Close
#

Freedom™ Aluminum Doors

Reviews

57% 100% 15
Overall
%
(15)
#
Ratings Breakdown
15 reviews
5 star
2
4 star
1
3 star
6
2 star
5
1 star
1

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Freedom™ Aluminum Doors
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
40%/
40%
Not as good as the previous model., 5/6/14
by
This dog is not anything like the door it replaced. This door lets in all kinds do cold air, we are in Michigan. The problem is that the magnetic door strip is not strong enough to hold the door closed. You would think since the complaints continue to be posted that someone would fix this problem! I also called the company and visited them at a trade show. Since this door was put into the wall of my house, at a large expense, and since the companies other doors are not the same size we are stuck with this problem. I am very disappointed since the previous model of this door was very well done. Apparently, no one at this company is listening to these complaints. Do not buy this door. PS We did add the second flap, that the company genius suggested, to no avail.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the design of the Freedom Aluminum Pet Door did not meet your expectations. Please know that this door does have a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to discuss replacement options with you. If you have 2 flaps on your pet door and they still do not stay shut, there may be other doors that would better fit your needs and environment. For instance, our Passport Pet Door and Electronic Smart Door offers a "locked" mode that will unlock when the pet is within range of the door, and close the flap once your pet is out of range. Please know that we would be happy to offer a Loyalty Discount on any door you see available on our website. For more information on the Electronic Doors, please access the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/doors/electronic-doors

Rating
60%/
60%
Not as good as the previous XXL door, 2/17/14
by
The door is not as effective in keeping the hot/cold air out. The screws came loose in a few months and I replaced them with better screws which still loosen and let the door sag. I had to shrink the previous XXL wall opening to install the new door. Not a hard task. I used larger border trim boards on the outside wall, install a new stud to in the wall and patch the sheet rock. Putting the door in a wall framed with 2x6 lumber is not easy anyway.
The dogs have no problems going in or out.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your feedback regarding the Freedom™ Aluminum Door. We do understand there are differences in the Freedom Aluminum doors from the older style design which can be frustrating.We are glad to know that you were able to modify your wall opening to fit the newer style door. Please know that often times adding a second flap to your Freedom door can help weigh the flaps down and decrease drafts. The additional flaps can be found at the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/replacement-flap

Rating
40%/
40%
Not worth the money., 2/6/14
by
I have owned two of these doors in X-large. Why two? Because once you buy one and put it in there is a big gaping hole in your door. First off the installation is tricky and frustrating. The template provided is too skinny and flimsy. The holes do not line up well and overall it is just not a fun experience. Could be designed way better. We have put a man on the moon after all. Secondly the quality is poor. The flap buckles and warps in no time at all leaving big gaping holes letting in the draft. We have just had a week of -30 weather so i know first hand.
The most aggravating thing of all is the flimsy way the flap is attached to the frame! Teeny little screws that undo on their own and fall out! I have to check them regularly and tighten or they disappear! I plan on drilling the holes out bigger and putting in different screws which ticks me off because i paid $150 for this piece of crap. Do not buy one.


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize to hear about the problems you've encountered with your Aluminum Door! We can understand how frustrating it can be to purchase a product and have experience difficulty. Please know that we are always looking to improve our products and we do appreciate your feedback. This door does include a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer replacement assistance. The flap should be held on by our screws and a mounting bracket to ensure the screws stay in place. If your door is missing this bracket, we would be happy to assist you in getting one. To learn more about the warranty, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.


Rating
100%/
100%
4 years and going strong, 1/14/14
by
We have 2 lab mixes and a huge clumsy elephant in a china shop German Shepherd, 6 cats and the occasional foster pet or pet sitting for friends. Our door sees more action than grand central station. We have had absolutely no problems. We hired a professional contractor to install it, he used screw glue to make sure it stayed secure and it has been perfect since day one. The cats tend to lift the flap with their claws before going through, but the flaps have held up very well. I would not hesitate to recommend Pet Safe doors and I would buy another just like it if I were to need another. My only problem isn't Pet Safe's fault other then our flap is more of a smoke color. A few of the cats enjoy laying in wait right at the flap waiting for their next victim to try to enter or exit, then they swat whoever tried to use the door. It would be VERY helpful if the animals could see through the flap!! Why this isn't an option I don't understand.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great door, 1/9/14
by
I had this door installed in the medium size for my cat and small dog. It works great. Because of the thickness of the wall we bought two of these, one for the inside going out and the other for the outside coming in. My son, who did the installation, built a little wall structure between the two doors. It doubled the price but is well worth it. We've had it for about 7 months now and even in sub zero temperatures very little cold air comes in. I anticipate we will need to replace the plastic from time to time but that looks easy enough. Yes, I think our energy bill will be improved. Our animals were wanting to be in and out all the time. It's certainly saved on my energy of not having to get up and open and close the door all the time!

Rating
60%/
60%
Leaks cold air on the edges , 1/8/14
by
We like the dog door but it seems we are constantly adjusting the flap as the screws seem to come loose too often. This makes the door flap fall to the bottom of the frame which is now causing gaps on the edges and the cold air just blows in all day. Is there any kind of thicker (fuzzy) edge that can be put in place of the one that comes with the door that won't interfere with the flap opening and closing? Also any ideas for keeping the screws from loosening all the time?
Thank you

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your PetSafe Aluminum Pet Door! Please know that the screws on this door are designed to fit into the Flap Holder which should prevent them from loosening. We do offer 2 different types of weather stripping in the Pet Door Installation Kit (available at the link below), or many hardware stores have a variety of adhesive-backed stripping that you could use. If you need further assistance, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/pet-door-installation-kit

Rating
20%/
20%
It's good for awhile., 1/2/14
by
I have four dogs, two of them are Great Danes and the smallest is a Lab.
We purchased an XL dog door one year ago and the flap is now falling off, all the screw holes are torn except two.
A new flap for this is $70 for just a sheet of rubber. I think this is to much for this product, and I refuse to pay this amount.
It is cheaper to buy a replacement door for the house then it is for the dog door, guess which one I will be buying.

Rating
80%/
80%
It's ok, 12/29/13
by
The instruction guide for the cut out is perfect. The door fits perfectly.
The door isn't made for the boxing ring, but it serves the purpose nicely.
The door flap will move, so I just readjust it when it gets out of line. Very simple, a Phillips head screw driver line it back up and it's perfect with the magnet again. This is NOT a door I would use for an outside wall, you will get a draft.

I would recommend this door if you just want a simple door that will give your pet some freedom. I have 9 German Shepherd dogs in and out all day and night through this door. They will slam through this door, and so far it's held up well, but I have only had it installed 6 months.

Like everything, there is always room for improvements, this door is fine for what it is.

Rating
40%/
40%
NOT WEATHER RESISTANT!!!!, 12/19/13
by
This is the second house we have put a pet safe door in. We like the products but wish the Freedom Aluminum XL came with a weather insulating kit, if not in the box then available to purchase separately on line. Because of the opening on the sides the cool/warm air comes in the house. depending on wind, rain comes in the sides and the flap is easily blown inward which allows even more rain to come in the house. We have also gotten critters in the house, i.e. mice, lizards, and spiders. How difficult can it be to provide a XL weather resistant kit. There is already a replacement flap, just need the center.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you continue to use our products. We understand how drafts through your petdoors must be frustrating. Please know that we do have a Universal Installation Kit which does include weather stripping to fit around the frame of your door. Also, to give your Freedom doors better wind resistance, you can add an extra flap to your door. Dual flaps are heavier and less likely to blow open in strong winds. You can view the Install kit at the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/pet-door-installation-kit

Rating
40%/
40%
Not very practical, 12/7/13
by
I had a Hale pet door in a previous house and it was a great product. I bought a new house and asked the door manufacturer to incorporate a dog door on an exterior door. The chose a PetSafe door. It is very poor. The flap is so light that when the wind blows the flap opens and has allowed leaves and other items to enter our basement. In addition, the flap is so loose it allowed our "indoor only" cat to realize it could escape, which it did. Now, I am stuck with an expensive exterior door with a "cheap" PetSafe dog door. I am going to have to upgrade to their Extreme Weather Door. I hope it is better than the Freedom door.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your Aluminum Pet Door. Please know that to help decrease drafts, you can add an additional flap to your frame. If you are interested in a door that would only allow certain pets to enter or exit your home, you may want to look into our Electronic Doors. They can be viewed at the link below. If you'd like to discuss your options further, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/doors/electronic-doors

Rating
40%/
40%
product not holding up, 12/4/13
by
I bought 12 X-Large doors for my kennels building.
4 of the dogs have gone thru 6 flaps in less than a year.
they just rip the doors off
2 of them were overnight.
They grab them and just rip and pull ---the small top screws out of the wall.
I go out in the morning and the flap and screws are laying on the ground.
Plastic should be more durable and screws should be larger and not so close to the edge of the plastic. would not recommend them again. Does not pay to keep replacing the plastic and overnight they rip them off. Frustrated and now it is 19 degrees outside and I have a big hole in the wall of 2 of them today.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the design of your Freedom Aluminum Doors are not meeting your expectations. Please know that we are always looking for ways to improve our products and appreciate your feedback! Unfortunately, these flaps are made of a material flexible enough to allow the pets to easily exit and enter the pet door. If the flaps are damaged due to a manufacturer error, we are happy to replace these flaps within the 1 year limited warranty. If your pets seem to find the flaps to be a great chew toy, you may want to look into some of our busy buddy toys to help deter that behavior. You can view these products provided at the link below. To discuss replacement options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/pet-care/toys

Rating
60%/
60%
Okay but not great, 11/29/13
by
I have 6 dogs. 2 small and 4 mid size. I own 2 of these doors. One in the door going into the garage and other in my garage door going into the yard. The flaps buckle over time, the screws fall out and are forever lost in the grass. They don't keep out the cold. Dogs tend to always push on the door at the corner, never the middle so the door holes tear out in that corner first. After the first screw hole tears thru, they all start to follow. No matter how hard you try to save it. My dogs will pull off the magnetic strip that slides onto the bottum of the flap and chew them up. Once you have cut a big hole in your door though, you are stuck with this doggie door.

Rating
60%/
60%
Freedom Aluminum Door, 11/14/13
by
I had the doggy door for my four beagles on my door to my backyard. It was great to have it but after two years having it but its' flap got kinda warped that cold air or heat keeps coming in my house. My electric and heating bills may have gone up because of it. I know what the customer service is going to write an apology to their customers but it's not good enough. That product is supposed to last longer than two years for its' worth. Come on.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your PetSafe Freedom Aluminum Pet Door. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review.

We do offer replacement flaps for your pet door through our Customer Care Center. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
60%/
60%
Improvements needed..., 11/10/13
by
We have used several of both your cat and dog doors throughout the years with no complaints. However, this X-Large Aluminum frame has 2 things that need to be addressed.
First, the 6 screws that hold the flap in place extend a 1/2" on the outside of the door but are uncovered. These need to have some simple plastic safety caps on them.
Secondly, due to the X-Large size of the flap on this model, it should have a better magnet on the bottom to keep it shut. A slight breeze blows it open, The magnets on the large model are bigger and do an excellent job of keeping it closed.

Rating
60%/
60%
Improvements needed..., 11/9/13
by
We have used several of both your cat and dog doors throughout the years with no complaints. However, this X-Large Aluminum frame has 2 things that need to be addressed.
First, the 6 screws that hold the flap in place extend a 1/2" on the outside of the door but are uncovered. These need to have some simple plastic safety caps on them.
Secondly, due to the X-Large size of the flap on this model, it should have a better magnet on the bottom to keep it shut. A slight breeze blows it open, The magnets on the large model are bigger and do an excellent job of keeping it closed.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the Freedom™ Aluminum Door has failed to meet your expectations. We do value your feedback on the safety of the flap screws and magnets and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. To give your single flap pet door better wind resistance, you can add an extra flap to your door. Dual flaps are heavier and less likely to blow open in strong winds. An additional flap should also fit on the same installation screws that the single flap uses, which can help reduce the exposed ends. You can order an additional XL freedom flap at the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/replacement-flap

×