Close

Save 10% Through Monday with code THX10

Offer excludes subscriptions.
#

Classic Replacement Flap

Reviews

72% 100% 20
Overall
%
(20)
#
Ratings Breakdown
20 reviews
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
4
1 star
3

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Classic Replacement Flap
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
love my door!, 11/16/14
by
To train my dogs to go thru the flap on door I took it off and put a clear plastic sheet on door. Once they got use to the clear door I put the original door back on. They now do not have any problems going thru the door. I just would like something to keep the cold from coming thru the sides of the plastic door. In winter it is cold in that room from the door.
My sons dog just followed my dogs thru the door with no problems.


Rating
40%/
40%
Need Clear Flap, 10/29/14
by
Love the door, hate the flap. My lhasa apso waits outside, staring at the flap until I call her name and she can look up and see me through the clear part of the door. She needs to be able to see where she's going.

Rating
80%/
80%
I like your product,but I agree with with others that you need a clear flap., 10/16/14
by
I like your dog wall door, that I own. I recently adopted a new dog and he's doesn't like the tinted flap.I wish you would make a clear flap.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your feedback on the Classic Replacement Flap! We are happy to hear that you enjoy the pet door, and we do apologize that we do not have clear flaps available. Please know that thanks to reviewers like you, we found that the majority of our Pet Door users preferred the tinted flap over the clear style. Some pets may feel uncomfortable to use the door at first, but this can be fixed by luring the pet through the door with treats or their favorite toy a few times. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
2, 9/7/14
by
I currently own a petsafe door. I have been shopping for a CLEAR replace flap. I have seen the complaints about the tented I am having same problems with 2 out Of my 3 dogs not wanting to use it because they can't see through it. Has caused a lot of problems. We had to remedy this summer by lifting flap off so they will go through. Need to remedy. Shopping now for one that has a clear flap. Sorry that petsafe does not off one

Rating
40%/
40%
More options needed, 7/31/14
by
I agree with many other reviewers, you need a Clear flap available. My dog is 14+ and she refuses to use the door with the frosted flap. I've tried all the usual training/tricks. She just won't go thru. If she happens to be outside and I leave she will stay outside until I return no matter how long or weather!

Rating
20%/
20%
Too Dark, 7/10/14
by
Since stores don't stock this item, I had to buy online. I wanted a simple replacement flap but this is so dark it's useless. My cats will not use it when they can't see what's on the other side. I would have thought that would be pretty obvious.
A complete waste of money.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Classic Replacement Flap did not meet your expectations! Please know that we do appreciate and welcome your feedback, and the smoky color of this flap was a result of the suggestions from consumers like you. If your cats are hesitant to use this door, we would recommend leaving the flap open for a small period of time until they become acclimated, or luring them through the flap a few times with bits of their favorite treat or food. Please know that we also do carry other styles of pet doors, such as the 4-Way Locking Cat Flap, or the Electronic Passport Door that have a more transparent flap. For more information on these doors, please view the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great service, 6/19/14
by
We have had our pet door installed and love it. It's the second one we've had since we moved into a different house and have been happy with it. Unfortunately, the little spring loaded latch came apart and I couldn't lock the door closed. My dog figured out he can open it when it's not locked. I called the PetSafe customer service and they sent out a replacement. Friendly, helpful service ...I appreciate it!

Rating
20%/
20%
Problem with the replacement flap, 6/8/14
by
We have been very happy with the performance of our medium size Clasic dog door. After 7 years the flap became weathered and cracked. This model has been replaced and the stores do not sell the flap. I was pleased to find the replacement was still avalible on the web site. I read the reviews and with the exception of one comment about the tabs on the replacement flap allowing the thing to fall out I was convinced the rather expensive replacement was the way to go. Sure enough I received one of the incorrectly Manufactured flaps. Knowing they had bad flaps from a previous complaint one would think the company would take steps to insure no further faulty parts would go out. Bad Q. C.


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Classic Replacement Flap has failed to meet your expectations! Please know that this flap is backed by a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. We do strive to maintain quality products, and do apologize if your flap does not fit properly. Please know that if the door frame is failing to hold the flap into place, a replacement flap holder may be necessary. If you have been using your door frame for many years, the flap holder can warp do to normal wear and weather. We do offer replacement flap holders through our Customer Care Center. For more information, please call 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great Purchase, 5/3/14
by
Best purchase I ever made, I have had this dog door for 20 years and this is only the second time I have replaced the flap. I figure with 6 dogs, all of them over 65 lbs that's pretty amazing.

Rating
100%/
100%
Built to last , 3/30/14
by
I have had this product for 10 years and I am just now ordering a replacement flap. We have a rambunctious boxer mix who loves this door. She uses it all the time!

Rating
80%/
80%
Excellent product, 10/27/13
by
I have the small one for 2 dogs & a cat. After 6 years I am now replacing the flap for the first time!

Rating
100%/
100%
Best Product Ever, 10/26/13
by
I have had my petsafe door for well over 10 years and just now ordered a replacement flap. I had to call to make sure I ordered the correct flap since I have owned it for so long. I hope this flap will last as long as the other one has! Wonderful product that has served its purpose. My dogs are able to go out whenever they want and this has saved many accidents from happening. The flap seal is great and keeps the cold air out in the winter. Thank you petsafe for making such a great product.

Rating
100%/
100%
great product and value, 10/26/13
by
We installed our PetSafe (which is the aluminum framework) door about 7-10 years ago. Just ordered our 2nd replacement flap for this door only because the sun had warped it allowing flys to come in. While this may sound like a lot, one must take into consideration how many times a day that door is used. And the fact that we had 3 Cocker Spaniels for 5 of those years, our flaps have had lots of wear and tear.
Having a pet door allows our pets the freedom to be able to go in/out whenever they need to potty or inspect the premises.
We have been more than pleased with this PetSafe product and feel that it is a great value for the price. So happy that we can get replacement parts and not have to install a new door each time, since the newer ones are plastic.

Rating
100%/
100%
great pet door, 10/25/13
by
I am just now replacing the flap on my 12 year old pet safe door. It has been excellent. I am so glad that you sell replacement flaps and I do not need to install a whole new door with possibly a different size opening.

Rating
100%/
100%
Manufacturer Defect on the width of tabs, now corrected., 9/1/13
by
I love the medium sized classic dog door. I have had it 7 years and am now just replacing the flap. They did not sell this replacement flap in the stores because it is an older model. I ordered it directly from Pet Safe. When I received the new one I installed it and the first time my dog went out the door the flap fell out. It looked exactly the same ....I dug the old one out of the trash and measured the width of the flaps. The tabs on the new replacement flap were 1/4 inch thinner, therefore, the flap fell out of the channel. I came to this site and read that another customer had the same problem. I reported this to the company and I sent them pictures with the measurements of the old verses the new. They figured out that the new manufacturer was making them wrong. They sent me an older model and, yep, it fit snuggly and perfect. Back in business. It was frustrating, but, I received EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE. Very grateful!!!



Rating
40%/
40%
Overpriced!, 8/31/13
by
I would have never purchased the PetSafe brand dog doors had I realized how expensive the replacement parts would be. The flap is half the price of what I paid for the door itself.

I own a small kenneling business, and am now going to pull all of my PetSafe doors and put in another brand where the replacement flaps are actually affordable. Some dogs are just chewers, and I can't keep replacing them at this price. Time to find a new brand!

I mean, really, it's PLASTIC. Not some space age material.

Crooked!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and the details of your situation. Please know that they have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.



Rating
80%/
80%
Good flap, magnetic closure works well, only lasts about 2 years., 8/24/13
by
THIS IS A GOOD DOOR FLAP THAT FITS THE PATIO PANEL DOOR AND ALWAYS CLOSES WITH THE MAGNETIC CLOSURE. THE DOGS FIND IT EASY TO USE AND CAN SEE OUT OF IT, EVEN THOUGH IT IS NOT CLEAR. MY ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT IT ONLY SEEMS TO LAST ABOUT 2 YEARS BEFORE IT RIPS AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

Rating
80%/
80%
Good replacement flap, but wish there were more options, 8/17/13
by
I've only had to replace the flap one other time in about 7 years. I had to get a replacement because the original was warped where the dogs would stick their nose in the side of the flap first. Now it lets in hot and cold outside air. I wish there were some options for replacement flaps with hard panel doors like the cat doors. Also the channel on my classic door is wider than the tabs on the flap, so I had to bend the channel to make sure the flap was secured. I think the tabs on the top of the flaps used to be longer.

Rating
20%/
20%
No clear see-through flaps..., 8/9/13
by
We just moved to a new house and installed the Large through the wall pet door. Unfortunately, the double flaps supplied are dark gray and the pets cannot see the other side and do not know whether or not the door is opened or closed and they are hesitant to go through the door. So I removed one of the flaps and you still cannot see through. Today I called to purchase a clear replacement flap and was very disappointed to know that you do not offer a clear see-through flap! I find it very hard to believe that a clear flap option is not available. It's a simple solution! I'm sorry to say that I will have to buy another make that offers a see through flap option. Very disappointing.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the Classic Flap has failed to meet your expectations. Unfortunately, we do not manufacture a clear flap as they are all slightly frosted and tinted to help with weather-proofing your home and also to provide privacy. We would be happy to provide training tips and information to help your pet learn to use the door. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Best I Ever Had, 7/31/13
by
I have had this door installed for 11 years other than an occasional cleaning of the flap it worked very well . 7 animals go through this door all day long and it just started showing signs of wear. I recommend this large door to anyone who wants good quality .

×