Close
#

Drinkwell Platinum® Fountain Pump

See Product Details

44 Customer Reviews

84 100 44
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
44 reviews
1 star
2
2 star
3
3 star
5
4 star
9
5 star
25

Add your Drinkwell Platinum® Fountain Pump review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
100/
100%
by
Thank you Angelica! I was ready to order another pump but instead took apart the pump, cleaned it and added a drop of veg oil! Wow, great results. I plan to do better cleaning job in the future too. Happy kitties and mom !

Rating
100/
100%
by
I've had my one and only Drinkwell Platinum fountain for aver 3 years now. At first, I just filled it with water when it was low, and cleaned out the fountain as best I could when it got dirty. I only just found out a few months ago that the face plate came off the pump, so you could actually clean more of it when it got hard water buildup and hair in it, but I didn't know you could completely take it apart! (We have a water softener, but there's still a little buildup over time.) Tonight, my pump completely died on me! I was looking on Amazon to buy a new one, but they didn't have it. I took a chance on a link at the bottom of the page, and it brought me here. I decided to read the reviews of the replacement pump before I bought one, wondering why such a great pump only had 4 stars (not to mention that it's a replacement pump, so if you're buying it to replace an old one, you obviously like the product!) Whilst reading said reviews, one of them was a lower star review, and the response from the company, along with other reviews helped me understand that A) you can take apart the ENTIRE pump, not just the one face plate, and that B) when you do, after it's all cleaned out, by adding a drop of olive oil, it will bring it back to life! That's exactly what happened. One of the responses from the company had a link for the youtube video about how to take the whole thing apart, and then I just added a little bit of olive oil, and voila! My pump works again!! Hopefully I have it for at least another 3 years. Thanks for such a wonderful product!! My cats love it... it's the only water they'll drink! :)

Rating
100/
100%
Love it.9/26/16
by
Ive had this for 2 and a half years now. I finally am having to replace the pump. If I would have taken more care to the pump, I woulnt have to be replacing it.
But the fountain is a Godsend. Love it!

Rating
100/
100%
by
My cats love their Drinkwell Platinum Fountain. This is my second fountain. The pump would not operate on the 1st one after about 3 yrs even though I took it apart every other week and thoroughly cleaned it. My 2nd pump stopped working a couple days ago after I took the fountain apart and I started looking for a replacement pump. Thank goodness I saw your link to the YouTube video on cleaning the pumps. I knew to take the front part off, but never knew to take the inside apart. Well it is now midnight and after seeing this, I just had to try and see if it would work. It did!!! Now my cats are enjoying their running water once again. Thank you for such a great product!

Rating
100/
100%
by
We have had a Drinkwell Platinum Fountain for our cat for many years (the same one). I have had no problems with it since the day of purchase. I clean our the whole assembly every 2 weeks, including taking the pump apart and cleaning all the little parts. Scum will form in this pump, and in the base if you let it go too long. I believe this is one reason that we have had our fountain so long.

Rating
80/
80%
by
My animals love this pump. I had to have something like this because my cat, who recently passed away, had diabetes and he needed water. He loved this petfountain.
I clean it often and I took the pump apart, but it quit on me, to the point that I've purchased this fountain 3 times. Before I knew they sold the pump which I searched and searched, I got my first pet fountain over 6 years ago.
I read a review stating to not only take it apart, but put some vinegar in the water. I did and viola, it works.
I also purchased a show tray from a garden center which helps when there's over flow, or spills.
My suggestion with the pump is take it apart and once you wash it thoroughly, to run it for 30-45 minutes in water with white vinegar, it does wonders.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We're terribly sorry to hear of your cat's passing, Carmen. We're happy to hear how much he loved his Drinkwell Pet Fountain. We're glad cleaning with a bit of vinegar helped get your pump back up and running! If you ever experience an issue with your fountain pump, please give our Customer Care Center a call at 1-866-738-4379 and we'll definitely see how we might be able to help you!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I have had my pet fountain for a little over a year for three cats and a large hairy dog. I add water to the reservoir every day and do general fountain cleaning about every 7-10 days. This included cleaning the exterior of the pump which gets a coating of slime and hair on the intake grates.
Yesterday the pump stopped working. I checked on Amazon to replace the pump and decided to read the reviews. Several people gave excellent advice on how to take apart and clean the pump itself. It was actually very easy. I cleaned mine with paper towel, 2 Qtips and one toothpick that I wrapped with paper towel. I plugged it back in and the water is flowing better than ever!!!
My cats especially love their Pet Fountain. I can't imagine not having it.

Rating
80/
80%
by
[...] a great while playing in Fountain for 4 years the pump stopped working at one point but just a few drops of olive oil fix the problem thank you for your directions on how to maintain the motor. I love Drinkwell products.

Rating
40/
40%
by
Like all the other reviews, I clean the fountain and pump every 7 - 10 days. My cats like the product which is why I purchased a second after the first one failed under a year. It is pretty expensive and as stated - the whole pump cannot be purchased elsewhere. I've noted the 'pat' answer provided by drinkwell...and I'm sure myself and other have to agree. PLEASE stop responding this way. Even with thorough cleaning and care - the product stops working (the pump) within the first year.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Rayvn. We can understand your perspective completely! Quite often we find that many customers are not aware that the pump comes apart, and we try to spread knowledge and ensure that our Customers have every bit of helpful information possible. The pumps are available separately on our website or by calling Customer Care Center to order over the phone. We have quite a few fountains around the office that have been running for over a year. We would love to learn more about your situation and find a way to keep your pumps running for long periods of time. Please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677 so that we can help!

Rating
60/
60%
by
Over all unit works well, but pump requires constant cleaning and finally died after 9 mths.
Neither [retailer] or [retailer] carry parts

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Fred! We are sorry to hear that the pump has failed so soon within the first year. This is most certainly covered under the 1 year warranty! for assistance feel free to give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. Please knot that this is not typical! If a pump is being properly maintained it can often last for years. When the impeller is removed from the pump, please put a drop of vegetable oil or olive oil on the pin inside the pump to lubricate. We also created a video to provide step-by-step information concerning taking the pump apart which can be seen at this web address :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NES1Hw5LuY

Rating
20/
20%
pump failed.7/16/16
by
Pump failed after about 6 months. I cleaned the pump regularly and the whole fountain. The pumps are worthless and you cannot buy them in the store.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, Kathy! These pumps should last for many years if properly maintained, and we are sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience! You may find it helpful to know that these fountains and pumps carry a 1 year warranty and we are here for troubleshooting. Feel free to give us a call at 1-800-732-2677 for assistance. Please ensure that the impeller is being removed from the pump about every 1-2 weeks,, and please also make sure to put a drop of vegetable oil or olive oil on the pin inside the housing of the pump to lubricate and keep it running.

Rating
40/
40%
by
I purchased our Drinkwell Platinum Fountain in April and clean it every two weeks. I use bottled water so the yuck from our City water doesn't clog anything. This was mot a "cheap" fountain and now it is pouring water all over the place. I thought maybe it has been moved and was a little unbalanced, so I moved it and added more water to the reservoir. Two hours later there is NO water in the reservoir because it is all on my floor again. I am disappointed with this. It had worked wonderful up until now.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thanks for sharing your experience with us, Tammy! We're sorry to hear about the leaking issues you are having with the fountain. Please examine your reservoir for any damage such as holes or hairline cracks that could be affecting the water pressure inside the reservoir and causing the leaks. If it continues to leak, please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​ and we would be more than happy to help you get that fountain working correctly.

Rating
40/
40%
by
Water pump failed after 8 months. Our family takes it apart x2 weekly. It has been problematic requiring a great deal of attention. Sadly we just ordered filters for 9 months. We will order a replacement fountain.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear of the difficulty that you have had with your Drinkwell Platinum® Fountain Pump and would like to help! You may find it helpful to know that lubricating the pin inside the pump with a drop of vegetable oil or olive oil can make a huge difference in the overall function of the pump, and that this carries a 1 year warranty. For troubleshooting and warranty assistance please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80/
80%
by
The Drinkwell fountain was working perfectly until I unplugged it to give it a cleaning. After taking off the various plastic parts (leaving the pump intact) I tried plugging it back in and...nothing. Should it just shut down like that as soon as it's unplugged...? I'm not sure whether it can be fixed or whether I need a new pump. Up til then I had no issues. (I received it used with a cat I inherited so I don't know how long they had it). This was the first time it had been unplugged in 3 months.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Sandra! We are sorry to read that you are having trouble with your pump, but we can certainly help out! If your fountain is not flowing, this almost certainly means that you have build-up in your pump.The pumps for the fountains need to be disassembled and cleaned out once every two weeks. Please refer to the video at the following web address for detailed instructions :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NES1Hw5LuY

Please also know that we are here for troubleshooting and assistance, if you have any questions at all, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
No issues with the pump

Rating
100/
100%
by
I have had this about 6 years if not longer best thing i ever payed money for thanks hopefully i can get a replace ment

Rating
60/
60%
by
I've had my Drinkwell Platinum cat fountain for about 2 months. My cat loves it and the pump works fine. However, one of the three rubber suction cups came off when I attempted to lift it out of the bottom because the suction was so strong. I haven't been able to put it back in. I'm ordering a replacement pump to have on hand should another suction cup come off - or as others report here the pump stops working. Right now I'm using the pump with only two of the three cups and it seems to work just fine.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Angela. We are glad to hear that the pump is running well and that your cat is enjoying the hydration that this fountain encourages. We are, however, sorry to hear that a little rubber foot has popped off. Please know that the pump has a 1 year warranty. For troubleshooting and replacement options, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80/
80%
by
This is a gorgeous pump! The cats love it!
Unfortunately, the pump stopped working. I googled around about how to clean it and found youtube videos, including by Drinkwell, but I can't get it open no matter what I do! The pump my fountain came with is the Resun submersible pump, SP-400LV. Thank you in advance for any tips

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are terribly sorry to hear of the difficulty you have experienced and can understand your frustration! Getting these pumps apart for the first time can be tricky. Please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677 so that we can actively troubleshoot the pump for you over the phone.

Rating
60/
60%
by
I have two of the Drinkwell Platinum fountains. I keep having to replace the pumps every 6 - 8 months. It works when I unplug the pump / fountain for cleaning; however, after cleaning when I go to plug the pump back in it does not work. I have just ordered another three pumps because I have already used both spare pumps which I ordered back on 4/7/15. Goes to show that companies make cheap products so they break and you have to replace them often.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are sorry to hear of the distress you have experienced with your pumps. Please know that there are many factors to consider. The pumps are susceptible to power surges, additionally, you want to be certain that the pump is being fully disassembled as it is show in the manual every 1-2 weeks. When the impeller is out f the pump, it may be a good idea to put a smudge of vegetable oil or olive oil on the magnetic end (something safe and consumable). Please also know that the fountain has a 1 year warranty, and if the pumps are purchased separately they have a 90 day warranty. If you have any further questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Whilst cleaning the motor I saw that the insulation protecting the electric wires that run from the motor to the outlet was split. The red of the enclosed wires was visible.

This meant that a motor that worked perfectly could no longer be used. Worse, the cats, who only drink from the fountain cascade, would be off their feed until a replacement motor was in place.

A helpful customer service person talked me through the various alternatives for expedited delivery. She carefully explained that it would take 24 hours of additional time to process the order for delivery.

I bought 2 day delivery. It was late Thursday, so we assumed that I wouldn't get the new motor before Tuesday. In fact, it got here Tuesday morning and the cats were slurping up flowing water again by 3 in the afternoon Tuesday, at least 24 hours earlier than promised.

Well done, everyone! Thank you!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I've owned the Drinkwell Platinum fountain for three years. I clean the fountain weekly and replace the charcoal filters every 2-4 weeks and have never experienced a problem. The cats love the constant stream of fresh, filtered water and I believe are well-hydrated because the stream of water attracts them. I love it because it provides my five cats with a week's supply of fresh water when I travel for business. Today, after cleaning the fountain I noticed the pump didn't immediately come back on when plugged in. I viewed a YouTube video to see how to dismantle and clean it. After a quick three minute process, the pump was cleaned, reassembled and started recirculating the water immediately. If the pump ever does quit permanently, I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another. Thank you for a great product!

Rating
100/
100%
by
We have had our platinum drinkwell for over two years, we had the smaller drinkwell (not sure of the name) previous to this one. I believe the pump went out after about 8 months with the smaller model. We decided since our kitties love the fountain so much we would upgrade. Of course, they were devastated (I am not even exaggerating) when their fountain stopped working. The new pump was in my hands in two days. Kitties are happy and so am I!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I read the comment about how to clean the pump, after it stopped working and I tried it. The pump hasn't worked as well for years. Saved me the hassle and cost of buying a replacement pump. Thanks for the tip. This is a great product and my cats love drinking from the "fountain," especially when it is working well.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I took the advice here about cleaning the pump and the fountain works like new. I clean it every 2 weeks but never realized the motor mechanism came apart for cleaning. Thank you! I didn't mind the $20 but 6 disappointed cats was too much.

Rating
100/
100%
by
After several years the pump started flaking out. It would not start after changing the filter. This site advised me to clean the inside of the pump. It worked!!! Don't be timid. Pull the tube on the pump out. Then gently pull off the front grate. Clean it with q tip or paper towel with a toothpick. Then pull out the black plastic part in front of the fan. Clean it. Then pull out the tiny white turning fan. Clean the built up slime from than and the chamber that hold the fan. It is fairly ease. Then reassemble the pieces step by step. It worked perfectly after a thorough cleaning. My cats are thrilled. They refuse to drink water from a standing water bowl. They love this fountain.

Rating
80/
80%
by
OMG… it stopped working after I cleaned it this morning!! I did not check the website until after I went to the pet stores to look for a replacement pump. I could not find one so I bought a whole new Platinum Fountain. Got home and checked on the net for replacement pumps…. read the reviews and found out I needed to take apart the plastic parts and clean them…. OMG…… thanks…. I can return the new one…. old one works PERFECTLY !!!!!

Rating
60/
60%
by
Before you waste money on a new pump read this! When the pump gets clogged it stops working. All you need to do is take the plastic parts apart, clean them and the pump thoroughly getting all the accumulated gunk out, and Voilà! You just saved yourself twenty bucks!

Rating
80/
80%
by
Pump quit working this am and I saw the other reviews here and called Customer Care and they talked me through the process of cleaning the pump and now it works great again! Happy Cats and happy owner!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I followed Ken's advice, and it worked just fine. Thanks Ken

Rating
100/
100%
10 cats1/10/14
by
I have 10 cats and should probably have 2 fountains. They love it. It makes me happy because I am concerned about 2 of my cats becoming dehydrated. They don't drink enough from bowls, but drink plenty from the fountain. Helen

Rating
100/
100%
by
I followed the directions by Ken and the other. My pump died after 2 or 3 years. I took off the end cap and manually turned the white blades. I also used a paper towel to clean everything off including the intake grate which was pretty clogged too. I put it in a tupperware full of white vinegar and next thing I knew it was running and spitting out all kinds of junk. I rinsed and repeated with white vinegar again, then water. After that I put my fountain back together and it's working. Thanks everyone!

Rating
100/
100%
Ken - thanks1/8/14
by
Just cleaned out the impellor and everything is back and running (after it totally stalled out as yours did). Petsafe, I'll be back here when it does go completely as I really appreciate you leaving this information despite it costing you (short-term) sales.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I have had this fountain about 8 years. I have 3 indoor cats now, in the past, I have had 4 or 5 who were also indoor cats. They are Somalis which do have long hair. The pump would not start up after I cleaned it tonight. I read what people said about cleaning the pump and I did just that. I did not know it would come apart to that extent. It was successful and It is working perfectly. I am happy with the good advice on this site. Thank you Ken for saving me $20 or more.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Thanks Ken et al for your cleaning advise…looked at petco first, glad they didn't have it…just take it apart and clean the nasty gunk and there you go…go as new! :-)

Rating
100/
100%
great product12/13/13
by
I followed ken's advice about removing the end cap by prying it with a small screwdriver. We have hard water, so I put the pump in a small bowl and ran white vinegar through it, and saw a dramatic improvement in flow within 2 minutes, as well as a lot of gunk/particles coming out. I rinsed it out thoroughly, and re-assembled the pump and the fountain. Fountain now runs great, with flow control working again!

Rating
80/
80%
by
My pump stopped working after about 2 years. I took it out of fountain to check it on the counter. Pulling end cap off (flow control attached) I found the white impeller did not move when pump was plugged in. After a slight nudge of impeller (pump off 1st), I found it would work. However, sometimes it would jam when unplugged and need another nudge. My solution: 1. re-assemble pump, 2. fill pump with cooking oil up to top off discharge hole, 3. plug it in again and let it run for an hour on the counter. 4. drain oil and rinse. 5. put fountain back together. I saved a trip to the store and at least $20.

Rating
80/
80%
Cleaning10/14/13
by
I just want to thank the people who suggested taking the pump apart... I didn't even realize you could do that but now it works!!!

***People with long hair*** my pump was stopped because 1 strand of hair was wrapped in the metal... took tweezers and pulled it out and what do you know! It is working! YAY

Rating
100/
100%
Great Product10/10/13
by
I love the Platinum Drinkwell for my cats...although I do have to replace the pump because I have this one cat who has decided wires were a great way to pass the timeby chewing on it. This time I am going to Home Depot to find clear plastic tubing to put the wire through and prevent this from happening again.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Thank you, thank you Lisa & Julian!!! A neighbor of mine gave me this water dish and I absolutely love it! I had been thinking about getting one because with so animals... 4 dogs, 3 cats & 2 birds... a normal water dish gets dirty and the water depleted very quickly. Yes... my birds do drink out of the water dish too... it's like a mini uncaged zoo in my house. : ) About 8 months ago, the pump went and I was very disappointed. I thought about buying a new dish but was torn between buying a new system or keeping the one that I had and just getting a new pump. I put it off for months... not sure what I should spend my money on. Knowing how much my cats LOVE to play with the water coming from the fountain, I finally decided that I needed to make a decision this morning on what I was going to do. In looking into the pumps, I ran across Lisa's review on cleaning the pump. Low and behold, I still had the pump tucked away in a drawer for future reference. After months of it sitting in a drawer and definitely not working when I put it away, I took it apart, cleaned the magnet inside really well and sure enough it works!!! I'm not one to spend money if I don't need to and I love the feeling of being able to repair something myself... although this wasn't really repairing... just a good cleaning. Anyhow, it's nice not to have to spend the money and to have the fountain up and running again for my cats enjoyment! Love this dish even more than I did before!!!

Rating
80/
80%
by
Julian - Thanks for the tip. It wouldn't have occurred to me to dismantle the pump, but when I did, removing the crud around the motor blades did the trick.

I didn't know all that crud was trapped in the motor housing.

Lisa

Rating
100/
100%
Great product7/12/13
by
No doubt there will crud accumulated inside the motor over time blocking the blades. If you know how to clean it, it will last a long time. Don't blame the mold.

Rating
100/
100%
Good Pump7/1/13
by
Overall this pump works as it should. I have had 3 pumps in the past 6 or so years. The first I did not clean well (I didn't know the magnetic rotor portion of the pump came out) and it did grow mold and eventually just stopped working. The second I had for 2+ years before it quit on me. The third (and the one I am replacing now) I tried to save time and put the components in the dishwasher (not the part attached to the electrical plug) resulting in a melted flow valve. Until this dishwasher incident I have used an old toothbrush and mascara wand to clean the pump and fountain nooks and crannies with no problems. I clean everything about once a week with 2 cats and a dog using it. I sometimes can stretch to 10 -14 days if necessary but this seems to lower the carbon filter life and decrease the pet usage. It is a pain to have to take all of the components out of the pump to clean - but in doing so I have no mold problems. I live in the Midwest. For a product being used 24/7 I think this works pretty well.

Rating
60/
60%
by
I agree with Judy: I just bought two new motors for the same reason. Less than a week after cleaning the latest mold blob from the inside of the motor, it ceased working altogether. I am uncertain why this issue occurs with this particular motor as the motors used with my original Drinkwell never had such an issue. Geographical change would not explain the issue, as the Platinum "mold blob" Drinkwell gets used in the same residence (in fact, same exact spot in the kitchen) as the original Drinkwell.

Up to this point I was impressed with the relative longevity of the motors. On the original Drinkwell I had to replace the motor at least once a year until the very last motor which lasted a long time. The updated design is greatly improved, with the exception of the mold blobs.

Rating
20/
20%
MOLD CENTRAL6/10/13
by
horrible design of pump and filter system just helps mold grow like crazy within 5 days-- constantly having to sterilize it in dishwasher-- I travel for work and cats like this and need it when cat sitter comes only once a day. IT IS DRIVING ME NUTS. FIX IT. Might work in a low mold count desert area but STINKS HERE. The pump broke because there was a huge mold mass that clogged it, found right after my last business trip. THANKS A LOT. disgusting and I only use it after all the money spent on it and because the cats seem to like it-- but what a waste of time and money for me. Now I have to buy a replacement pump (looks like SAME DESIGN) -piece of junk because I have no options. FIX THE DESIGN... PLEASE