Close
#

Busy Buddy® Bristle Bone®

Reviews

73% 100% 16
Overall
%
(16)
#
Ratings Breakdown
16 reviews
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
4
2 star
1
1 star
2

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Busy Buddy® Bristle Bone®
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
Great toy to occupy my digs time and clean his teeth too!!!, 11/19/14
by
I love the Bristle Bone and so does my Cairn Terrier "Benji". He likes the treats that come with the toy and he'll chew at it till its gone. I lick the fact the toy has bristle to help clean in between his teeth as well. He'll be at it for hours until he either eats the treat or unscrews it to get at the treat better. He's a smart dog and has figured out it comes undone. He holds it in his paw and works at it until it's open. In spit of his ability to unscrew the toy, its still a great toy. He's getting older and hates to be left alone, but he loves this toy and I give it to him when I leave. On most occasions there is still some treat left and he'll work at it some more while we eat or watch TV. So this toy and treat will last a good while. You can't go wrong with this toy. My only complaint was after he figured out how to unsure the bone, he chewed up the bristle part. I had to replace the whole thing but hope the company sells replacement parts. We'll see.

Rating
20%/
20%
Sent my puppy to the emergency room, 11/14/14
by
In retrospect, buying this toy seems irresponsible on my part -- lots of moving parts, little pieces that come off the toy, etc. When I bought the toy, I was just hoping for a treat that would last and a toy that might keep my little one busy for awhile, and liked the idea of the PetSafe brand name.

We had this toy for about three weeks, and everything seemed fine. We kind of lost track of the toy (happens from time to time in a house with two dogs who share a bin full of toys), but didn't think anything of it because our dogs weren't that interested in it without the additional treat rings.

One night our puppy became sick and wouldn't stop shaking or throwing up, so we rushed him to the emergency room. We just got our little guy back from the surgical center, and luckily he made it through and there was no damage to his internal organs or systems. But $2k+ in hospital fees, a stressful and risky recovery period, and all of the worry we're experiencing as puppy-parents aren't worth the risk of a product like this, and it should really be pulled from the shelves.

If you already purchased this toy, use our experience as a warning---either watch your dog like a hawk while they are playing with it or throw it away.


PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry terribly sorry to hear of your family's experience with the Busy Buddy® Bristle Bone®! As pet owners we trust and use our products, and never want a furry friend to be harmed while using them. We can understand how upsetting and concerning this situation must be, and we do hope your puppy is doing well! Please know that we do appreciate you sharing your story with us and we will attempt to contact you for more information regarding your situation. Please know that for your pet's safety we do suggest that the right size toy be used and that he/she is monitored while enjoying the toy.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great toy, BUT......, 10/24/14
by
My dog loves this chew toy, with or without the rawhide. The rawhide is a nice bonus for him, But I won't be ordering any refills until and unless they are made here and not in China.

Rating
100%/
100%
Lexi's favorite chewy , 9/18/14
by
Ever since Lexi was gifted with a Bristle Bone it is her favorite chewy and nightly ritual. Every couple of days I soak and clean the entire bone is soapy water. Haven't noticed any problem with bristle loss.
Tho I've requested several time, our local store in Marble Falls TX has failed to stock the Bristle Brush even though they have several other types of PetSafe products.

Rating
60%/
60%
bristles start falling out in first hour of chewing, 5/8/14
by
this product really cleans the teeth on my 18 lb. Daschund . I would give this product a very high rating except for the bristles falling out, probably not safe if the bristles got into the dogs intestines. I hope the manufacturer can fix this problem.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do appreciate your time and feedback on the Busy Buddy Bristle Bone. We can understand how the bristles can cause concern for you and your pet. Please know that this issue has been forwarded to the appropriate teams for review. We believe that our Bristle Bones are safe when used as directed. Our packaging includes instructions and information to help owners decide if our products are appropriate for their pets, and if so, which one is right for their pets' size, weight and eating habits. If you would like to speak with a Customer Care Representative about your concern, please call 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
A hit and a miss, 4/28/14
by
My 2 year old, 60lb lab mix is a power chewer and it is extremely difficult to find toys that can hold up for him. He LOVE LOVE LOVEd his large Bristle Bone. HOWEVER, as other owners of power chewers have noted, the bristle rings simply do not hold up. His were demolished within just a couple of days--he chewed off the rawhide rings and kept going. The ends and rubber rings held up nicely, but the bristle rings were quickly destroyed. Much to my pup's dismay, I had to remove this toy from his toy box as it no longer seemed safe. $19.99 is mighty expensive for a toy that only lasts a few days. If the bristle rings were replaceable at a reasonable cost, I would give this chew toy 5 stars. I hope the PetSafe folks will remedy this problem. As it is, we will continue to stick with Nylabone Durachews as they have proven much longer lasting and run about half the price of the Bristle Bone.

Rating
100%/
100%
My dogs love this!, 4/22/14
by
My two standard poodles love this toy for chewing, and my only suggestion, like many of the other reviewers, is that bristle brushes be available. I bought two different bones, and my two dogs both want the one with the bristles. We are happy with it otherwise! Well worth it!

Rating
20%/
20%
Don't waste your money, 4/11/14
by
I bought the large Bristle Bone, which says it's suitable for German Shepherds. My German Shepherd destroyed it in one day. These might be suitable for smaller dogs, but larger dogs are typically stronger chewers so this toy will not last very long for larger dogs so don't waste your money. Very disappointed.

Rating
80%/
80%
Westie loves his ., 4/11/14
by
My Westie loves his bristle bone so much that he has destroyed 3 of them. Though the ends are knawed badly but usable, the bristles are totally destroyed. Your company needs to start selling replacement bristles. The rest will eventually need to be replaced, but the bristles just don't last very long. With the bristles in good shape, it is the best toy we have found for keeping his teeth clean. These toys are no found where we live, making replacement bristles even more important to us. We buy the medium size even though your chart shows terriers use the small version. He would destroy the small version even faster.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear that your Westie enjoys his Busy Buddy® Bristle Bone®! We are always looking to improve our products, and we appreciate your time and feedback on this toy. Please know that the suggestion to offer bristle replacements has been forwarded on to the appropriate team for review. If you would like to discuss this product with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Bristle Bone, 3/30/14
by
My dog loves this, however, she manages to chew up the brush every time, so it doesn't seem safe to me. Why don't you offer replacement parts? Or at least improve the quality of the brush parts. I will not buy again until it is improved.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your time and feedback on the Busy Buddy® Bristle Bone! We are sorry to hear that the design of this toy does not meet your expectations. While we do not have replacements for the bristle, we do offer replacement Cornstarch or Gnawhide rings that you can view using the link below. As pet parents ourselves, we understand your concern about the bristles. If your dog is a strong chewer, there may be other toys better suited for her. If you'd like to discuss your concern, or have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/busy-buddy-natural-rawhide-rings

Rating
60%/
60%
Bristle Brush "L" Rubber and Brush Rings, 2/7/14
by
ATTN: CEO Randy Boyd. Mr. Boyd you have a good product here, could be improved if you provided the replacement components for rubber rings and bristle brushes. You would sell more of this item,
Vr, BM

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate the feedback on the Busy Buddy® Bristle Bone®. While we do not offer replacement bristle brushes, we do appreciate the suggestion, and please know we have forwarded the information to the appropriate teams for review. We do have replacement rawhide and cornstarch treat ring refills available in a variety of flavors for your pet to enjoy. You can view them by using the link below.
LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/busy-buddy-natural-rawhide-rings


Rating
60%/
60%
doesn't last, 1/19/14
by
I was a little set back by the price of the product but purchase for my chewer. The bone lasted almost one month. The bone center spindle snapped in half and the center bristle brush also is split in half.
Not worth money and now sorry I went and purchased 2 more.

Rating
100%/
100%
Best money ever spent, 1/14/14
by
My Pug and Frenchie LOVE LOVE these bones. I don't even have to put the treat inside. They have completely destroyed two already, chewed the ends off and the rubber rings. They lasted a good 6 months. The Frenchie is teething and she does not let this out of her sight. Wish I had it when the Pug was a pup, would of saves some of my woodwork and shoes !! Fabulous item. Well worth the small price. These are by far their favorite items in their toy box. (and there is plenty in the box to pick from) !

Rating
80%/
80%
Excellent except......., 12/3/13
by
I have a lab and a weimerdor and they love this more than me. The only trouble is they chew the bristles off and I can't find replacement bristles so I have to by a who new bone. How about making bristle replacements too?

Rating
80%/
80%
Big dog loves his chew toy., 9/23/13
by
This is one of my American Bulldogs favorite toys. Favorite because mommy has not thrown it away as a safety hazard. But it will not be much longer. He is chewing the ends fast. But considering he has had this for a few months then it was worth it. Only thing it is hard to find in the store or the food is hard to find. My boy weighs in at 85 lbs. of rugged and lets chew everything up for mommy. Thank you for a really good effort.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great for hyperactive puppy, 8/13/13
by
Our little 26# mixed breed usually has more energy than I have at bedtime. I toss this into his pen and he aggressively gnaws until he tires and sound sleep is his next act.

×