Close
#

Drinkwell® Original Fountain

Reviews

65% 100% 29
Overall
%
(29)
#
Ratings Breakdown
29 reviews
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
5
2 star
5
1 star
3

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Drinkwell® Original Fountain
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
40%/
40%
Loved it..... Now hate it , 11/11/14
by
We purchased this fountain from our vets recommendation. Our cat developed urinary issues and we needed him to drink more water. Well after a few days he fell in love with it. We washed it weekly and changed the expensive filters when instructed to do so. Now the water barely dribbles out of the fountain. The motor is running because you can hear it. I'm sorry but for the price you pay it should last longer than a few months! Now I have to find a new solution because he only drinks from the fountain. Now he stands next to it and cries waiting for the water. I have to pour water and ice cubes into the tank to make it flow a bit so he will drink. This is crazy for a fountain that is only a few months old.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you've experienced with your Drinkwell® Original Fountain! We can understand how concerning it is to have trouble with a product owned for a short period of time, and we would be happy to offer assistance! This product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and our Product Experts are standing by to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. Many of our customers find that properly cleaning the pump will fix most issues they may experience. If the fountain has not been cleaned, it is possible it is preventing proper flow. For more information on how to clean the pump, please view the link below or contact us at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/pet-care/fountains/drinkwell-original-fountain#faqs

Rating
100%/
100%
cats love it, 11/5/14
by
This is a replacement for the older model (motor under bowl). I am very pleased with the ease of taking the motor out of this redesigned fountain. It was a struggle to get the other out.

Customer service with this company has been great with me: knowledgeable and problem-solving oriented.

Hope it is durable. Jury is out on that as it has only been running 18 hours! The cats love it. If they are happy, I am happy.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great Product & Excellent Support!, 10/27/14
by
My cats love this fountain; I bought it for them when they were just babies and they hardly use anything else.

When the pump died within the warranty period, customer care was very cooperative about sending out a replacement.

I know that my young cats are growing up healthy with a constant supply of fresh, clean water, and drinking lots of it, so I feel satisfied about that as a pet parent.

I hope our new fountain lasts for many years, and thanks to Petsafe for standing behind your products. I can't wait for it to arrive!


Rating
20%/
20%
Stopped running, 10/25/14
by
Bought one of these fountains a month ago. My cats loved it but unfortunately it just stopped running for no apparent reason. Had to return it. I am hesitant to replace it with another.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you experienced with your Drinkwell® Original Fountain, and we can understand your hesitation! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and our Product Experts are happy to help with any issues you may experience with our products. Often, our customers find that many of the issues they may experience can be resolved by cleaning the pump thoroughly. Even within a month, pumps can get clogged by pet hair and debris, so we recommend to clean the pump at least every 2 weeks for the best experience with your fountain. For directions on how to clean your pump, please view the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/pet-care/fountains/drinkwell-platinum-fountain

Rating
20%/
20%
Don't Buy This!, 9/21/14
by
Seriously don't ever buy this product. I've only had it for about a month and its already stopped working and for the life of me I can't tell why. I know the motor is still working because of the god awful noise it makes and nothing seems to be plugged up. The water just won't flow.

I've cleaned it fairly regularly and followed all instructions. I can't find the receipt anywhere or I would return it.

It could be that I just got a faulty one since the other reviews seem fairly good but I feel like I wasted money on nothing.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you are experiencing with your Drinkwell® Original Fountain! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and our Product Experts would be happy to offer a solution to your situation. Please call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for assistance.

Rating
100%/
100%
The Original is the BEST fountain ever!, 7/20/14
by
I have had the ORIGINAL Drinkwell fountain for about 8 years. I care for many cats and never have to worry about them running out of water with the extra resevoir on the back. This is very important with the year-round HOT weather in Hawaii! I purched the new Platinum series fountain for my indoor cats but the fountain overflows regularly....the pump is different from the ORIGINAL and clogs easily, due to the "too large to catch hair" front screen and small intake on the motor! I say, "BUY the ORIGINAL Drinkwell fountain", and your cats will enjoy many years of clean, running water!
After 8 years of use, the pump finally gave out...customer service was great for the purchase of my replacement pump, and mailed it standard USPS to reduce the shipping charge to Hawaii. THANK YOU PET SAFE, my Original is up and running again!

Rating
100%/
100%
Absolutely love this product!!!, 7/13/14
by
I have had this fountain for about 6 months now. I can't say enough about it. My veterinarian recommended finding a way to get more fluid into our cats' diet and I wasn't comfortable with switching to wet food. From the first day we had this fountain our cats were thrilled!! They love to play with the water and they drink FAR MORE from this fountain than a regular water dish. Our dog was a little afraid of it at first, but after about a week she refused to drink from a normal dish again. The only drawback I can find with this product is the size, and that is my own fault. I had no idea how much my animals would the fountain. Excellent product!!


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback on your experience with the Drinkwell Original Fountain. We are delighted to hear your cats and dog all enjoy this product, and we would be happy to offer a loyalty discount on a larger sized fountain. For more information about the fountains available and the loyalty discount, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
we love it, 4/30/14
by
we love our fountain. greased gasket around motor, come out easy. had problem with bowl sweating, my wife came up with idea to cut slots in side of bowl. this let it breathe. no more sweating.

Rating
100%/
100%
Excellent product. I've owned the Drinkwell Original Fountain for 6+ years , 4/21/14
by
I've owned the Drinkwell Original Fountain for over 6 years and have had no problems with cleaning, parts or pump removal. I found that I need to keep the pump clean as cat hair etc. can accumulate on the inlets. My two cats and border collie all drink from the fountain.Great product.

Rating
80%/
80%
My Cats Love It, 4/8/14
by
I've had this fountain for over three years and I've had absolutely no problems with it. I wish the filters were a bit cheaper priced because it could cost a small fortune if you actually replace the filters as recommended. Replace them as needed and the cost will be just fine. The cats love the flowing water. I have had the attached container to replace the water consumed and other than a noise coming from the pump as the water level gets low, I have no complaints. Haven't had any complaints from BooBoo, Elsa, or Stewie either.

Rating
60%/
60%
Some nice features, 2/14/14
by
Purchased yesterday and the cats love it. I went through disassemble and cleaning before first time usage and the pump is very difficult to get out. I will try a little vaseline on the seal when I clean it next week. Otherwise, cats like the waterfall part of it, nice looking design. Pump is a bit noisy when running, it has a definite drone.

Rating
40%/
40%
does not last, 2/9/14
by
I have not had this fountain even a year and I need a pump already, but not from lack of cleaning, I guess from cleaning it 1 or 2 times a week and the difficulty in removing it just got to be too much for the plastic piece. So to sum it up, if you don't clean it enough the pump will go bad, if you clean it too much the plastic parts wear down and eventually snap off. What is a person supposed to do. For what I paid for this it should last longer than 10 months.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you've experienced trouble with your Drinkwell® Original Fountain. We are always looking for ways to improve our products and do appreciate your feedback. Please know that these products do have a limited warranty, and we would be happy to discuss replacement options with you. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so we can help find a solution that best suits your needs.

Rating
40%/
40%
Not the same *Original Fountain*, 1/20/14
by
I have owned an *Original Fountain* for many years, and it was time to replace it. Although the picture displayed on the web page matched my original fountain, the replacement I purchased was a model SKU # PWW00-13704. The new model has a 12V submersible pump, compared to the through-wall 120V pump on the older design. The noticeable difference is the flow control leaver is black plastic, and sticks out about an inch into the water bowl area. Adjusted to the lowest flow setting, the water flow is too much for the filter to handle, and the water flows over the top of the filter. So why even bother using a filter if the water bypasses it? The problem I see is that the new design water pump moves too much water, and the flow rate cannot be adjusted down enough to accommodate the filter. The new pump unit appears to be cheap in design and quality, and probably easily broken when cleaning. There is no reason for the flow control leaver to protrude so far out into the bowl area.

For the **Original** Original Fountain I would rate it 4 stars, because the pump is difficult to remove for cleaning. For the **New** Original Fountain I rate it 2 stars because it just doesn't have the mechanical quality of the original design.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that new Drinkwell Original Fountain design has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Excellent product but gets noisy with age , 1/5/14
by
We started out with one Original Fountain, added the 70 ounce reservoir bottle and then added more fountains so each of our cats had ready access to the 4 fountains we now have.

We have recommended the Drinkwell fountains to friends and family and bought them as gifts. All of the cats enjoy them and we believe they drink more water when attracted to the healthy, filtered stream of the fountains.
We recently had to replace the pump/motor on our 2 oldest fountains. Perhaps the impeller or motor eventually gets out of balance with age. The quiet hum of the product had become louder and noisy. Didn't bother the cats, just us.
I see many comments about difficulty removing the pump for cleaning. Our first fountain leaked water around the seal between the pump and the fountain. I fixed that by smearing a little vaseline on the rubber O-ring of the pump. That seemed to let the O-ring seal to the fountain without flexing or twisting. That may also make the pump easier to rotate out for cleaning. Also there is a tool available now, a thin plastic rod which inserts through a hole in the fountain above the pump to push the body of the motor and rotate it. This is an excellent and cheap addition to your pump cleaning kit.
Another cleaning tip: our hard water and/or cat saliva would build up around the waterline and other fountain parts. No amount of scrubbing would remove it. I eventually learned that soaking the disassembled fountain (not the motor) in a sink full of hot water with a squirt of dish soap and an ounce or two of white vinegar dissolved the build-up so you could wipe it off with a finger tip.
5 Star product. Hope this info helps.


Rating
60%/
60%
do it have a warrant., 12/1/13
by
the fountain is great but the pump is hard to remove to clean.and now it's crack from removing and replacing the pump now i need the based of the fountain. I need to get that part as quick as possible.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the Drinkwell Original Fountain. This product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
60%/
60%
Some of the cats liked it but..., 9/20/13
by
It's a good idea and two of our cats really seemed to enjoy drinking out of it but there is room for improvement. The biggest problem I had with it was getting the pump out, it was near impossible. I'm pretty strong and got it to come out but my wife would never be able to get it out. The plastic base for the fountain broke, where the pump goes in, last time I tried getting the pump out to clean. Now the fountain is useless because it leaks. I can't find a replacement base so I guess I'm out of luck. It was also very loud when it was running, like the pump was out of balance. It would also be nice if you could reduce the flow of water by slowing the pump down instead of restricting the flow. That would add to the cost but could save on the electric bill.
The fountain worked well for over a year and just made me cuss when I was getting the pump out to clean, other than that it was okay.

Rating
60%/
60%
Hard to find filters., 9/14/13
by
My cats love this fountain. However, it has started making a loud noise and doesn't flow as well as it did. I also have a very difficult time getting filters for it. Have to drive 45 miles away to Pet Smart because no one carries them here, not even Walmart.

Rating
60%/
60%
Our Cat loves it, but it is difficult to take pump out to clean it., 9/11/13
by
Cat loves it, but it is difficult to remove/ replace the pump. I have had to replace the pump because the plastic has broken when trying to replace it.

Rating
80%/
80%
Great overall, 9/8/13
by
I bought this fountain about 2 years ago. My cats were splashing water out of their standard bowl, making a mess everywhere. I did some research and found that some cats prefer to drinking moving water, and that fountains can be healthier for them. I bought this fountain at my local pet store. At first my cats were afraid of the fountain, but that is pretty typical of cats and new things. After a week they were completely used to the fountain and loved it. Cleaning the fountain is a pain, and I don't do it as regularly as I should. I actually just ordered the cleaning kit today. Also had to order some replacement parts because I attempted to boil some parts to sanitize them, but the parts warped. (My error, not product failure)

Rating
20%/
20%
Not good, 8/25/13
by
I bought this fountain for my two cats at a local pet store and it took them a couple of days together used to it. Unfortunately it lasted only two weeks and it died on me. I couldn't return it to the pet store since I had grown away the packaging. It was hard to clean and time consuming. It was also loud. I could hear it in the living room even with the tv on.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your Drinkwell® Original Fountain. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40%/
40%
not great, 8/11/13
by
My cat's loved the fountain. However, it was difficult to clean. It would take a lot of time, once I'd cleaned it, to get it to cycle the water back through again. It was not uncommon for me to spend close to 30 minutes to get this clean and working properly again. Add to that how quickly mold grows on the spout, and you can see my issues with the product.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Drinkwell Original Fountain has failed to meet your expectations. We would be happy to provide cleaning tips and information to prevent this difficulty in the future. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Noisy motor., 8/8/13
by
Too bad the motor is so loud the cats are afraid to come near it1


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that your pet is afraid to use the fountain. While it is normal for the motor to be slightly audible, like a low hum, it shouldn't be very noticeable or loud. We would be happy to provide troubleshooting tips and information to resolve this issue. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for further assistance. We look forward to hearing from you.





Rating
80%/
80%
I purchased this product at a local pet store for my cat. Honestly, my car loves the fountain. He is always using it to not only drink from but to play in as well. The product works wonderfully. The only issue I have with this fountain is that it is diffi, 8/3/13
by
Very good

×