Close
#

Freedom® Aluminum Pet Doors

See Product Details

40 Customer Reviews

60 100 40
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
40 reviews
1 star
6
2 star
12
3 star
8
4 star
5
5 star
9

Add your Freedom® Aluminum Pet Doors review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
40/
40%
by
Even the original flap that came with the door had problems; but since we changed it; we cannot get it to seal. The material the door itself is made of is not very durable. The strip that you screw the screws into is very flimsy; and it also has elongated holes and the screw is round. So this makes the flap travel down when it should be on top of the flap in order to hold the flap in properly. We have even added washers to the screw holes in hopes of it not unscrewing itself out. But the screws come back out of the door. Yesterday I came home and the flap was just barely hanging on. I purchase these 2 doors through this website; you should be able to tell we have not had them very long; maybe a little over 2 years.

I have had a pet door for over 20 years; made by Pet Safe; and the original pet door was very good and they quit making a replacement flap for them so I had to go with this new design. I am so disappointed!

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We completely understand how it would be frustrating to have a pet door that is not sealing well, Barbara! If the flap is adjusted properly, it should seal just fine. The holes at the top are oblong to allow for adjustments, but the mounting bracket should help stabilize it.

We will reach out to you privately for further support. We hate to hear that you have experienced so much frustration with your door, and we want to help!

Rating
20/
20%
by
We have had the older version PetSafe large door and we loved it. We needed a larger door so we went to get a new one only to find that they have been completely changed. The installation is fairly easy, but the quality is terrible. The old door had magnets on the sides also so it sealed very well. The new one does not seal at all on the sides therefore the heat comes right in. We have tried to adjust it and that does not work either. We are not pleased at all and will not be purchasing another PetSafe door unless the quality changes.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We hate to hear you're having issue with our Freedom® Aluminum Pet Door staying sealed. Between the magnet across the bottom of the flap, and the weather stripping down each side of the flap opening, the flap should seal fairly well. With that being said, there may be some other recommendations we can make to help with your situation specifically. If you have a chance, please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379. We would love to discuss this in more detail.

Rating
100/
100%
Nice doors6/30/17
by
We had a different set of PetSafe dog doors that were a bit loud so after they got used and abused we decided to get a different set that were much quieter and purchased Freedom® Aluminum Pet Doors. Now we aren't startled by the noise ever time the dogs are going in and out of the door since the old flaps were a hard plastic.

We don't have really any issues with these. Of course if there is a massive windy storm you might want to just lock it up but for the most part the magnets hold up well to the wind. They do the job and ours are used all day and night since we have a fenced in yard, we just lock it up at night.

Rating
40/
40%
by
Easy to put on the door. But the seal will not seal on the sides. The bad thing now is i cut out the big hole in my door for this one. Really wished i would have know it was not going to seal better then what it is doing now. If you guys have a fix please let me know.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are glad to hear that the door was easy to install, but we can understand how it would be frustrating to have a door that is not sealing well, Ray, but we are here to help! More information is needed and we will reach out to you privately so that we can gather more information and find a fix for you.

Rating
40/
40%
by
I have the extra large size door. Once installed there were bulges in the flap in the middle on each side. I adjusted the flap to eliminate the bulges and then the flap was too short. I contacted PetSafe who instructed me to try adjusting it again, which I did to no avail. Either the magbet lifter is too short or the flap is - not sure which. Judging from other reviews here and on [online retailer], this is a common issue but Pet Safe seems to leave the impression it's a user issue - either the door isn't installed correctly or not adjusted correctly. I beg to differ. I have fixed mine by buying adhesive backed magnet tape and cutting a strip to go on top of the magnet at the bottom of the door. It still isn't perfect, but it's now sealing and not letting the wind blow in the house.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We can understand your frustration, and your feedback has been passed along to the design and development teams for review. Please know that we do not recommend modifying the flaps or doors in any way, but we are glad to hear that you were able to make the door work well for your home. Again, your experience has most certainly been passed along. If you have any additional questions, please reach out to our Customer Care Team at 1-866-738-4379.


Rating
60/
60%
by
The instructions for this product actually skipped a couple of steps. Somewhere towards the end of this project, you will get in your car and go buy some metal screws.
Plastic? Really?? That might work great in a testing lab, but in the real world, plastic screws fail big time. Mine broke before I even got the door hung.
I realize that you are in business to make a profit, but I would have been fine paying a couple of bucks extra for your product if it included metal screws. That would have saved me lots of time and frustration.
Now that door is installed with metal screws, it works great.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We can understand how it would be frustrating to have to replace screws so soon after installation, Eric. The nylon screws were proven during testing to hold up longer than metal screws. As the pets go in and out of the door over and over, and the temperatures change with the seasons, there will be shifting, expansion, contraction, etc. With metal screws, there was rapid damage comparatively. The nylon screws allowed some give over all of this and kept the door together better.

Every home, climate, and pet family are different, and we appreciate your feedback. If you have any questions at all please reach out to our Customer Care Team at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
80/
80%
Works great1/7/17
by
Not really sure what these people are complaining about. If their flap failed a few months after install with a 25 lb dog, then they installed it wrong. We have a 85 lb Lab running through 2 of these doors about 25 times a day and our flaps have lasted well over 18 months. Decent product, just wish the price were a little more pallatable. I did find a 10% off coupon code that helped a bit.

Rating
40/
40%
by
I bought my aluminum door at one of the big box home improvement stores. Installation was a snap through aa steel door until I got to the nylon attachments. Second one broke so I went back to Lowes and purchased stainless bolts that kept the outside frame flush. We had the door in operation for two weeks. The dogs are doing fine in and out. Unfortunately! When they go out the door seals and when they come in, the seal leaves a gap and doesn't pull tight. You have to physically go over and close the door. I'm sure in a mild temperate climate this door would be fine. But when the exterior temperature drops below 30 the unsealed door lets in a significant amount of cold air. I think the door is reasonably priced compared to other door manufactures whose products are 3 times the cost. However, today I will purchase one of the better designed doors and toss this door. The savings in utility costs will more than offset the cost and there is an additional level of security when you want the door sealed. This is a prime example when it is more cost effective to purchase the best product. Sorry, but this door looks great but doesn't meet the functional requirements.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're very sorry to hear about the issues you ran into with the flap on your pet door, Kelley! If the flap is swinging freely when your dogs go out, but "catching" when they come back inside, it is possible that the flap's position may need to be adjusted on the flap holder; if the flap is set too low on the holder, this could prevent it from properly swinging back into place and catching the magnetic strip at the bottom of the door frame. Adjustment to the flap position can be done by loosening the screws along the top of the flap until the flap can be shifted around; try adjusting its position a little higher than it currently is and retighten the screws to see if this solves the issue.

Should you continue to experience problems with the door, we would be more than happy to assist you in getting it working correctly or find a solution that may work better for your situation. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379 and we would be glad to help.

Rating
20/
20%
Not satisfied 12/28/16
by
Door looks good and may work well after I purchase some reasonable hardware! 1/8"x2"nylon screws? Really?



​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're very sorry to hear that the hardware included with the door is not what you were looking for in a pet door, Tim! You may find it helpful to know that the nylon screws are used because of their flexibility, which is helpful when/if the door frame or the surface into which it is installed begins to naturally settle or expand or contract with hot and cold weather, as the screws will bend slightly to accomodate this, while metal screws tend to damage the pet door frame and wall or door where it is installed. That being said, we certainly want you to have a product that you are comfortable using and would be happy to help out in any way we can. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
100/
100%
Wonderful!9/9/16
by
I had this dog door for 7 years before I needed to order a replacement flap. I have a large dog door and got a rescue dog who outgrew the door. He's over 120lbs and growing. The only reason the flap failed is because my baby tore the flap off after a year and a half of rubbing his back on the top of the flap each time he ran into or out of the house

Rating
60/
60%
by
Great company and decent product. I've had mine for a few years. I'm on my second flap and magnet don't hold it well at all and this flap, I think we got it last year, warped pretty quick. The slides that hold the metal closure in place have had to be bent back several times to allow the piece to slide down. Love their concept, I just feel it would be more economical for the manufacturer and the consumer if better quality materials were used.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:​​

Thanks for your comments, Rick! Sorry to hear that your flap has started to warp so quickly. Please keep in mind that very hot or very cold weather or being exposed to direct sunlight does have the possibility to warp the flaps over time. Typically, a flap adjustment can solve this issue. To do this, you would remove (or simply loosen) the screws along the top of the flap. The screw holes are designed in a way that the flap can be lifted up or lowered slightly as needed. If you try this and still have large gaps around the edges of the flap, give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379 and we'd be more than happy to help you out.

Rating
20/
20%
by
I had an older model Petsafe XL door that worked great for years. Every couple years I had to replace the flap which is understandable, however, they updated the older version with the new Freedom Aluminum Door and the quality is just not as good. The flap material is thinner and the magnet that holds the flap in place is not strong enough to keep the flap in place when the wind picks up just a bit. This causes the flap to blow open and the cold weather, rain, snow to pour into my heated space. Also, as stated in the other reviews, the flap does not maintain its shape thus leaving gaps along the weather strip. Very disappointed in this product, it just doesn't function well for its purpose. I would replace with a cold weather door but Petsafe didn't engineer them to the same dimensions so that isn't an option.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Dave! We are sorry to read that the new Freedom® Aluminum Doors have not met your needs and expectations. Please know that your feedback will be passed along to the appropriate parties for research and development purposes. Please also know that a second flap can be stacked inside the frame to make it a bit heavier and hold in the heat a little better. If there are gaps, some adjustments may need to be made. For assistance, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40/
40%
by
I have been using Petsafe doors for my dogs for many years and I have purchased and installed them for family members. They are well made and generally reliable - except with large dogs that tend to give the doors more of a workout. The flap is the only problem we have encountered. It's a recurring problem and in this case, it's a major issue. I don't mind that there is a life cycle to these flaps and that there is a charge to replace them. That's normal. That's not the issue. It's the way the flaps fail to fit tightly long before they wear out and break off. Any breeze can open them as the magnets eventually don't have much holding power.
The way the flap changes shape and fails to return to a vertical position because it deforms with temperature changes, combined with a weak magnet at the base, has us looking at other options. Too much freezing cold air enters or heat exits.
As luck would have it, there is not way to add the other flap(s), the cold weather versions to this model. It's the extra large door/flap. Given the lack of options, it looks like it's time to make something that solves the issue of lost heat in the winter.
It took a long time, navigating the site just to find the door flaps and size charts and discover that we can replace the flap with a flap that doesn't really solve the problem.
The insulated replacement flap kit that fits the Extreme Weather Pet Door doesn't appear to work on the PAC11-11040.
When I purchased the PAC11-11040 I didn't know there was and extreme weather door. It wasn't even offered in the stores I checked out. The large version of the Extreme Weather Pet Door is $119.99 and it's too small. There is no extra large size so this problem won't be solved anytime soon.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Don! Please know that your comments and concerns will be passed along to the appropriate parties for research and development purposes. You may find it helpful to know that it is possible to stack a second flap up inside of the frame to make it a bit heavier to ward off cold weather. We are sorry to read that the Extreme Weather Door was not available locally, and can understand your frustration! We would like to find a solution for you, if you are in a rush, give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. We will also contact you privately via email.

Rating
40/
40%
Melted12/5/15
by
The door is nice, and installation is not bad, but there are two problems.

First, the aluminum sides are not fused together at the corners. What ends up happening is the top of the aluminum frame bends in over time and obstructs the sliding plastic insert. This can be bent back, but it has to be done often.

Second is the flap will warp if you live in a hot climate. There is now a large gap on the side of the flap which lets a lot of AC and heat out. They should sell replacement flaps if they are going to make a deficient product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to read of the trouble that you have experienced with your Freedom® Aluminum Door. Please know that the frame should be fused at the corners, and that we do sell replacement flaps. For troubleshooting and assistance, as well as replacement flap options, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Not sure what took us so long to change doggie doors, but the last ones we had were so loud when the dogs would come in and out of the house this one is so quiet, love it. Our dogs run through them like they are invisible and we have 2 doggie doors.
Customer Service is fantastic, always always have been such a great help through the years.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I wonder if the key to this door is installation is the quality of the door it is being installed in, I had a carpenter install an XL door for my German Shepherd and three smaller pets.

My front door is about 70 years old and even though it was uneven due to ridges the carpenter was able to deal with that. My carpenter did use his own bolts and nails that were sturdier so I would recommend having a professional install it

My pets love the doggie door and it seems very sturdy after a month of use. I plan on ordering a replacement flap to have on hand. It seemed much better made than what I saw at some pet stores.

We will see how it holds up to inclement weather this winter. So far I am very happy with this purchase as it is saving me 400 dollars a month for a pet walker.


Rating
40/
40%
by
Bought the extra large door and the frame is good quality but when trying to fasten the two pieces together the give you little plastic fake bolts. These plastic things are horrible and as soon as you go to tighten them they just break in half. The dog door is ok but before you attempt installing it you have to go to the hardware store and but real bolts to put it together with.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

I am sorry to read that the PetSafe Aluminum Pet door has not met your expectations. The screws are plastic so that they are easy to cut down to your specific needs depending on the thickness of the people door in which you install the Pet Door. The plastic screws also are able to bend and contract with temperature changes and installation as flexibility is extremely important. I hope this information is helpful, if you have further questions or concerns, please call our Customer Care Center directly at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I needed to replace a PetSafe large size wall-mount pet door with an X-Large when we added a big male Great Pyrenees to the family. The original door worked flawlessly multiple times every day for almost 3 years and was still as good as new when replaced. Since PetSafe doesn't make an X-Large wall mount, I chose to stick with the brand by modifying the installation of an X-Large door-mount. I called Customer Service to try to buy a part I needed but couldn't find online after an issue with my modification. I received quick helpful assistance that exceeded my expectations. PetSafe went out of their way to make sure I was able to meet my needs. The dog took to the door quickly and I expect this one will also last for years like the last one given its apparent quality.

Rating
20/
20%
by
Expect to purchase a new flap every 6 months to a year. They keep on ripping and you'll have to spend $40-$65 for a new one every time. This unit has a very bad design. Screws going through the plastic on top will rip every time no matter what you do. We are going so far as to ordering a new storm door and starting over with a different doggie door company. I emailed the company and no answer. I've been buying flaps since 2005.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:
We are terribly sorry for the continued issues you have had with your door flaps. Please be aware that both our doors and replacement flaps come with a one-year warranty that covers product defects. Depending on how the damage has been caused, this could most certainly be covered under the terms of the warranty. Please give our Customer Care Center a call at the number 1-800-732-2677 to discuss the issue and possible solutions or warranty replacement options. Alternatively, you may contact us by email by filling out the Contact Us form at the following link: http://www.petsafe.net/support/contact-us We apologize that you did not receive a response to your previous email. By filling out this form, it will ensure that we will receive your email and will reply as soon as possible.

Rating
80/
80%
by
I was replacing an existing pet safe door that lasted about 3.5 years. The door I was replacing was one of the doors that came built into the storm door I got from Lowes. The flap was well past the time of replacement and my dog was pushing the limits of getting through the door, so I decided to buy an XL door to replace it.
The instructional video was good and since I already had a hole to begin with, I only had to make this one bigger.
The instructions of the sheet were a little small (you guys might want to invest in a bigger font for us with glasses).
The only challenges that I had were in the removing of metal (as per the instructions) to support a 3/8 inch thick door.
Once I removed the metal (using piers as the instructions say) I now have a sharp (unpainted) edge that is exposed to the dogs.
I had a sharpening stone that I used to file down the edges, then I used some vinyl shelf paper to wrap the edge. (It would be nice if pet safe included some type of edging (tape or something) to take care of this.
The project took about 4 hours from the time it took to remove the door until the time I put it back up and clean up.

The unit itself (brand new) is sealing fine, It's currently raining and windy, but we are not feeling it. I haven't' changed out any hardware. I'll post again in a few months to let you know how it holds up.

Rating
20/
20%
by
After our new lab pup chewed the flap off our previous Petsafe door, we installed a new door because a replacement flap was no longer available for the older model. This door is nowhere near the quality product that the previous one was. Our older door was 15 years old and still going strong, despite the fact that our 85 lb. lab would tear through it like there was no tomorrow. The flap on the new door is made of much flimsier material, and even though I have tried to adjust it several times, it either bows inward or outward, allowing cold air in the house. Our older door was thick enough to hang straight, and sealed much better than this version. Also, the magnet on this door is much weaker and doesn't slide up and down to meat the door like the older models did. In addition to these flaws, the way in which the flap attaches to the door is sub-standard, with under-size screws and an adjustment system that doesn't stay put after a few uses. We have been very disappointed in this product, and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I have never written a review of a product before, but felt compelled to write one on this one. It's sad when a company allows an inferior product to reach the market and sours its reputation in the mind of a previously very satisfied customer.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear of the trouble you've had with your flap, and we would be happy to help. If your flap is bowing easily, it may be warped and need to be replaced. Many customers have also found success in weighing down the flap by adding an additional flap to the door. The flaps used for this door are designed to be adjusted at the top so that the bottom of the door can catch and close properly. For more information on getting a replacement or additional flaps, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I purchased my first pet safe door 6 years ago and had to replace it after 2 years because my then youngest sheppard mix pulled it out of the door...yes, the whole frame! I had to scramble to find another one and purchased the XL Freedom Aluminum door. I had to fix part of the back door but once that was complete, this door was a breeze to put in! I had to make a few adjustments as the new door did not line up screw holes with the old one...no big deal. I purchased the insulating kit which made a big difference. I've read many reviews from folks stating this door doesn't hold up. I completely disagree! I have 2 sheppards, both 100 lbs and my 14 month old is a BULL IN A CHINA SHOP! She barrels thru that door like the world is on fire and of course the flap will slip eventually but it takes a few seconds to tighten them back up. I've only had to do this once since installing it 4 years ago and that was today. I live in the south and this door holds up beautifully with our rainy season and humidity. I will always go with a PetSafe door and you should too!

Rating
80/
80%
by
Having read reviews about the flap slipping with pet use. What I did when I installed 2 of these doors was to replace the wimpy screws that hold the flap in place with 8/32 screws, washers and locking nuts. I had to drill out the holes in the frame,flap and holding brecket for the flap. I also doubled up the flap on the the door that is outside for added wind protection (as the company suggested). They have been up for 3 months and there has been no slippage on the doors. They are still working without any issues. We have a house with 6 cats who use the door frequently. You could get out of the drilling with use of smaller screws to bolt it together I just had this size at home. If petsafe used better screws to hold the flap or a better/thicker flap bracket this would not be an issue for the door. But it was a simple fix to make them an outstanding product without the major problem that many have complained about in the reviews. I would buy this product again

Rating
100/
100%
by
We have quite a few dogs over the years and 5 years ago we decided to try a doggie door. I was skeptical our dogs would use it but I am pleasantly surprised as to how good it is and how much they use it. Our smallest dog takes one piece of kibble at a time and takes it outside, through the doggie door, to eat it. Each meal time it is hilarious to hear the flap magnet click and clack back and forth many times while she eats her meal. Sometimes she just stands outside with her head peeking in through the door while she watches our other dog eat his meal. When he finishes she starts in on hers and the back and forth routine. The door was easy to install performance is exceeding my expectations.

Rating
80/
80%
by
We have had our current petsafe door going on 8 years and just need to replace the flap for the second time. The installlation was not a breeze - taking an aluminum door down and cutting a hole in it is not for everyone. But this product has made it possible for us to have a dog and not have it dictate our schedule. She is happier because she can go out and play or potty whenever. And we love being able to have a flexible schedule. Hire a professional to talk to about which door to install it on and have them install it. If you don't have the right setup - it will not work as well.

Rating
40/
40%
by
This dog is not anything like the door it replaced. This door lets in all kinds do cold air, we are in Michigan. The problem is that the magnetic door strip is not strong enough to hold the door closed. You would think since the complaints continue to be posted that someone would fix this problem! I also called the company and visited them at a trade show. Since this door was put into the wall of my house, at a large expense, and since the companies other doors are not the same size we are stuck with this problem. I am very disappointed since the previous model of this door was very well done. Apparently, no one at this company is listening to these complaints. Do not buy this door. PS We did add the second flap, that the company genius suggested, to no avail.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the design of the Freedom Aluminum Pet Door did not meet your expectations. Please know that this door does have a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to discuss replacement options with you. If you have 2 flaps on your pet door and they still do not stay shut, there may be other doors that would better fit your needs and environment. For instance, our Passport™ Pet Door and Electronic SmartDoor™ offers a "locked" mode that will unlock when the pet is within range of the door, and close the flap once your pet is out of range. Please know that we would be happy to offer a Loyalty Discount on any door you see available on our website. For more information on the Electronic Doors, please access the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/doors/electronic-doors

Rating
60/
60%
by
The door is not as effective in keeping the hot/cold air out. The screws came loose in a few months and I replaced them with better screws which still loosen and let the door sag. I had to shrink the previous XXL wall opening to install the new door. Not a hard task. I used larger border trim boards on the outside wall, install a new stud to in the wall and patch the sheet rock. Putting the door in a wall framed with 2x6 lumber is not easy anyway.
The dogs have no problems going in or out.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your feedback regarding the Freedom Aluminum Door. We do understand there are differences in the Freedom Aluminum doors from the older style design which can be frustrating.We are glad to know that you were able to modify your wall opening to fit the newer style door. Please know that often times adding a second flap to your Freedom door can help weigh the flaps down and decrease drafts. The additional flaps can be found at the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/replacement-flap

Rating
40/
40%
by
I have owned two of these doors in X-large. Why two? Because once you buy one and put it in there is a big gaping hole in your door. First off the installation is tricky and frustrating. The template provided is too skinny and flimsy. The holes do not line up well and overall it is just not a fun experience. Could be designed way better. We have put a man on the moon after all. Secondly the quality is poor. The flap buckles and warps in no time at all leaving big gaping holes letting in the draft. We have just had a week of -30 weather so i know first hand.
The most aggravating thing of all is the flimsy way the flap is attached to the frame! Teeny little screws that undo on their own and fall out! I have to check them regularly and tighten or they disappear! I plan on drilling the holes out bigger and putting in different screws which ticks me off because i paid $150 for this piece of crap. Do not buy one.


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize to hear about the problems you've encountered with your Aluminum Door! We can understand how frustrating it can be to purchase a product and have experience difficulty. Please know that we are always looking to improve our products and we do appreciate your feedback. This door does include a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer replacement assistance. The flap should be held on by our screws and a mounting bracket to ensure the screws stay in place. If your door is missing this bracket, we would be happy to assist you in getting one. To learn more about the warranty, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.


Rating
100/
100%
by
We have 2 lab mixes and a huge clumsy elephant in a china shop German Shepherd, 6 cats and the occasional foster pet or pet sitting for friends. Our door sees more action than grand central station. We have had absolutely no problems. We hired a professional contractor to install it, he used screw glue to make sure it stayed secure and it has been perfect since day one. The cats tend to lift the flap with their claws before going through, but the flaps have held up very well. I would not hesitate to recommend Pet Safe doors and I would buy another just like it if I were to need another. My only problem isn't Pet Safe's fault other then our flap is more of a smoke color. A few of the cats enjoy laying in wait right at the flap waiting for their next victim to try to enter or exit, then they swat whoever tried to use the door. It would be VERY helpful if the animals could see through the flap!! Why this isn't an option I don't understand.

Rating
100/
100%
Great door1/9/14
by
I had this door installed in the medium size for my cat and small dog. It works great. Because of the thickness of the wall we bought two of these, one for the inside going out and the other for the outside coming in. My son, who did the installation, built a little wall structure between the two doors. It doubled the price but is well worth it. We've had it for about 7 months now and even in sub zero temperatures very little cold air comes in. I anticipate we will need to replace the plastic from time to time but that looks easy enough. Yes, I think our energy bill will be improved. Our animals were wanting to be in and out all the time. It's certainly saved on my energy of not having to get up and open and close the door all the time!

Rating
60/
60%
by
We like the dog door but it seems we are constantly adjusting the flap as the screws seem to come loose too often. This makes the door flap fall to the bottom of the frame which is now causing gaps on the edges and the cold air just blows in all day. Is there any kind of thicker (fuzzy) edge that can be put in place of the one that comes with the door that won't interfere with the flap opening and closing? Also any ideas for keeping the screws from loosening all the time?
Thank you

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your PetSafe Aluminum Pet Door! Please know that the screws on this door are designed to fit into the Flap Holder which should prevent them from loosening. We do offer 2 different types of weather stripping in the Pet Door Installation Kit (available at the link below), or many hardware stores have a variety of adhesive-backed stripping that you could use. If you need further assistance, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/pet-door-installation-kit

Rating
20/
20%
by
I have four dogs, two of them are Great Danes and the smallest is a Lab.
We purchased an XL dog door one year ago and the flap is now falling off, all the screw holes are torn except two.
A new flap for this is $70 for just a sheet of rubber. I think this is to much for this product, and I refuse to pay this amount.
It is cheaper to buy a replacement door for the house then it is for the dog door, guess which one I will be buying.

Rating
80/
80%
It's ok12/29/13
by
The instruction guide for the cut out is perfect. The door fits perfectly.
The door isn't made for the boxing ring, but it serves the purpose nicely.
The door flap will move, so I just readjust it when it gets out of line. Very simple, a Phillips head screw driver line it back up and it's perfect with the magnet again. This is NOT a door I would use for an outside wall, you will get a draft.

I would recommend this door if you just want a simple door that will give your pet some freedom. I have 9 German Shepherd dogs in and out all day and night through this door. They will slam through this door, and so far it's held up well, but I have only had it installed 6 months.

Like everything, there is always room for improvements, this door is fine for what it is.

Rating
40/
40%
by
This is the second house we have put a pet safe door in. We like the products but wish the Freedom Aluminum XL came with a weather insulating kit, if not in the box then available to purchase separately on line. Because of the opening on the sides the cool/warm air comes in the house. depending on wind, rain comes in the sides and the flap is easily blown inward which allows even more rain to come in the house. We have also gotten critters in the house, i.e. mice, lizards, and spiders. How difficult can it be to provide a XL weather resistant kit. There is already a replacement flap, just need the center.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you continue to use our products. We understand how drafts through your petdoors must be frustrating. Please know that we do have a Universal Installation Kit which does include weather stripping to fit around the frame of your door. Also, to give your Freedom doors better wind resistance, you can add an extra flap to your door. Dual flaps are heavier and less likely to blow open in strong winds. You can view the Install kit at the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/pet-door-installation-kit

Rating
40/
40%
by
I had a Hale pet door in a previous house and it was a great product. I bought a new house and asked the door manufacturer to incorporate a dog door on an exterior door. The chose a PetSafe door. It is very poor. The flap is so light that when the wind blows the flap opens and has allowed leaves and other items to enter our basement. In addition, the flap is so loose it allowed our "indoor only" cat to realize it could escape, which it did. Now, I am stuck with an expensive exterior door with a "cheap" PetSafe dog door. I am going to have to upgrade to their Extreme Weather Door. I hope it is better than the Freedom door.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your Aluminum Pet Door. Please know that to help decrease drafts, you can add an additional flap to your frame. If you are interested in a door that would only allow certain pets to enter or exit your home, you may want to look into our Electronic Doors. They can be viewed at the link below. If you'd like to discuss your options further, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/doors/electronic-doors

Rating
40/
40%
by
I bought 12 X-Large doors for my kennels building.
4 of the dogs have gone thru 6 flaps in less than a year.
they just rip the doors off
2 of them were overnight.
They grab them and just rip and pull ---the small top screws out of the wall.
I go out in the morning and the flap and screws are laying on the ground.
Plastic should be more durable and screws should be larger and not so close to the edge of the plastic. would not recommend them again. Does not pay to keep replacing the plastic and overnight they rip them off. Frustrated and now it is 19 degrees outside and I have a big hole in the wall of 2 of them today.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the design of your Freedom Aluminum Doors are not meeting your expectations. Please know that we are always looking for ways to improve our products and appreciate your feedback! Unfortunately, these flaps are made of a material flexible enough to allow the pets to easily exit and enter the pet door. If the flaps are damaged due to a manufacturer error, we are happy to replace these flaps within the 1 year limited warranty. If your pets seem to find the flaps to be a great chew toy, you may want to look into some of our busy buddy toys to help deter that behavior. You can view these products provided at the link below. To discuss replacement options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/pet-care/toys

Rating
60/
60%
by
I have 6 dogs. 2 small and 4 mid size. I own 2 of these doors. One in the door going into the garage and other in my garage door going into the yard. The flaps buckle over time, the screws fall out and are forever lost in the grass. They don't keep out the cold. Dogs tend to always push on the door at the corner, never the middle so the door holes tear out in that corner first. After the first screw hole tears thru, they all start to follow. No matter how hard you try to save it. My dogs will pull off the magnetic strip that slides onto the bottum of the flap and chew them up. Once you have cut a big hole in your door though, you are stuck with this doggie door.

Rating
60/
60%
by
I had the doggy door for my four beagles on my door to my backyard. It was great to have it but after two years having it but its' flap got kinda warped that cold air or heat keeps coming in my house. My electric and heating bills may have gone up because of it. I know what the customer service is going to write an apology to their customers but it's not good enough. That product is supposed to last longer than two years for its' worth. Come on.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your PetSafe Freedom Aluminum Pet Door. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review.

We do offer replacement flaps for your pet door through our Customer Care Center. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
60/
60%
by
We have used several of both your cat and dog doors throughout the years with no complaints. However, this X-Large Aluminum frame has 2 things that need to be addressed.
First, the 6 screws that hold the flap in place extend a 1/2" on the outside of the door but are uncovered. These need to have some simple plastic safety caps on them.
Secondly, due to the X-Large size of the flap on this model, it should have a better magnet on the bottom to keep it shut. A slight breeze blows it open, The magnets on the large model are bigger and do an excellent job of keeping it closed.

Rating
60/
60%
by
We have used several of both your cat and dog doors throughout the years with no complaints. However, this X-Large Aluminum frame has 2 things that need to be addressed.
First, the 6 screws that hold the flap in place extend a 1/2" on the outside of the door but are uncovered. These need to have some simple plastic safety caps on them.
Secondly, due to the X-Large size of the flap on this model, it should have a better magnet on the bottom to keep it shut. A slight breeze blows it open, The magnets on the large model are bigger and do an excellent job of keeping it closed.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the Freedom™ Aluminum Door has failed to meet your expectations. We do value your feedback on the safety of the flap screws and magnets and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. To give your single flap pet door better wind resistance, you can add an extra flap to your door. Dual flaps are heavier and less likely to blow open in strong winds. An additional flap should also fit on the same installation screws that the single flap uses, which can help reduce the exposed ends. You can order an additional XL freedom flap at the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/replacement-flap