Close
#

Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar

See Product Details

34 Customer Reviews

80 100 34
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
34 reviews
1 star
4
2 star
3
3 star
3
4 star
3
5 star
21

Add your Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
100/
100%
Effective11/19/16
by
We have a beagle who doesn't bark a lot but keeps going like the energizer bunny when he does. This is the only collar I have found that works and is effective. The cheaper ones go off for any noise and our dog is afraid to move. We use this at night and it is a god send. I do have to make sure it isn't behind a fold of his skin.

Rating
80/
80%
by
I must admit, I was skeptical of these kinds of products, but because my 12-year-old Shih Tzu has been exhibiting a lot of separation anxiety for the past few years--resulting in lots of barking and a neighbor complaining -- I decided to give it a try.

In short, it's been a God send!

After wearing the collar for only one or two days, my dog got the "message," and stopped barking completely. In fact, she's become a much calmer dog as a result. I've had the product now for about six weeks now, and barking is no longer an issue. So, I am amazed and very happy with this product. I initially bought a shock collar, but didn't have the heart to use it on her, so I opted for this spray-style collar and couldn't be happier.

I only have one minor complaint: Activating the collar requires turning a dial with a coin. Unfortunately, when turning, you have to be real precise and hit exact spot, which can be hard to do sometimes. If you turn a bit too far or not enough, it will not activate. So, you have to kind of fool around with it to find the precise "On" position. Other than this, I am very pleased.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We're happy to hear how much you love your Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar! We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us on activating the collar. We'll be glad to pass along what you've described to the appropriate teams. We hope you and your Shih Tzu continue to enjoy calm and peaceful times together!

Rating
100/
100%
Excellent8/20/16
by
This collar is excellent. We have a cavoodle who is a chronic barker, we have tried everything with her but this collar has been the only thing to stop the barking. She is now pleasant to have around again and can be taken to the park without the mental barking.

Will be buying two more for our other dogs.

Highly recommended.

Rating
100/
100%
Works Great!7/23/16
by
This is a great product. We bicycle a lot and take our dachshund in a cart my husband pulls behind his bike. We stopped taking the dog because the he barked constantly.
Ver annoying listening to barking for an hour. Tried this collar at my dog sitters recommendation and it works great! Only a few times and our guy got the idea. We like that it doesn't hurt him. The Customer Service from this company is excellent, also. Had a small problem with the fill port. After contacting the company they sent us a new collar, we returned the old one. Very seldom do you get this level of customer service.

Rating
100/
100%
Amazing 3/24/16
by
I wish I got this earlier! I own my own business and having clients come to my home my dog would constantly bark his head off. Sometimes for ten minutes! The first use he got sprayed after one bark and never barks again! Even if he hears something outside and starts to bark I just show him the collar and he's instantly quiet! I have a nine pound fixed chihuahua!

Rating
100/
100%
Works great!3/16/16
by
This collar has been a miracle worker. We were unable to walk our dog in our neighborhood because he went crazy barking at other dogs. I tried working with multiple trainers and read all of the advice I could find. Nothing worked. Now, he calmly walks past other dogs with no barking. I don't dread walks anymore, and my dog seems happier because he is getting more walks and is much less stressed.

Rating
100/
100%
by
It only took a few squirts for my chiwieney to learn to not bark when the collar is on. This was followed by simply holding the collar and he immediately stopped. He is now learning that the word 'collar' means he needs to stop. I really love that there is no pain in this process. I wish ithe large dog version was as effective on my 70 pound dog. Unfortunately, the layers of wrinkles and fur around his neck seem to block the spray, making it much less effective and increasingly so over time. I knew the company would take it back up to 30 days but I really wanted to work and did not take it back. My bad, not the companies!

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Lisa! We know that training can be a pain, but this bark collar can make training much easier and we are glad to hear that your small dog has successfully been trained! For assistance with your big dog collar, please give us a call so that we can do some troubleshooting at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I love this collar!! From the first day my little cocker spaniel has responded with little or no barking while wearing . It is very user friendly for me as well. I was skeptical, but will be recommending to anyone who has a barker.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I used the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar on my 7 pound Maltese and it worked! She had the typical annoying little bark and she barked at everyone and everything. With the collar on it just took a few sprays and she shut up...like magic! It was a bit bulky on her, but it's fine since it stopped her barking.

After a few weeks the device wouldn't accept a refill for some weird reason. I contacted the company according to their instructions in the manual and they were very eager to help. Excellent customer service. They replaced the defective device. I'm having problems again with it working intermittently even after replacing the battery. I have another month on my warranty. I'll be calling today to get it replaced. You have a one year warranty. Don't hesitate to contact them if you are having problems with the collar.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Karen! We are glad to hear that our Customer Service and Policies have met your needs and expectations. Please know that it can be helpful to empty this spray collar every few weeks and wipe the valve with a warm, moist cloth to reduce clogging. For troubleshooting tips please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Our two small dogs didn't respond to the ultrasonic bark collars (not unusual, I hear) so we moved up to the citronella spray bark collar. It works great! But even more than that, the customer support is fabulous. The customer service hours are great and there was always someone knowledgeable to answer our questions. When we had a mechanical issue with one of them they promptly sent us a new one and provided postage paid return for the original collar. We're completely satisfied and would highly recommend purchasing products from this company.

Rating
20/
20%
by
doesnt work as advertised and dog keeps barking

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are sorry to hear that this collar has not met your needs and expectations. This collar does require some training to calm the dog while barking to help him/her understand that the discomfort of the spray will stop when the dog stays calm. If it is a matter of the device malfunctioning, please know that we have troubleshooting available through our Customer Care Center, and that this unit carries a one year warranty. To find a solution, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Our Treeing Walker Coonhound Daisy barked NON-STOP at the window at anything or anyone passing by....this collar worked from the first minute it went on! We cannot believe the difference, and she is so much more at ease!!

Rating
60/
60%
by
It worked moderately well for a couple of weeks before the fragile plastic casing cracked and it leaked citronella everywhere. Tried to repair cracks with superglue, but it didn't help. Waste of money.

Not for use by short dogs who might hit it against the floor when jumping off the couch.

​PETSAFE RESPONSE:
Thank you for sharing your experience with the collar, Angela! We're terribly sorry to hear that the housing broke and leaked! We'd be happy to get that replaced for you under the terms of the warranty. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​. Hours of operation are 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I couldn't be happier with this product. I have a mini-dachshund that barked at absolutely everything. I thought my hearing was on the brink of failure. We first tried the ultra-sonic sound collar. It went off at all the wrong times which confused the dog. When it did go off at the right times it was ineffective. We then took him to an obedience course. It helped a little with his manners but the barking persisted. The instructor finally recommended the citronella spray collar. Because of our failed attempt with the sound collar I was skeptical but willing to try anything. The first time he barked when he put it one he stopped instantly and was confused. He barked several more times interspersed throughout the day and each time after one bark (with a perfectly timed citronella spray following it) he would stop. It hasn't gone of once from him running around, shaking his head, or even his sister barking right next to him. We took him through the park today and he only barked once when previously we couldn't get him to stop the entire time. The quiet and peaceful bliss was worth every penny :)

Rating
40/
40%
by
Although PetSafe support was very responsive, the final solution would have been to completely shave my Pomeranian's neck area where the unit would sit. We know spray bark collars work in general, but. We cut the fur way back (close to the skin), and attached the unit tight (one finger fit under the collar at the back), but it would never go off. Let me tell you, this little Pom can let out a bark! This unit works fine on our large short hair dog but not on the small dog. I only wish they had some tiny adjustment somewhere, or factory adjustment (I'd pay). So up for sale, one slightly used spray collar to short hair Chihuahua!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar was not the right fit for your pet and we can understand how frustrating this can be! While trimming your pet's hair may be necessary for a proper fit, we never want to suggest to completely shave your pup's neck. Please know that we do have other little dog bark collars that may be more beneficial to you and your Pomeranian, and we would be happy to offer replacement options through our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80/
80%
very good1/5/15
by
Works really well. Put it on our dog and he only barked once. He knows when it is on and if he does bark it is so softly that you can hardly hear it.Only thing that I don't like is that you need a coin to turn it on and off. This is frustrating if you want to use the collar and don't have a coin to turn it on or off. Don't know why they did this. Could have put a little switch on it instead

Rating
100/
100%
by
I bought two of these collars last week. AMAZING RESULTS! I have two mini-daschunds, almost 3 years old. Freckles, my male, barks at every tree looking for squirrels (32 trees). Maggie watches the street for anyone walking in front of HER house. We have a wireless fence (also a PetSafe product), and they will not go out of the yard even without that collar. Only wanted to go with something non-shock - vibration or spray. I put these spray collars on them this past Saturday and had instant results, virtually no barking. Today is the third day using the collars. Truly wonderful. I would recommend to anyone with bark, bark, barking dogs!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I purchased this product around 1 year ago through ebay. I have 2 problems with it.

#1 If my dog snorts or if she has her head out the car window, it sets it off, therefor confusing her. I had a similar situation with another collar. The slamming of a car or house door would set it off. My understanding was that only HER bark would trigger the spray.

#2 The size. My dog is a Shih Tzu. She weighs 10 pounds. I ordered the size that was suppose to be for a small dog. However, it is so big and bulky that it looks horrible on her neck. Not to mention, makes it difficult for her to bend her head down.

Other than this two issues, it works good.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your experience with the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar. We are sorry to hear of the 2 problems you have had, and we would be happy to help! This collar is equipped with the Perfect Bark® sound + vibration sensor which means that the collar will only spray if both sound and vibration occur. Since your Shih Tzu had her head out of the window, the collar could unintentionally activate due to the sound and vibration of the wind. To help resolve this issue, we recommend that she wear the collar only when her barking is unwanted. Please know that this collar is recommended best for pets that range from 8-55lbs. Unfortunately due to the technology that is required for this device to operate, it is not as small as other little dog collars we have available, but it is still lightweight (it weighs about 2 oz when filled). For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20/
20%
by
I bought the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar for my Dachshund mix on our trainer's recommendation. It worked effectively for a few days and interrupted her bark, then stopped working completely! I tried refilling it, but that wasn't the problem. I took it back to the pet store and exchanged it, then the same thing happened to the new one! When I took the second one back to the pet store I spoke to the store manager hoping he had some ideas, he recommended trying a different brand! I read similar reviews on the pet stores website citing the same problem. Must be a manufacturing defect. Very disappointed!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your experience with the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar. We are sorry to hear of the issues you've experienced, and we can understand your disappointment in having 2 systems fail to operate! Please know that these products are backed by a 1 year warranty, and we will be attempting to contact you to offer troubleshooting tips and replacement assistance. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40/
40%
by
This collar was effective and made the whole house smell good, but started leaking after a year, and would completely drain within 20 minutes. Also, it requires a PetSafe brand battery which was a bit expensive and a hassle to replace.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar failed to meet your expectations! Please know that we do offer replacement assistance even if your product is past the initial 1 year warranty, and we would be happy to discuss options that may best suit your needs! This collar does require our PetSafe RFA-188 battery, but they are always available through us, and often times through local retailers in your area. We also offer subscriptions on our batteries to help save you the hassle (and shipping). For more information, view the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/3-volt-battery

Rating
80/
80%
by
This is a great product and I would recommend it to everyone. Only after a few months my Jack Russell Terrier has out smarted the collar.
We go to the dog park every morning, he wears the collar only inside the fenced area around the other dogs (no need for it when we are walking).
Jacks are known for three stages, excited, dominate then aggressive. So wearing the collar keeps him calm. Except he has learned to empty the collar by small barks, running so the Citronella blows by him. Once the spray is gone it's all out terrier barking.
I would still recommend it most dogs don't like it, he didn't at first. If another dogs bark close to him they get sprayed too.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I have an adopted year old dauchshund/spaniel mix who barks anytime she's left alone, and when meeting strangers. I'd video taped her when she was left alone, and she would wag her tail and jump on stuff, but would also bark every 5 seconds or so as a reminder that she was inside and that we needed to come back.

This collar has worked already. I got it this morning, and we went for a walk. She barked at some neighbors, and there was a quick squirt/spritz a second later. She looked surprised, and instantly stopped barking. After some more walking and testing, I left her to go grocery shopping. She didn't even bother to bark! It's a miracle! I then went out again for 30 minutes, and again, she didn't even bother to bark. Now, she just curls up in the crate in her room and rests, instead of pacing around and barking. I'm sure me neighbors are relieved! She can still growl and whine without setting off the collar, so she can still communicate, which is a plus for me.

For those of you worried, like I was, about hurting your dog or making them shell shocked from the collar, my dog can be timid and gets surprised and scared from silly things like flags blowing in the wind, waves at the beach, cardboard boxes, etc, and will cower after encountering these monsters. I was expecting that from the spray, but instead she was just interrupted and maybe annoyed. But not scared, and definitely not psychologically harmed by it.

Rating
60/
60%
So so7/5/14
by
We got this collar for our 18 pound pooch and at first the collar worked great only going off when he was barking. Then a couple weeks in the collar started spraying him sporadically. He wasn't barking or anything. At first I thought it was great but now it just collects dust. I assume we may have just gotten a 'dud' but still we were slightly disappointed. Either way it's great to see that this company makes products for the lil dogs too.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the problem you've encountered with your Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Control Collar. We can understand how concerning it must be to have a defective product. Please know that this collar is designed to only respond when both sound and vibration of the bark is detected. This product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
AMAZING!!6/18/14
by
We were given the collar as a gift and oh my goodness... I wish I'd gotten one a LOT sooner... my chihuahua-dachshund mix is like a completely different dog.. even the neighbors have commented!! It took less than 24 hours for him to catch-on and stop barking! WE LOVE IT!

Rating
100/
100%
by
Use the collars on our cockapoo and lhasa apso. We moved and every strange noise got them barking. Within the first hour it changed their behavior. They were a bit timid wearing it at first, but now run around like they are in a silent movie - everything but the barking! It is a game changer. Our kids like that it is gentle. Haven't had any issues with one dog setting off the other collar. Have had to refill fluid but battery has lasted 3 months so far. Best product we ever bought for our dogs!

Rating
100/
100%
amazing!4/25/14
by
I have 2 chihuahua rat terrier mix brothers. They bark at everything from someone walking down the street to my neighbor closing a door. He had complained quite alot about the barking as I work all day. I bought just one of these with plans to alternate the collars each day. Just 4 hours later I noticed how quiet they both were. The pup with the collar was very quiet and my pup without knew what could happen if he barked! I was totally amazed as was my landlord. Could not believe how well this worked! My boys weigh 12lbs and this didn't seem to big or bulky. I felt very guilty putting this on them at first but it didn't hurt them and they both seemed more relaxed later when I took it off. Great product and would highly recommend it for any barking pup!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear of the success you've had with your 2 pups and their Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar! We do appreciate your time and feedback on this product. If there is anything we can do to further your PetSafe experience, please call our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40/
40%
by
Bought this yesterday for my 7lb Papillon. Worked the very first time. That was it. Apparently the sensors aren't sensitive enough for a tiny breed. Still barks constantly and never sprays. I will be returning it immediately. Don't waste your money if you have a toy breed.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar did not meet your expectations. This collar does require sound and vibration to trigger a response. If your Papillon has long hair, it may make it harder for this device to pick up the vibration of your dog's bark. There are other bark control devices that may be a better fit for your pet. If you are unhappy with the spray devices, we recommend considering one of our Static, Ultrasonic, or Vibration bark control products. You can view these products by using the link below. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.
LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/training-behavior/bark-control

Rating
100/
100%
by
I have been using it for 2 years now. I put it on my small dog when I leave the house and my neighbors tell me my dog hasn't made a peep! It's easy to use, easy to refill, the battery is long-lasting. Wish I had one to give to my neighbor's dog!

Rating
100/
100%
by
This is by far one the best inventions for controlling my sweet, but very noisy terriers! I recently moved into an apartment building and the walls can seem a little too thin at times! It seems as thought they bark each and every time they hear a door close or voices in the hallway they go into super bark mode! I read an article about static collars and just couldn't bring myself to trying them. Thankfully I can across the spray collars and figured I'd give them a try. Almost instantly, I noticed a huge reduction in barking! It is important to be consistent and you will hopefully experience the same results! Thank you so much for this product! It is guilt free training that has significantly reduced my dogs' barking and they even smell a little fresher!

I do agree with another review that it would be helpful to see the fluid level.

Thanks!

Rating
100/
100%
Quinn11/8/13
by
This has been the absolute BESt investment I have ever made. I have a 7 pound Miniature Pinscher. She is the sweetest dog but barks at EVERYTHING! In April/May of 2012, I was staying with my sister-in-law to care for my dying Mother-in-law. My MIL could not deal with our dog's screechy bark (Not to mention my husband hated her too because of it). I bought this collar and was amazed at how well it works and as a result my MIL derived some pleasure from my small dog being around.

When my dog wears the collar, she is a completely different dog. She's quiet (even a little submissive). It doesn't completely keep her from expressing her needs, as she has figured out how far she can go with it, but I don't have to worry about her going nuts every time a truck or school bus drives by.

The Battery does need to be changed frequently as it is not very practical to turn it on and off all of the time (You have to use a coin, butter knife or screw driver and you forget to turn it back on when you are trying to put it on her in the middle of an episode). I love this collar and recommend it to MANY! The Big dog collar, though, did NOT work on my Golden Mix.

Rating
20/
20%
by
There are no instructions on the refill canister - didn't know I had to hold it upright to fill the collar until I took it back to the pet store; thank goodness they knew how to refill it. No indicator on the collar as to whether or not it's full. It also works very intermittently. I will be returning it - very disappointed in the product.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60/
60%
Spray vs. Shock10/16/13
by
The collar is a great idea. I've got two beagles and I have both this collar and the Basic Bark Control Collar (shock). This collar works on one of my beagles and the other works on the other beagle. One just barks thru the shock and responds well to the spray. The other responds well to the shock and barks thru the spray.

The one feature I'd change on this collar would be a window to see the fluid level.

Rating
20/
20%
Doesn't work9/15/13
by
We purchased 2 of the non-elite collars in January. Worked like a charm, but quit spraying after 1 month. Bought 2 more in February. Worked like a charm for 3 months, then stopped spraying. Purchased two of these "elite" models yesterday. Light blinks green, doesn't spray at all! I'm so frustrated with your over-priced products that don't work!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the Elite Little Dog Spray Bark Collar. We would like the opportunity to further assist you with troubleshooting tips as well as any replacement options if needed. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I bought this collar for my 5.5 lb maltipoo, who loved to bark at people. It took her about an hour to learn not to bark. The gentle spray of citronella was a real deterrent. It was remarkable how quickly she learned to associate the bark with the spray. Now I put the collar on her and dont even turn it on, and she knows that if the collar is on she should not bark. When I take the collar off she knows she is free to bark. I recommend this product highly.