Close
1-866-738-4379
Live Chat
#

Drinkwell® Original Fountain

See Product Details

42 Customer Reviews

68% 100% 42
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
42 reviews
1 star
6
2 star
8
3 star
8
4 star
4
5 star
16

Add your Drinkwell® Original Fountain review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
60%/
60%
by
Lots of tiny holes and crevices. Even the brushes in the special cleaning kit cannot reach into the sharp interior corners to remove slimy biofilm.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are sorry to hear that you are having difficulty cleaning the Drinkwell® Original Fountain. You may find it helpful to know that soaking the fountain in a 50/50 mix of hot water and white vinegar can diminish the saliva. If you need assistance with disassembling your fountain and cleaning please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have had this for around 8ish or so years. Today I thought it was broken (eg the pump) as the spinner didn't turn. Went on an internet search and didn't find the fix it solution that worked for me so I have posted that below.

I discovered that after I had taken out the spinner there was a tiny bit of very flat (as in didn't stick up at all) hard gunk in the very back of where the spinner sits. Q-tips didn't help. Initially when I'd plug it in separate from the fountain it would spin. Then put the fountain together again and it wouldn't. The gunk in there slowed it down just enough with the weight of the water that it wouldn't turn. Finally I took a miniature slot screwdriver (likely a metal knitting needle, spike, skewer, etc. would work too but I don't have one of those - regular screwdrivers are too "fat" to fit) and used the end of that to scrape out the hard gunk - seriously it didn't look like much at all, it looked flat, but it mattered. YES!! It works again.

Giant pain in the rear to clean but worth it in the long run. I have long ago dispensed with the expensive filters - although this means you need to clean out the spinner more frequently - like weekly (even if you have the filter stuff still gets in the water and then sucked into the spinner and wrapped around it).

Stops my "I will only drink something other than running water under lout protest" cats from begging in the bathtub (as in every single time I'd enter the bathroom they'd come running and jump into the tub), any sink in the place...

This is not quiet. If you like the sound of a fountain then this will make you happy. If you need quiet to sleep then don't put it close to your bedroom. I have it in the corner of the kitchen which works for me but then I have to be careful not to accidentally get food in it.

Rating
40%/
40%
Hard to clean7/11/16
by
Our cat's love this fountain. however, as others have stated, it's very difficult to properly clean with all the sharp angles, etc. even with a cleaning brush it's a PAIN. It's a constant battle with slime and other gook. I am now looking for something different of a better internal design.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're sorry to hear of your frustration with the fountain cleaning process, Mark. Typically, cleaning the fountains the recommended once every two weeks is enough to prevent build-up in the fountain, but depending on environmental factors, some may need cleaning more frequently than others. If you are noticing "slime", much of the time this is natural algae growth, which is harmless but can be unsightly. As sunlight increases algae growth by a massive amount, one way to avoid this is to ensure that your fountain is not in direct sunlight. If you continue to have these issues with your fountain, please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​ and we would be happy to assist you.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I received one of the original fountains as a gift (for my cat). I love it because she would drink out of it instead of constantly jumping on the bathroom counter begging me to turn on the water faucet for her. After 9 years, the only problem that I've had is that it is starting to leak and I've determined that the rubber o-ring that seals the pump into the reservoir has worn out. Currently looking for a replacement part but, it appears that part is not offered. I can't afford to buy a new one for her and the old one is in perfect working condition except for this one tiny part. If I can't locate the replacement part, I will probably just seal the pump to the reservoir with a silicone plumber's sealant (which would make it impossible to clean) and run it until it dies.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're so glad to hear that you and your cat enjoy the fountain so much, but sorry to hear that O-ring on the pump has started to give you trouble. We'd be more than happy to help get that resolved for you. Give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​ and we'll do our best to get your fountain back up and running.

Rating
20%/
20%
by
this product was replaced and still does not work properly. Gravity is supposed to keep the bowl full but I had to keep adding water to the bowl because this was not happening. Same thing with the replacement unit.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your situation, Dave. We are sorry to hear that you continue to have difficulty with your fountain, and can understand your distress! Please know that this is not normal and if it is not regulating properly we most certainly want to find out more and keep this issue from continuing. Please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379 so that we can better assist you with a solution.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I purchased this fountain (with the reservoir) about 18 years ago. It was fairly new to the pet market. And, at that time, I had to save money for a few months in order to purchase it. I had one small Bichon. Within three years, I had three dogs. All of the dogs loved the fountain. I moved all over the US and took the fountain (and the dogs) with me. For the last year, I have been boarding dogs in my home. Including my two dogs, I usually have at least 4 or 5 dogs in the house.
THEY ARE ALL DRINKING FROM THE FOUNTAIN THAT I PURCHASED 18 YEARS AGO!

We clean the fountain about every other week and change the filter once a month. Sometimes, we have to bump the side to get the pump to kick in after cleaning it. But it still works - 18 years later!

Today, I purchased the Platinum Fountain - not because the Original doesn't work, but because I felt it was time for an upgrade. My hope is that the new fountain is as great as my original fountain has been. It was the best purchase I ever made for my dogs, and I recommend it to everyone.

Thanks for making a GREAT product!

Rating
60%/
60%
by
This is my third Drinkwell Original fountain. My cats love it. My issue with the new model is that the water flow cannot be slowed to the same rate as the previous model. You can hear the water running throughout the entire house. It sounds like I have one of those cascading waterfalls. The previous model allowed me to slow the water down much further. This motor appears to be easier to access for cleaning but it is NOISY. A previous reviewer described it perfectly .... it sounds like a drone hovering in the room. It is also lighter so I am skeptical about the longevity of it. If you are going to make changes to a popular item, you should improve it.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Sorry to hear that your fountain is so noisy! While a running water sound is normal, the pump itself should not be noisy. You may want to try adding a small bit of vegetable, canola, or other food-grade oil to the compartment where the impeller is on your pump. This will lubricate it better, which should make it run quieter. However, if it's still running noisily or your flow control knob seems to have no effect, please give us a call at the number 1-800-732-2677 and we'd be happy to assist you further.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I bought this for our cat and dog at the time. I needed to buy the bigger well as my dog would suck it dry. Our puppy has passed since the purchase but we have added another kitty to the home. The one thing I do recommend is that you should clean it often. I pay attention to that matter now since the new kitty. She doesn't like the smell if it starts to get dirty and wont drink from it. When we had the dog the dirt/slime was visible but with just the cats the slime is clear and not real visible until you pull it apart to clean, you can mostly feel it.

Rating
40%/
40%
Broken10/23/15
by
I bought my third drinkwell fountain less than 6 months ago. They all seem to have problems with the motors!! This last one has stopped working already it's less than 6 months old. Really not impressed!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Sorry that those pumps have been giving you so much trouble! If your fountain is not flowing, this typically means that there is build-up in the pump. Please keep in mind that the pumps for our fountains need to be fully disassembled (including removing the impeller) and cleaned out once every two weeks. Even if the pump looks clean when you take it apart, many times saliva or mineral buildup, which is invisible to the naked eye, is what is clogging up the pump and must be scrubbed or brushed out rather than simply rinsed. This very commonly leads people to assume that the pump is clean when in reality it is still clogged. Please view the video at the following link to see the process:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NES1Hw5LuY

If you try this and the pump still does not work, your fountain comes with a one-year warranty that covers this type of issue. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​. Hours of operation are 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I bought my first Drinkwell fountain at least 7 years ago (the original). My cats loved it so much I was having to constantly refill (I foster both cats and dogs and usually have anywhere from 5-15 cats and 2-4 dogs at any given time). Most of the fosters I care for have some sort of health issues -- many with urinary problems so lots of fresh water daily is a must for them. So I purchased 3 more and placed them around the house where they would be conveniently available anytime someone got thirsty.

A little over a year ago I purchased two of the newer originals that are much easier to clean. My goal is to eventually replace all of the first 4 fountains with the newer ones only because they are so much easier to clean. But they are all still running great. I've had to replace two pumps, but I find that if you clean them fully they just keep going.

Also, please note that PetSave Customer Service is incredible. When my first pump went out they gave me hints on cleaning them better and arranged to send a new one out promptly at a very reasonable price.

I definitely recommend these fountains -- five paws up!!!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have one of the original Drinkwell Big-Dog fountains. I absolutely LOVE this fountain! I have multiple cats & dogs in my household & they all love this fountain. I started out with the regular sized fountain with the half-gallon reservoir bottle. The cats drink more water than with a stationary (non-flowing) water dish and they all have fresh clean water at all times. Plus, with the size of the Big-Dog fountain, plus the add-on 1-gallon reservoir bottle, I don't have to continually fill the water bowl. You can use it without filters, but I always use a filter to make the water fresh & clean. I have had this fountain for at least 8 years & the pump is still working fine. You have to be sure to clean it every time you clean the fountain, by taking the impeller out, but it's quite easy (I'm used to cleaning pumps with my aquariums). This with help the pump last longer. I haven't figured out how to clean the hard water deposits off the sides of the [plastic] bowl though, but it doesn't affect the use of the fountain at all.

I would definitely recommend the Drinkwell fountain. The only thing that would make them even better would be if someone could clean it for me!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
had mine 7 months. no problems and I have very hard water.

Rating
20%/
20%
by
Had this water fountain for about a month and at first my cat loved it. Now the pump is dead and has been dying a loud painful death for about two weeks. Each day the running water would become set and smaller. Yesterday it was barely a trickle and today nothing. No matter which way you turn the control nothing happens. Don't waste your money. Find a better brand that makes quality products.

​PETSAFE RESPONSE:
Sorry to hear about the issues you're having with your fountain, Kat! It sounds as though the pump on your fountain has gradually become clogged. The pumps for our fountains need to be disassembled and cleaned out once every two weeks. Even if the pump looks clean when you take it apart, many times saliva or mineral buildup, which is invisible to the naked eye, is what is clogging up the pump and must be scrubbed or brushed out rather than simply rinsed. This very commonly leads people to assume that the pump is clean when in reality it is still clogged. ​

Please copy and paste or click the link below to view a video of the cleaning process:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NES1Hw5LuY

If your pump is still not working, your fountain has a warranty that covers this type of situation. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​. We are available from 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
80%/
80%
great product6/28/15
by
I like it even though it does need cleaned often. Things should be cleaned often anyway for my best friend Wishbone. Yes, he's a jack russell.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product5/15/15
by
My dogs love this so much

Rating
40%/
40%
by
Unlike some others, I have not had any problems with leaks or pump operation. One of my cats refuses to drink from a bowl and the fountain has been a great solution.
The BIG problem is rapid growth of bacteria. The way the unit is designed, water from the pump output flows over the top of the filter reservoir and out the spout. It does not circulate the water in the filter reservoir at all, so slime accumulates very quickly and I have to take it apart and clean it much more often than should be necessary.
A device like this needs to have total circulation of the water for it to be hygienic. This was my first pet fountain so I did not know what to look for in this regard. I will certainly research its replacement more thoroughly. It is just a drag that I will have to throw this thing away after only a few months of ownership. What a waste!

​PETSAFE RESPONSE:
Thank you for your feedback, Mark! We're sorry that the fountain did not meet your expectations. We do recommend that the pump be disassembled and cleaned out every two weeks. This is to avoid algae, mineral or saliva build-up in the fountain. The rate at which these increase can be higher than expected depending on how hard the water in your house may be or the amount of saliva which gets into the water when your pets drink (if you have multiple cats, this can build up quicker than usual, of course). If you continue to have issues with the fountain, please give our product experts a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​. Hours of operation are 8AM-8PM EST Monday-Friday and 9AM-5PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
60%/
60%
by
I have four cats and a dog. One of my older cats demanded water running from the sink and would wake me up at all hours. I purchased the Drinkwell Original in desperation and it worked. My cats and dog are now addicted to this fountain and no longer have a howling cat demanding water from the faucet. The fountain however leaks constantly. I have tried all the recommendations to solve the problem to no avail. At this point, I am just dealing with it because my cats are so dependent.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your story with us! We are happy to hear this product was able to meet your cat's demands, but we do apologize that you have experienced a leaking problem! Because this situation can happen for many reasons, we first suggest to try to find the source of the leak by putting a towel down underneath the fountain. If you are able to narrow down the particular area that your fountain is leaking from, we can help troubleshoot the issue. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I bought my first and only Drinkwell in 2007 when I adopted my cat. Cleaning it is a bit of work due to all the little pieces that need to be removed and reassembled but I don't have to worry about all the nooks and crannies as I can run it through the dishwasher with no problem. However, this is the original design so I imagine newer models are easier to clean and maintain. I like that I can regulate the flow of the water and the option to use a reservoir for extended trips. Haven't had any problems with the motor or lack of flow. With a new dog, I and am now considering a larger capacity fountain such as the 360 in stainless steel and that's the only reason why I would get rid of this reliable work horse.

Rating
20%/
20%
by
The function of this fountain is good, but there are so many nooks and crannies designed into the pieces of it that it is impossible to clean without sending it through the dishwasher. But since it is plastic, you can't use the hot, sterilizing cycle.

I like the porcelain Avalon. Just two simple pieces and so easy to clean.

Rating
40%/
40%
by
We purchased this fountain from our vets recommendation. Our cat developed urinary issues and we needed him to drink more water. Well after a few days he fell in love with it. We washed it weekly and changed the expensive filters when instructed to do so. Now the water barely dribbles out of the fountain. The motor is running because you can hear it. I'm sorry but for the price you pay it should last longer than a few months! Now I have to find a new solution because he only drinks from the fountain. Now he stands next to it and cries waiting for the water. I have to pour water and ice cubes into the tank to make it flow a bit so he will drink. This is crazy for a fountain that is only a few months old.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you've experienced with your Drinkwell® Original Fountain! We can understand how concerning it is to have trouble with a product owned for a short period of time, and we would be happy to offer assistance! This product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and our Product Experts are standing by to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. Many of our customers find that properly cleaning the pump will fix most issues they may experience. If the fountain has not been cleaned, it is possible it is preventing proper flow. For more information on how to clean the pump, please view the link below or contact us at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/pet-care/fountains/drinkwell-original-fountain#faqs

Rating
100%/
100%
cats love it11/5/14
by
This is a replacement for the older model (motor under bowl). I am very pleased with the ease of taking the motor out of this redesigned fountain. It was a struggle to get the other out.

Customer service with this company has been great with me: knowledgeable and problem-solving oriented.

Hope it is durable. Jury is out on that as it has only been running 18 hours! The cats love it. If they are happy, I am happy.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
My cats love this fountain; I bought it for them when they were just babies and they hardly use anything else.

When the pump died within the warranty period, customer care was very cooperative about sending out a replacement.

I know that my young cats are growing up healthy with a constant supply of fresh, clean water, and drinking lots of it, so I feel satisfied about that as a pet parent.

I hope our new fountain lasts for many years, and thanks to Petsafe for standing behind your products. I can't wait for it to arrive!


Rating
20%/
20%
Stopped running10/25/14
by
Bought one of these fountains a month ago. My cats loved it but unfortunately it just stopped running for no apparent reason. Had to return it. I am hesitant to replace it with another.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you experienced with your Drinkwell® Original Fountain, and we can understand your hesitation! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and our Product Experts are happy to help with any issues you may experience with our products. Often, our customers find that many of the issues they may experience can be resolved by cleaning the pump thoroughly. Even within a month, pumps can get clogged by pet hair and debris, so we recommend to clean the pump at least every 2 weeks for the best experience with your fountain. For directions on how to clean your pump, please view the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/pet-care/fountains/drinkwell-platinum-fountain

Rating
20%/
20%
by
Seriously don't ever buy this product. I've only had it for about a month and its already stopped working and for the life of me I can't tell why. I know the motor is still working because of the god awful noise it makes and nothing seems to be plugged up. The water just won't flow.

I've cleaned it fairly regularly and followed all instructions. I can't find the receipt anywhere or I would return it.

It could be that I just got a faulty one since the other reviews seem fairly good but I feel like I wasted money on nothing.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you are experiencing with your Drinkwell® Original Fountain! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and our Product Experts would be happy to offer a solution to your situation. Please call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for assistance.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have had the ORIGINAL Drinkwell fountain for about 8 years. I care for many cats and never have to worry about them running out of water with the extra resevoir on the back. This is very important with the year-round HOT weather in Hawaii! I purched the new Platinum series fountain for my indoor cats but the fountain overflows regularly....the pump is different from the ORIGINAL and clogs easily, due to the "too large to catch hair" front screen and small intake on the motor! I say, "BUY the ORIGINAL Drinkwell fountain", and your cats will enjoy many years of clean, running water!
After 8 years of use, the pump finally gave out...customer service was great for the purchase of my replacement pump, and mailed it standard USPS to reduce the shipping charge to Hawaii. THANK YOU PET SAFE, my Original is up and running again!

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I have had this fountain for about 6 months now. I can't say enough about it. My veterinarian recommended finding a way to get more fluid into our cats' diet and I wasn't comfortable with switching to wet food. From the first day we had this fountain our cats were thrilled!! They love to play with the water and they drink FAR MORE from this fountain than a regular water dish. Our dog was a little afraid of it at first, but after about a week she refused to drink from a normal dish again. The only drawback I can find with this product is the size, and that is my own fault. I had no idea how much my animals would the fountain. Excellent product!!


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback on your experience with the Drinkwell Original Fountain. We are delighted to hear your cats and dog all enjoy this product, and we would be happy to offer a loyalty discount on a larger sized fountain. For more information about the fountains available and the loyalty discount, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
we love it4/30/14
by
we love our fountain. greased gasket around motor, come out easy. had problem with bowl sweating, my wife came up with idea to cut slots in side of bowl. this let it breathe. no more sweating.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
I've owned the Drinkwell Original Fountain for over 6 years and have had no problems with cleaning, parts or pump removal. I found that I need to keep the pump clean as cat hair etc. can accumulate on the inlets. My two cats and border collie all drink from the fountain.Great product.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I've had this fountain for over three years and I've had absolutely no problems with it. I wish the filters were a bit cheaper priced because it could cost a small fortune if you actually replace the filters as recommended. Replace them as needed and the cost will be just fine. The cats love the flowing water. I have had the attached container to replace the water consumed and other than a noise coming from the pump as the water level gets low, I have no complaints. Haven't had any complaints from BooBoo, Elsa, or Stewie either.

Rating
60%/
60%
by
Purchased yesterday and the cats love it. I went through disassemble and cleaning before first time usage and the pump is very difficult to get out. I will try a little vaseline on the seal when I clean it next week. Otherwise, cats like the waterfall part of it, nice looking design. Pump is a bit noisy when running, it has a definite drone.

Rating
40%/
40%
by
I have not had this fountain even a year and I need a pump already, but not from lack of cleaning, I guess from cleaning it 1 or 2 times a week and the difficulty in removing it just got to be too much for the plastic piece. So to sum it up, if you don't clean it enough the pump will go bad, if you clean it too much the plastic parts wear down and eventually snap off. What is a person supposed to do. For what I paid for this it should last longer than 10 months.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you've experienced trouble with your Drinkwell® Original Fountain. We are always looking for ways to improve our products and do appreciate your feedback. Please know that these products do have a limited warranty, and we would be happy to discuss replacement options with you. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so we can help find a solution that best suits your needs.

Rating
40%/
40%
by
I have owned an *Original Fountain* for many years, and it was time to replace it. Although the picture displayed on the web page matched my original fountain, the replacement I purchased was a model SKU # PWW00-13704. The new model has a 12V submersible pump, compared to the through-wall 120V pump on the older design. The noticeable difference is the flow control leaver is black plastic, and sticks out about an inch into the water bowl area. Adjusted to the lowest flow setting, the water flow is too much for the filter to handle, and the water flows over the top of the filter. So why even bother using a filter if the water bypasses it? The problem I see is that the new design water pump moves too much water, and the flow rate cannot be adjusted down enough to accommodate the filter. The new pump unit appears to be cheap in design and quality, and probably easily broken when cleaning. There is no reason for the flow control leaver to protrude so far out into the bowl area.

For the **Original** Original Fountain I would rate it 4 stars, because the pump is difficult to remove for cleaning. For the **New** Original Fountain I rate it 2 stars because it just doesn't have the mechanical quality of the original design.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that new Drinkwell Original Fountain design has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
by
We started out with one Original Fountain, added the 70 ounce reservoir bottle and then added more fountains so each of our cats had ready access to the 4 fountains we now have.

We have recommended the Drinkwell fountains to friends and family and bought them as gifts. All of the cats enjoy them and we believe they drink more water when attracted to the healthy, filtered stream of the fountains.
We recently had to replace the pump/motor on our 2 oldest fountains. Perhaps the impeller or motor eventually gets out of balance with age. The quiet hum of the product had become louder and noisy. Didn't bother the cats, just us.
I see many comments about difficulty removing the pump for cleaning. Our first fountain leaked water around the seal between the pump and the fountain. I fixed that by smearing a little vaseline on the rubber O-ring of the pump. That seemed to let the O-ring seal to the fountain without flexing or twisting. That may also make the pump easier to rotate out for cleaning. Also there is a tool available now, a thin plastic rod which inserts through a hole in the fountain above the pump to push the body of the motor and rotate it. This is an excellent and cheap addition to your pump cleaning kit.
Another cleaning tip: our hard water and/or cat saliva would build up around the waterline and other fountain parts. No amount of scrubbing would remove it. I eventually learned that soaking the disassembled fountain (not the motor) in a sink full of hot water with a squirt of dish soap and an ounce or two of white vinegar dissolved the build-up so you could wipe it off with a finger tip.
5 Star product. Hope this info helps.


Rating
60%/
60%
by
the fountain is great but the pump is hard to remove to clean.and now it's crack from removing and replacing the pump now i need the based of the fountain. I need to get that part as quick as possible.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the Drinkwell Original Fountain. This product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
60%/
60%
by
It's a good idea and two of our cats really seemed to enjoy drinking out of it but there is room for improvement. The biggest problem I had with it was getting the pump out, it was near impossible. I'm pretty strong and got it to come out but my wife would never be able to get it out. The plastic base for the fountain broke, where the pump goes in, last time I tried getting the pump out to clean. Now the fountain is useless because it leaks. I can't find a replacement base so I guess I'm out of luck. It was also very loud when it was running, like the pump was out of balance. It would also be nice if you could reduce the flow of water by slowing the pump down instead of restricting the flow. That would add to the cost but could save on the electric bill.
The fountain worked well for over a year and just made me cuss when I was getting the pump out to clean, other than that it was okay.

Rating
60%/
60%
by
My cats love this fountain. However, it has started making a loud noise and doesn't flow as well as it did. I also have a very difficult time getting filters for it. Have to drive 45 miles away to Pet Smart because no one carries them here, not even Walmart.

Rating
60%/
60%
by
Cat loves it, but it is difficult to remove/ replace the pump. I have had to replace the pump because the plastic has broken when trying to replace it.

Rating
80%/
80%
by
I bought this fountain about 2 years ago. My cats were splashing water out of their standard bowl, making a mess everywhere. I did some research and found that some cats prefer to drinking moving water, and that fountains can be healthier for them. I bought this fountain at my local pet store. At first my cats were afraid of the fountain, but that is pretty typical of cats and new things. After a week they were completely used to the fountain and loved it. Cleaning the fountain is a pain, and I don't do it as regularly as I should. I actually just ordered the cleaning kit today. Also had to order some replacement parts because I attempted to boil some parts to sanitize them, but the parts warped. (My error, not product failure)

Rating
20%/
20%
Not good8/25/13
by
I bought this fountain for my two cats at a local pet store and it took them a couple of days together used to it. Unfortunately it lasted only two weeks and it died on me. I couldn't return it to the pet store since I had grown away the packaging. It was hard to clean and time consuming. It was also loud. I could hear it in the living room even with the tv on.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your Drinkwell® Original Fountain. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40%/
40%
not great8/11/13
by
My cat's loved the fountain. However, it was difficult to clean. It would take a lot of time, once I'd cleaned it, to get it to cycle the water back through again. It was not uncommon for me to spend close to 30 minutes to get this clean and working properly again. Add to that how quickly mold grows on the spout, and you can see my issues with the product.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Drinkwell Original Fountain has failed to meet your expectations. We would be happy to provide cleaning tips and information to prevent this difficulty in the future. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Noisy motor.8/8/13
by
Too bad the motor is so loud the cats are afraid to come near it1


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that your pet is afraid to use the fountain. While it is normal for the motor to be slightly audible, like a low hum, it shouldn't be very noticeable or loud. We would be happy to provide troubleshooting tips and information to resolve this issue. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for further assistance. We look forward to hearing from you.