Close
#

Drinkwell® Platinum Fountain

Reviews

69% 100% 27
Overall
%
(27)
#
Ratings Breakdown
27 reviews
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
3
2 star
4
1 star
3

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Drinkwell® Platinum Fountain
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
Great product., 10/26/14
by
I have had my Drinkwell Platinum Fountain four years. My dog loves it. Have not had to replace any parts. I clean it regularly and the motor is quiet.

Rating
100%/
100%
Have loved two of these for four years!, 5/2/14
by
I was looking for a new fountain because the flow had lessened and the sound was making my hubby crazy. THANK YOU PetSafe.net for the video on how to clean the motor. I have six cats and I have cleaned both of my fountains twice a month (to include new filters) since I have had them. I thought I was doing a complete job by removing the flipper (flow regulator) from the rest of the motor. I found your video, pulled the motor completely apart like shown and reassembled them. I now have two fully functioning motors with great flow (and quiet). I cannot thank you enough. I will be buying our filters and anything else I need from you in the future. I will be recommending your website to all my pet sitting clients. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Rating
100%/
100%
Great. Just wish filters came in boxes of 10 or more :), and 220v adaptor!, 4/1/14
by
Love it. Using them for some years now no problems.
For outside of the USA there has to be an adaptor.

Rating
100%/
100%
Very satisfied!, 3/3/14
by
This is an excellent fountain. It does require weekly cleaning so that your pet's water is fresh and clear. It takes me only a few minutes to clean.

My cat loves it and is definitely drinking more water. I've been using this product for approx 6 months.

Rating
80%/
80%
Overall great product and excellent customer service!, 2/5/14
by
I love the Drinkwell Platinum Fountain. I bought it for my two cats who weren't drinking enough water. They were cautious of it at first, but now they love it and both drink from it regularly. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 out of 5 stars is that one of the parts in to motor (the impellor with three white plastic prongs) broke after I'd only had it 2 weeks. One of the plastic prongs snapped when I took the motor apart to clean it (I clean it weekly). If it could be made with metal prongs or at least stronger plastic it would be better. That being said, I contacted customer service via email, and since it was still covered by warranty, they sent me a replacement motor. The email interactions I had with customer service were very professional and helpful. All the drinkwell products I looked at had better reviews, features (like the pre-filter), warranties, and looked like better products than other brands. They are a little more expensive than some, but well worth the money. I will definitely recommended the Drinkwell Platinum to friends and family with pets!

Rating
100%/
100%
Couldn't be happier with this product!, 11/21/13
by
This fountain works great for our 7 year old cat. She enjoys playing with the water stream and, as a result drinks more water. The cleaning chore is as easy as could be expected. Everything disassembles and reassembles easily.
The only suggestion I would make (and this is not a manufacturing issue) is, when cleaning the reservoir, rinse it with white vinegar to completely remove any hidden soap deposits. I was getting slight traces of soap suds in the water dish and finally figured out I hadn't rinsed the reservoir completely. The vinegar rinse does the trick!

Rating
100%/
100%
Works as Advertised, 10/23/13
by
Handicapped veteran with very limited mobility, it works great.
We, my caregiver and I use purified water and the recommended filters for the 3 little loves of my life, kitties.
They are drinking more water and the sound of running water is relaxing.
It gets disassembled every two weeks and gets a 100% cleaning, air dry for a couple of hours, even with three kitties, it holds about 4-6 days of water with no intervention on our part.
RECOMMENDATION, buy.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great solution, 10/1/13
by
My wife and I rescue Miniature Pinschers and have dogs of our own as well as fosters we house as they await new homes. Providing clean water for as many as 9 dogs at a time proved to be challenging and messy. The Platinum Fountain has worked extremely well in providing a safe, clean source of water for our dogs. It has worked flawlessly for 2 years and is a great convenience for us. Routine maintenance is easy and intuitive. Recently, the bowl began overflowing at the rim and I called customer service to see if I could determine the cause. As it turns out, the reservoir had a crack in it and I ordered a new one. Thanks for providing such a good product and customer support.

Rating
40%/
40%
Not impressed, 9/28/13
by
My husband bought this fountain as a replacement for a regular cat waterer. None of them will drink from it unless we remove all other water sources. As others have mentioned there is not rubber gasket between the tank and the base. Water spills everywhere when I invert the tank. Today I noticed that we are also having issues where the bowl gets very full, then overflows all over the floor. I have the fountain on a glass trivet, but so much water overflowed that the trivet became full and the water damaged my hardwood floors.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the Drinkwell Platinum Fountain. The Drinkwell Platinum would overflow or remain near the top of the bowl only if air has access to enter freely. If air is entering the reservoir, the water will not equalize and the reservoir will begin to overflow the fountain. The reservoir is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide any applicable replacement options. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
60%/
60%
Filtration chamber stays murky, 9/25/13
by
So everything seems to be working ok... After a few weeks I have no leaks, pump is running good, and my cat really likes it.

However, the downside (kinda a major one considering I pre-bought several months supply of filters) is at the filtration chamber stays murky. Ironically, it's the water on the carbon side that's murkier. When I compare the water in a glass next to fresh faucet water, it's noticibly murky. Nothing too bad, but its not at a level I would drink, or even want my fish tank at. I've had fish tanks with similar filtration mechanisms and the water was cleaner. I still let my kitty drink from it but I sub out the water pretty regularly

Anyways, my kitty and I like it. I just wish I could keep the water clearer

Rating
20%/
20%
No Longer Satisfied, 9/18/13
by
The fountain is great and for 2 years I rated as a 5. Then the pump stopped working - I have had to purchase 7 replacement pumps in the last 19 months. Even with cleaning they just don't last. I no longer recommend this fountain and am in search of a new one.
Please, please, please go back to the previous manufacturer - paying a few extra dollars for a quality pump is far better than a cheap one that drives loyal customers away out of frustration!
The best fountain is no good without a working pump.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with our Drinkwell Platinum pumps. This Drinkwell replacement pump is covered by a 90 day limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
60%/
60%
Pump works great & cats love it, but reservoir leaks!, 9/16/13
by
I just got this fountain delivered today and the cats seem to love it. There is a steady stream and it does not splash any water out of the bowl. The motor actually runs fairly quiet even on the "max flow" setting. The only issue is I can't seem to use the reservoir. The plunger at the bottom of the reservoir that is supposed to regulate the amount of water going into the bowl seems to just stay open, causing the bowl to slowly overflow. There does not seem to be any type of rubber ring around the base of the plunger either. I can't imagine hard plastic on hard plastic would create a water tight seal. It would be nice if they sold the reservoir cap + plunger as a replacement part, rather than the entire reservoir.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Drinkwell Platinum Fountain. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40%/
40%
Moldy Reservoir, 9/13/13
by
This is the second platinum fountain I bought that ended up with mold in the seams of the plastic reservoir. Where the pieces are joined together I noticed a brown mold or algae was forming within weeks of purchase. There is absolutely NO WAY to clean this out. Since the last one ended up with mold I was sure to clean the reservoir as best as I could. Besides that myself and all 8 cats LOVE the fountain. One of our cats loves it that much that she spends most of her day sticking her head underneath the flowing water!! Holds a great amount of water, runs quiet, and dramatically increased the amount of water our cats drink. So I guess buy at your own risk. I owned the small fountains before and never had an issue with mold.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience. If you live in a humid environment and have problems with mold or algae, simply soak all of the parts in a diluted bleach solution for about 10 minutes after regular cleaning. (Use one or two cups of bleach in a sink full of water). This is also an excellent way to disinfect the fountain. You must be sure to rinse all the parts very well to remove all the chlorine. We hope you find this information helpful!

Rating
40%/
40%
Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain, 8/28/13
by
I purchased a Drinkwell Platinum Pet Fountain, when the water tank gets low on water all of the water goes into the bowl causing the water bowl to overflow onto the floor, it has done this twice and it has caused some damage to my floor. I've e-mailed the company and I hope they have an answer on how to correct this problem. Thank you.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your Drinkwell® Platinum Fountain. Our records indicate that our Customer Care team has contacted you regarding this issue. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
Problems with reservoir, 8/10/13
by
Would like to know where I can buy a replacement reservoir for the Platinum fountain. This is the third reservoir that broke and I am not buying another fountain because I need a reservoir. This fountain was purchased December 2012 it's not even a year old...I need to get in touch with the company that makes this fountain so that I can resolve this issue.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with the reservoir for your Drinkwell Platinum Fountain. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40%/
40%
very slow flow since you changed the filters from one piece to 6 squares. , 8/9/13
by
ITEM PACOO-13070 Does not work as well as the original filters which had no break in them. These filters with the six squares get clogged more often and the restricts the flow. I do not like them! Where can I get the old not squared filters?


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Premium Charcoal Filters have failed to meet your expectations. We do still offer the standard Charcoal Replacement Filters. These can be found on our website under "Daily Care- Filters & Accessories" (model PAC00-13067) or you can also order by calling our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
fountain overfills and ruined our floor, 8/2/13
by
We have had our fountain for a couple of months now and at first it was great until I realized our floor was warped that is. We started to have to fill the fountain at least once a day or more for our one dog ( a Pug ) and our cat. It wasn't until our floor warped that we realized we were having to fill it so often b/c it kept dumping the entire tank of water (whether full or not) overflowing the fountain and damaging our sub-floor. We had to rip up our carpet and replace our sub floor b/c the fountain was malfunctioning. Also, there is not troubleshooting for this problem in the manual so I don't know how to fix it. Cost us WAY more than the original purchase price.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Drinkwell Platinum Fountain. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
I only have to add water twice a month !!!, 7/27/13
by
This fountain is great! The extra large capacity of 1.3 gallons means I only have to add water twice per month! Works great so far and the cat uses it regularly.

Rating
100%/
100%
AWESOME PRODUCT, 7/20/13
by
I have 2 cats and have had the Platinum Drinkwell for ovwer 4 years. The cats love it and the maintenance is very easy. When I notice the flow rate is slow I clean the Drinkwell including the pump making sure I have removed any cat hair that has accumulated. My unit has lasted for years without a pump replacement. Couldn't be happier !!! So sorry that Angela has had problems . . . are you cleaning the unit on a regular basis ???

Rating
20%/
20%
While our cat likes the fountain the design could be much better! We have gone through 2 motors in the last year. I clean the filter every week but if hair gets in the filter it will burn up the motor. , 7/1/13
by
While our cat likes the fountain the design could be much better! We have gone through 2 motors in the last year. I clean the filter every week but if hair gets in the filter it will burn up the motor. It seems like there should be a better solution to keep the fountain running.

×