Close
#

Extreme Weather Doors

Reviews

57% 100% 30
Overall
%
(30)
#
Ratings Breakdown
30 reviews
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
5
2 star
10
1 star
5

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Extreme Weather Doors
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
excellent, 10/19/14
by
I live in florida and bought this to keep the air conditioning from escaping. I like the fact there are three flaps and it closes tightly to preserve the coolness in the house. I woukd highly recommend this product.

Rating
80%/
80%
Door worked fine except for the cover, 10/13/14
by
I reviewed the wimpy cover by itself, so to me this is strictly about the door. The door itself was fine. It seemed to do what it said it could. One of the dogs living at my house tore up the flaps because the cover couldn't stay on the outside to keep him from getting to it (I will blame the dog for this as well, because the other dog living at my place didn't even try). With that being said, while the flaps got ruined, the dog door stayed in place, even with use of the nylon screws. Using different techniques to keep the dog from trying to bore his way into the house, the dog would try very hard to get in, and through that whole issue, with him literally trying to tear his way in, the dog door didn't move a muscle. So to me the door is fine, its the wimpy cover that needs to be fixed.

Rating
80%/
80%
Excellent for Michigan Weather, 10/12/14
by
Since I installed the Large Extreme Weather Door several years ago, it has endured extreme Michigan winters and 4 large dogs. I just now have to replace the insulated panel and one flap. The only reason I gave it four out of five stars is that the plastic snap-on closing panel can easily be removed by my dogs and does not stay on without having something propped up against it. I would love to have a cover/panel for this door that prevents access by my dogs, wildlife and burglars.

Rating
60%/
60%
Won't keep them out of the house, 9/13/14
by
I have this door installed in an exterior door going in to the kitchen. It does work better at keeping the cold out than any other door I've tried. When the weather changes things do shift around so the flaps don't match up to the edges the same way in the summer as they do in the winter so cold air does still come around it. It's not too bad. However, if you have big, persistent dogs like I do, you should probably find something stronger. I haven't had any problems with the door or the flaps, but the plastic door cover is terrible. It's a piece of plastic that snaps on both sides of the door, not a nice piece of metal that fits in a frame like the other doors. My dogs soon figured out that if you hit the door hard enough the sides will break and in they go. You can also put the door on the outside, they figured out how to dig at the edges until they pried the cover off. Overall, it works well if you let the dogs go in and out all the time but if you need to keep them locked in or out you'll probably need something different.

Rating
20%/
20%
only great in the sunny weather, 8/30/14
by
This door has been installed since spring and I am dreading winter. This door does not hold up and will never make it past the winter. I have it in an outer wall and my husband has noted with the wind and rain it does not protect our interior room. I am needing to find a better permanent replacement; the protective door does not come off easily and is a struggle for me to use. It is a great fair weather door but I feel it fails miserably overall. My pups fly in and out and it is already falling apart. I purchased a medium door for under 20 pound dogs. I already need to buy some replacement parts just until I get a new door. I cannot imagine my pet store recommended this product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Extreme Weather Pet Door did not meet your expectations! We can understand your concern for the coming winter months, and we would be happy to offer assistance! Please know that this product is covered by a 1 year warranty, and our representatives are standing by to help with any issues or questions you may have regarding your pet door, and maybe suggest other doors that may better suit your needs. Please call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. We look forward in hearing from you!

Rating
100%/
100%
Works Great for Us, 8/16/14
by
We live in Texas and have a west-facing back door. We bought the Extreme Weather Door because I wanted to limit the amount of air that passes through. After 4 years of 100+ degree summers, and a couple of freezing winters, the door is still holding up. I have only recently considered buying a replacement flap for the outside as it has started to warp. But, even though the outside flap is not longer a complete seal, the inside flap still works perfectly. We also used the plastic screws that came with the kit, and have had no problems. If you're not a huge fan of the plastic screws, you can just buy some metal ones from the hardware store (which I did on a previous dog door). We now have a tiny dog that can't make it out the big dog door, so I will be purchasing a second small Extreme Weather Door to install alongside the big one.

Rating
40%/
40%
installation nightmare!, 5/2/14
by
I just installed this door today. I am so upset with Petsafe because the door is so poorly made. The center black panels are cheap plastic and DO NOT hold together to install. Then they send out 8 skinny and weak plastic bolts to be inserted into both sides of the door. They strip easily and bend. If you are lucky enough, after hours of trying to get the black plastic centers to hold in their slots long enough to insert the bolts that they bend and you have an entire other frustrating problem. I would head directly to the lumber storet to buy new boltsl I really hope that Petsafe can engineer a better inside black panel device for as much money as they charge. I hope this door last for a great while cause I will not buy another one unless the upgrades I mentioned are done!!!
5/1/2014 Phoenix, AZ

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize that the design of the Extreme Weather Door has failed to meet your expectations! We can understand how installing a new pet door can be frustrating. Please know that the nylon screws are used with our pet doors to provide protection against rust and water damage. They are also less prone to expansion and contraction from extreme temperature changes, and are less likely to cause damage to the frame of your pet door or people door over time. For assistance with the black panels and installation, we do offer a video that can be accessed by using the link below:

LINK: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bgn3R_RCtsU&list=PL35699258CD2E61A3

Please know that these doors have a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer replacement assistance with any parts that you may need. To learn more about the warranty, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.


Rating
20%/
20%
junk door, 3/29/14
by
Lasted about 6 months and then the plastic was cracking. Then I found the outside flap and top plastic broken off on the ground. Also flap blows open in the wind. Extreme weather. NOT.

Rating
40%/
40%
Works well for a short time, 2/27/14
by
I bought this door in July 2012. My dog rarely uses it because I stay at home and let her outside during the day. At night, I open up another door off to my kitchen so she can go in and out as she pleases. The plastic piece that holds that flap has broken. So, I cannot simply purchase a replacement part. The entire door would have to be replaced. This part broke in December of 2013, just outside of the one year warranty. I paid $90 for the large sized. Prior to that part breaking, the magnetic seal wasn't working well, and the wind was opening the door.

The first few months it seemed to work as it should.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Extreme Weather Door has failed to meet your expectations and understand how frustrating this situation can be. Please know that this product does have a 1 year limited warranty, but outside of that warranty, we are willing to work with you to find a solution. If you would like to discuss this issue further, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Flap came off when plastic frame broke., 2/6/14
by
Have this door in Large size. Have had it for six months. I live in montana. The doors plastic frame broke at the top and the flap came off. The door does not get heavy use. I am disappointed that it didn't last longer. The product is named "extreme weather". And for over a hundred bucks it should hold up better!

Rating
20%/
20%
Not happy, 1/27/14
by
The ultimate door was a much better door with a much better and more secure closing panel. The closing panel is so hard to get off my 80 year old mother called me because she can't get it off to let the dog use the door. We just put this new door in yesterday and already she can't use it because the panel won't come off. Also, wind blows right around the panels where the ultimate door didn't blow open near this much or as easily. And since the other door was discontinued we had to have a box built into the door to make the new door fit. Seems like if your going to change size you could at least sell some sort of box that can be inserted for sizing so that the new door will work. If my husband wasn't handy my Mother would have had to simply have a big hole in her door until she was able to get something done. Entire experience has been horrible.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize that the design of the Extreme Weather Door has failed to meet your expectations! We are always looking to improve our products, and we do appreciate your feedback. Please know that the older style pet doors came in various sizes and were discontinued in an effort to provide a more uniform style of replacement flaps for all current and future versions of the PetSafe pet doors. For this particular door, the closing panel has 2 small tabs, one on each side, that should allow the panel to be removed with ease. You can adjust the outer flap on your pet door by loosening the screws in the Flap Support and moving the flap vertically or horizontally. This step is featured on page 5 of your manual which is provided at the link below. If you still have questions regarding your Pet Door, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/doors/door-wall-entry/extreme-weather-door#install-setup

Rating
80%/
80%
Great door for about 2-4 years, 1/15/14
by
Yes, I too am now looking for parts or will need to replace the whole thing. Had to do the same thing in the house previous to this one. However, I do understand...the price was good...but they are made to need a part or to replace in about 2-4 years.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great value!, 1/12/14
by
We bought this door in June 2009 and it just now (January 2014) needs replacing after extreme cold temperatures caused the plastic to crack and the flap to break off. We have had two or three dogs that use the door multiple times a day. This door was the first we tried and we have been very happy with it. We're headed out today to hopefully find a replacement of the exact same door.

Rating
40%/
40%
Do not Buy - Retreat......!, 1/7/14
by
1) Cheap Quality.
2) I would not recommend. I was dissatisfied. My previous installation was much easier.
3) Cheap Plastic Screws, I had to go buy new ones.
4) The led cover SNAPS on, instead of making it a slide door. It is easily to pop off and most likely I will have to request a new one soon.
5) I wish this was durable materials instead of disposable temporary materials
6) Difficult installation ( Not impossible )_ but difficult.
The four walls along the door, plus the two frames are nightmare to put together.
It is difficult to match the multiple walls to match the front and back plate frames.
I think that a better design should have been built.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize that the design of the Extreme Weather Door has failed to meet your expectations! We are always looking for ways to improve our products, and we do appreciate your time and feedback. Please know that the nylon screws are used with our pet doors to provide protection against rust and water damage. They are also less prone to expansion and contraction from extreme temperature changes, and are less likely to cause damage to the frame of your pet door or people door over time. For assistance with installation, we do offer a video that can be accessed by using the link below. Please know that these doors have a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer replacement assistance with any parts that you may need. To learn more about the warranty, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bgn3R_RCtsU&list=PL35699258CD2E61A3

Rating
80%/
80%
Pretty good door, 1/6/14
by
I got this door to go in a greenhouse wall. I had to take the yellow flap out because my dog was confused by a door he couldn't see through. I may put it back now that he's used to it. My only issue is the cover. It snaps over the top instead of sliding in a groove. This will not stop the wildlife in my area. They'll just push the cover in and come on in themselves. I'll have to put something heavy in front of it after I put the flap on. I wish it came in a size about 2" bigger in all dimensions as well.

Rating
60%/
60%
Disappointing, 12/30/13
by
I upgraded to an Extreme Weather door since the opening faces the wind and snow. The three flap system does a great job at sealing the entry. However, the stiffness of the combined layers effectively reduces the size of the opening and our dogs and cat have difficulty passing though.
My second disappointment lies with the materials: plastic screws and plastic frame all around. The cover for the door is not a slider, but a weak snap on plastic cover that is difficult to remove.
Third, the plastic frame broke and with it went the outer flap. This is the same as others have reported. We are just out of the 1 year warranty and will have to replace the door in full. I will replace with the same model, but sure to keep my receipt as I expect regular failures.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your Extreme Weather Door! We can understand how frustrating it must be to have a door not meet your expectations. Please know that plastic is used for the design of the door due to the fact that metal can conduct cold weather. Vinyl screws also help prevent contraction and expansion which can damage the door. Because it is the frame that is damaged, the door itself would have to be replaced. Please know that we do offer replacement assistance even if you are outside your 1 year limited warranty. If you need assistance in replacing your door, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
Worked great for a year...then broke, 12/27/13
by
Outside plastic cracked at the top where the flap attaches. I assume it was a combination of the cold and use. It lasted just over a year. My recommendation is get a metal framed door, they cost more but it's cheaper than replacing it every 2 years. The door worked but you get what you pay for in terms of quality.

Rating
40%/
40%
Plastic door frame and extreme cold, 12/7/13
by
I have read one of the reviews for this product from an individual that lives in Colorado, as do I. We have been experiencing very cold temperatures and this morning I found the outermost door of my Extreme Weather dog door lying broken on the ground. Upon examination, I discovered that the plastic frame had broken at the upper corners and there is no possibility of repairing it without purchasing another door for $130. Very disappointing, considering the rest of the door is still intact. Outer door frames should be included as replacement parts, or the frames should be constructed of metal to prevent what appears to be a common problem.
Otherwise, I am satisfied with the product overall.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are always looking for ways to improve our products and we do appreciate your feedback and suggestions! Please know that your comments have been forwarded on to the Pet Access Team for review. We would love to help find a solution for you and your situation. Please know that this door has a 1 year limited warranty. Even after a year, we do offer a loyalty discount on a replacement door. To learn more about this discount, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
Good basic door, 12/5/13
by
I have had one of these for about 4 years and am looking to replace it because the outside frame has broken where the outer flap attaches. Up until now it has been great and I will get another. I have a large dog that flies through this thing and I couldnt believe it lasted as long as it did. I would recommend this to a friend. Mine is located out of the wind for the most part, so I don't have trouble with it blowing the flaps around. I have tried $300 doors that didn't last more than a year. A true weather proof door will never be found in a plastic "flap" system, but this is pretty good. Electronic doors in the $750 - $1500 range + installation and electrical are the only way to seal out the wind. This is a good product at a good price.

Rating
40%/
40%
Not a great product, 12/2/13
by
I purchased this product because there is no longer a replacement flap sold for the previous PetSafe model that I had purchased. The “extreme weather door” “sort of” works but it is far from what I would call a good product.

What I did not like:

1. The door is poorly designed in terms of function. The flaps don’t always close completely and even when they do, there are small visible air gaps. (Yes, even after careful adjustment.)
2. I would not describe this as an “extreme weather door.” With three flaps, it is simply better than some of the other PetSafe models in terms of keeping out the wind and decreasing heat transfer.
3. The product description says “Fits doors 1 5/8 x 2 1/4 inches thick.” (I believe the “x” in that statement should be a dash.) Not exactly. If your door is 2 ¼” or is built up to that thickness, then the plastic screws that come with the door will not protrude far enough to go into the nuts. I had to purchase 4 longer bolts to solve this problem.
4. The optional step of using duct tape (not supplied) to reinforce the inside core plastic panels speaks volumes about the lack of quality of this product.
5. The directions were poorly written. There were also missed opportunities to label parts (for example “left” and “right”) that would have made the assembly instructions clearer, made assembly faster, and decreased opportunities for error. This product made me appreciate IKEA, which puts a lot of effort into the design of their customer assembled products.
6. Sometimes (depending on door thickness) some of the plastic parts have to be cut along one of several parallel grooves in the plastic. Unfortunately, some parts had fewer such grooves than other parts, which is ultimately going to cause a problem for some customers with certain door thicknesses.

What I liked:

1. The product can be purchased online.
2. The product was delivered quickly.
3. The product was nicely protected in its shipping carton.

Rating
40%/
40%
Cheap, 11/30/13
by
Same thing here, worked ok first year now outside flap and yellow insulated flap broke off from top support. Inside flap still holding but for how long, Havahart makes a pet door as well but I may be stuck with purchasing another from petsafe since hole is already cut. If thats the case I will be replacing door in garage and purchasing other make of dog door next spring.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the PetSafe Extreme Weather Pet Door has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us or for possible replacement options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Cheap plastic frame dosent cut it. , 11/10/13
by
I agree with the other review on this product. I installed this door in my home a year ago and it did a pretty good job through the first winter. Now it is in pieces, the exterior frame is gone and could be easily replaced if PetSafe only offered the right parts. I am diss appointed in the quality and customer help with this product. I guess I'm off to the garage again to custom retro fit yet another sub standard product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the design of this product has failed to meet your expectations! Please know that this door does have replacement parts, and we do offer a replacement frame at a loyalty discount. We will be attempting to contact you in order to assist in finding a solution to your Pet Door issue. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Chaep plastic door only lasted 1 year, 11/6/13
by
Worked great the first year. Then the yellow flap broke off. Now the plastice flap is broken and the only part left is the cheap plastic the flap frame holds on to (Door part). I thought it was great because my St. bernard could fit thru it, now all I have is a great big hole in my door and it's about ready to snow. I am a senior citizen and don't know how to fix this except board it up, then what good is a doogy door. I've had doogy doors that have lasted 18 years, but this one is sooooooo cheap. You have left me in a quandry. It was a gift from my 75 year old sister and she doesn't know how to fix it either. I don't even know what replacement parts I should order because all that is left is the doggy door frame. Cheap cheap cheap. I could never recommend this to a friend. You are welcome to pay my heating bills this winter.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your PetSafe Extreme Weather Pet Door. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
60%/
60%
Keeps out out the elements but disappointed in the plastic frame ....., 10/4/13
by
I live in a very cold area (-20 to -30) in Colorado and was in need of a doggie door that would keep the cold and wind from coming into the house when the door wasn't in use. I was happy to see that you sold an extreme weather door and purchased it without hesitation. I have three dogs that use the door all day long and for the first year it worked like a charm. Unfortunately, during the second year, the frame holding the outer door flap broke. This hadn't happened with the normal doggie door that I used for a number of years. After I inspected the old door frame and the extreme weather frame, I realized that the older door had a metal frame and the newer door had cheaper, plastic frames. I could accept this if the frame was offered as a "replacement" part but it isn't. So, I now have to buy an entire new door for $130, plus shipping, to get my hands on a probably $1 exterior plastic frame. This is definitely not customer friendly! It's a shame since the door really does a good job keeping out the elements. Please offer a larger selection of replacement parts for this particular door. Given the "extreme" name, it should handle temperatures well below zero where plastic just doesn't cut it.

Rating
20%/
20%
Does not meet description, 9/27/13
by
I bought this item because it was described as "extreme weather". The magnet closure system on the flaps is completely inadequate to hold the door shut in the winds we have here. What I have now is a hole in the door with the flaps blowing inwards. I contacted PetSafe customer support to give the company the opportunity to correct this issue. I was told that there is no fix for my problem. No help there. Now I will search for a competitive item that will fill the hole in my door and will meet the requirement for "extreme weather". This item failed my needs.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation. Please know that they have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review and feedback.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great dog door, 9/23/13
by
I have had this dog door for over 4 years. I was skeptical when I installed it because of all the plastic parts but it hasn't let me down. I have adjusted the flaps a few times over the years to make sure they close properly. I put the cover on every night and remove it every morning and nothing has cracked. We just sold our house and in the process of selling it I cleaned the dog door. Everything looks as good as new. And a dog owner bought our house 3 days after it was on the market!

We are now moving and I wish they made this model in a "Through Wall" configuration for our new house.

Rating
20%/
20%
Weather door frame cheaply made, 8/30/13
by
I have a large weather door with plastic frame. Frame has broken on both sides and based on how it is made it would never last long. The panels are fine the plastic frame has broken in multiple places on both doors after just three years I will have to replace them.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the Extreme Weather Pet Door has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Very Good, 8/17/13
by
It is a bit difficult to install. Needed 3 hands. Perhaps should give it a 4 1/2 because of that. But very much worth the effort. Once in (I installed two), we've got three big dogs that have really put these doors to the test and they have been flawless. These are tough and perform very well. I really like the snap-on covers. We have used them every night for two years and they still work perfectly. Easy on...easy off. This is a very good door.

Rating
40%/
40%
Concept is good but made cheaply, 6/16/13
by
Bought this one to replace an older petsafe door. I like the 3 flaps my dogs will get used to it. The product itself though is not made well. Directions recommend using duck tape to hold the inside plastic frame together, the screws are plastic and I am sure they will become brittle and break eventfully and the cover to give the dog access snaps on I use this every night and I'm sure it will have to be replaced often very easy to push in from the outside. I would recommend buying the aluminum door does not have the extra flaps but this one is not worth the money, trouble and time.

Rating
60%/
60%
Extreme Weather Doors, 5/12/13
by
Replaced the sliding glass doors so had to get rid of the single doggie door, I bought this one and my dog hates it, too many flaps, I took off the middle flap and left the outside n the inside ones only n my dog sill hates it. And since it is not the clear type my dog cannot see in/out, he won't use it. Wasted money

×