Close
#

Gentle Leader® Headcollar

Reviews

100% 100% 17
Overall
%
(17)
#
Ratings Breakdown
17 reviews
5 star
17
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Gentle Leader® Headcollar
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
Works when nothing else did., 8/12/14
by
I was reluctant to try a headcollar because I have a smaller dog with a short snout (But high energy and a strong puller.), and was afraid such a collar might cause injury or restrict his breathing. But after trying several different collars, harnesses, and training methods, none of which really worked very well to stop the pulling or slow him down, I relented and decided to try the Gentle Leader. The change was remarkable and immediate. Aside from some initial annoyance and resistance to the nose loop, the pulling stopped and he slowed his pace on the first walk, and walking behavior has improved with each walk. He still gets distracted or starts getting excited at times, but now only needs a gentle correction to get him back in line. It hasn't caused any noticeable distress either. After only three or four walks with the Gentle Leader, the improvement is at least 90% and getting better each day. Walks are much more enjoyable now with a loose lease and calmer dog. I'm a convert and would definitely recommend the Gentle Leader.

Rating
100%/
100%
I can easily walk my Pitbull!, 7/30/14
by
I have a Pitbull who can get nervous when on walks. The gentle leader gives me so much freedom to walk her in places I otherwise may not be able to. I can confidentially say I walk the dog, she doesn't walk me.

Rating
100%/
100%
Best collar! , 7/23/14
by
This was an instant fix for our 6 mo. old german short haired pointer. With his high energy he took us for walks or would bite his leash as other walkers or dogs passed by. It took a short 15 min walk for him to get used to the collar on just face but now he is the best walker. No more tugging or jumping around and embarrassing us as we walked him. I would recommend this for all dogs and everyone that would love to have an enjoyable walk with their pup/dog!

Rating
100%/
100%
Miracle worker, 7/7/14
by
I have a 95lb two year old lab that I started taking on runs with me as a puppy. She never wanted to walk on a leash anymore after that, I tried training methods, choke collar, pinch collar with no luck. She literally pulled hard on every single method. I was recommended the gentle leader by a friend and just bought it. It was tough at first getting it on and she didn't really like it but after the first walk It was night and day. I will recommend this to anyone and everyone that has a dog with pulling problems. I'm hoping with time she will get use to it being on her nose because I can actually enjoy going on walks as can my girlfriend!

Rating
100%/
100%
Dominant Bulldog, 6/23/14
by
We were having dominance issue woth our 4 bulldogs. We are rehabilitated now with the help of the gentle leader and the guidance of a trainer. I will recommend the gentle leader to everyone♡♡♡♡

Rating
100%/
100%
Thrilled with collar, 5/30/14
by
I have a 5 1/2 yr old Labrador retriever that I have not walked for years. Even with a pinch collar my husband had to walk her. I now have a broken pelvis & tried the Gentle Leader. I am totally amazed at how this collar controls my fur friend. We are now going for walks several times a day with no stress on either one of us. My only regret is that I didn't use this collar sooner. I highly recommend this to everyone regardless of the size & strength of your dog.

Rating
100%/
100%
Elated!, 4/3/14
by
Words cannot express how happy I am with this collar! It has relieved so much stress and anxiety that I have experienced from day one with my Labrador. She has injured me so many times chasing after anything that moved and just generally pulling so hard when I tried to walk her. I stopped our walks eventually because I couldn't stand it any more, which really disappointed me. Now, I want to go on walks several times a day! It's a miracle and it has changed my life.

Rating
100%/
100%
Awesome. , 3/21/14
by
We have a 50lb Bulldog/English Beagle mix (who is way more Beagle than Bulldog - and will follow his nose everywhere) who we rescued, and he has been awful to walk since day one. If he sees anything, squirrel, cat, deer, person, bug he freaks out. I've been dragged down sidewalks and had to haul him away from things. Taking him out to go to the bathroom was a challenge, let alone on a walk around the neighborhood. Anyways, we bought one of these today - and after a bit of struggling and lots of treats, I took him for a walk around the neighborhood and it was amazing. No pulling, no freak outs, no dragging me around - and we walked past quite a few things that would have usually been an issue. I mean, after five minutes of working with him he picked it up and was excited to go for a second walk this afternoon. We spent weeks working with him when he got him, and he didn't improve at all. He just does not focus well, but five minutes with this and treats and we had no issues. He even paid attention to me must better than he usually does. If I said sit, he sat - no more fighting to get his attention away from other things and on to me. I'm thrilled because I so looked forward to walking him when we got him and now I can, and he can get the exercise he needs. . There's no tension on the leash at all, he just trots along right next to me.

Rating
100%/
100%
"The" collar for students with arthritis or challenging dogs, 3/12/14
by
I taught dog obedience for over 13 years in non-profit organizations. Now I assist in a local prison Puppy 4 Parole Program.

Like my former public students, the prisoner handlers are gaining faster results with behavior modification with difficult dogs and with special need dogs that are shy or wild and crazy.

There is no better halter like collar that I have used than the Gentle Leader. Others cut in the eye area or lack the control and "behavior modification" my students realize with the design of the Gentle Leader.

I have seen aggressive dogs become passive and shy dogs become confident as well as wild dogs submit and become excellent pets on a walk.

I suffer from painful arthritis in my shoulders and wrists. There is no better management tool for me to use for the dogs in our rescue where I can achieve excellent results with little muscle and in a shorter period of time.

Thank you Premier!

Rating
100%/
100%
LOVE IT!!!!, 3/10/14
by
Best investment we ever made!!!! LOVELOVELOVE this collar!!!! Twice this week either my husband or I had our large 86 pound, powerfully built, young male dog out for a walk when untethered dogs decided to follow us. We just kept right on going. Our dog, who is new to us, showed interest but couldn't act on it. I believe that without this collar we would have been dragged or fallen had he chosen to lunge.

Rating
100%/
100%
LIFE CHANGING, 2/26/14
by
I'm an avid reader of them but I never ever ever do reviews. On 2/16/14 I took my 55 lb boxer/pit outside to go to the bathroom. The ground level apartment below me has a cat that always hangs out in the window, so like any other day I wrapped the leash around my hand in the event Chloe saw the cat and I had to hold her back from dragging me and scratching the window. Long story short I didn't pull on time and she broke my finger.
I had known about these collars for a while but I for one didn't like seeing other dogs wearing them because of the fact that it looked like a muzzle, which in turn meant that I didn't want the typical "oh she needs to muzzle her pitbull" look from anyone we encountered on a walk.
After the broken finger I decided to give the gentle leader a try.
Like I knew she would, she hates it around her snout... oh well deal with it.
02/26/14... Brittany 1... Cat... 0. I didn't even have to put any effort into pulling on the leash as soon as the cat was in the window. Walks have effortless, and way more enjoyable for me. I can't believe I have waited this long.

Rating
100%/
100%
Wow, this actually worked!, 2/11/14
by
I have a 20 month old pitbull that has 1 speed - FAST! Any time you try and walk him, he wants to RUN. He will literally PULL you down the street, he will choke himself out, nothing has ever stopped his pulling. We have tried all kinds of leashes, choke chains, harnesses, treat training; and on a whim, I picked up a Gentle Leader. I tried everything else, why not, right? After some training, and getting used to the head harness (he put up quite a fight at first), I can actually WALK him down the street without having to hold on for dear life. I was AMAZED! This very powerful dog who is full of energy is calmly walking by my side. My dad, who is in his mid-60's, actually can take this dog on walks each morning without being a danger to my dad (pulling so hard it makes him fall over). I was so amazed, that I purchased another for one of my other dogs, who like the other one pulls on walks (though not nearly as much). Now, he's a breeze to walk. We have 1 more dog, so next time I head over to the pet store, I will be getting one more. Truly an amazing product, I actually enjoy walking my big dogs again!

Rating
100%/
100%
The best training collar ever, 2/4/14
by
I have a Lab Shepherd mix that is less than a year old he weighs in at 87lbs and I am 6’3” 320lbs and he was kicking my butt everywhere we went. My wife and daughter could not walk him at all. We just had him in the vet’s office and he managed to trash the lobby area in seconds that was kind of the last straw. We tried the choke collar it did not help we had used a harness before so we knew it would not work. So I went to Pet Co. to buy one of those spike collars but I didn’t want to hurt him so while I was talking to one of the lady’s that worked there see recommended this gentle leader collar that she uses on here labs. I looked at it and thought no way is it going to work it is too small and he will break it, but she said it is guaranteed so I thought what the hell. It is by far the best collar that I have ever bought. After a few minute of him getting use to it the first walk was like night and day. I started with a short 10 minute walk where he fought a little but no tugging or pulling. Next walk was a 30 minute walk my daughter handled him she was able to get him to sit for treats with no problem and he stayed by here side the entire walk with no bad behavior. I would absolutely recommend this collar to anyone, it is that good.

Rating
100%/
100%
What a relief!, 11/3/13
by
Walking our growing six-month old puppy was becoming increasingly stressful as our otherwise sweet and obedient girl approached 50 lbs. She was almost impossible to control on a leash whenever we passed other dogs, children, squirrels, etc., and she would often pull so hard that she would literally strangle herself until she was retching and wheezing to get her breath. Walks were a frustrating and sometimes angry experience that we were beginning to dread.

Our puppy’s first walk with the Gentle Leader was nearly miraculous. While she occasionally pawed at the nose loop in frustration, we encouraged her with words and treats and enjoyed a 45-minute walk, almost without incident. When we did pass another dog she tried to leap and pull but it required minimal force to guide her back to heel, and she quickly realized that it was impossible to have her normal way. On subsequent walks she seemed to understand her new limitations, tested them less frequently, and our walks have become relaxed and enjoyable, even in situations that previously triggered her wild behavior. We are so relieved that we will be able to control and modify her leash behavior and we recommend the Gentle Leader without reservation. Thank you for making this great product.

Rating
100%/
100%
10 minute miracle, 10/29/13
by
I saw a lady with two big dogs in the pet store using this product. The dogs were relaxed and under control. I bought one and followed the instruction dvd. Fitted my dog and went outside and what a miracle. This is a 65 pound dog that is very strong and I am a senior. It was a struggle to walk her. I can now walk her with no tugging whatsoever! She is so proud for learning something new and I am so proud too!

Rating
100%/
100%
Clarification..., 10/7/13
by
I love the product, but I have recently become aware that some Humane Societies are keeping these on their dogs in the shelters, 24/7, which is clearly unneccessary. This was never the purpose for this product. Please clarify that these collars are NOT meant to be on a dog day and night. Thank you for the sake of all the dogs in shelters!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 to further discuss this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Rating
100%/
100%
Best ever used!, 9/30/13
by
I have a nine month old pup. He is extremely strong. I used to wrap the leash around my hand and then grab more of the leash with my fingers. He would pull so much it was difficult to take walks. I received this gentle leader from a friend. I watched to video and was doubtful, esp. when it was proclaimed that a dog would learn this in minutes! It has been one week, I am still amazed at the results. It was minutes! I can hold the leash with one or two fingers. The first time he tried to lay down and push the nose part but no longer. It is nice to finally find something that really works. Whoever designed this product must be part dog.

×