Close
#

Gentle Leader® Headcollar

See Product Details

50 Customer Reviews

91% 100% 50
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
50 reviews
1 star
4
2 star
1
3 star
1
4 star
2
5 star
42

Add your Gentle Leader® Headcollar review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
by
This is the best way to to train your dog to walk nicely every time. No it's NOT a muzzle. I used it to train a Brittany, which was a challenge! Now I have a small dog who pulls and barks. I'm confident the Gentle Leader will cure him of all the unwanted barking.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I had to buy the gentle leader while on vacation at the beach. I tried to walk my labradoodle every morning and it was impossible without it. He was walking me the whole time and it was embarrassing. I got thoroughly disgusted and went to the pet store in North Carolina and another customer highly recommended the gentle leader. I had read great reviews about it before but never bought one so I finally did. What a difference. This collar is wonderful and it truly is a gentle walk now. I absolutely couldn't go without it. It is also is much safer for the dogs neck instead of all that jerking and pulling you have to do to slow them down. It is very unhealthy for them and affects them when they get older. I had to call customer service for something and they were great and so helpful. I highly recommend this collar and no one is paying me to do this review. I'm honestly telling the truth. Do yourself a favor and try it! It saves tons of aggravation.



Rating
60%/
60%
by
This collar works amazingly but the metal rings that join it rusted through really quickly.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're very sorry to hear that the rings on your Gentle Leader rusted like that, Hilda! Please ensure that the Gentle Leader is stored in a dry area and is not wet for long periods of time, which could potentially cause rust over time. This is not an issue that typically arises with the metal on the headcollars, so we would very much like to assist you with this. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
We have a 73lb. 7-month old Black Lab/German Shepherd cross. She's a wonderful soul, but very high energy. I have been taking her for 6am walks religiously.

Every day she'd start out great, but within a few minutes she was totally distracted by anything and everything, pulling me in every direction despite my constant attempts to get her to walk beside me. I've tried everything - the treats, stopping, changing direction, harnesses, choke collars. Nothing was working.

That changed instantly yesterday when I took her for her first walk using the Gentle Leader. I cannot believe that anything touted as being this effective actually is! She didn't like the strap around her nose at first and rolled around on the ground in an attempt to get it off. But after a few minutes of patiently waiting for her to accept it, she got up and started walking beside me. Just like that. And she walked beside me, no pulling, for the entire walk. Like I was a professional trainer or something. It really is that effective.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have a 150 lb Great Dane who is almost 2. He is a handful with every other leash and I have a hard time walking him and keeping control. With this collar he is easily in control and we are both able to walk with no pulling and it is a happy experience. For both of us. Thank you!!!

Rating
20%/
20%
by
First of all, the actual design and the way it works is great. What knocks it down from a 5 star product to a 1 star product is that the cheap plastic lock which is crucial in setting the collar breaks on a consistent basis.

What i have to do is keep buying a new collar, taking the new plastic lock off, reinstall on my old one, then bring the new one back to the store for a refund.

This is a replicable problem in my own experience in that i have lost count how much ive done this. PLUS, look at the reviews. This same coplaint is recurring across the board, and this company is like, "uhhh thanks so much, but we're gonna keep crankin out this collar with the same lame plastic lock"/

Will making a good quality lock made of something better send this company to the poorhouse and get their accountants and shareholders pooping their pants ?

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and provide feedback. We always want to hear from our customers and we want to know if there is an issue with any of our products as our goal is to provide high quality tools to make life easier and more enjoyable for you and your pet. Please know that your feedback along with all other comments from our customers are passed along for review to the design and development teams. Without feedback we would not know what improvements are needed. Please know that these concerns will be addressed and researched. You may find it helpful to know that transferring buckles from one Gentle Leader to another could be problematic, and is not advisable as it is not meant to be removable and can most certainly compromise the stability of the clasp. If you have any further questions or comments, please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
20%/
20%
by
The collar has worked well with our two labs as they cannot easily pull while we walk. BUT I have been through five total collars. The plastic clip to adjust the size of the nose ALWAYS breaks within a week.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Keena! We are so sorry to hear that you are having trouble with the clips on your Gentle Leader Headcollars. Please know that this is highly unusual and we would love to help you find a way to keep this from happening again. It is possible that the Gentle Leader needs to be adjusted, or if the leash that is being used has a heavy metal clip it would be putting too much weight and pressure on the clip. We are here for you and the Gentle Leader carries a 1 year warranty. Please give us a call for assistance at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
20%/
20%
by
The collar snaps in to easy if it is crooked and then there is no way to unattach it. Used once and know have to try and shove it over my dogs head. Very unhappy. Prongs should not fit in at all if collar is not right.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We're sorry to hear you've had some trouble with the quick snap buckle for your Gentle Leader® Headcollar, Laurie. We definitely understand your frustration and appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. The quick snap buckles are tested to be strong in order to help ensure the safety of the pet wearing the headcollar. We'll try and get in touch with you so we can gather more information on your situation and offer a solution for you and your dog.

Rating
20%/
20%
Gentle leader4/17/16
by
Our dog broke it in less than a month

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Jason! We are sorry to hear that your dog was able to damage the Gentle Leader® Headcollar! Please know that it is important to only put the Gentle Leader on the dog at the beginning of the walk and remove it at the end of the walk. If the dog is allowed to lounge while wearing the Gentle Leader, the dog will have the opportunity to chew on it. This causes the nylon to fray, weaken, and then break. Please know that we are here to help! Please give us a call to find out about replacement options at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
100%/
100%
Unbelievable!3/12/16
by
I have a 9 year old Weimaraner and he is absolutely insane. We have never been able to walk him. Just the mere mention of going for a drive sends him into a frenzy where he does 360's in the air while running to the door. The last time I had him on the leash in my driveway he saw a squirrel. Unfortunately, I was looking the other way and down I went with him dragging me. He is 100 pounds of pure muscle, even at 9.

The vet recommended the Gentle Leader. I bought it but was lazy about looking at the video. Today my husband and I took it out and looked at it. It was a short video and easy to follow. We followed the instructions and gave him treats as we fitted him.

At first he tried to get it off (we figured he'd be the only dog that could do this). He tried pulling us out the door and down the driveway but he couldn't. Still he didn't like the collar. Within a few minutes we were walking down the street. We had treats and we gave him some while we walked. He still didn't really like it but he WALKED. We were thrilled and we rewarded him again when we got home.

About an hour later I thought I'd try again. He was happy to see the leash and he let me put it on him. Still, he wasn't crazy about it but he got the idea that he was going "out". He did great.

After supper I tried again. He only got annoyed once with the leash and actually was walking by my side and right at my hip. A big gentleman.

He was so happy to get outside and walk with me. He got the idea very quickly that this was a fun thing to do. The only other exercise he gets is with my husband at a park where he runs him a few times a week, which he loves. But now, I can walk him everyday and both of us will benefit from it. I don't have to worry about him injuring me by dragging me down the driveway and street.

This is brilliant. I'm sad he's nine and I've just figured this out but I am glad I finally did. This is an awesome product and everyone should have it. It benefits both pet and owner. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We're glad to hear the Gentle Leader is letting you and your strong guy have the experience of taking walks together, Carol! We appreciate you providing your feedback. We hope your success with the Gentle Leader means there are no more squirrel-related tumbles in the future!

Rating
40%/
40%
by
It works very well for our German Shepherd that is 110lbs but we are on the 4th one and the clip to adjust the size of the snout ALWAYS breaks within a week of using this product. It works without having to use that but not as well and it pulls really hard on his snout when trying to go on walks.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thanks for sharing your experience with your Gentle Leaders, Savannah! We're terribly sorry to hear about the multiple issues you've had with those nose clips. Please give us a call at the number 1-800-732-2677 and we'd be more than happy to help out!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
We have two St. Bernard puppies that are 19 months old - they are 185 and 145 pounds. They were constantly pulling with their choke chains and would pull my husband and I around the block, especially if other furry friends were out walking too. The Gentle leader was recommended to us by another big dog lover in the neighborhood, so we purchased two and decided to give it a try this week. The very first time out our male was a perfect joy to walk! After he got over the initial fussing about having the collar on he walked right by my side and needed only a gentle reminder and was right back by my side. Our female was a bit more resistant but she got accustomed to the gentle leader within one walk.

It will be a pleasure to walk with the dogs, not be be walked by the dogs!

Thank you Pet Safe for continuing to make quality products, we also have your professionally installed underground fence and the dogs have done exceptionally well with it! Even when there are deer running through the neighbors yard our dogs stay in their space!!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have an 85 lb puppy and she yanks me down the street during walks. To the point that I have injured my neck. I tried the gentle leader leash and instantly it was 100% better! By the second walk, she wasn't pulling at all. A cat even ran out in front of us and she didn't yank me to chase it. Normally, I would have been pulled or knocked down. This thing is a God send!!!

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I bought this collar when I got a new Labrador puppy to teach her to heal. It has worked great with her and with my older lab too. What I like best about the GL is that it only takes a little tug to correct unwanted behavior, I never feel like I need to jerk on the leash to get my dog's attention. My only complaint is there wasn't a padded version available when I bought both of my GL collars. My dogs tolerate it but it's uncomfortable for both of them, especially my younger dog. Her face is itchy for a while after walking even though it is fitted properly. For that reason, I would recommend this collar if it's needed but would avoid it otherwise.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Bob! We are glad to hear that the Gentle Leader® Headcollar has been a great training tool for you and your labs. We have redesigned the Headcollar with a padded nose-loop due to feedback from our customers. Please know that hand-washing the Gentle Leader in dish soap can soften the material, please let it hair dry before putting it back on your pup. If you are interested in purchasing the current version with the padded nose-loop please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
My 45 lb pit bull mix pulled like a freight train. I tried everything to correct it. I did all of the professional training tips. Nothing. I tried a regular collar and a choke collar. Nothing. I tried treats. Nothing. The minute I got the GL, the problem was solved. It's borderline miraculous.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
We use a gentle leader on my parents 70lb lab and it works wonders. It seems most of these reviews are for Large dogs, does it work well for small dogs, I have an 8lb lunatic dog that I might consider buying one for.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thanks for sharing your feedback, Hailey! Many customers with small breed dogs have found success using the Gentle Leader® Headcollar with small breed pups. If you have further questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
Our Weimaraner wouldn't go running every day if it wasn't for the GL. Thanks!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I used a gentle leader with my saint Bernard & it was wonderful. I had so much control people though he was highly trained. Wish more people would use them. I always tell people to get one when they have dogs that pull. Great product.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I have had 4 large dogs (Newfoundland, St. Bernards) at various times and the gentle leader is wonderful for walking them. I have in the past walked two at a time without trouble and we do a lot of walking. I have purchased at least 10 gentle leaders and, as another reviewer noted, for each one the plastic clip that adjusts the loop around the nose has broken within a month of use. I finally decided to use a tie wrap to keep the loop the right size. I really think that this clip should be redesigned. Otherwise, it is a wonderful product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback Kathy. We are glad to hear that you have had success with the Gentle Leader, but we are sorry to hear that the clips are giving you trouble. It is possible that we can provide some tricks and tips to keep this from happening again. Also, please know that this product is covered by a 1 year warranty. For troubleshooting and warranty information please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I quit walking my dogs last year b/c no matter what, I couldn't get them to stop pulling (I know, I know. That's probably my fault for improper training, but still I quit walking them)... A friend then told me about Gentle Leader and it REALLY did change everything! I can now walk my dogs TOGETHER and they don't pull or if they do pull, it's very minimal and easily corrected. It may sound dramatic but it's changed our lives with our dogs!

Today on a walk, the clip on one of them that holds the chin strap in place broke, which rendered it useless. I contacted PetSafe directly through their live chat, and within about 10 minutes, I had a new Gentle Leader being sent to me and a postage paid being sent to my email so I can send the broken one back to them at no charge. No questions asked. They didn't even care where I had bought it (Amazon) I have had my other Gentle Leader for a couple years with no problem, so I think this was a freak thing that it broke. I was VERY impressed with the customer service of PetSafe and I HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone who is sick of their dog taking THEM on a walk. Plus, if you have any issue with it, you can rest assured PetSafe will have excellent customer service to deal with your issue.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience! We are happy to hear that we were able to assist you. Our warranty offers replacement assistance with your products regardless of where it was purchased, and our Customer Care is always available for troubleshooting help.

Rating
100%/
100%
wounderful!!!8/15/15
by
We absalutly love it. We have a pitbull, who is probably one of the best dogs ove ever had. Shes amazing with our kids espiclly our 2 year old. Shes so hental and friendly. Only problem is shes a terrible walker. Shes very strong so she would just about pi ll my arm outta socket. We bought the gental leader and instantly saw iimprovement. Now we both enjoi opur wwalk. Love it!!!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
so happy I found this product. My dog pulled with a regular collar. This prevented him pulling and made him much easier to walk.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
My dog is 85 lbs, and lately due to bulging discs in my neck, I could not hold onto him during walks, the process was painful to me, and to him! I had heard about the Gentle Leader from several other Golden doodle parents, and thought, well here we go.... I have been using it for two days now and I AM SOLD. I took my hard pulling dog into two different stores today, and people commented on how well trained he was! He walked beside me, waited on direction, and best of all NOT ONE PULL.... thank you so much :) I hope soon you all expand the colors or patterns :) That would be awesome!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have a larger German Shepherd who would nearly yank my arm off during walks. After relentless attempts to train her I gave up and stopped walking her all together (because she almost broke free and lunged to another dog). I was recommended the gl by a worker and gave it a try. AMAZING. It was like a whole new dog. At first she did try to scratch it off but after about 2 blocks she adjusted.. I am so greatful for this tool. She gets so exited when I pull her leash out now. Love, love, love this and would and do highly recommend it. I now use a small cat sized leash and have no struggles! People think she is so well behaved but they have no idea how she used to walk. It's like Magic!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have a 1 year old rescue who was always sort of leash reactive, but during the terrible winter we had she wasn't outside on a daily basis where there was a lot of people and other dogs. Now that it's nice out again I tried walking her about 10 different times and it was a nightmare. She barked, lunged, and whined at every person and dog that came close to us (funny thing is she isn't agressive to people or dogs, just a little nervous around them at first). I heard good things about the GL so I bought it. After many treats and positive association to get it on her, she is a new dog. She gets better with each day I use it. I found the trick to be to give the leash a little tug when I saw her staring at another person or dog for too long to snap her out of her focus and it's been working like magic. It's almost like a completely different dog and I now look forward to walks again instead of dreading them. If there is anything negative about this product it is that it leaves a visible mark across the muzzle but that usually goes away a few minutes after the GL is taken off (and it is not because it is too tight).

Rating
100%/
100%
by
My Basenji was a bad puller. I have been trying everything over the last couple of years and finally decided equipment might be the problem. After getting this his walking problems have nearly vanished. He no longer is a concern when approaching other dogs. It is simply amazing.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
At my recent vet visit with my 3-year old 100-pound pitbull, the vet suggested I buy a gentle leader when he saw the struggle with him in his harness. I went the very next day and bought it. The difference was 150% better. Usually my hands are red and hurt and I recently pulled a muscle in my back from his pulling and wanting to jump on people. He walked by my side, didn't jump and we had the best walk ever. I watched the DVD and expected him to want to resist putting it on, but he didn't. Now I am looking forward to our walks. I couldn't believe the difference. This thing works.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
Just purchased two of these, one for my 75 pound English Springer who has been a monster Alpha since day one and the other for my 8 month old silky/cavalier cross who has a delicate neck. I saw almost immediate results in both of them... no more tugging or pulling... wish I had done it sooner!! Great product!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your experience with the Gentle Leader® Headcollar! We are happy to hear of the success you've had with your dogs and hope to continue to provide a positive experience for you and your family. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677, or by the link below.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/contact-us

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I just adopted a stray dog from a rescue. She lived on the streets so she never used a leash or collar. My hands were bright red and sore by the end of our quick walk around the block. She would pulled so hard she would choke herself and I had to use both hands on the leash even though she only weighs about 25lbs!! I bought this from petsmart came home to test it out and OMG!!!! It was like night and day!! At first she didn't like it and tried rubbing it and bucked around alittle but by the end of our walk I was using 1 hand on the leash and my hands were fine and normal color! Lol she was walking amazing! I highly recommend this not only for wild walkers but to train leash manners I know I'll be buying another for my other pup to teach him leash manners :)

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have a 95 lb. Lab/Aussie and she has been impossible to walk since the day I brought her home. NO amount of training worked, I had to put a muzzle on her and even then she pulled so badly that walks with her were pure misery. I am a big, muscular guy, and she was literally dragging me around, and causing regular chronic pain in my shoulders and elbows. I finally gave up and stopped walking her.
A friend who works at my vet clinic recommended this to me, and I COULD NOT BE MORE PLEASED! Since the dog was already used to wearing a muzzle, the break in period for me was 5 minutes and 5 treats. She pulled exactly 3 times, then followed right at my knee like a perfect angel for a half hour, through a cat infested neighborhood, barely flinched at other dogs barking, cars driving by and kids running around in yards. IT WAS HEAVEN!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!


Rating
100%/
100%
by
BUY THIS! Artemis is an 8 month old Great Dane/St Bernard mix who we adopted 3 weeks ago. She was not leash trained but LOVES walks. With a puppy her size (she's a small horse) she was dragging me and my husband (let me explain that my husband is 6'2 and about 280 pounds and this 8 month old puppy was dragging him!) Having a puppy who is going to be a huge full grown dog, leash training is important. Today I picked up this headcollar. We just got back from our evening walk and I cannot even put into words the amazingness of this item!! We live 5 houses away from a corner and by the time we got to the corner, Artemis was walking like a perfect lady! She walked right by my side! I am so amazed at how well and fast this worked! Best leash training product EVER!!!!!



Rating
100%/
100%
by
I am a 110-pound woman and I own a 100-pound lab. He had always pulled but after my dog gained weight after being neutered, it was impossible to go for walks, he was pulling so much that each walk was giving me back pain. I had to reduce the amount of time and frequency of the walks because of that. Then, someone in the pet store told ma about Gentle leader, I bought it and it worked immediately, he didn't like it that much at the beginning, but after a week he got used. Now, I can take him for walks and he had lost weight, and he is now a happy dog that can take long walks without any problem.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
Our 80 lbs, one year-old mixed breed female pulled our 14 year-old 5'8" 240 lbs son down our three concrete back stairs causing him to fracture his ankle. We couldn't ignore her problem anymore. I got online and did some research. I found a similar product and went to our local pet store in search of it. That one didn't have one large enough but this brand did. I am so glad I got PetS are brand. The video was wonderful and after checking out the other brand,this is designed much better. The difference in my dog has been amazing! It's like I have a different animal. Walking her has become a joy. She doesn't pull anymore and even better, she has stopped being territorial and aggressive with others. This product has truly changed our lives.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I was reluctant to try a headcollar because I have a smaller dog with a short snout (But high energy and a strong puller.), and was afraid such a collar might cause injury or restrict his breathing. But after trying several different collars, harnesses, and training methods, none of which really worked very well to stop the pulling or slow him down, I relented and decided to try the Gentle Leader. The change was remarkable and immediate. Aside from some initial annoyance and resistance to the nose loop, the pulling stopped and he slowed his pace on the first walk, and walking behavior has improved with each walk. He still gets distracted or starts getting excited at times, but now only needs a gentle correction to get him back in line. It hasn't caused any noticeable distress either. After only three or four walks with the Gentle Leader, the improvement is at least 90% and getting better each day. Walks are much more enjoyable now with a loose lease and calmer dog. I'm a convert and would definitely recommend the Gentle Leader.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have a Pitbull who can get nervous when on walks. The gentle leader gives me so much freedom to walk her in places I otherwise may not be able to. I can confidentially say I walk the dog, she doesn't walk me.

Rating
100%/
100%
Best collar! 7/23/14
by
This was an instant fix for our 6 mo. old german short haired pointer. With his high energy he took us for walks or would bite his leash as other walkers or dogs passed by. It took a short 15 min walk for him to get used to the collar on just face but now he is the best walker. No more tugging or jumping around and embarrassing us as we walked him. I would recommend this for all dogs and everyone that would love to have an enjoyable walk with their pup/dog!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have a 95lb two year old lab that I started taking on runs with me as a puppy. She never wanted to walk on a leash anymore after that, I tried training methods, choke collar, pinch collar with no luck. She literally pulled hard on every single method. I was recommended the gentle leader by a friend and just bought it. It was tough at first getting it on and she didn't really like it but after the first walk It was night and day. I will recommend this to anyone and everyone that has a dog with pulling problems. I'm hoping with time she will get use to it being on her nose because I can actually enjoy going on walks as can my girlfriend!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
We were having dominance issue woth our 4 bulldogs. We are rehabilitated now with the help of the gentle leader and the guidance of a trainer. I will recommend the gentle leader to everyone♡♡♡♡

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have a 5 1/2 yr old Labrador retriever that I have not walked for years. Even with a pinch collar my husband had to walk her. I now have a broken pelvis & tried the Gentle Leader. I am totally amazed at how this collar controls my fur friend. We are now going for walks several times a day with no stress on either one of us. My only regret is that I didn't use this collar sooner. I highly recommend this to everyone regardless of the size & strength of your dog.

Rating
100%/
100%
Elated!4/3/14
by
Words cannot express how happy I am with this collar! It has relieved so much stress and anxiety that I have experienced from day one with my Labrador. She has injured me so many times chasing after anything that moved and just generally pulling so hard when I tried to walk her. I stopped our walks eventually because I couldn't stand it any more, which really disappointed me. Now, I want to go on walks several times a day! It's a miracle and it has changed my life.

Rating
100%/
100%
Awesome. 3/21/14
by
We have a 50lb Bulldog/English Beagle mix (who is way more Beagle than Bulldog - and will follow his nose everywhere) who we rescued, and he has been awful to walk since day one. If he sees anything, squirrel, cat, deer, person, bug he freaks out. I've been dragged down sidewalks and had to haul him away from things. Taking him out to go to the bathroom was a challenge, let alone on a walk around the neighborhood. Anyways, we bought one of these today - and after a bit of struggling and lots of treats, I took him for a walk around the neighborhood and it was amazing. No pulling, no freak outs, no dragging me around - and we walked past quite a few things that would have usually been an issue. I mean, after five minutes of working with him he picked it up and was excited to go for a second walk this afternoon. We spent weeks working with him when he got him, and he didn't improve at all. He just does not focus well, but five minutes with this and treats and we had no issues. He even paid attention to me must better than he usually does. If I said sit, he sat - no more fighting to get his attention away from other things and on to me. I'm thrilled because I so looked forward to walking him when we got him and now I can, and he can get the exercise he needs. . There's no tension on the leash at all, he just trots along right next to me.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I taught dog obedience for over 13 years in non-profit organizations. Now I assist in a local prison Puppy 4 Parole Program.

Like my former public students, the prisoner handlers are gaining faster results with behavior modification with difficult dogs and with special need dogs that are shy or wild and crazy.

There is no better halter like collar that I have used than the Gentle Leader. Others cut in the eye area or lack the control and "behavior modification" my students realize with the design of the Gentle Leader.

I have seen aggressive dogs become passive and shy dogs become confident as well as wild dogs submit and become excellent pets on a walk.

I suffer from painful arthritis in my shoulders and wrists. There is no better management tool for me to use for the dogs in our rescue where I can achieve excellent results with little muscle and in a shorter period of time.

Thank you Premier!

Rating
100%/
100%
LOVE IT!!!!3/10/14
by
Best investment we ever made!!!! LOVELOVELOVE this collar!!!! Twice this week either my husband or I had our large 86 pound, powerfully built, young male dog out for a walk when untethered dogs decided to follow us. We just kept right on going. Our dog, who is new to us, showed interest but couldn't act on it. I believe that without this collar we would have been dragged or fallen had he chosen to lunge.

Rating
100%/
100%
LIFE CHANGING2/26/14
by
I'm an avid reader of them but I never ever ever do reviews. On 2/16/14 I took my 55 lb boxer/pit outside to go to the bathroom. The ground level apartment below me has a cat that always hangs out in the window, so like any other day I wrapped the leash around my hand in the event Chloe saw the cat and I had to hold her back from dragging me and scratching the window. Long story short I didn't pull on time and she broke my finger.
I had known about these collars for a while but I for one didn't like seeing other dogs wearing them because of the fact that it looked like a muzzle, which in turn meant that I didn't want the typical "oh she needs to muzzle her pitbull" look from anyone we encountered on a walk.
After the broken finger I decided to give the gentle leader a try.
Like I knew she would, she hates it around her snout... oh well deal with it.
02/26/14... Brittany 1... Cat... 0. I didn't even have to put any effort into pulling on the leash as soon as the cat was in the window. Walks have effortless, and way more enjoyable for me. I can't believe I have waited this long.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have a 20 month old pitbull that has 1 speed - FAST! Any time you try and walk him, he wants to RUN. He will literally PULL you down the street, he will choke himself out, nothing has ever stopped his pulling. We have tried all kinds of leashes, choke chains, harnesses, treat training; and on a whim, I picked up a Gentle Leader. I tried everything else, why not, right? After some training, and getting used to the head harness (he put up quite a fight at first), I can actually WALK him down the street without having to hold on for dear life. I was AMAZED! This very powerful dog who is full of energy is calmly walking by my side. My dad, who is in his mid-60's, actually can take this dog on walks each morning without being a danger to my dad (pulling so hard it makes him fall over). I was so amazed, that I purchased another for one of my other dogs, who like the other one pulls on walks (though not nearly as much). Now, he's a breeze to walk. We have 1 more dog, so next time I head over to the pet store, I will be getting one more. Truly an amazing product, I actually enjoy walking my big dogs again!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have a Lab Shepherd mix that is less than a year old he weighs in at 87lbs and I am 6’3” 320lbs and he was kicking my butt everywhere we went. My wife and daughter could not walk him at all. We just had him in the vet’s office and he managed to trash the lobby area in seconds that was kind of the last straw. We tried the choke collar it did not help we had used a harness before so we knew it would not work. So I went to Pet Co. to buy one of those spike collars but I didn’t want to hurt him so while I was talking to one of the lady’s that worked there see recommended this gentle leader collar that she uses on here labs. I looked at it and thought no way is it going to work it is too small and he will break it, but she said it is guaranteed so I thought what the hell. It is by far the best collar that I have ever bought. After a few minute of him getting use to it the first walk was like night and day. I started with a short 10 minute walk where he fought a little but no tugging or pulling. Next walk was a 30 minute walk my daughter handled him she was able to get him to sit for treats with no problem and he stayed by here side the entire walk with no bad behavior. I would absolutely recommend this collar to anyone, it is that good.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
Walking our growing six-month old puppy was becoming increasingly stressful as our otherwise sweet and obedient girl approached 50 lbs. She was almost impossible to control on a leash whenever we passed other dogs, children, squirrels, etc., and she would often pull so hard that she would literally strangle herself until she was retching and wheezing to get her breath. Walks were a frustrating and sometimes angry experience that we were beginning to dread.

Our puppy’s first walk with the Gentle Leader was nearly miraculous. While she occasionally pawed at the nose loop in frustration, we encouraged her with words and treats and enjoyed a 45-minute walk, almost without incident. When we did pass another dog she tried to leap and pull but it required minimal force to guide her back to heel, and she quickly realized that it was impossible to have her normal way. On subsequent walks she seemed to understand her new limitations, tested them less frequently, and our walks have become relaxed and enjoyable, even in situations that previously triggered her wild behavior. We are so relieved that we will be able to control and modify her leash behavior and we recommend the Gentle Leader without reservation. Thank you for making this great product.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I saw a lady with two big dogs in the pet store using this product. The dogs were relaxed and under control. I bought one and followed the instruction dvd. Fitted my dog and went outside and what a miracle. This is a 65 pound dog that is very strong and I am a senior. It was a struggle to walk her. I can now walk her with no tugging whatsoever! She is so proud for learning something new and I am so proud too!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I love the product, but I have recently become aware that some Humane Societies are keeping these on their dogs in the shelters, 24/7, which is clearly unneccessary. This was never the purpose for this product. Please clarify that these collars are NOT meant to be on a dog day and night. Thank you for the sake of all the dogs in shelters!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 to further discuss this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have a nine month old pup. He is extremely strong. I used to wrap the leash around my hand and then grab more of the leash with my fingers. He would pull so much it was difficult to take walks. I received this gentle leader from a friend. I watched to video and was doubtful, esp. when it was proclaimed that a dog would learn this in minutes! It has been one week, I am still amazed at the results. It was minutes! I can hold the leash with one or two fingers. The first time he tried to lay down and push the nose part but no longer. It is nice to finally find something that really works. Whoever designed this product must be part dog.