Close
#

Drinkwell® Avalon Fountain

Reviews

85% 100% 13
Overall
%
(13)
#
Ratings Breakdown
13 reviews
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Drinkwell® Avalon Fountain
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
love this fountain, 11/20/14
by
I started with the original fountain and my cats loved it. They drank a lot more water than they had from just a bowl. Unfortunately, I had a hard time cleaning it and didn't feel safe using something I couldn't sanitize.

This one is super easy to clean because it is porcelain and there are only two simple pieces. No nooks and crannies for dirt and bacteria to hide.

The cats love the two levels and the two spouts. Each of my cats has their own "preferred" way to drink from it.

The pump that came with it lasted over 2 years, but the replacement pump is not too expensive. You can also order replacement filters and this little foam thing that protects the pump from large particles (like fur). So the system is durable and you can maintain it as well.

I definitely recommend this product.

Rating
100%/
100%
Excellent fountain, 9/18/14
by
Bought the Avalon fountain a month ago for my dog and cat and they both love it ! I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet fountain. It is also simple to clean and stylish. I have the white one and wish they made it in stainless steel ..... but other that that .... I am very happy with it.

Rating
100%/
100%
great, 5/2/14
by
I am a pet sitter who has six of her own cats. I have a client who has gone through many Drinkwell products. After thoroughly cleaning them every other day I decided to get the Platinum ( actually I got two). Then an Avalon showed up there (complete with instructions). I read cover to cover and was able to clean and reassemble it easily. Their house is very quiet and I have never heard the pump make noise. I have had my Drinkwell Platinums for four years and (oops, I never knew I could open the inside of the motor - thank you PetSate.net for your video) find myself in need of new fountains. We have hard water and the plastic has built up some lime (I think) and the pumps are finally dying. If I get new ones the Avalon is on the top of the list. I might just start with new pumps. Thanks PetSafe for being there!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback on the Drinkwell fountains and are happy to hear of your success! If there is anything we can do to further your PetSafe experience, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Excellant Product for the Price (but you must properly maintain it !!), 2/23/14
by
I researched the competition and decided upon The Avalon Fountain for my cat. I have been using this fountain for over 9 months now. I always fill the fountain with filtered water.

The ceramic parts are of good quality and the pump is quiet. It takes very little time to clean. I have found that the foam insert around the pump should be inspected and cleaned on a weekly basis. I had experienced low output from the pump several times and the cause was clogged filters and a dirty pump.

Drinkwell has an excellent video on pump cleaning, which I followed their instructions and was pleased to have a like new functioning pump. The set up seems to be well designed for the price. I am changing the carbon filter every two weeks, and the foam sleeve every two months.

I got this fountain to keep my cat (Buster) hydrated. He drinks from it daily and it keeps him in good health. I recommend that you purchase the carbon filters & foam sleeves and put them away for future need.

Good Job Pet Safe ...... I would recommend this to my friends

Rating
80%/
80%
water not circulating, 2/12/14
by
We have had this unit approx. 6 mos. The Avalon has worked fine up until yesterday. I have hard water. So I certainly don't place any blame on the manufacturer. The mechanism is probably clogged with deposit. I just now found the video on how to properly clean the fountain. I have failed to clean the entire mechanical part. I use water that has been filtered through a under the sink unit that we installed. I hope to find the correct replacement part. Other than my own misuse...We are very satisfied with this product.

Rating
100%/
100%
Best fountain yet, 1/28/14
by
To date, I've purchased six fountains from a variety of manufacturers. The last three have been Drinkwell fountains. The Avalon fountain is by far the best design of any of the fountains we've used thus far.

I was in need of replacement filters and a filter housing that I broke while cleaning for the Drinkwell 360. Rather than order parts, I upgraded to the Avalon fountain and am pleased with the purchase for so many reasons, as are my cats and dog!

First, the Avalon is extremely easy to clean. Cat hair and debris wipe right off the durable porcelain surface. There are no tiny corners from which you need to clean film like we had experienced with the Drinkwell Platinum. Though we put filtered water in our fountain, our water is very hard and does leave scale on the porcelain. After soaking the parts in vinegar and hot water, this too, easily wipes off the finish. With previous fountains, some of the parts were difficult to submerge or soak, and scrubbing meant scratching the pieces.

The addition of a pre-filter to the pump was ingenious. With previous fountains, cat hair could be cleaned from the motor, but was a time consuming task.

Finally, the filter housings make replacing the filters much easier. There are no tiny crevices to clean, tabs to line up or flow rates to adjust. I find the new filters are slightly less expensive than the filters for the 360, and as the pre-filter now catches debris that in the past had clogged other fountain filters, I find they don't need to be replaced as often.

Nicely done, PetSafe!

Rating
100%/
100%
Love it!, 1/21/14
by
We got the fountain the same time we got our kitten and its been over a year now and he LOVES it! Loved it from the beginning! As long as our cat lives, he'll have a fountain. It did start running slow after a little while because I didn't clean the pump properly (messy kitten wet food) but once I clean it properly (THANK YOU VIDEO!) it worked like new! Thanks PetSafe! Mister Miyonie thanks you too!

Rating
80%/
80%
Quiet pump motor? No --- inop!, 12/15/13
by
Good fountain all-in-all. Reasonably easy to clean. Cats like it - very important! When pump was working, it was quieter than most. Pump just quit this a.m. after only about 6 months. Just ordered new pump. We'll see about customer service. Still would recommend over any previous water fountains but, obviously, this fountain motor has some issues that affect overall product quality. I'd buy again. Good luck.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you experienced trouble with your pump! Please know that this product does have a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer replacement options! Please Call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so we may assist in finding a solution for you and your cats.

Rating
40%/
40%
Pump Problems, 12/3/13
by
Love the fountain, but the pump quit working after about a couple of weeks same as the previous comment. Waiting on phone now (for quite a while) for customer service to find out about a replacement. If not, then I have a very expensive water bowl.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the Drinkwell Avalon Fountain has failed to meet your expectations. We would be happy to offer additional troubleshooting tips or warranty replacement options to help resolve this issue. If you would like to discuss these options further, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
My cats love this fountain and your customer service is fantastic, 11/20/13
by
It took a few weeks for my cats to take to the Avalon but now they love it. My older male cats drinks a lot more water now. He likes drinking from the top well. The little female cat likes the streams.

Not only that, I can't tell you how much I appreciate your great customer service. One day, while I was cleaning the Avalon, I accidentally pulled the bottom basin off the counter top and it smashed to pieces. I was so dissapointed because my cats really loved to drink from the fountain. The rest of the fountain was ok so I phoned customer service to ask if there was a replacement part available. The very friendly and courteous representative did not know but said someone would get back to me. No one got back to me but a few days later a replacement basin arrived in the mail. WOW! That's the kind of service that will make me a life-long customer.

Thank you Pet-Safe, for a wonderful product but most of all for your amazing customer service.

Rating
80%/
80%
Great fountain, poorly packaged, 11/12/13
by
I finally have a solution for my cat always wanting to drink from the bathroom sink (kidney issues). Very happy with the fountain itself.

However, one star down because when unpacking its box, the ceramic part packed in the top piece of styrofoam fell out of it, chipping the ceramic part underneath it. This is due to how the fountain is packed in the styrofoam inside the box. The chip left a sharp edge where the pump cord goes over the edge of the lip; I had to use clay to prevent the cord from getting cut. I would suggest the manufacturer alter the packaging within the item's box. And a word to the wise to those who order it after me - just be very, very careful when unpacking the components, especially the first step.

Other than that, the pump has been working great for almost a month now, with weekly cleanings. I wish I had better guidelines about when to replace the filter, though.

Rating
40%/
40%
Pump problems, 9/24/13
by
I purchased this item twice from Petsmart. Both times the pump pressure gave out after a week. There is no flow adjustment to rectify the lack of flow produced after a week. Cleaning did not solve the problem. I love everything about the fountain and but for the flow issue, I would still have it. I am back to using the reliable drinkwell platinum. If this issue is resolvednthisnwill be a fabulous product.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the Drinkwell Avalon Fountain has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

×