Close
#

Drinkwell® Platinum Replacement Pump

Reviews

89% 100% 26
Overall
%
(26)
#
Ratings Breakdown
26 reviews
5 star
17
4 star
6
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Drinkwell® Platinum Replacement Pump
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
Super service by website staff, 10/29/14
by
Whilst cleaning the motor I saw that the insulation protecting the electric wires that run from the motor to the outlet was split. The red of the enclosed wires was visible.

This meant that a motor that worked perfectly could no longer be used. Worse, the cats, who only drink from the fountain cascade, would be off their feed until a replacement motor was in place.

A helpful customer service person talked me through the various alternatives for expedited delivery. She carefully explained that it would take 24 hours of additional time to process the order for delivery.

I bought 2 day delivery. It was late Thursday, so we assumed that I wouldn't get the new motor before Tuesday. In fact, it got here Tuesday morning and the cats were slurping up flowing water again by 3 in the afternoon Tuesday, at least 24 hours earlier than promised.

Well done, everyone! Thank you!

Rating
80%/
80%
Tip on Cleaning the Pump , 9/15/14
by
I have the original pump & agree with the regular cleaning advice in previous reviews. On another site I saw this tip which has been successful in removing calcium etc from the pump: 1) Put the pump in a bowl of pure white vinegar, full strength.
2) Clean it with brushes, etc as described by other reviewers.
3) Plug it in while the pump is still submerged in the vinegar.

When I did this, the pump started again, as good as new.

Note: If it's not running, then soak it 6 -24 hours.

I have cleaned the pump every 4 - 6 months for the past three years, (since the first interruption) and it's running fine today.


Rating
100%/
100%
My cats love this fountain!, 6/8/14
by
I've owned the Drinkwell Platinum fountain for three years. I clean the fountain weekly and replace the charcoal filters every 2-4 weeks and have never experienced a problem. The cats love the constant stream of fresh, filtered water and I believe are well-hydrated because the stream of water attracts them. I love it because it provides my five cats with a week's supply of fresh water when I travel for business. Today, after cleaning the fountain I noticed the pump didn't immediately come back on when plugged in. I viewed a YouTube video to see how to dismantle and clean it. After a quick three minute process, the pump was cleaned, reassembled and started recirculating the water immediately. If the pump ever does quit permanently, I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another. Thank you for a great product!

Rating
100%/
100%
Outstanding! , 5/7/14
by
We have had our platinum drinkwell for over two years, we had the smaller drinkwell (not sure of the name) previous to this one. I believe the pump went out after about 8 months with the smaller model. We decided since our kitties love the fountain so much we would upgrade. Of course, they were devastated (I am not even exaggerating) when their fountain stopped working. The new pump was in my hands in two days. Kitties are happy and so am I!

Rating
100%/
100%
great product, 4/9/14
by
I read the comment about how to clean the pump, after it stopped working and I tried it. The pump hasn't worked as well for years. Saved me the hassle and cost of buying a replacement pump. Thanks for the tip. This is a great product and my cats love drinking from the "fountain," especially when it is working well.

Rating
100%/
100%
Clean the pump!, 3/22/14
by
I took the advice here about cleaning the pump and the fountain works like new. I clean it every 2 weeks but never realized the motor mechanism came apart for cleaning. Thank you! I didn't mind the $20 but 6 disappointed cats was too much.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product- fixed pump by cleaning it., 3/22/14
by
After several years the pump started flaking out. It would not start after changing the filter. This site advised me to clean the inside of the pump. It worked!!! Don't be timid. Pull the tube on the pump out. Then gently pull off the front grate. Clean it with q tip or paper towel with a toothpick. Then pull out the black plastic part in front of the fan. Clean it. Then pull out the tiny white turning fan. Clean the built up slime from than and the chamber that hold the fan. It is fairly ease. Then reassemble the pieces step by step. It worked perfectly after a thorough cleaning. My cats are thrilled. They refuse to drink water from a standing water bowl. They love this fountain.

Rating
80%/
80%
OMG…. this pump has been going strong for 5 years..., 2/1/14
by
OMG… it stopped working after I cleaned it this morning!! I did not check the website until after I went to the pet stores to look for a replacement pump. I could not find one so I bought a whole new Platinum Fountain. Got home and checked on the net for replacement pumps…. read the reviews and found out I needed to take apart the plastic parts and clean them…. OMG…… thanks…. I can return the new one…. old one works PERFECTLY !!!!!

Rating
60%/
60%
Don't get a new pump: clean the old one!, 1/25/14
by
Before you waste money on a new pump read this! When the pump gets clogged it stops working. All you need to do is take the plastic parts apart, clean them and the pump thoroughly getting all the accumulated gunk out, and Voilà! You just saved yourself twenty bucks!

Rating
80%/
80%
Cleaned it and it works great again!, 1/21/14
by
Pump quit working this am and I saw the other reviews here and called Customer Care and they talked me through the process of cleaning the pump and now it works great again! Happy Cats and happy owner!

Rating
100%/
100%
I followed Ken's advice, and it worked just fine, 1/15/14
by
I followed Ken's advice, and it worked just fine. Thanks Ken

Rating
100%/
100%
10 cats, 1/10/14
by
I have 10 cats and should probably have 2 fountains. They love it. It makes me happy because I am concerned about 2 of my cats becoming dehydrated. They don't drink enough from bowls, but drink plenty from the fountain. Helen

Rating
100%/
100%
Follow instructions to clean your pump and save, 1/10/14
by
I followed the directions by Ken and the other. My pump died after 2 or 3 years. I took off the end cap and manually turned the white blades. I also used a paper towel to clean everything off including the intake grate which was pretty clogged too. I put it in a tupperware full of white vinegar and next thing I knew it was running and spitting out all kinds of junk. I rinsed and repeated with white vinegar again, then water. After that I put my fountain back together and it's working. Thanks everyone!

Rating
100%/
100%
Ken - thanks, 1/8/14
by
Just cleaned out the impellor and everything is back and running (after it totally stalled out as yours did). Petsafe, I'll be back here when it does go completely as I really appreciate you leaving this information despite it costing you (short-term) sales.

Rating
100%/
100%
Cleaning works, 1/3/14
by
I have had this fountain about 8 years. I have 3 indoor cats now, in the past, I have had 4 or 5 who were also indoor cats. They are Somalis which do have long hair. The pump would not start up after I cleaned it tonight. I read what people said about cleaning the pump and I did just that. I did not know it would come apart to that extent. It was successful and It is working perfectly. I am happy with the good advice on this site. Thank you Ken for saving me $20 or more.

Rating
100%/
100%
excellent…but needs to be cleaned!, 12/18/13
by
Thanks Ken et al for your cleaning advise…looked at petco first, glad they didn't have it…just take it apart and clean the nasty gunk and there you go…go as new! :-)

Rating
100%/
100%
great product, 12/13/13
by
I followed ken's advice about removing the end cap by prying it with a small screwdriver. We have hard water, so I put the pump in a small bowl and ran white vinegar through it, and saw a dramatic improvement in flow within 2 minutes, as well as a lot of gunk/particles coming out. I rinsed it out thoroughly, and re-assembled the pump and the fountain. Fountain now runs great, with flow control working again!

Rating
80%/
80%
fix pump before buying a new one, 11/3/13
by
My pump stopped working after about 2 years. I took it out of fountain to check it on the counter. Pulling end cap off (flow control attached) I found the white impeller did not move when pump was plugged in. After a slight nudge of impeller (pump off 1st), I found it would work. However, sometimes it would jam when unplugged and need another nudge. My solution: 1. re-assemble pump, 2. fill pump with cooking oil up to top off discharge hole, 3. plug it in again and let it run for an hour on the counter. 4. drain oil and rinse. 5. put fountain back together. I saved a trip to the store and at least $20.

Rating
80%/
80%
Cleaning, 10/14/13
by
I just want to thank the people who suggested taking the pump apart... I didn't even realize you could do that but now it works!!!

***People with long hair*** my pump was stopped because 1 strand of hair was wrapped in the metal... took tweezers and pulled it out and what do you know! It is working! YAY

Rating
100%/
100%
Great Product, 10/10/13
by
I love the Platinum Drinkwell for my cats...although I do have to replace the pump because I have this one cat who has decided wires were a great way to pass the timeby chewing on it. This time I am going to Home Depot to find clear plastic tubing to put the wire through and prevent this from happening again.

Rating
100%/
100%
A good cleaning DOES restore the motor!!!!, 8/31/13
by
Thank you, thank you Lisa & Julian!!! A neighbor of mine gave me this water dish and I absolutely love it! I had been thinking about getting one because with so animals... 4 dogs, 3 cats & 2 birds... a normal water dish gets dirty and the water depleted very quickly. Yes... my birds do drink out of the water dish too... it's like a mini uncaged zoo in my house. : ) About 8 months ago, the pump went and I was very disappointed. I thought about buying a new dish but was torn between buying a new system or keeping the one that I had and just getting a new pump. I put it off for months... not sure what I should spend my money on. Knowing how much my cats LOVE to play with the water coming from the fountain, I finally decided that I needed to make a decision this morning on what I was going to do. In looking into the pumps, I ran across Lisa's review on cleaning the pump. Low and behold, I still had the pump tucked away in a drawer for future reference. After months of it sitting in a drawer and definitely not working when I put it away, I took it apart, cleaned the magnet inside really well and sure enough it works!!! I'm not one to spend money if I don't need to and I love the feeling of being able to repair something myself... although this wasn't really repairing... just a good cleaning. Anyhow, it's nice not to have to spend the money and to have the fountain up and running again for my cats enjoyment! Love this dish even more than I did before!!!

Rating
80%/
80%
A good cleaning restores the motor, 8/27/13
by
Julian - Thanks for the tip. It wouldn't have occurred to me to dismantle the pump, but when I did, removing the crud around the motor blades did the trick.

I didn't know all that crud was trapped in the motor housing.

Lisa

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product, 7/12/13
by
No doubt there will crud accumulated inside the motor over time blocking the blades. If you know how to clean it, it will last a long time. Don't blame the mold.

Rating
100%/
100%
Good Pump, 7/1/13
by
Overall this pump works as it should. I have had 3 pumps in the past 6 or so years. The first I did not clean well (I didn't know the magnetic rotor portion of the pump came out) and it did grow mold and eventually just stopped working. The second I had for 2+ years before it quit on me. The third (and the one I am replacing now) I tried to save time and put the components in the dishwasher (not the part attached to the electrical plug) resulting in a melted flow valve. Until this dishwasher incident I have used an old toothbrush and mascara wand to clean the pump and fountain nooks and crannies with no problems. I clean everything about once a week with 2 cats and a dog using it. I sometimes can stretch to 10 -14 days if necessary but this seems to lower the carbon filter life and decrease the pet usage. It is a pain to have to take all of the components out of the pump to clean - but in doing so I have no mold problems. I live in the Midwest. For a product being used 24/7 I think this works pretty well.

Rating
60%/
60%
Better than original, except for the mold, 6/26/13
by
I agree with Judy: I just bought two new motors for the same reason. Less than a week after cleaning the latest mold blob from the inside of the motor, it ceased working altogether. I am uncertain why this issue occurs with this particular motor as the motors used with my original Drinkwell never had such an issue. Geographical change would not explain the issue, as the Platinum "mold blob" Drinkwell gets used in the same residence (in fact, same exact spot in the kitchen) as the original Drinkwell.

Up to this point I was impressed with the relative longevity of the motors. On the original Drinkwell I had to replace the motor at least once a year until the very last motor which lasted a long time. The updated design is greatly improved, with the exception of the mold blobs.

Rating
20%/
20%
MOLD CENTRAL, 6/10/13
by
horrible design of pump and filter system just helps mold grow like crazy within 5 days-- constantly having to sterilize it in dishwasher-- I travel for work and cats like this and need it when cat sitter comes only once a day. IT IS DRIVING ME NUTS. FIX IT. Might work in a low mold count desert area but STINKS HERE. The pump broke because there was a huge mold mass that clogged it, found right after my last business trip. THANKS A LOT. disgusting and I only use it after all the money spent on it and because the cats seem to like it-- but what a waste of time and money for me. Now I have to buy a replacement pump (looks like SAME DESIGN) -piece of junk because I have no options. FIX THE DESIGN... PLEASE

×