Close
#

Drinkwell® Big Dog Fountain

Reviews

70% 100% 12
Overall
%
(12)
#
Ratings Breakdown
12 reviews
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
2

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Drinkwell® Big Dog Fountain
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
Great product! Worth every penny!, 5/13/14
by
I am a veterinarian and of course have a house full which includes 2 dogs and 3 cats. I am always looking for ways to increase the water intake of my pets, especially my cats but many of the other pet fountains were just too small and my dogs would drain them and leave them sputtering after just one drink. The Big Dog fountain solves this problem and fits my needs perfectly. It's quiet and streamlined and my cats took to it right away as they typically prefer running water. The dogs took a bit more convincing but within a week I was able to remove their regular water bowl and just have the Big Dog fountain. Although this is a great size I still wish there was a replacement reservoir that held even more. With two 65 pound dogs it still goes quickly. The cleaning kit makes cleaning it much easier and I recommend getting it as well if you purchase this fountain. I clean mine once a week due to hair and other debris and the cleaning kit makes a much easier job of it. I have had this fountain for 3 years now and it's still working grate! Overall I am extremely satisfied with this product and often recommend it to my clients.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great product, 2/3/14
by
I have 3 small dogs and 2 indoor cats. This fountain has been a great asset to our furry family. Cleaning is a breeze once you do it a couple times. I admit I broke a piece off of it the first time I cleaned it ooops! after talking to the customer service they sent a replacement and told me what I did wrong and it's been a breeze since.

Rating
100%/
100%
Good for any size dog or dogs., 11/6/13
by
I had my Big Dog Fountain for over two years and it still looks and works good. I have three dogs a Shih Tzu, a Sheltie, and a Big Lab. They all drink from this fountain. I bought a brush cleaning kit from this site and does help when cleaning fountain. I also bought a new lid on the top of the fountain. The Lab had chewed on the old one when he was a pup. The pump is still working fine. I clean it out when I clean the unit every three or four months. You can tell went you need to clean it. I would buy this fountain again if I ever need to replace it.

Rating
60%/
60%
I like it but..., 11/3/13
by
I have 3 dogs and this seemed like a great solution, but it is difficult to clean. I have tried the dishwasher and it didn't get everything, and it melted the water bottle, which was frustrating. There is a point in the dish that the water circulates through that catches a lot of hair, etc, I think it would be easier to clean if it was a screen or small mesh, and was removable without taking the product apart so it could be cleaned on the fly.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation. Please know that they have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review and feedback. We do offer replacement parts for this fountain such as the reservoir. You may contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 to purchase replacement parts. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Hard to keep clean, water bottle has awful odor., 10/20/13
by
I agree with another reviewer regarding some sort of food/hair skimmer. I have a rescue German Shepherd who has lived his life on the end of a chain and pretty much starved. He must keep food particles in his mouth because there is always food in the water bowl after he drinks. I try to keep a separate bowl for him but he also uses the fountain, which is shared with two cats and a Border Collie rescue. It's not just a matter of cleaning it constantly (i.e., the offer of a cleaning kit), it's the way food gets trapped in it and the whole thing has to be picked up and dumped. Parts of it are easy to open, other parts, I have to use butter knife to pry them apart. The water jar has an awful smell to it, too that no amount of washing seems to remove. Any ideas on how to fix that? Suffice it to say that I am not pleased with this fountain.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation. For additional assistance on cleaning techniques and suggestions that may help rectify this issue, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Cleaning the Fountain, 10/2/13
by
The easiest way to clean the fountain is to take it apart once a week and put it in the dishwasher...problem solved =)

Rating
100%/
100%
Love it, 9/13/13
by
I bought this product probably 5 years ago, found it at the pet store and decided this was better alternative for multiple cats, have had as many as 6, currently have 3. I am very pleased with it, did buy a replacement pump mostly just to clean and allow to dry and alternate. I am getting ready to buy some second one because this one has started leaking. I find these are well worth the money. I also use a large feeder and it is very nice to go off for a weeks vacaction and not worry about feeding or checking on water while I am gone.

Rating
40%/
40%
Great Idea bad design, 9/13/13
by
I tried to use this for my 3 German Shepherds, the capacity is great, but design flaws make it not so much. If you have pets that won't get food particulate and pet hair in dish it would be ok. I wish it had something more like a pool skimmer along with fewer nooks and crannies which make cleaning near impossible with the odd angles. The noise isn't bad and I never had any leaks either.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you encountered difficulty cleaning your Drinkwell® Big Dog Fountain. We do offer a Drinkwell® Fountain Cleaning Kit that may assist you with this issue. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Rating
80%/
80%
Works great, 9/8/13
by
Haven't had any issues with this, except I melted the flow adjustment parts by putting them in the dishwasher. Works well, although the filters are a little pricey.

Rating
40%/
40%
not worth what I Spent considering the main problem, 9/1/13
by
I like the filter and the running water, but this thing leaks all over my floor. Again, it does exactly what I want it to do, but for the amount of money I paid for this thing it should be water tight. Because of the previous review I've decided that turning the thing in for a replacement will do me no good, so now I'm going to attempt other methods of waterproofing the seams of what should already be a watertight device.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have encountered a problem with your Drinkwell® Big Dog Fountain. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Rating
20%/
20%
Not a wise purchase , 6/28/13
by
This product is a piece of junk. I had to have it replaced 3 times, all with the same defect of leaking near the motor which, in turn, releases the reseviour all over the floor. (terrible design flaw) All proper maintenance and cleaning was followed. It is a pain to clean and the filter is useless. The motor is very loud as well. I would not recommend this to anyone.

Rating
80%/
80%
Excellent for dog and cats, 5/22/13
by
We have had our Drinkwell Big Dog Fountain for two years now. For a large lab and two cats, this works really well. The filter helps keep the pet hair and other yuck out of the water, but the bowl does require a deep cleaning at least once a week as we do have fairly heavy drinkers.
Note, everything can go in dishwasher top rack with the exception of the clear water reservoir. That is NOT dishwasher safe and will melt in a very interesting shape. I usually wash the entire thing by hand, but there are some small nooks and crannies that do better getting a good wash in the dishwasher.
It does take a couple of weeks to get used to the "running water" sound (for us it is in the kitchen) but it is not loud or annoying, its much quieter than a fish tank filter. Also, charcoal particles will end up in the bowl and will look like small black bugs, much like what you would find in a Britta filter bottle, but its safe.

×