Close
#

Elite Big Dog Static Bark Collar

Reviews

67% 100% 19
Overall
%
(19)
#
Ratings Breakdown
19 reviews
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
5

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Elite Big Dog Static Bark Collar
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
40%/
40%
not sure if it is working as intendedor if I should try another harsher model, 10/2/14
by
My dog has learned that she can bark twice, pause, bark twice, pause and never get corrected. I have tried resetting the collar and it ends up the same. It only corrects her if she barks constantly (more than 3 or four times). I would like to find a collar that corrects EVERY time she barks.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your feedback on your experience with the Elite Big Dog Static Bark Collar. Please know that our products are designed to stop excessive barking, not all barking, so if your dog is barking 2 or 3 times and stopping, the unit is working properly. He or she will be allowed to bark a few times before the strength of the correction increases. To help with this issue, we recommend to praise your dog when he or she does stop barking, even if it takes him or her 5 or 6 barks to stop. Every bit of reinforcement helps and praise can go a long way towards motivating him or her. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Unreliable, 9/11/14
by
I purchased the collar as a replacement for the old style big dog bark collar which worked well. The new technology worked okay for a few months then stopped working most of the time. I tried replacing the battery but that wasn't the problem. And, if I tighten the collar anymore the dog would choke. The collar doesn't detect barking 95% of the time so it is pretty useless.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Elite Big Dog Static Bark Collar did not meet your expectations! We can understand how frustrating it must be to have a product that does not seem to work for you or your pet! Please know that this device uses the dual-detection of both vibration and sound sensors to discriminate each bark from other external noises. This means that the collar activates only if both the vibration from the vocal cords and the sound from the bark are detected. If your pet has thick or long fur, it may prevent the collar from picking up the vibration of your pet's bark. This product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and our product experts are standing by to offer additional tips and troubleshooting in an effort to help you get the most out of your bark collar. For more information, please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Customer service is awesome, 6/22/14
by
I purchased the bark collar for our very talkative German Shepard/Pitbull girl. She caught on right away. (I really wish the neighbors would get one for their barker/yappers. Marcie and Murphy (our other dog) were playing and the cap to the battery compartment broke off. I sent an e-mail to customer service inquiring the opportunity to purchase a new cap. [A Customer Care Representative] responded right back and offered to send us a new cap. I have not received it as if yet, but the courteous response was more than enough for me. I will defiantly recommend this to others. (And drop hints to the neighbors hehe). I even duck taped the cap on. It receives a very weak signal, but enough of a reminder to not bark. LOVE it. Thank you [Customer Care].

Rating
100%/
100%
Best ever!, 6/2/14
by
This is the first review I've written about anything/anybody... ever, good or bad. I bought the Big Dog Static Bark Collar as a last resort. I have 3 dogs (2 boxers and a dobie) but only 1 barker...but just 1 barker was enough to receive many complaints from my neighbors. My dog barks when the wind blows, then when the wind stops blowing, she keeps barking until the next wind blows. It was ridiculous and I tried everything I could think of to thwart this behavior. I was afraid the bark collar would be too harsh for her, both physically and emotionally...but she's smart, it only took her an hour to make the connection between her barking and the static response of the collar. No more barking, no more static from the collar. It is truly unbelievable and I wish I hadn't waited so long to try this collar. I honestly cannot believe how fast and how great this collar works...and how much life has changed for all of us. Most times I don't even turn it on, she just knows that when she's wearing it, she can't bark.

Rating
100%/
100%
Works great, 5/21/14
by
After 1 hour , our Ridgeback stopped barking. He used to bark at other dogs, but now he just looks. Amazing product. Works great .

Rating
100%/
100%
/great product, 5/20/14
by
After 1 hour, our big guy (90 lb Ridgeback mix) got the message and won't bark. Other dogs would bark at him and he will just stand and look. Amazing !!!!

Thanks,
Gene

Rating
100%/
100%
Follow-up to 1-Star Review, 5/3/14
by
I wrote a 1-star review a day or two ago. I called customer service, as requested, after they immediately responded to my review. I am changing my 1-star review to a 5-star review. Look, all products can fail and odds are that customers may end up with a lemon from time to time - that's a fact. However, what is unusual is today's market is a company that stands behind their product 100%. This company does that. My problem was not drawn out; I didn't have to argue with them; and I didn't have to jump through hoops. They simply fixed the problem instantly.Purchase this collar with confidence and KNOW that the company will right a wrong. If you'e read bad reviews, such as mine, KNOW that this company will help to correct any device malfunctions. Thank you PetSafe. I trusted and gave you my business in the beginning and you came back to honor that promise! You have earned a continued customer.

Thanks,
Kristin

Rating
20%/
20%
Not pleased, 5/1/14
by
My collar seemed to work like a charm for about 2 months. Then, something happened. I'm not sure what changed, but my dog began to either completely respond to or completely ignore it. I have adjusted it countless times, countless. I have troubleshooted it as best as I can according to the manual. I've checked the battery indicators. I've reset the correction and started over. NOTHING works. I noticed about 4 months ago, the prongs were loose. I tightened them. Then, another month later, a prong fell off completely. Today, I found we are now missing an entire prong. I'm really disappointed in this product. It's been nothing but a headache.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear about the problems you've encountered with your Elite Big Dog Static Bark Collar. Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. If a probe is loose or missing from the system, that may be the cause of the inconsistency you are noticing from the collar. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
20%/
20%
Love/hate relationship, 4/18/14
by
I love the collar when it is in one piece - really stops both labs from barking when a horse trailer pulls into our Equine Veterinarian Practice. We are always afraid that someone is going to get hurt when the dogs start barking at the horses!
I hate the fact that the metal prongs are constantly coming undone which leaves the collar worthless - in the last year, we have purchased 4 Elite Big Dog Static Bark Collars (we only have two dogs) - once the prongs are missing, you either lose the control box or it no longer works because the probes are what causes the static. PetSafe was kind enough to send us one "free" probe kit which lasted less than a week!

Rating
100%/
100%
Works Well, 3/17/14
by
I have been using this collar for 18months. I have a very big dog, who is scared of everything, and her reaction is to bark. It only took a few minutes of wearing the collar for her to stop. She now knows how the collar works and hardly ever tries to bark when she's wearing it.

Her reaction to the collars vibration is to stop barking and give her head a little shake, although a few times she has ignored the vibration she has had a small yelp. I like that she has the decision to stop her behavior with a small vibration before it hurts. She is happy to come to me when I call her to put it on, so I know it's not hurting her and is obviously not bothering her to wear it.

Using this collar has taken the stress out of worrying if she is being a nuisance while i'm not home and i'm not having to get up to tell her to stop barking numerous times in the night. Less stress and more rest for us both. :)

Rating
80%/
80%
happy with this product!, 3/10/14
by
This collar works fairly well on our stubborn 4yr old PyreneesX. Not eliminating the barking completely, but stopping her before she gets too wound up, and significantly reducing the amount of barking. Also decreasing the volume of the barks, as she has a booming voice. You can really tell that she is trying not to bark, but, being a Pyr, she just can't help herself sometimes. Has had the unexpected side effect of calming her down in general, and making her want to be indoors more. Overall, we are happy with the effect this collar has had on our dog, and are not at all worried that it may be hurting her - she has never yelped or flinched, just makes a kind of chewing motion after being corrected, like she feels something funny in her throat. Price is reasonable. I only gave 4 stars because we have only had it for 2 weeks, so are still in the training phase, not sure how it will be long term. Also rechargeable batteries would be good.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear that the Elite Big Dog Static Bark Collar has been working well for you and your Pyrenees mix! The bark collar begins with low corrections, if excessive barking continues the correction intensity will increase. This does help eliminate the nuisance barking. We welcome any updated feedback as your experience continues and please contact us if you need assistance with your new Petsafe product.

Rating
20%/
20%
Money down the drain, 2/17/14
by
The collar itself was doing a good job keeping our golden/Pyrenees mix from barking, however, after only using it 7-10 days, the collar has come undone while she was outside. We live beyond city limits where dogs are allowed to run free so it could be within a mile radius of home. I'm disappointed that the technology is there, but apparently a cheap clasp is making me rate this product low.


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the strap design has failed to meet your expectations and can understand how disappointing this must be. Please know that there are replacement straps that we can offer that have other style clasps. If you'd like to learn more about these straps, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
GREAT PRODUCT!, 1/20/14
by
I got this collar a little over 3 years ago, and I'm very satisfied - I've only had to buy 4 batteries. I have a 70 dog and he would bark at every noise. When he wears the collar and barks you will hear him yelp after 2-3 barks because of the shock. Great product!

Rating
40%/
40%
Too particular, yet the same issue again, 12/31/13
by
So after reading some reviews I am finding that I am having the same issue as the original poster of "Too Particular" It just does not work for our dogs (2) They continue to bark, and I continue to get annoyed.


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you are having trouble with the Elite Big Dog Static Bark Collar and we can understand how frustrating it can be when a product isn't functioning for you. The unit contains a microphone that hears the bark and vibration detection that feels the vocal cords when the bark is made. If the collar doesn't experience both of these sensations at the same time, the collar won't issue a correction. There are also a few troubleshooting tips that we can suggest to try if you are having trouble with the collar not activating. First, we recommend to ensure proper collar fit by placing the Bark Control Collar high on dog’s neck with the sensor probe centered on the front of the dog’s neck.Make sure to allow 1 finger to fit between the end of contact point and the dog’s neck. If your pet has long hair, it may be necessary to trim the dog’s hair where the contact points touch his neck. It also may be necessary to replace the battery if you notice a low battery status or no light on the receiver. If these steps have not helped improve the performance of the collar, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for further troubleshooting assistance and possible replacement options.

Rating
80%/
80%
Works fine, 12/28/13
by
My German Shepherd barks at deer. The collar stopped her from barking almost all the time, although the intensity level could go even higher. Sometimes she will endure the shock and bark through it if really excited. I have had the collar for about a year. It is durable. The clasp system works well. I just bought a replacement battery. I am satisfied and would buy again or recommend to someone. This is also the third brand of collar I have tried. The others did not work.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great, 10/27/13
by
I read some of the other reviews and I just haven"t had that problem. I put this collar on my dog and within a day he quit barking. It seems to work even if pushed to the side. I know it is working because he will bark when he doesn't wear it (this is getting less and less, but he knows the collar means don't bark). He is still capable of making all sorts of noises when he doesn't wear the collar and hasn't developed any neuroses from wearing it. ;-)

Rating
100%/
100%
Works as advertised , 10/25/13
by
My young dog would bark at everything she heard, until the collar was introduced. It allows some the dog to make some noises but after the first few barks it's quiet again. Excellent product, I recommend it to my friends.
60lb boxer/pitbull

Rating
20%/
20%
Too Particular, 10/1/13
by
In theory this should be a great product. I liked that it wouldn't just shock my dog whenever there was a loud noise because it also needed to send the vibration from him barking. The issue is that every time he shakes or scratches the collar ends up out of place and can therefore not sense the barking vibration. I couldn't make the collar any tighter either so there was just no way to make this work for me. Maybe it would work on a smaller dog who would have a harder time moving it around on their necks.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with the Elite Big Dog Bark Collar. We would like the opportunity to further assist you with any further fitting tips or replacement options that may be available to you. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
20%/
20%
DOESN'T STOP BARKING OF WHINING, 9/4/13
by
i USE THE BIG ELITE NO BARK FOR MY PUG. HE HAS A THICK NECK AND STILL CONTINUES TO BARK WITH HIGH SCREECH WHINING.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Elite Big Dog Static Bark Collar is not a good fit for your pet. If your pet is not responding well to the static correction, we would recommend considering one of our Spray, Ultrasonic, or Vibration bark control products. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

×