I used a 20% off at [Retailer] and it's worth every penny! Even my skeptical husband is impressed!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I have two cats, and the turtle feed lets them get their food over a 15min. period with no fighting. They know they don't have to eat fast to get "their" share. It was easy to program, even for this 68 yr. old. I do not understand the complaints about it being complicated. My smart cat, Bob, also gave up trying to get food out of it, like he could with our old feeder. Just so happy!!!!!

Rating
100/
100%
by
We've tried a number of automatic pet feeders over the years, and finally gave up a couple of years ago. Our cat is very food motivated and prone to over-eating. Despite his large double paws, he has been able to steal food from other feeders in the past, and he has also turned some off in an effort to break in to the reservoir. This new feeder works great! It wasn't too difficult to program as long as you use the instructions that are provided.

I wish the bowl was a little quieter - the motor itself doesn't bother me, but I am waking up every day at 4:00am when his breakfast is served (one of the reasons we got this was so he didn't wake us up to feed him). So if you can set it up somewhere away from the bedroom, that's a good idea. I see a lot of people's reviews on Amazon show that they've created their own bowl system to catch the food, so maybe I can do the same with some sort of "silencer". I also wish we could buy at least one extra bowl. It's great that it's dishwasher safe, but we have busy schedules and can't really get the timing right so that it's washed and put back in time for his next meal.

Otherwise, we are very happy with it so far - and so is our kitty!!!!

Rating
100/
100%
by
We had a situation where our geriatric father was over feeding his dog until its weight was getting dangerously high. With this auto feeder the problem has been reduced (we still need to keep dog treats to a minimum and feeding off his plate will always be a concern). The dogs weight has stabilized. The only problem we have had was forgetting to reset the time when we went through the change to Standard Time. The feeder had already fed the dog but Dad hadn't seen it and thought the feeder had failed. He tried to open it and when he couldn't figure it out took a screwdriver to the lid and damaged it pretty badly. The problem? Finding replacement parts for the feeder. Not just the lid, but it might help others if the bowl and bowl holder were available too. I have used super glue and tape, but it looks pretty bad. Over all we are SUPER happy with the feeder. Well built, well thought out. Great product.


PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share you experience with the Healthy Pet Simply Feed™, Eric! We are so glad to hear that it has helped stabilize your Father's dog's weight! While we do not have lids available separately, we do have the bowl and bowl holder available to order through our Customer Care Center. The part number is PAC00-15477 and it can be ordered by calling us at 1-800-732-2677. Again, we appreciate all feedback, and we are here if you have any questions!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I had to upgrade to this feeder because my older cat figured out how to get the food out of my old feeder. This feeder is amazing! It's extremely convenient and easy to use. I purchased the plug adapter for ease so I don't have to worry about the batteries. The only concern I have is that I just adopted a second cat and I know they won't share the same bowl at the same time so my options are either to buy a second machine (which is expensive to have 2) or to try to rig something up for them to both eat from the same feeder. Not really sure what I'm going to do yet. I have to feed the kitten separate food right now, so it's a manual process with him, but I'm hoping to sort it out by the time they have the same food. All in all I love this machine!

Rating
100/
100%
by
Really satisfied with the operation and options of this feeder. Very convenient when away or at home. The only gripe I have is it should already come with the power adapter.

Rating
80/
80%
by
I've used my Petsafe 12-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder for just short of a year now. The good: once it is programmed properly, it functions like clockwork. I have an outdoor cat, and it is a terrific convenience to me (and to her) to know that when I am out of town for a week or so, the cat will be fed twice a day (more often, if I so chose). The battery indicator still shows full after 11 months, and a hopper full of food lasts for about 4 weeks. I love knowing the cat will be fed, whether or not I'm around to do it.

Negatives: the programming is not intuitive. I took me multiple tries to get it right, though it's possible that I could have shortened the process if I had paid METICULOUS attention to the instructions. Only one other problem: My pet feeder is outside. If the outdoor temperature gets down around 30 F, the feeder motor bogs down and the food is not dispensed. I'm not sure if this is because the motor/belt drive gets too sticky at cold temperatures, or because the D cell batteries don't have enough oomph at low temps. I've ordered a plug in power source, and will try to remember to update this review if it resolves the problem.

Lastly, if you live in the country, which I do, and place the feeder outside, which I also do, consider placing a weight on top of the feeder. The first vacation I went on I came home to find the whole feeder missing. It had been dragged about 50 yards away by some unknown animal. The outside was very scratched up, but whatever the animal was, it wasn't able to pry the lid off the hopper. Dusted off, and with a cinder block on top of it, the feeder has functioned perfectly ever since (except the cold mornings).

So...overall: sturdy, reliable, expensive (but worth it), with resultant happy human and cat.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience with the 12 Meal Feeder, Dan! We are glad to hear that it has generally worked well for you and your cat, but we are sorry to hear that the programming was not intuitive. To program smoothly, the instructions must be followed exactly as listed in the manual.

Please know that this is not designed for outdoor use, it is meant to be an indoor feeder only as leaving it outdoors can cause troubles such as you have mentioned. Your feedback has been passed along to the design and development teams for review. If you have any questions or concerns we can be contacted at 1-866-738-4379. Thanks again for sharing your story!

Rating
80/
80%
by
After extensive research I got this. Have only used it 2 or 3 times, when out of town, but may just start letting it dispense for the cats full time. Impossible at this time to get programming done without the manual, but I just keep it close. Always seemed to be in hurry when programming to leave town which is when I use it, but I took some time today to slowly read and program. May get to be able to do it without manual someday. I just need to have a bit more time when programming. It seems to dispense exact amount set. For the price I think it should have come with the adapter for plug in use, and now I will have to buy it and pay shipping. It saves me having to get someone to come and feed which I always hated asking. The opaque lid doesn't bother me as some others stated. I put it between taller heavier items and put something a bit heavy on top and so far no opossums have gotten into it. My cats are not a problem getting into it as they're not heavy eaters. Tho I haven't had it long enough to comment on long term durability , I today would definitely recommend this feeder.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with the Healthy Pet Simply Feed, Beverly. We are sorry to hear that programming is difficult for you! We tried to make the unit as user-friendly as possible while still offering many options for the programming.

The battery usage option provides greater portability, which is a feature many of our customers want from a feeder, and the battery life is about 1 year. Please know that your experience has been passed along to the design teams!

Please ensure that the feeder is indoors and out of reach of wild animals as this feeder has only been tested with domestic, indoor pets.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. We love hearing from our customers!

Rating
80/
80%
Pretty Good9/13/16
by
Very happy with the feeder.

Pros:
Takes some of the anxiety of not being fed from two food loving cats.
With a few minutes of programming, I can add more portions if I need to leave the house for more than a regular outing, as they also get canned food twice a day.
Can dish a little at a time.
Still on original battery well after a year!

Cons:
Hoping that PetSafe will come out with a bowl that splits the meal into two separate sections for two cats, since they need a divider. The large cat will not allow small cat to get any kibble, and we have to supervise their feedings, mitigating the need for an autofeeder. We physically take the dropped food and place half on the floor on each side of the dish so small cat gets food in hopes he'll stay off the counter scrounging for scraps.

Also wish there were an easier way to see if it's almost out of food.

Programming is not very intuitive, and takes a many tries to get the hang of.

Clock loses a bit of time, and is now about 10 minutes behind after a little over a year.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us, Heather! If you feel the stainless steel bowl which comes with the the Healthy Pet Simply Feed™ 12-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder isn't meeting your needs, you may find it helpful to know the feeder can be used with different bowls. As long as the food chute of the feeder can deliver the food into the bowl, a different type which is longer can be used to help both cats eat at the same time. Also, if you find the clock for your feeder is not accurate, it may be time to replace the batteries. We also have the Healthy Pet Simply Feed™ Adaptor available for purchase if you feel this may be more convenient. We're happy to hear you and your cats have been enjoying the feeder and we thank you for providing your feedback on ways to improve! If you ever have any questions about your Healthy Pet Simply Feed™ 12-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder, please feel free to give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Well I like engineering. PetSafe seems to to do the best job and always provides a replacement part for their products. I bought this for portion control for my cat. So far so good. I also have the Platnium Drinkwell Fountain and PetSafe Scoop Free litter box. Everything has held up extremely well and I'm hoping for the same from the feeder. The design seemed better than most almost like a Keurig and everything clicks together nicely. I love the fact that the unit can be disassembled for a very sterile cleaning. Good job, PetSafe! Have had the Drinkwell too long with no feeder while others were on the market. It took you along time but I think you came in with the superior product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Kristopher! We are glad to hear that you have had such great experiences with our products and plan to continue making high-quality products that make everyday life more comfortable for you and your pets. If you have any questions or concerns please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80/
80%
by
I have had my Simply Feed for just about a year, coinciding with a new job that often kept me away from home at my cats' feeding times. I love it! I originally bought it because PetSafe was the only brand that allowed returns if it didn't work with my cats (all other brands said once you put food in it, you couldn't return it, which is too big a risk to take on a new feeding system for our finicky animal companions!).

My 3 complaints, in order from most important to least:
1 - the lid of the hopper is too opaque to easily see if the food is running low, and I've let the food run out a couple of times before setting a weekly reminder for myself on my phone. Letting the food run out messes up the portion size for several feedings after, so it's particularly frustrating.
2 - agree with other reviewers, it'd be nice to have an insert or attachment to split the meal into two dishes. (And then maybe 2 square dishes that can be put side by side under the chute.) I have one greedy cat who goes first, and the other cat just sits and waits her turn. The boy will also push aside the girl any time she goes back for more.
3 - offer 2 bowls, or sell extra bowls as an accessory, so one can be in the dishwasher and one can be in-use.

I also agree the programming could be easier - I have to keep the manual nearby for reference for *any* changes. (But - pro tip: animals don't care about daylight savings, so you don't have to change the settings twice a year, just leave it as is!)

Despite my complaints, the feeder is actually really good. It's been so helpful for my cats' routines and my peace of mind while working long hours. I recommend it.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your story! We are glad to hear that the Healthy Pet Simply Feed™ has worked well for you and your cats. Please know that this information has been passed along to the design team for research and review. We want to make daily life for you and your pets easier in any way that we can! If you have further questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80/
80%
by
Absolutely the best product of this type on the market. Which may say something about the market! Here's the deal: I ordered two of the PFD00-14574 Healthy Pet Simply Feed automatic feeders via Amazon. Totally delighted! The cats can't get into them and the feeders work well. Love that rugged conveyor assembly! Programming is, as everyone says, quirky but it works once one figures it out. I don't think my wife could do this though. Forget about daylight savings time, I don't see how you could connect this to the internet for this price. I WISH, WISH, WISH that either the hopper lid or the hopper itself was made of a transparent plastic so as to determine the hopper fill just by looking or passing by. Yes, it can be an experiential thing too. Anyway, thanks. Pricey but worth it, especially since my two Houdinis can't get into it!

Rating
100/
100%
by
This is the best money I've spent on a pet product. I just came back to buy the power cord, but we've had the feeder for 6 mos now and it's still on full power. Cat can't break in - very sturdy. Also easy to clean. The programming isn't that hard, and once I got it set up I have only had to interact with it to pause and unpause feelings. That being said, when I brought it to a boarding situation, they really struggled even though I left them notes and all I did was pause it for the car ride. With this feeder and veterinary advice, our shelter cat was able to diet from her adoption weight of 17 lbs down to 14 lbs and dropping. The minimum is 1/8 cup a feeding, which is perfect for our cat's needs. It has also greatly reduced her food anxiety - she knows where and when the feedings are coming. After she got used to it, there have been very few scarf-and-vomit episodes. My only suggestion would be to offer a compatible outlet other than the super huge bowl; I wish there were a shallower one for cats. We love this feeder!

Rating
80/
80%
by
Of the feeders I considered, overall, this is the best feeder for the money I've come across,

I have been using my feeder 5 weeks. I have to large but not fat 8 month old kittens (between 9 and 10 lbs). The biggest one is purly food driven and would be a serious glutton if given the opportunity. He has tried, unsuccessfully to break into the unit. I dont want any fat cats! Given their size and age, I give more than what the pet food bag says, they are not losing and they are visibly growing up. So, they are not starving!

Improvements that would be helpful:

1. Make the user interface more intuitive. You should be able to delete a meal with the push of a single button is one example,

2. Provide an attachment that enables the unit to dispense into 2 bowls. As I mentioned, the biggest one is greedy!!

Otherwise, great product!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Tee! We are glad to hear that this is working well for your Kittens. Please know that your feedback has been passed along to the design team for review. If you have any questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677!


Rating
80/
80%
by
I have a cat who will not stop eating if given the opportunity. He quickly goes into a red zone when presented with food and literally will not stop eating until all kibble is gone. I've used about 3 other auto feeders and he's broken into them within a days time and stuffed himself silly. He's a big boy, but small for his breed (main coon). Despite his attempts to knock it over, open the top and reach into the feeder, he has not been able to break into this feeder and finally gets his meals on a consistent basis, as my work schedule does not allow me to be home at at the same time consistently. I love this feeder and it is definitely worth every last penny for us.

I do with that the programming process was more intuitive. I always have to go to the manual to change the time for daylight savings. I also wish that the settings will time out all of the time and not only when specifically set. I went to change the time and ended up in the feeding time settings then left. The machine never went back to feed mode and didn't dispense food so my cat missed a meal. I think he's still traumatized, lol. Small and simple fix need. I still love the product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Teyanna! We are glad to hear that that this feeder has worked well for you and your Maine Coon, but we are sorry to hear that the programming has not fully met your needs and expectations. Please know that your feedback has been passed along to the design team! If you have any questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
40/
40%
by
Though I did by this brand of feeder from petco it is still the same feeder and we have had to have two feeders within the last three months because the F02 error continues to pop on the screen which makes the feeder just stop working. It has done this when we have had to leave on trips and hurry to get another feeder which thank god broke when we got back and not when we were gone. I feel it has been very unreliable and dissapointing since I was really hoping this would be a great product. We are having another went sent to our house again just because we did it while we are gone but I wouldn't recommend to friends or family.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Kylie! We are sorry to hear that the Healthy Pet Simply Feed™ has not met your needs and expectations. You may find it helpful to know that this error can occur when food is stuck down inside the gears and simply removing the conveyor and using some canned air or a small extension from a vacuum to clear out the gears can often correct the issue. We are always happy to receive feedback so that we can continue making improvements! If you have any further questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
80/
80%
by
This is a great auto feeder for our 18 lb dog. Its easier to program and I don't have to worry about an auger jamming because the food kibble isn't the right size. My only suggestion to the company would be to make the removable top clear or have some indicator to let you know the food is low. Will be happier with an adapter too.

Rating
80/
80%
Works great1/22/16
by
I have two of these and they are both working accurately. I have them set for my two cats - 1/8 cup 4 times a day. Set up is easy as long as you read the instructions word for word. The quantity has been accurate. I have been using trays (not the bowls given) so that the food spreads out and my aggressive cat cannot eat as fast. My cats might be able to sneak a single pellet or two of food by reaching up into it, but overall it has kept the food bay safe from them. I am using it on the slow mode, but can't see a difference in how it comes out. I have ready that the slow mode doesn't work as well in the smaller quantities. But that is why I have it set to 4 times a day. So not a huge deal. So far it has not gotten jammed and distributed food on time. Finally, a automatic feeder you can trust!

I would give it 5 stars if they came out with a power adapter. It has been working great with the batteries, but I fear that it would stop working while I am away.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Ash! We are so glad to hear that the feeder is working well for your cats. You may find it helpful to know that the batteries in these units can last for up to a year, and the power adapter is newly available for purchase by calling our Customer Care Center directly at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
Love them!12/3/15
by
Bought two for my dogs and they work great! Awesome!

Rating
80/
80%
Sleep saver!5/27/15
by
First let me say: you'll want the AC adaptor, to save $$ on replacing batteries, but the correct AC adaptor isn't listed in the replacement parts, and definitely not on the "Related Products" tab for this product! Maybe one of the AC adaptors for one of their other products is compatible but there's no indication of which one it would be.
I happened to have a compatible cord (pilfered from a clock-radio) so I've been using that.

Second, I wish there was a 2-pet conversion kit, to split the dose into 2 side-by-side bowls. I might rig something. But as it is, the food-motivated overweight cat eats his fill first, leaves some for the tiny girl who's still a bit scared of the machine, so she might be eating a bit less and he's probably getting too much.

Those two minor complaints aside, I chose this feeder because - unlike all the other ones listed on Amazon - the company offers a Satisfaction Guarantee. I even called them to clarify, because the other brands all said their products could be returned but *only if unused* so if you added food and it didn't work... too bad! The representative I spoke with here at PetSafe assured me that I could return it even if i'd started to use it.

So I took the plunge - and I'm so glad I did! Once they figured out that the food comes from the magic food dispenser, not me, they let me sleep alllll the way until the alarm clock rings! They don't pester me for over an hour before feeding time! It's a miracle! You will be SO GLAD you invested in this. It's not an auto feeder, it's a sleep saver!!

​PETSAFE RESPONSE:
Thank you for sharing your experience with the feeder! At the moment, the AC adapter for the feeder is still in development and is not yet available. Please check back with us at a later date, however, and it should be available for purchase.

Rating
100/
100%
by
i have only had this feeder for less than a week but i love it so far. it is very easy to set up and has a setting for dog or cat. can be programmed for up to 12 feedings and any amount you could think of from 1/8 of a cup up to several cups a day. has many settings in between zero and one cup even 5/8 a cup. it seems to feed on time and the correct amount so far. was very easy to program and even has a way to feed your pet right then. i really love this feeder and ive had several that never really lasted nor worked right for very long. i really like the stainless steel food bowl.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I love it. I have had this model about 2 weeks now and it works great. easy to set up and use. WE have it set up 8:30 am and 4:30 pm . It always feeds on time and the right amount. My dog know a few minutes before it goes off and start to hang around the feeder waiting. I love the easy to see through top so I can tell if I am low on food by glancing down. No need to open it up and check every day. It truly is a time savor and helps my dog stay on a set amount of food for their daily diet. If you are looking for a great feeder you have found it. I would and do recommend to all family and friend.s