Close

Save 10% Through Monday with code THX10

Offer excludes subscriptions.
#

Elite Little Dog Static Remote Trainer

Reviews

58% 100% 10
Overall
%
(10)
#
Ratings Breakdown
10 reviews
5 star
2
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
3

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Elite Little Dog Static Remote Trainer
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
60%/
60%
Still a good collar, but..., 10/3/14
by
I had owned this same collar for many years, and loved it. Works great, easy to use, very effective training device that saved my dog from many potentially disasterous situations. So when I had to replace it (I washed it under the faucet after my dog rolled in something horrible, and I think I overwhelmed its waterproof capabilities,) I bought the same collar again. The training portion of the collar is still great, but the previously high quality, rubberized collar has now been replaced with a cheap, flimsy nylon collar. It's very difficult to adjust, it doesn't stay in place, it loosens as the dog wears it, and since I use it on multiple dogs and can't cut off the excess nylon, my dog trails a long extra flapping piece of nylon. Very disappointing.

Rating
80%/
80%
Pretty good product, 8/4/14
by
I originally bought the big dog collar for my 10 lb shih tzu and used it for about 2 months...and it did great. The dog is much better trained than i could have done on my own. I decided to try the little dog collar because the big one really was just too big for her. the little collar is small enough but..the alert sound is too low and the Buzz..needs to be set high to get a reaction. I guess it's because she was used to the big collar. The collars are really a good investment and as I have said before..it's the same as having an electric dog fence except you are in control. I never or rarely have to Buzz her because she does come when called just by using the tone. I have associated the Buzz with "no" and the tone with "come" and it works like a charm.I have no complaints and have recommended it to family members and they have had good luck as well. It's not harmful if used right.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear of your success with the Elite Little Dog Static Remote Trainer! Because every pet responds differently, this product does offer multiple settings, and we are glad to know you have found what works best for your shih-tzu! If you have any questions or need assistance, please know our product experts are standing by to help. For more information, please call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
I hate the new design of the Elite Little Dog Static Trainer!!!, 4/18/14
by
I had to reorder and when I received my package, I was very disappointed to see that they completely redesigned the remote and the collars for little dogs! I hate the nylon collars -- they don't fit snug and slip easily, plus, the receiver collar component is too heavy for the nylon collar and slips down on my dogs neck unless the collar is really tight and then it's not supposed to be that tight! I am also very disappointed in the smaller rubber on/off buttons on the collars and remote which is difficult to use. The electrodes are shorter, too, and I don't know if they will work as well as the old ones, as I haven't tried it yet. Our dogs respond pretty well to the tone most of the time. I love Pet Safe and I don't know what we would have done without these collars - they have been a true life saver for us because we can let our dogs run around outside without a leash and get them to come back to us without having to yell at the top of our lungs for them! LOL And, it's saved their lives a couple of times from running out into the road when cars are coming and they stop dead in their tracks when they hear the tone! It's just that Pet Safe needs to listen to its customers here and all of our complaints and change the design back to what it was before that worked so well for all of our little dogs! Otherwise, when I have to reorder, I will be looking for another brand. Thanks!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are always looking to improve our products and we do appreciate your time and feedback on this Elite Little Dog Remote Trainer! The redesign of our products are often based on our customer feedback and technology advancements. Please know that your concerns about this newer design had been passed on to the proper team for review. We do value your input, and if you would like to offer more suggestions, we welcome you to become an Idea Partner. For more information about how to join, please use the link below. If you'd like to speak with a Customer Care Representative, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://labs.petsafe.net/

Rating
100%/
100%
Best little dog trainer, 2/16/14
by
I have bought a few collars and this one is the best. It is light and works great my dog responds to tone I do not shock him.

Rating
40%/
40%
Disappointed, 12/12/13
by
We previously owned a petsafe wireless fence which worked well but after moving did not encompass a large enough area. I bought this trainer due to it's range, which is adequate, which is why I gave it two stars, one for range and one for the fact that it does work. The collar works fine as long as the battery is charged. Therein lies the problem with this trainer. The advertised life of the battery is 40-60 hrs, mine has yet made it twenty four hrs. What I can not understand is why a rechargeable collar at all? Why not use the same collar which comes with the wireless fence ?? The batteries in it lasted forever. I spend so much time taking this thing on an off to recharge it, that I hate it ! Wish I had my money back ! Definitely would not recommend it to anyone.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the battery on your Remote Trainer has failed to meet your expectations. The battery life on this receiver is estimated to 40-60 hours on a full charge, depending on use. If you are using this system as a containment method for your pet, it may require more battery life because it may be used more frequently. Please know that we do have other systems or options with your original wireless system that may better suit your needs. If you'd like to discuss these options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may find a solution.

Rating
20%/
20%
Not effective, bad collar fitting, 11/28/13
by
I have a 30 lb Beagle/Shepard mix. She loves to run off and explore and follow that beagle nose of hers and she's stubborn as can be (again, the beagle) and completely ignores my calls for her. I bought this remote trainer at a local Petsmart. She is a slim dog and her neck is small. I adjusted the collar to the smallest it would go and she still couldn't feel a thing, even when I jacked it up to the highest setting of 15! This is the Little Dog Trainer so I can't get any smaller. Like another reviewer, I don't think the nylon collar is appropriate. Just cannot get a good fit and therefore it is ineffective.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear that our design of the Elite Little Dog Static Remote Trainer did not meet your expectations. We do understand how frustrating a poor fitting collar must be, but please know that most of our straps adjust from 6 to 23 inches to fit each pet differently. If your pet does not seem to react to the Trainer, and you know that the system is working properly, you may want to ensure proper collar fit by placing the receiver high on your pet's neck close to her ears. The strap should be snug, allowing 1 finger to fit between the end of contact point and her skin. If she is still not responding to the Trainer, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for more troubleshooting or replacement options.

Rating
100%/
100%
Works great, 10/2/13
by
My dog loves to get loose outside and explore the neighborhood. Catching him is very difficult and time consuming. With the Training Collar, all I had to do was call him and push a button. After the third time, he came to me instead of playing the chase game and he never got more than a half block away.

Rating
20%/
20%
WORST e-collar out there, 8/28/13
by
I bought this collar for my 13 lb dog. She LOOKS at me when I have the stimulation set to 15. LOOKS doesnt yelp, stop what shes doing or anything else just looks SOMETIMES. I tried to exchange the collar for the elite big dog remote trainer but apparently no one can get that here. I called petsafe and they were rude on the phone. Sorely disappointed with this collar. Poor design and function. I also would like to see an exchange able collar strap... I like putting the cinch it collar for use with the e collars.... I can ensure its on proper this way. Nylon simply does not work properly.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation. Please know that they have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review and feedback.

Rating
80%/
80%
Works well for dog-aggressive dog, 8/15/13
by
I got this collar because my usually mild-mannered, little ten pound, Havanese dog would charge through his invisible fence to attack dogs that were passing by, even though the collar was set as high as possible. I was afraid he was going to get hit or chewed up by a larger dog. So I attached this training collar along with the fence collar to break this dangerous habit. I had to set it high and make sure the prongs hit his neck. I corrected him by hitting the button as soon as he hit 'attack mode' and before he crossed the fence. Thankfully, this worked immediately. Since he had been trained during the fence phase to go toward the house with a shock-like feeling, the correction would result in his immediate return to the house. Frankly, nothing else would get his attention when he was in attack mode BUT the collar. I used a sharp 'no' each time and soon he associated my 'no' with the unpleasant correction. Now he stops his dog attacks with a solid 'No!' on most days. Unfortunately, he still needs a reminder once in a while. Maybe, someday, I can take the training collar off of him while he is in the yard.
This collar was the difference between a fail and success with a 1500$ invisible fence. Well worth it.

Rating
20%/
20%
not as reliable as the product it replaced, 7/29/13
by
Was so excited to get a little dog collar with rechargeable batteries AND more distance until I got it and found that due to a change in collar design, the cheapie nylon collar does not keep the electrodes in contact with my dog's neck. Customer service is sending longer electrodes, but the old rubber Petsafe small dog collar worked so well. The Sportdog collars with the wrap around design also work great. I just wanted a tiny, less conspicuous collar. It works great on my wrist, not so great on the dog.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the collar design has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your situation. If you need further assistance, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

×