Close
#

Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar

Reviews

61% 100% 40
Overall
%
(40)
#
Ratings Breakdown
40 reviews
5 star
11
4 star
7
3 star
7
2 star
3
1 star
12

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
20%/
20%
Battery life, 11/3/14
by
I am sad to say I own two of these bark collars. I spent a lot of money on them and the batteries. The battery life is horrid. My dog barks only a few times and it's drained. I think it is a fault to have to turn it on and off. I wouldn't be as upset if the batteries hadn't cost me nearly $20ea at Bosleys. I turn it on for only short periods and then turn it off. I own a big dog park collar that doesn't require to be turned on or off. It's battery lasts a very long time with the dog barking. I am angry that I've spent so much money on something that doesn't work well. I am writing this now because I cannot believe how, for the third or fourth time, this battery that cost me nearly $20ea could only last a few days.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar has failed to meet your expectations. We can understand how disappointing it can be to have batteries die in a short amount of time. Please know that when this collar is ON, it is programmed to constantly detect the sound and vibration of your dog's bark. The battery life on these collars usually range from 3-6 months when the collar is turned OFF during times it is not used. These batteries are also found at multiple retailers as well as through our website (please see the link below). We also have a subscription plan that offers free shipping and discounts the price of batteries. For more information on our products, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/3-volt-battery

Rating
40%/
40%
Did not train our dog, 11/2/14
by
We had two issues that made this a total fail.
1. Our darn poodle is so determined to bark that the collar stopped his barking when it was on him. It only took him a few days to realize that there were no consequences for barking when it was off. Since the directions advise NOT to use it 24/7.........he barked anytime it was off.
2. After a couple of weeks (maybe less than that!), the 'progressive' training would decrease the threshold for detecting barking and he figured out that it wasn't going to shock him.........so he barked!!!

Note: we are on our second of this brand/model. I would love to be able to 'reset' them to original settings, because they are useless now.

We also bought the manual shock collar. It only works if you carry the remote EVERYWHERE you go in the house......and if you happen to be in the same room as the dog.....otherwise there is no training value.
Disappointed

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar. We are sorry to hear this product has failed to meet your expectations, and we can understand your frustrations! We are happy to offer troubleshooting to help you and your poodle. Please know our products are designed to stop excessive barking, not all barking. He will be allowed to bark a few times before the strength of the correction increases. We recommend to put the collar on your pet around the same time each day (in the evening for example) so they can begin to associate when it is not okay to bark. Also, keep in mind that any training or training product takes time. It may take up to 2 weeks before you will see a marked change in your dog's behavior. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
Stops the barking but she still whines, 11/1/14
by
It was either surgical debarking or a bark collar for my nonstop barker. I stay in hotels with my dogs and they'd kick us out. I decided to try this collar. I like it because it's very small and it does stop her from barking but she's learned she can whine instead. The whining is annoying but the other people in the hotels can't hear it. It's 1,000% better than her screechy bark.


Rating
100%/
100%
Love, Love, Love this collar, 10/30/14
by
I have only had this collar for 2 days and it has been awesome. My little dog is perfect and I love her with my whole heart, BUT her barking was making me crazy. I had tried the color that sprays and also another color similar to this one, yes, it was less money but it worked on her for maybe a day or two and that was it, did not make a difference. I decided to try this one and so far it is great. After the first bark, she has not made another bark since. I don't leave it on all the time so I am hoping that my battery last a little longer than what I am reading in some of these reviews.

Rating
60%/
60%
PetSafe® Elite Little Dog Bark Control, 9/14/14
by
We purchased this product from Petsmart. Having to find a training device for our Dachshund.. After trying 2 ultrasonic device that did not work we finally relented to the shock collar. With the help of a associate we were specific about a device for a small dog. On the advice from the associate we were convinced that it was more of a static shock like you would receive from the carpet ... I tried to see how the shock would feel but could not get a reaction until 2 weeks later..Yes it works but finally able to get a response from my barking I was shocked at how much stimulation I received. I am just disappointed that I cannot lower the stimulation with this Bark control like others. I figured because it was especially made for little dogs it would not be just one stimulation feature.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your time in sharing your experience with the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar! We are sorry to hear of the issue you've experienced with the static correction, and we can understand your concern. Please know that this collar is designed with 10 different levels of stimulation. This collar will self adjust based on the dog's barking habits, meaning it will begin at level 1 and will increase each time the dog barks (within 30 seconds of the previous bark). If the dog remains quiet for 30 seconds, the collar will reset back to level 1.
To test the collar, we recommend to rub the sensor probe on a hard surface while blowing into the microphone. The red indicator light will flash to show that a stimulation has been given. If you would like to feel the correction, you will quickly need to place BOTH metal probes on 1 finger after rubbing the probes/blowing into the microphone. Please remember that the more you test your collar within 30 seconds, the higher the level of correction will become. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
worked like a charm but has some flaws, 9/11/14
by
we adopted a 3 1/2 year old havanese from an elderly friend that could not care for him properly. The dog had never been trained and has a bark that can make you want to shoot him. It's high pitched and never ending. He can bark for 1/2 hour solid. He's a lovely little dog if it weren't for that. So we tried the petsafe remote trainer but you have to keep the remote with you and use it during immediately after/during the barking otherwise he just didn't learn it. We had trouble using it because we never knew when he was going to start his barking spells. so by the time we grabbed the remote and used it, I don't think he had a clue as to why we were shocking him. We purchased this little dog static barker and I am happy to say that by the end of the day he was no longer barking. It was heaven. When he wants your attention he just whimpers a little and when he sees someone outside, he just dances around and gets excited... QUIETLY. however, my peace with this little guy was short lived. The battery lasted exactly 2 days, and our pet supply place doesn't restock the batteries (it's a HUGE pet store so I don't really understand why you would stock the product but not the accessories). Needless to say, he is back to barking as I await our replacement batteries. bottom line: if you have an incessant barker, give this a try. be prepared to drop $ on this device, it's not cheap but neither is training school or the amount of medication I needed to control my headaches from crazy barking! It really worked for us just make sure you have extra batteries on hand so that you can keep the training consistent. A friend of ours that has this device and now only has to show the collar to her dog and it settles him down.

Rating
60%/
60%
Not consistant, 8/5/14
by
When this product works, it is very effective. However, the first collar I purchased did not go off consistently. I purchased a new battery (which are not cheap), turned it off and on several times as per the directions. However, there would be several days where it did not work and then other times when it did. (By work I mean zap).

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you've experienced with your Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar. We can understand how frustrating it must be to experience inconsistent results, and we will be attempting to contact you regarding your situation. This collar is designed to respond only when vibration and bark are detected, and often times inconsistent activation can be the result of improper fit. For more information, please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
It has changed my life and my Doggies Life, 6/1/14
by
I have two two year old adorable Maltese, brother and sister Tennyson and Tabitha. So many people have said Bark collars are cruel.
But continually yelling at your dog is cruel as well.I did a lot of research.I was getting so many complaints from neighbors and other dog walkers in my street and with that also came aggression. It was so bad while watching Television at night if a Lizard, or a horse any animal whatsoever appeared they both started and would not stop.I have been using the bark collars now for only one week and I am absolutely shocked beyond belief how wonderful these collars are.They dont appear to mind me putting them on and there is no tails down they seem happy and most probably relieved they are not being yelled out.It was worth it to me to buy top of the line, I bought a cheap one first which was disastrous with 3'inches of metal sticking in your dogs throat. I cannot recommend this product highly enough its magical and has changed my life.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar. We are happy to hear of Tennyson and Tabitha's success! If you have any questions about your collars, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
It Works, 5/21/14
by
I received an anonymous note that my dogs were barking all day. I know when I would walk in my door it was very noisy as they were happy to see me. I bought two of these. It is now very quiet when I walk in the door so I know they are not barking. I love my dogs and don't want any trouble with the neighbors so I am grateful for this product.

Rating
100%/
100%
Saved my dog., 5/15/14
by
I was told my dog Barks None Stop when I leave my house. I parked down the street and walked to my house to see if it was true.. it was..!! Now when I leave my house I put on his collar and can leave in peace knowing he it not causing problems for people trying to sleep etc... Happy ending for me and a mad group of people.. I love my dog very much and feel this could have saved is life as some one may have killed him. :)





Rating
80%/
80%
Best money we spent, 4/26/14
by
We love this collar! It works nearly 100% of the time (as long as it is in the correct position). Best money we spent!

Rating
20%/
20%
Either a real dumb dog or this product does not work, 4/15/14
by
I purchased this product in August of 2013 so that my new rat terrier would not bark all day long like our obnoxious neighbors dogs have done in the past. Lo and behold I am the new obnoxious neighbor whose dog barks all day long. This collar is more like a instrument of torture than anything else. She barks, gets zapped -practically flips in the air from the correction, barks again...repeat process. Like I said the dog is either real dumb or just does not get that if she barks she will get a static correction. She has worn it for eight months constantly (except at night) and she still barks and gets zapped, and barks and gets zapped etc. She has NOT "quickly learned the association and stop the unwanted behavior"!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar has failed to meet your expectations! Please know that the bark control collar is designed to get your dog’s attention and interrupt their barking pattern, not to punish her. It is a device intended to help you communicate to your dog when it is not okay to bark. However, the initial static correction may startle her. On rare occasions, a dog may get into a bark-correction-bark-correction cycle. If this happens, reassure your dog with calm, soothing tones. As your dog relaxes, she will understand that if she becomes quiet, she will not receive any more Static Corrections. The small minority of dogs that have this reaction should only have it the first time they wear the Bark Control Collar. For more information on your device, please refer to your user manual that can be downloaded at the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/training-behavior/bark-control/collars/elite-little-dog-bark-control

Rating
20%/
20%
Waste of more money, 4/6/14
by
This is the second time I've purchased a PetSafe product that didn't work. I've made adjustments to the collar and gone purchased 2 sets of batteries. This bark collar did not have any effect on my dogs barking.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you had no success with the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar and your pets! Please know that we do offer troubleshooting available at the link below, or through our Customer Care Center (1-800-732-2677). If this device does not seem to be a good fit for your pets, we would recommend considering one of our Spray, Ultrasonic, or Vibration bark control products. This product also has a 1 year limited warranty. Please let us know if there is any way we can assist you!

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/training-behavior/bark-control

Rating
20%/
20%
Batteries are not lasting more than a week or two MAX, 3/15/14
by
Our unit MUST be faulty - we have lost count of how many batteries we have purchased. They are going dead OR the collar stops working - but I believe they are going dead - the flashing light no longer blinks after about a week or two - and the high pitched bark of our rescued 4 year old mini-schnauzer is CONSTANT when someone comes down stairs / walks in door / gets up from sitting - (Took her in when my aunt died of cancer). Does not respond to verbal correction whether calm or loud /stern. Ignore & she continues to follow you barking. etc. We believe she was possibly neglected as her illness progressed / and never trained appropriately to begin with - but need to barking under control. (along with other issues)
We really want this dog to learn appropriate barking - as we really want her to be a part of our family -

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing trouble with your Elite Little Dog Bark Control device. We do have a few troubleshooting steps that may help resolve your battery issue and get your mini-schnauzer back on the right training process. If the low battery status is flashing on your device only a few days after it was replaced, you may want to take out the battery for a few minutes and then replace it. Many times this will drain energy from the receiver itself and allow it to work properly. If you are still experiencing issues with your device, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for more troubleshooting tips.

Rating
100%/
100%
Works, 2/22/14
by
I put this on my dog and made sure the contacts were on my dogs skin. When he barked at someone walking by our house the collar zapped him. I turned the collar off for now and he hasn't barked since.

Rating
100%/
100%
excellent product, 2/21/14
by
We purchased this for our 16 month old pekingese. There are 10 dogs living on our block alone. When one started barking they all did. Everytime she was let out she barked, at people, other dogs , cars etc. We put this on her and after barking twice she didn't bark at all. The flashing light actually helps me locate her in the yard at night. Sometimes I don't even turn the collar on, just wearing it, she doesn't bark! Thank you for making a non injurious product that works!

Rating
80%/
80%
Great customer service, 2/18/14
by
The collar works well when the battery is fresh, but the battery only lasts ~3 1/2 months. However, the customer service was great when I called in to complain about the battery. They bent over backwards to make it right. Wee Millie is a completely different dog with the collar on!

Rating
20%/
20%
Has never worked on any dog, 1/26/14
by
these bark colars from petsafe do not work. We tried it on our small dog, several friends tried it . No results on any of our dogs. Waste of money


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar is not a good fit for your pet. If your pet is not responding well to the static correction, we would recommend considering one of our Spray, Ultrasonic, or Vibration bark control products. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Works Great!, 1/24/14
by
Keeps my little yapper very quiet! My little yapper actually likes to wear it. Battery has lasted 3+ months. Product works as advertised and is a good value.

Rating
80%/
80%
Works Ok. Battery does not last long. Needs a snug fit to work!, 1/14/14
by
Had the product for one month. Two of them actually. I try to switch them off as much as possible to save the battery. But the tiny battery does not last long. I will be ordering a replacement which costs 10 euros each locally. You have to make sure it is fitted tight or it will flash red but will not deliver the correction. I get a bit concerned at times, I don't like any collar fitted so tight on my dogs. But that is the only way I can stop the repeated barking. The print on the plastic has already faded but that is not an issue. Only minus is that the device is expensive to maintain. Compared to other products I have used, the PetSafe feels solid and reliable. Other cheaper devices I had often shocked my dogs in vein, even if they just jerk or hit it with the bowl while eating they used to trigger for no reason. I have to rate it as 4. Only downside being the short battery life. Still don't know why it says that the battery lasts 6 months on the manual. One last thing, the dogs do tend to learn how to make other noises like howl or make cries that do not trigger the device. So yes, they are intelligent enough to learn how to go about tricking the device.

Rating
20%/
20%
Waste of money, 1/11/14
by
This collar flat out does not work. 90% of the time it won't turn on the way it should. I am pretty sure it doesn't shock or whatever it is supposed to do the 10% of the time it does come on right. My dog has had this on every time she is in her cage for more than a week and she still barks with it on. $100 down the drain.

Rating
80%/
80%
Effective, 1/9/14
by
Love the product! We have a mini Schnauzer and a Yorkie, who love to sound the alarm! We were at our wits end and nearly resorted to ear plugs. We went to PetSmart to look for a solution. We met and spoke to a store employee who was VERY knowledgeable of the PetSafe product line. She provided great information and helped us arrive at our selection - the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar. We got two. Though they are spendy, they provided IMMEDIATE results!! WOW!! We thought it was too good to be true. We had peace and quiet then and running strong 3 months later. They are VERY EFFECTIVE! Our dogs do bark but the static module is 'smart' and learns your dog's bark pattern behavior and adjusts itself to measure increasingly stonger static discharges until your dog gets the message and stops barking, usually after only a couple of barks.
The down side...the nylon material the straps are made of is bothersome. As the straps wear, they get shaggy and our dog's hair gets caught in them and causes them to itch!! Our Yorkie is now digging the hide off his neck trying to stop the itch.
So we are looking for a replacement for the strap I can transfer the static unit to. A fitted rubber or leather strap would be great! Any ideas PetSafe??

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear you've had great success with your Bark Control Collars! If the collars seem to be bothersome to your Yorkie, there may be replacement solutions available to you. To discuss this issue, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. We look forward to hearing from you!

Rating
100%/
100%
Works wonders , 1/8/14
by
I don't understand where the bad reviews are coming from. We used to live in a apt with a no barking dog policy. I bought the collar bc our silky terrier yapped and cried when we left him alone. After wearing the collar for a few months, he became a non barking dog. We no longer live in the apt but he still behaves properly and we get many compliments on how quiet and enjoyable he is to be around. He is very well behaved and only barks if a stranger is in front of our house or he gets spooked in the night. I would recommend to anyone wishing for less yapping from their fur baby.

Rating
80%/
80%
Great results, 1/5/14
by
We have 2 dogs: a yappy Yorkie, and then we got a 20 lb terrier(?) mutt at the pound. They both LOVE to bark at everyone who comes to the door, or the many people and dogs that walk or jog past our house. What cacophany!!! We tried all sorts of behavioral training and the ultrasonic noise maker, etc., without success. We have been very pleased with these Petsafe bark collars. The dogs both still bark a bit when the mailman or someone else comes to the door, but not the incessant chorus of yore. And they no longer bark at passersby at all! The only pitfall is that they have learned when they are and are not wearing their collars. They bark more when their collars are off, but maybe not quite as much as before (?). Our lives are much more tranquil, thanks to this bark collar. BTW, I read you are not supposed to let dogs wear invisible fence collars AND bark collars at the same time, but we do. Both our dogs are fine, with nice healthy necks.

Rating
40%/
40%
Collar doesn't work, 11/26/13
by
We bought this product hoping to curb our Tibetan Terrier/ Lhaso Apso mix's big bark. It worked great for the first few months. Since then, we have replaced the battery every 60 days. It has not been working, as advertised,since those first two months. I went back to Petco, who informed me that I would have no recourse but to go to you.
It seems that an electronic collar that costs $100.00 should last 6 months or more. We are very disappointed, and would like a replacement that works.
Respectfully,
Joel Bernstein


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Control Collar. We would be happy to assist you with additional troubleshooting tips as well as this PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
100%/
100%
Works Great!, 11/16/13
by
I felt the need to respond because this product has gotten some bad reviews. I first purchased a much cheaper until at Petsmart and immediately brought it back as it was horrible. The reason I LIKE this product is that it give my dog a warning before it shocks him. You do have to use it correctly however. You have to wait for the orange light to come on or it will not work. My dog is certainly learning he cannot bark without this. He knows when it is on and when I have taken it off. I don't think this product deserves the bad reviews it has gotten.

Rating
60%/
60%
works great but....., 11/13/13
by
works great but one of them completely fell apart. So bummed since I spent $99 and can't find my receipt. The battery fell out and we can't find it anywhere.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this system has failed to meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation.

The RFA-188 battery for your unit consists of the entire black cap. The battery does not come out of the twist-on cover. You may purchase the 3-Volt Battery, item RFA-188, by calling our Customer Care Center directly at 1-800-732-2677. You may also copy and paste the below address into your browser window to purchase the item online or locate a local retailer:

http://store.petsafe.net/3-volt-battery

Rating
20%/
20%
not working, 11/10/13
by
we bought this item for a week and my dog still barking. we trim his fur because his fur is too thick. were not sure if the product is gives a lil shock to my dog because he still barking. we read the manual and the light is working. I feel like I wasted my money for nothing.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar has failed to meet your expectations. We can understand how frustrating it must be to not be able to get the collar to activate. While trimming the fur may be necessary, we do recommend to ensure the device is snugly fitted to your dog and placed in the middle of the neck so that it senses the vibration of the dog's bark. If these steps do not resolve the issue, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a solution.

Rating
20%/
20%
Confused, 10/5/13
by
I cannot tell which side is up. Put it on the dog both ways and neither seems to work. The Manuel is no help. ( I did reset it and the green light blinks).

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the Elite Little Dog Bark Collar has failed to meet your expectations. This collar should be positioned on your pet to where the battery is facing downward. If the collar is not activating when your pet barks, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for additional troubleshooting tips and proper fit information.

Rating
20%/
20%
Doesn't work, 9/20/13
by
We leave our chihuahua on our patio daily while we work, as he soils the carpets regularly and can't leave him inside. Put the collar on and turn off the lights and he will bark for 10 minutes straight, our neighbors even told us he barks when they pass by throughout the day.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar is not a good fit for your pet. If your pet is not responding well to the static correction, we would recommend considering one of our Spray, Ultrasonic, or Vibration bark control products. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Works Great, 9/19/13
by
We purchased two Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collars for our Maltipoos. Both barked any time someone came near the house. At first we did not see any results. After a "reset" the collars worked. Now, if we are expecting visitors, all we have to do is put the collars on the dogs and no barking. They have learned they are not to bark when the collars are on their necks (even if the collar is turned off). I have recommended the collars to other small dog owners and they have had the same results. The reset prior to first application is important.

Rating
60%/
60%
Worked good then it didint work at all, 9/18/13
by
When first purchased this bark collar for my dog I have to say I was very pleased with it but after I changed the battery it no longer worked the dog was back to her old ways waking up my little one from her naps bummer.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
100%/
100%
2 small dogs - Wonderful product, 9/16/13
by
I have been using the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar for my 18 lb Bichon and 10 lb Malpom for the past 6 months and love the results, especially with the Malpom which can be yappy! I live in a 4-plex. and put the collars on when I leave. I've checked back with the neighbors and found they have not barked at all! I have tried the citronella and sonic collars to no avail.

The collar alone is not the answer; discipline is also required. It takes about a month or so for the dogs to get the idea, but stick with it. It works!

Rating
20%/
20%
Bark...Bark...Bark..., 9/2/13
by
This color has no effect on my 1 yr old Choc. Lab.
Followed all the directions and internet videos I could find.
No positive results.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar is not a good fit for your pet. This collar is intended for use with small dogs (under 55 pounds). If your pet is near the weight limit, we would recommend considering the Elite Big Dog Static Bark Collar as this unit would better suit your pet. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Doesn't work at all, 8/16/13
by
I wish I could figure out if there is something I am doing wrong with this collar. I paid almost $100 for this at the local pet shop and my neighbors are still complaining that the dog/s are barking. Please, someone help me figure out what is wrong/what I am doing wrong with this. I can't have my neighbors complaining about my dog/s Thanks!!!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have encountered difficulty with your Elite Little Dog Static Bark Collar. We would be happy to provide troubleshooting tips and information to help you resolve this situation. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
A No Go for a Yellow Lab, 7/24/13
by
The first collar didn't have an effect on our 7 month young yellow lab. The store we purchased it from exchanged it no problem for an exact replacement citing that it likely had shorted out and shouldn't have done so in only 2 weeks. The replacement collar hasn't done a thing. We just ordered a much more expensive training collar and are hopeful this will do the trick. The replacement is not made by PetSafe.
My honest suggestion is that if you have a large tough breed of dog, this collar just won't help. Look to hunting dog sites and read reviews on proven brands and models to keep from getting nasty-grams from your annoyed neighbors. Good luck!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the Elite Little Dog Bark Collar was not a suitable fit for your pet. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Works great until it doesn't , 7/20/13
by
I bought this collar about 3 weeks ago. Everything was going well with the training and then I noticed the green on light continued to blink even after being turned off. Now a few days later the collar doesn't work at all. It's really unfortunate because it does work wonders on my little "talker", but costing that much money and only working for a month, i don't know. It's frustrating.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Elite Little Dog Bark Collar. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
60%/
60%
Was perfect, when it worked., 6/7/13
by
Our little dog has the run of our fenced in backyard. She patrols the yard as if she gets paid to do it. She barks at anything and everything...birds, leaves, you name it. This collar worked great for the first 3 to 4 months. It even changed her demeanor. It helped her to obsess less and play more. The problem is, it only worked for 3 or 4 months! I bought new batteries and it worked great for a short time again. We always make sure to turn the collar off when she's in the house, which is a lot of the time. And once again, I am going to purchase more batteries because when it works, it's great.

Rating
60%/
60%
Great, when it works !!!, 5/31/13
by
Collar was purchased at Tractor Supply, and worked great for about 3 weeks. I replaced the battery and it still didn't work. All lights (LED) were indicating that the unit was functioning according to the manual. I haven't tried it for 6 months, going to get a new battery and try it again. I will update this review if collar is working again.

Rating
60%/
60%
Works great until it doesn't, 5/25/13
by
I'm on my second Elite Little Dog Bark collar in 5 months. We have a "squirrel" dog who goes nuts whenever he sees a squirrel. We had tried every other training method for a year and nothing worked until we bought this collar. It was super effective. When he wore this collar we could leave him outside unattended without driving our neighbors crazy. Unfortunately, both collars quit working after a couple of months. The same issue happened: the green ready light stays blinking and on even when the battery is in the off position. Both times when this starts happening the collar stops shocking. New batteries don't seem to help. When this happened with the first collar we thought it was a fluke but now the second collar has the same issue. Has anyone else had this problem? The collars are not cheap so I'm loathe to buy another collar that may only last two months.
Bottom line: it's effective until it breaks.

×