Close
#

Drinkwell Platinum® Fountain

See Product Details

38 Customer Reviews

66% 100% 38
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
38 reviews
1 star
8
2 star
7
3 star
4
4 star
4
5 star
15

Add your Drinkwell Platinum® Fountain review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
Wonderful9/22/16
by
Have used th Drinkwell Platinum for over 6 years and have had 0 ZERO problems until today. My pump went out and will not work so am going to buy a new pump. We like ours so well we sent 6 to our favorite cat shelter. Our kits love their fountain and our shelter does too.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thanks so much for sharing your feedback on the Drinkwell Platinum® Fountain, Kathie. We think it's wonderful you've supported your local shelter with their own Drinkwell Fountains! We're sorry you are having some trouble with your pump. It's possible that with a few quick troubleshooting steps, we can get your current pump back up and running. We have a quick video found under the product details section on the Drinkwell Platinum® Fountain page. If you've not done so already, you may want to take apart the pump and clean each piece thoroughly. Once you've done this, try soaking the pieces in a 50/50 mix of warm water and white vinegar. Even if the pump looks clean, saliva and mineral deposits can build up over time and cause the pump to stop working. If you are still having trouble with your pump, please give our Customer Care Center a call 1-866-738-4379 and we'll be happy to see how we can help you further!

Rating
20%/
20%
Awful Product9/11/16
by
This product was a gift from a friend who had this fountain as well and I thought it was going to be a great product. I was extremely wrong, as the person who gifted this to me apparently had similar issues. First, it's difficult to clean every nook and cranny. Second, after a few months, mold starts to develop in crevices. Third, this product is too fragile. My water reservoir's corner cracked when it accidentally hit the faucet and needed to be replaced. Fourth, the fan gets clogged with debris too easily and needs to be taken a part to be cleaned out.


PETSAFE RESPONSE

We can understand how regular maintenance for any type of product may be cumbersome, and we would like to help out. We do our best to create fountains that are easy to clean, but perhaps this one is not the best fit for you. You may want to check out the Drinkwell® Avalon Fountain.

If you have an issue with mold or algae, please be sure that the fountain is not kept in sunlight and when it is cleaned please soak the fountain in a 50/50 mix of hot water and vinegar to get it squeaky-clean. It is not common for the reservoir to crack so easily, and we are sorry that the pump is difficult to take apart, but taking it apart is the only way to ensure fresh, clean water for your pets.

If you are in need of assistance please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379 so that we can help!

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I came to Petsafe.com to replace the plastic grate (pre-filter) I broke on my Platinum fountain and noticed the poor rating. After reading a few of the bad reviews I thought I'd throw my experience in.

I've owned the fountain for a year or more now and love it. My cats get a fresh water fountain and I get the convenience of not washing and filling a water bowl every morning.

People seem to be complaining about cleaning and maintenance on negative reviews. It's not hard, but it does take time (aka work). Not a ton of time mind you, but people are averse to work these days. I can clean the entire fountain in my sink and have it ready to put back together in 15 real earth minutes. I'll gladly trade that for the daily routine. Perhaps others weren't cleaning the regular water bowl every day?

I don't use the carbon filter that fits in the tower section. I do use filtered water from a 3M under sink kit I installed on the cold line in my kitchen. You can buy them at your favorite hardware store or [online retailer] for $40ish.

This is the only fountain I've had for my cats, so I can't give pros and cons vs others.

Rating
20%/
20%
cheap plastic7/21/16
by
I used to have the fountain for 9 month, then one day stopped working, is really hard to cleaning and the material is cheap plastic , don't spend you money in this

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Valeria. We are sorry to hear that the Drinkwell Platinum® Fountain has not met your needs and expectations. Please know that your comments and concerns have been passed along to the design and development teams for review.

Many customers have success cleaning the fountain with a 50/50 mix of hot water and vinegar, and by using our cleaning brushes which can be ordered here :

http://store.petsafe.net/drinkwell-fountain-cleaning-kit

We are happy to help find a way to make your fountain a more enjoyable part of everyday life! Please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677 so that our Customer Care Representatives can provide tips and tricks that will be helpful to your specific situation.

Some of our cleaning videos can be seen at this web address :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NES1Hw5LuY

Rating
20%/
20%
by
The motor that came with the unit stopped working properly. I ordered the replacement motor that is supposed to fit the fountain. It does not fit
Now I have to buy a new fountain

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Edmond! We are sorry to hear of the difficulty you have had with your pump. You may find it helpful to know that this fountain carries a 1 year warranty and we are here for troubleshooting. Please ensure that the fountain is being cleaned according to the instructions in the manual. We have created a video that will hopefully help with general cleaning and it can be seen here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NES1Hw5LuY

Please also know that we have a variety of fountains and pumps and it is possible that the wrong replacement pump was ordered. The correct pump for the Drinkwell Platinum® Fountain is the PAC00-13204 which can be seen here:

http://store.petsafe.net/drinkwell-platinum-replacement-pump

We will be contacting you privately to find a solution. If you prefer, feel free to give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
We've had the Platinum model for over 18 months. The cats love it. My only complaint is that its a bit complicated to clean, but once you become familiar with the assembly process, it becomes quicker. We change the water once a week and add when the water level is about 1 inch from the lip. Every two weeks we tear down the motor and clean it with Q-tips and let them dry on the counter, we then wash the remaining parts of the unit in the diswasher careful to keep the plastic away from the heating elements. If water begins to slip below an inch or so of the lip, the pump will become noisy until more water is added. The thing appears bullet proof, requiring no repairs so far, During cleaning a bowl of water is left in its place.
Both the cats have become so accustomed to the unit they will wait for the unit to be replaced before drinking. One of the few pet gadgets we've bought that actually performs as promised.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Walter! We are glad to hear that your cats love the fountain, and that maintaining it has become easier for you. You may find it helpful to know that we have a cleaning kit with brushes of many sizes that can make cleaning a bit easier, this can be found at the following web address :

http://store.petsafe.net/drinkwell-fountain-cleaning-kit

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I've had this fountain for about 5 months, and the cats love it. They have even gotten past the 'game' of splashing the contents of the bowl all over the floor (I remedied that by putting the whole fountain in a low plastic sweater box). I just leave the small cover off as well, because they drink from both the fall and the water bubbling up.

I was concerned that the pump was putting out merely a trickle of water, and was very noisy. I couldn't believe it could wear out that quickly was looking at replacing it, but while pricing new pumps saw that there was a link to a youtube video for breaking down and cleaning the pump. YAY! After cleaning out the sludge and fur buildup (I had only been cleaning the exterior of the pump in my ignorance), it's quiet and working like new. The cats are back to drinking a lot of water daily.

Other than a bowl of water, there is no truly maintenance free pump water bowl for pets, but its more important to me that they have an adequate supply of water, so it's worth the minor inconvenience of cleaning it. I can have it disassembled, cleaned and back up and running in about 15 minutes or so. I spend more time that than doing dishes!

Rating
40%/
40%
by
The cat loved it but the motor has already quit on it and it was properly maintained. Major pain to tear it apart to clean it every couple weeks. Wouldn't buy it again.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Mama B. We are glad to hear that you cat loves the fountain. Please know that the pump must taken apart and scrubbed out every 2 weeks, and that lubricating the magnetic impeller with a smudge of veggie or olive oil can keep the pump going for much longer. You may find it helpful to know that the fountain does carry a 1 year warranty. If you have any questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
by
needs constant cleaning out. If room is slightly warm, mold accumulates within 24hrs. If cooler, within a few days. Pump dies at least 1X yearly due to mold that is inside the pump that will not clean out fully. (New pumps get mold inside within week and I am constantly rinsing that out also.) But the cats are addicted to it! And no matter how many times I change the filter, it doesn't matter. Even the filter gets slimy from mold within a couple days. The idea is great, but the sharp molding and the compartments that hold moisture (a spores dream come true!!) is conducive to permanent mold infestation. I don't want to use bleach or other harsh chemicals to remove the problem as I don't want that on my cat's water fountain. Dishwashers (and I presume the temperature tolerance of the plastic type used) is not hot enough to kill the spores. The deep spaces and crevices in the poor design can never be cleaned out fully. So each time I clean and dry then refill with water and turn on, the spores simply germinate as soon as they have enough humidity. Seriously, was the cost savings of cutting a few corners that much that this is such a white elephant? I have complained several times with no answer or response. And I am stuck because my cats won't drink water without what they are used to and will go as far as trying to turn on faucets! So my advice to people thinking of buying it-- -DON'T unless you are going to clean and dry at least 2-3 times a week. Sure, pets can handle more than average loads of mold and mold spores-- but I have mold allergies (severe) - and this has been the most awful thing ever!!! Only reason it's still here is because of my cats.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Judy, we are very sorry to hear about the issue you’ve had with our fountain. Typically our fountains only need to be cleaned once every two weeks. There will be certain environments where it may be needed more, or less, frequently, but two weeks is the average.

We would recommend that you try cleaning the fountain with white vinegar and soaking the pump overnight in a 50/50 white vinegar and water mixture after completely disassembling the pump and pulling out the magnetic impeller. This will help eliminate any of the mold you have growing. Once you’ve cleaned it with vinegar, replace all the filters so you have a fresh start.

Our goal is to provide clean, flowing water for pets so we are dedicated to helping you alleviate the problems you are experiencing. If you need further assistance. we can be reached at our Customer Care Center via 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
Our two Yorkies love their water fountain. It keeps their water clean and they drink more than they ever have before.

Rating
60%/
60%
by
Agreed the maintenance is a lot but the product performed ok. Now I have a leak that I can't locate. The whole reservoir empties in hours on the floor. Time to move on.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience. Mike. We are sorry to hear that you are having trouble with a leak in your fountain, and can understand your frustration. For troubleshooting assistance please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
20%/
20%
by
The bottom metal part of the fountain leaks -- can feel it is wet all the time. Returning this product and not buying another one.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain, Lori! You may find it helpful to know there is no metal used on the base of this style of fountain. If your fountain has a metal bottom, it's possible you may have a different type of fountain. If you will please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677, we'd be glad to help get to the bottom of this and see how we can help. Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. Eastern and Saturdays from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Eastern.

Rating
40%/
40%
Good but leaks10/18/15
by
The fountain is great, but can be difficult to clean. The resevoir is also made of a cheaper plastic that is easy to break - mine is now leaking and water overflows. Disappointing for an expensive fountain.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback, May. Please know that your comments and concerns will be passed on to the appropriate departments for research and development purposes. We may a great brush set that can help with cleaning the tough nooks and crannies, it can be found here:

http://store.petsafe.net/drinkwell-fountain-cleaning-kit

Please be aware that the reservoir is replaceable, and that it is made from a different type of plastic as it needs to be clear so that the water level is visible. For more information on a replacement reservoir, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.


Rating
20%/
20%
Stops Working10/12/15
by
I have owned two of the Platinum fountains and after a few months they just stop working. They were properly maintained per the manufacturer's guidelines. I would think twice about this produc. The sad thing is my cat loved the fountain. Good concept, cheap product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thanks for providing us with your feedback, Cyndi! We're sorry to hear you've had difficulties with your fountains. Please know your fountains do come with a warranty. If dissembling and cleaning the individual pieces of the pumps don't resolve the problem you're having, please call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 and we'll be happy to see how we can help! Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. Eastern and Saturdays from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Eastern.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
View video below (copy and paste link) to see the fountain in action and our cats' reactions:

https://youtu.be/IU9Ia8qiWsU?list=PLNMm47KnAny4fal8wTVKktVmY2KTAu7Ah

We got this fountain to help our cat, Bunny, with a urinary tract issue. We wanted to encourage her naturally to drink more water and we had read that cats are more likely to drink from moving water. Set-up was extremely easy and our cats were immediately interested in it. We keep ours on the lowest flow option, because it is almost silent at that setting. At the highest flow option there are a bit more splashing noises. With three cats drinking from it, we only need to refill the 64oz reservoir about once every week. Occasionally we have to clean out the bowl and hair catch; one of our cats likes to put his paws in and play with the water. Within a few hours, all three cats were comfortably drinking out of it; they were completely used to it after just a couple days.

After two months of use, we are extremely satisfied with this product. It has really helped all three of our cats, especially the one who used to frequently get dehydrated. Our cats Bunny, Bruiser and Shelbie give it 12 Paws Up!

Rating
80%/
80%
by
i am glad i am not the only one experiencing leaks. i have had this a number of years and it still works great, but when the water gets lower, it overflows making a mess. it just started doing this. should be able to order replacement parts for whatever causes this. really surprised it still works great after about 4 years. cleaning is a breeze and is done weekly. this is really great for getting dogs to drink, especially if they have been ill.

​PETSAFE RESPONSE:
We're glad to hear that you are enjoying the fountain so much, Shane! Sorry to hear about the leaks, though. Try checking your reservoir carefully for any hairline cracks or other damage which could be interfering with the water pressure inside it. You can also try to run the fountain without the reservoir temporarily to see if you still get leaks. This will narrow down the issue a bit. If you find any damage or the issue continues, please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​. Hours of operation are 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I highly recommend this fountain! The reservoir is easy to fill, no mess and assures that my dog stays hydrated. The fountain is super easy to clean and the replacement filters are an affordable price. I also love the light inside for my dog. It's like a little night light! The sound of the water is very relaxing, it's like having my own zen garden in my living room. This fountain is great because you can just fill it up & plug it in and you're good to go without the worry of your dog being thirsty while you're away especially if you have a dog that drinks a lot of water like my Frenchie! I'm so glad that I can keep him fully hydrated with fresh, clean & cool water 24/7. Thank you Petsafe! You are an amazing company.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
The dudes we let live in our house bought this Platinum Drinkwell 7 years ago! They're smarter than we thought when it comes to us needing hydration…Water’s our not only necessary for healthy bodies and volumes of gorgeous fluff, but it’s our hobby! We love to splash each other…and of course, Professor Van Gogh insists on washing his colossal paws every night!

Our humans thought of the idea of putting this water fountain on some sort of plastic patio gadget with wheels that was supposed to be for plants. With a small towel fitted underneath the fountain, the humans no longer complain when we have water fights! It’s downright COOL!

So! Tuxedo Jimmy (he likes to brags he’s part Norwegian Forest), gregarious Professor Van Gogh (who resembles a miniature lion being he’s a 44” Red Maine Coon), and, of course, tiny dainty Queen Jaki who reigns our kingdom and occasionally will dunk the Professor’s massive fluffy head when she’s in a bad mood (which is almost always!), absolutely LOVE the Platinum Drinkwell! And, so do our humans!

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product.10/26/14
by
I have had my Drinkwell Platinum Fountain four years. My dog loves it. Have not had to replace any parts. I clean it regularly and the motor is quiet.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I was looking for a new fountain because the flow had lessened and the sound was making my hubby crazy. THANK YOU PetSafe.net for the video on how to clean the motor. I have six cats and I have cleaned both of my fountains twice a month (to include new filters) since I have had them. I thought I was doing a complete job by removing the flipper (flow regulator) from the rest of the motor. I found your video, pulled the motor completely apart like shown and reassembled them. I now have two fully functioning motors with great flow (and quiet). I cannot thank you enough. I will be buying our filters and anything else I need from you in the future. I will be recommending your website to all my pet sitting clients. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
Love it. Using them for some years now no problems.
For outside of the USA there has to be an adaptor.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
This is an excellent fountain. It does require weekly cleaning so that your pet's water is fresh and clear. It takes me only a few minutes to clean.

My cat loves it and is definitely drinking more water. I've been using this product for approx 6 months.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I love the Drinkwell Platinum Fountain. I bought it for my two cats who weren't drinking enough water. They were cautious of it at first, but now they love it and both drink from it regularly. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 out of 5 stars is that one of the parts in to motor (the impellor with three white plastic prongs) broke after I'd only had it 2 weeks. One of the plastic prongs snapped when I took the motor apart to clean it (I clean it weekly). If it could be made with metal prongs or at least stronger plastic it would be better. That being said, I contacted customer service via email, and since it was still covered by warranty, they sent me a replacement motor. The email interactions I had with customer service were very professional and helpful. All the drinkwell products I looked at had better reviews, features (like the pre-filter), warranties, and looked like better products than other brands. They are a little more expensive than some, but well worth the money. I will definitely recommended the Drinkwell Platinum to friends and family with pets!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
This fountain works great for our 7 year old cat. She enjoys playing with the water stream and, as a result drinks more water. The cleaning chore is as easy as could be expected. Everything disassembles and reassembles easily.
The only suggestion I would make (and this is not a manufacturing issue) is, when cleaning the reservoir, rinse it with white vinegar to completely remove any hidden soap deposits. I was getting slight traces of soap suds in the water dish and finally figured out I hadn't rinsed the reservoir completely. The vinegar rinse does the trick!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
Handicapped veteran with very limited mobility, it works great.
We, my caregiver and I use purified water and the recommended filters for the 3 little loves of my life, kitties.
They are drinking more water and the sound of running water is relaxing.
It gets disassembled every two weeks and gets a 100% cleaning, air dry for a couple of hours, even with three kitties, it holds about 4-6 days of water with no intervention on our part.
RECOMMENDATION, buy.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
My wife and I rescue Miniature Pinschers and have dogs of our own as well as fosters we house as they await new homes. Providing clean water for as many as 9 dogs at a time proved to be challenging and messy. The Platinum Fountain has worked extremely well in providing a safe, clean source of water for our dogs. It has worked flawlessly for 2 years and is a great convenience for us. Routine maintenance is easy and intuitive. Recently, the bowl began overflowing at the rim and I called customer service to see if I could determine the cause. As it turns out, the reservoir had a crack in it and I ordered a new one. Thanks for providing such a good product and customer support.

Rating
40%/
40%
Not impressed9/28/13
by
My husband bought this fountain as a replacement for a regular cat waterer. None of them will drink from it unless we remove all other water sources. As others have mentioned there is not rubber gasket between the tank and the base. Water spills everywhere when I invert the tank. Today I noticed that we are also having issues where the bowl gets very full, then overflows all over the floor. I have the fountain on a glass trivet, but so much water overflowed that the trivet became full and the water damaged my hardwood floors.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the Drinkwell Platinum Fountain. The Drinkwell Platinum would overflow or remain near the top of the bowl only if air has access to enter freely. If air is entering the reservoir, the water will not equalize and the reservoir will begin to overflow the fountain. The reservoir is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide any applicable replacement options. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
60%/
60%
by
So everything seems to be working ok... After a few weeks I have no leaks, pump is running good, and my cat really likes it.

However, the downside (kinda a major one considering I pre-bought several months supply of filters) is at the filtration chamber stays murky. Ironically, it's the water on the carbon side that's murkier. When I compare the water in a glass next to fresh faucet water, it's noticibly murky. Nothing too bad, but its not at a level I would drink, or even want my fish tank at. I've had fish tanks with similar filtration mechanisms and the water was cleaner. I still let my kitty drink from it but I sub out the water pretty regularly

Anyways, my kitty and I like it. I just wish I could keep the water clearer

Rating
20%/
20%
by
The fountain is great and for 2 years I rated as a 5. Then the pump stopped working - I have had to purchase 7 replacement pumps in the last 19 months. Even with cleaning they just don't last. I no longer recommend this fountain and am in search of a new one.
Please, please, please go back to the previous manufacturer - paying a few extra dollars for a quality pump is far better than a cheap one that drives loyal customers away out of frustration!
The best fountain is no good without a working pump.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with our Drinkwell Platinum pumps. This Drinkwell replacement pump is covered by a 90 day limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
60%/
60%
by
I just got this fountain delivered today and the cats seem to love it. There is a steady stream and it does not splash any water out of the bowl. The motor actually runs fairly quiet even on the "max flow" setting. The only issue is I can't seem to use the reservoir. The plunger at the bottom of the reservoir that is supposed to regulate the amount of water going into the bowl seems to just stay open, causing the bowl to slowly overflow. There does not seem to be any type of rubber ring around the base of the plunger either. I can't imagine hard plastic on hard plastic would create a water tight seal. It would be nice if they sold the reservoir cap + plunger as a replacement part, rather than the entire reservoir.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Drinkwell Platinum Fountain. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40%/
40%
by
This is the second platinum fountain I bought that ended up with mold in the seams of the plastic reservoir. Where the pieces are joined together I noticed a brown mold or algae was forming within weeks of purchase. There is absolutely NO WAY to clean this out. Since the last one ended up with mold I was sure to clean the reservoir as best as I could. Besides that myself and all 8 cats LOVE the fountain. One of our cats loves it that much that she spends most of her day sticking her head underneath the flowing water!! Holds a great amount of water, runs quiet, and dramatically increased the amount of water our cats drink. So I guess buy at your own risk. I owned the small fountains before and never had an issue with mold.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience. If you live in a humid environment and have problems with mold or algae, simply soak all of the parts in a diluted bleach solution for about 10 minutes after regular cleaning. (Use one or two cups of bleach in a sink full of water). This is also an excellent way to disinfect the fountain. You must be sure to rinse all the parts very well to remove all the chlorine. We hope you find this information helpful!

Rating
40%/
40%
by
I purchased a Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain, when the water tank gets low on water all of the water goes into the bowl causing the water bowl to overflow onto the floor, it has done this twice and it has caused some damage to my floor. I've e-mailed the company and I hope they have an answer on how to correct this problem. Thank you.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your Drinkwell® Platinum Fountain. Our records indicate that our Customer Care team has contacted you regarding this issue. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
by
Would like to know where I can buy a replacement reservoir for the Platinum fountain. This is the third reservoir that broke and I am not buying another fountain because I need a reservoir. This fountain was purchased December 2012 it's not even a year old...I need to get in touch with the company that makes this fountain so that I can resolve this issue.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with the reservoir for your Drinkwell Platinum Fountain. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40%/
40%
by
ITEM PACOO-13070 Does not work as well as the original filters which had no break in them. These filters with the six squares get clogged more often and the restricts the flow. I do not like them! Where can I get the old not squared filters?


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Premium Charcoal Filters have failed to meet your expectations. We do still offer the standard Charcoal Replacement Filters. These can be found on our website under "Daily Care- Filters & Accessories" (model PAC00-13067) or you can also order by calling our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
by
We have had our fountain for a couple of months now and at first it was great until I realized our floor was warped that is. We started to have to fill the fountain at least once a day or more for our one dog ( a Pug ) and our cat. It wasn't until our floor warped that we realized we were having to fill it so often b/c it kept dumping the entire tank of water (whether full or not) overflowing the fountain and damaging our sub-floor. We had to rip up our carpet and replace our sub floor b/c the fountain was malfunctioning. Also, there is not troubleshooting for this problem in the manual so I don't know how to fix it. Cost us WAY more than the original purchase price.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Drinkwell Platinum Fountain. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
This fountain is great! The extra large capacity of 1.3 gallons means I only have to add water twice per month! Works great so far and the cat uses it regularly.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have 2 cats and have had the Platinum Drinkwell for ovwer 4 years. The cats love it and the maintenance is very easy. When I notice the flow rate is slow I clean the Drinkwell including the pump making sure I have removed any cat hair that has accumulated. My unit has lasted for years without a pump replacement. Couldn't be happier !!! So sorry that Angela has had problems . . . are you cleaning the unit on a regular basis ???

Rating
20%/
20%
by
While our cat likes the fountain the design could be much better! We have gone through 2 motors in the last year. I clean the filter every week but if hair gets in the filter it will burn up the motor. It seems like there should be a better solution to keep the fountain running.