Close
#

GentleSpray Anti-Bark Collar

Reviews

55% 100% 17
Overall
%
(17)
#
Ratings Breakdown
17 reviews
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
4
1 star
6

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: GentleSpray Anti-Bark Collar
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
20%/
20%
Didn't last long, 9/7/14
by
The collar stopped the barking for a bit with our dog, but stopped working in less than a year. We replaced the battery and made sure it was full, but still nothing. Very disappointing for the price we paid. It should have lasted longer.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you have experienced with your GentleSpray Anti-Bark Collar. Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and our product experts are happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great Product!, 9/6/14
by
This collar really works! We bought it for our 10-month-old German Shepherd. He was barking inside and outside continuously. It took only a couple sprays of this collar to completely stop his barking. It doesn't hurt him, just startles him. At most, now he "woofs" once or twice and then stops. Also, because he doesn't bark, he's much calmer and quiet. It's like he's a new dog! :)

Rating
100%/
100%
No more barking, 8/22/14
by
Solved our barking problem. After just a couple of days, our Golden knew that if she has the collar on she'd better not bark. Now, about once a week we show her the collar and she remembers.

Rating
100%/
100%
Worked for me, 8/3/14
by
I used this for 2 or 3 days, then stopped because my chiweenie looked so sad every time I put it on her. Now all I have to do if she starts barking is show her the collar and she stops immediately. I show it to her when I let her out in the morning and she is silent unless someone enters the yard. Works even when I don't use it because Bruiser knows what it is and just the sight of it makes her think twice before barking.

Rating
20%/
20%
Worked about 2 months, 7/17/14
by
Worked great for about 2 months, then stopped working. Replaced the not easy to find battery but it still did not work. The solution that I keep reading is, smack it against a hard surface so you hear a click sound. Mine has never stopped making the click sound but I emptied it and tried it anyway. Even after the hard surface encounter it still clicks but no spray. If it continued working, it would be a great product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your time and feedback on your experience with the GentleSpray Anti-Bark Collar. We are sorry to hear of the problems you've encountered, and we can understand how frustrating a non-working device can be. Please know that we do have product experts standing by to provide troubleshooting and replacement assistance. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677

Rating
40%/
40%
Less Than Ideal, 5/31/14
by
I work for at a horse hospital, and love different types of correction, deterrents, and reinforcement-both positive and negative. I know many things work on some animals, but on occasion you run into one you have to find a different way to correct.
That being said, I purchased this collar for my Pembroke Welsh Corgi this past week, after Ultrasonic Indoor Deterrent failed to control her barking. (Worked for a few weeks then she got used to it). This collar worked for one bark. It startled her, and she continued barking. Tried this for 5 days with her barking at random. The collar sprayed about 60% of the time. No consistency, no affect. The barking she does it not continuous, but I'm tired of hearing her bark at 3AM when I'd like to be sound asleep.
Returned this collar and attempting the static collar.
Again, I'm sure it works wonders on some animals, and this is why I am not knocking it to one star. This is also why I am trying something a little more aggressive with the hopes I can sleep through the evening.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product - used with success, 4/28/14
by
I had to write a positive review here because it worked great for me.
Has been through the rain and trampled through puddles. I was often afraid it would be ruined because of water but it keeps working.
Cured my dog of needless barking - love it. She knows now to limit her barking to when she has a need - and I get up and deal with her issue - so it has been successful for us.

I have given the collar to two other people. One had limited success because the dog was barking for years. They were filling it 3-4 times a day where as my dog only needed to have it refilled twice in all the weeks I used it. Their dog got used to it after the first day and would bark through the citronella. They have since gone to an E collar with better success. The other individual had the same success as I did. It may have to do with the temperament of the dog.

The only issue I had was the battery. Thought it had died and went to Walgreens and paid like 11.00 for it - crazy expensive. Turned out that If I opened the battery case and simply moved the battery - it would work again. I did later find these batteries on a website I use for other batteries - 24hourbatteries dot com. they are 2.00 each at that site and it is the same make battery that comes with the unit.

I could not be happier with the product and highly recommend it.
Again - remember that the temperament of the dog will affect the results.

Rating
80%/
80%
IT WORKS!, 4/24/14
by
I had issues with this collar. My parents bought it and used it on their dog. They lent it to me to use for my dog. It never worked. It would click when I tested it, but never sprayed when he barked. I was really disappointed. Based on the reviews, I decided it was probably just a poor product. I ended up contacting customer support and they mentioned sometimes the air valve can get clogged. He instructed me to empty it and tap it on a hard surface a few times. Then test it. If there's a click, fill it up and test it again. It should spray. If there was no click, tap it a few more times while emptying it and try again.

I'm so happy I don't have to buy a new one! It works people. Don't give up!

Rating
20%/
20%
Terrible, 4/19/14
by
We have had two of these collars. The first one broke after a few months - I think the membrane or whatever senses the bark broke. I ordered another one, and we used it for a while and then put it away because it wasn't working and the batteries cost so much to replace. I recently pulled it back out and tried to fill it up with the spray can, and apparently the valve or something is stuck open now because as I try to fill it up, it sprays out the other side continuously. These are super crappy, and I'm going to get a non-citronella collar as a replacement because between the batteries and the spray, it is ridiculous how much these cost for a few months of use. Terrible quality and super expensive.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that about the problems you've experienced with your GentleSpray Anti-Bark Collar! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. If you are interested in finding another bark control product that may better suit your needs, we do carry vibration, ultrasonic, and static bark control products as well. To discuss your options, please call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great Success!, 4/5/14
by
My dog was barking at everything! All my training helped somewhat, but not enough. I desperately needed something.This worked beautifully and immediately. I've had it for a year with no problems. Its time for a new battery, that's all! She will still bark in an emergency as I suspected. You can't take their natural instincts away, but for sure it curbs the nuisance barking. My neighbors and I are so much happier. Thank you! By the way she weighs 100+ pounds and it can stand up to her size and activity.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear of the great success you've had with your pet and this GentleSpray Anti-bark Collar! If there is anything we can do to make your PetSafe experience even more successful, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 and let us know.

Rating
20%/
20%
Doesn't work, 4/2/14
by
My boston terrier barks at strangers who come into my office so my mom offered to let me borrow this collar. I tested the collar by blowing into it and it would 'click' like it's supposed to, however it wouldn't spray when my dog barked.
I thought maybe it was the battery (the same battery that came with the collar)... so I bought a new one. Couldn't find the battery anywhere. The closest I could find was a 28L 6V. It still clicked when I tested it, but still no spray.
And apparently I'm not the only one it doesn't work for. Poorly made product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear about the issues that you are experiencing with the GentleSpray Anti-Bark Collar! Please know that this device uses a 6 volt battery, model number L1325, which is available from various battery manufacturers. Many cameras use this type of battery and it is often referred to as a camera battery by retailers. If you are unable to find replacement batteries at your local retailer, we do offer them on our website, available at the link below. If your device is not spraying, we offer troubleshooting tips and would be happy to discuss them with you! Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. We look forward to hearing from you!

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/6-volt-alkaline-battery

Rating
80%/
80%
grrrrrrreat, 3/29/14
by
this worked good for my dog.he was barking at everything and nothing .put this on him and he was responding almost immediately.its just enough to keep him from barking for no REAL reason but if something is really bothering him he will can still bark as a protector..he may get sprayed but it s not enough for him to care to much. WORKS GREAT

Rating
20%/
20%
Cheap, 3/27/14
by
It worked great but one week of use the buckle broke off. Collar was useless. Got a replacement at a local pet store. Got another anti bark collar for my other dog and within 3 days the same thing happened. So the product worked for about 6 months and then they both started leaking the citronella.
Making both useless. Cheap product with lousy engineering. Shame it is a great idea manufactured by the wrong company.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your time and feedback on your GentleSpray Anti-Bark Collar. We are sorry to hear that your buckle was damaged so quickly after purchase! Please know that this product does have a 1 year limited warranty, and that we do have replacement collar straps available for this bark control device. If you'd like to discuss troubleshooting or replacement options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.


Rating
40%/
40%
Very disappointed! Stopped working after two months:-(, 3/25/14
by
When I first received this product it worked great, but then the battery died and when I went to replace it it stopped spraying. I have tried refilling it and even buying another new battery, but now it just clicks. I am very disappointed that it stopped working so soon cause I really need it to work. I don't want to chance buying another one and just having the same thing happen again.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize that you are experiencing trouble with your Gentle Spray Bark Collar. Please know that we do have troubleshooting tips available for you and this product is covered by a 1 year limited warranty. To discuss troubleshooting and warranty options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Not working, 3/23/14
by
I have two of these collars and both have stopped working. I have changed the batteries but with no luck. They work really well with the dogs barking, one dog does not need it at all now but I still need one for my other dog :(

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your feedback on the GentleSpray Anti-Bark Collar. We are sorry to hear that you are having trouble with the device! Please know that there are troubleshooting tips for getting the unit to spray again. If you know that the unit is in the ON position, you may want to try and gently blow into the microphone. If the device makes a "click" sound, it is a good indication that the collar is activating, and it should work properly once the device is filled with spray. If you are unable to hear the "click," or still unable to get the unit to work, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for more troubleshooting or replacement assistance.

Rating
40%/
40%
Don't bother - dies after a few months, 2/17/14
by
I've bought at least five or six of these bark collars in the last few years (not necessarily all this brand), but after a few months, all of them stop working. It's not the batteries that have the short shelf life - it's the device itself. The airway gets "clogged" (my words) and won't spray. I hear the "clicking" noise and if I push a pen in the "fill up" valve, it does go off. But it won't go off for barking. There has to be a better device out there that doesn't break after a few monhts. It works beautifully to curtail my dog's barking...when the device actually does go off.

Rating
20%/
20%
Not impressed, not recommended, 2/1/14
by
This collar is terrible. If you drop something on the floor, it goes off. If the dog sneezes, it goes off. If another dog barks, it goes off. I thought the first one I had was not working properly so I took it back and exchanged it for another new one of the same kind. It still goes off at the least little sound. There is no way to adjust it to stop spraying at the least little sound. My dog was learning that she will get sprayed if she sneezes, which is not what I bought it for. I took it off her and will not use it again. If there was a zero star rating on this product, I would choose that, giving it a 1 star rating is too high for me. A terrible waste of money.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the GentleSpray Anti-Bark Collar failed to meet your expectations! We can understand how frustrating it must be to have a product that seems to be malfunctioning. If the collar is activating at unnecessary times, there may be other bark control devices more suitable for your needs. Please know that this device is covered under a limited warranty and we would be happy to discuss replacement options with you! To learn more about this offer, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

×