Close
#

Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar

Reviews

75% 100% 15
Overall
%
(15)
#
Ratings Breakdown
15 reviews
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
2
1 star
2

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
40%/
40%
Worked well before it broke, 8/18/14
by
This collar was effective and made the whole house smell good, but started leaking after a year, and would completely drain within 20 minutes. Also, it requires a PetSafe brand battery which was a bit expensive and a hassle to replace.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar failed to meet your expectations! Please know that we do offer replacement assistance even if your product is past the initial 1 year warranty, and we would be happy to discuss options that may best suit your needs! This collar does require our PetSafe RFA-188 battery, but they are always available through us, and often times through local retailers in your area. We also offer subscriptions on our batteries to help save you the hassle (and shipping). For more information, view the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/3-volt-battery

Rating
80%/
80%
Out smarted the collar, 8/16/14
by
This is a great product and I would recommend it to everyone. Only after a few months my Jack Russell Terrier has out smarted the collar.
We go to the dog park every morning, he wears the collar only inside the fenced area around the other dogs (no need for it when we are walking).
Jacks are known for three stages, excited, dominate then aggressive. So wearing the collar keeps him calm. Except he has learned to empty the collar by small barks, running so the Citronella blows by him. Once the spray is gone it's all out terrier barking.
I would still recommend it most dogs don't like it, he didn't at first. If another dogs bark close to him they get sprayed too.

Rating
100%/
100%
My miracle cure!, 7/7/14
by
I have an adopted year old dauchshund/spaniel mix who barks anytime she's left alone, and when meeting strangers. I'd video taped her when she was left alone, and she would wag her tail and jump on stuff, but would also bark every 5 seconds or so as a reminder that she was inside and that we needed to come back.

This collar has worked already. I got it this morning, and we went for a walk. She barked at some neighbors, and there was a quick squirt/spritz a second later. She looked surprised, and instantly stopped barking. After some more walking and testing, I left her to go grocery shopping. She didn't even bother to bark! It's a miracle! I then went out again for 30 minutes, and again, she didn't even bother to bark. Now, she just curls up in the crate in her room and rests, instead of pacing around and barking. I'm sure me neighbors are relieved! She can still growl and whine without setting off the collar, so she can still communicate, which is a plus for me.

For those of you worried, like I was, about hurting your dog or making them shell shocked from the collar, my dog can be timid and gets surprised and scared from silly things like flags blowing in the wind, waves at the beach, cardboard boxes, etc, and will cower after encountering these monsters. I was expecting that from the spray, but instead she was just interrupted and maybe annoyed. But not scared, and definitely not psychologically harmed by it.

Rating
60%/
60%
So so, 7/5/14
by
We got this collar for our 18 pound pooch and at first the collar worked great only going off when he was barking. Then a couple weeks in the collar started spraying him sporadically. He wasn't barking or anything. At first I thought it was great but now it just collects dust. I assume we may have just gotten a 'dud' but still we were slightly disappointed. Either way it's great to see that this company makes products for the lil dogs too.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the problem you've encountered with your Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Control Collar. We can understand how concerning it must be to have a defective product. Please know that this collar is designed to only respond when both sound and vibration of the bark is detected. This product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
AMAZING!!, 6/18/14
by
We were given the collar as a gift and oh my goodness... I wish I'd gotten one a LOT sooner... my chihuahua-dachshund mix is like a completely different dog.. even the neighbors have commented!! It took less than 24 hours for him to catch-on and stop barking! WE LOVE IT!

Rating
100%/
100%
Works great. Changed our lives., 4/27/14
by
Use the collars on our cockapoo and lhasa apso. We moved and every strange noise got them barking. Within the first hour it changed their behavior. They were a bit timid wearing it at first, but now run around like they are in a silent movie - everything but the barking! It is a game changer. Our kids like that it is gentle. Haven't had any issues with one dog setting off the other collar. Have had to refill fluid but battery has lasted 3 months so far. Best product we ever bought for our dogs!

Rating
100%/
100%
amazing!, 4/25/14
by
I have 2 chihuahua rat terrier mix brothers. They bark at everything from someone walking down the street to my neighbor closing a door. He had complained quite alot about the barking as I work all day. I bought just one of these with plans to alternate the collars each day. Just 4 hours later I noticed how quiet they both were. The pup with the collar was very quiet and my pup without knew what could happen if he barked! I was totally amazed as was my landlord. Could not believe how well this worked! My boys weigh 12lbs and this didn't seem to big or bulky. I felt very guilty putting this on them at first but it didn't hurt them and they both seemed more relaxed later when I took it off. Great product and would highly recommend it for any barking pup!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear of the success you've had with your 2 pups and their Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar! We do appreciate your time and feedback on this product. If there is anything we can do to further your PetSafe experience, please call our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Not for toy breeds, 3/19/14
by
Bought this yesterday for my 7lb Papillon. Worked the very first time. That was it. Apparently the sensors aren't sensitive enough for a tiny breed. Still barks constantly and never sprays. I will be returning it immediately. Don't waste your money if you have a toy breed.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar did not meet your expectations. This collar does require sound and vibration to trigger a response. If your Papillon has long hair, it may make it harder for this device to pick up the vibration of your dog's bark. There are other bark control devices that may be a better fit for your pet. If you are unhappy with the spray devices, we recommend considering one of our Static, Ultrasonic, or Vibration bark control products. You can view these products by using the link below. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.
LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/training-behavior/bark-control

Rating
100%/
100%
Excellent product. , 11/24/13
by
I have been using it for 2 years now. I put it on my small dog when I leave the house and my neighbors tell me my dog hasn't made a peep! It's easy to use, easy to refill, the battery is long-lasting. Wish I had one to give to my neighbor's dog!

Rating
100%/
100%
Best Guilt Free Solution, 11/20/13
by
This is by far one the best inventions for controlling my sweet, but very noisy terriers! I recently moved into an apartment building and the walls can seem a little too thin at times! It seems as thought they bark each and every time they hear a door close or voices in the hallway they go into super bark mode! I read an article about static collars and just couldn't bring myself to trying them. Thankfully I can across the spray collars and figured I'd give them a try. Almost instantly, I noticed a huge reduction in barking! It is important to be consistent and you will hopefully experience the same results! Thank you so much for this product! It is guilt free training that has significantly reduced my dogs' barking and they even smell a little fresher!

I do agree with another review that it would be helpful to see the fluid level.

Thanks!

Rating
100%/
100%
Quinn, 11/8/13
by
This has been the absolute BESt investment I have ever made. I have a 7 pound Miniature Pinscher. She is the sweetest dog but barks at EVERYTHING! In April/May of 2012, I was staying with my sister-in-law to care for my dying Mother-in-law. My MIL could not deal with our dog's screechy bark (Not to mention my husband hated her too because of it). I bought this collar and was amazed at how well it works and as a result my MIL derived some pleasure from my small dog being around.

When my dog wears the collar, she is a completely different dog. She's quiet (even a little submissive). It doesn't completely keep her from expressing her needs, as she has figured out how far she can go with it, but I don't have to worry about her going nuts every time a truck or school bus drives by.

The Battery does need to be changed frequently as it is not very practical to turn it on and off all of the time (You have to use a coin, butter knife or screw driver and you forget to turn it back on when you are trying to put it on her in the middle of an episode). I love this collar and recommend it to MANY! The Big dog collar, though, did NOT work on my Golden Mix.

Rating
20%/
20%
No detailed instructions and frustration, 10/24/13
by
There are no instructions on the refill canister - didn't know I had to hold it upright to fill the collar until I took it back to the pet store; thank goodness they knew how to refill it. No indicator on the collar as to whether or not it's full. It also works very intermittently. I will be returning it - very disappointed in the product.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
Spray vs. Shock, 10/16/13
by
The collar is a great idea. I've got two beagles and I have both this collar and the Basic Bark Control Collar (shock). This collar works on one of my beagles and the other works on the other beagle. One just barks thru the shock and responds well to the spray. The other responds well to the shock and barks thru the spray.

The one feature I'd change on this collar would be a window to see the fluid level.

Rating
20%/
20%
Doesn't work, 9/15/13
by
We purchased 2 of the non-elite collars in January. Worked like a charm, but quit spraying after 1 month. Bought 2 more in February. Worked like a charm for 3 months, then stopped spraying. Purchased two of these "elite" models yesterday. Light blinks green, doesn't spray at all! I'm so frustrated with your over-priced products that don't work!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar. We would like the opportunity to further assist you with troubleshooting tips as well as any replacement options if needed. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
100%/
100%
works beautifully!, 7/30/13
by
I bought this collar for my 5.5 lb maltipoo, who loved to bark at people. It took her about an hour to learn not to bark. The gentle spray of citronella was a real deterrent. It was remarkable how quickly she learned to associate the bark with the spray. Now I put the collar on her and dont even turn it on, and she knows that if the collar is on she should not bark. When I take the collar off she knows she is free to bark. I recommend this product highly.

×