Close
#

Big Dog Static Remote Trainer

Reviews

57% 100% 29
Overall
%
(29)
#
Ratings Breakdown
29 reviews
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
8
2 star
5
1 star
7

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Big Dog Static Remote Trainer
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
40%/
40%
tone works great but static jolt doesn't work very well, 10/17/14
by
I bought this collar to help with breaking some of my 9 month old lab's bad habits, including putting his feet up on the counters and getting into the garbage can. Even on the highest level, doesn't appear to work well. I have tested and it is working and I even replace the prongs with longer ones. He doesn't appear to be fazed by this at all and doesn't acknowledge when the button is pressed.
The tone button is working great for some of the training we do with him though.


PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are sorry to hear of the problems you are experiencing with the static correction not affecting your pup, and we would be happy to help! If you have tested the collar and know that the static correction is working properly, his lack of response could be due to his thick coat. We would recommend to check the positioning of the collar, and ensure that it is secured high on your lab's neck (close to the ears) and tight enough where you are only able to put 1 finger in between the probe and the dog's neck. This collar does have 16 different levels of intensity, and depending on your lab's behavior, it may be necessary to increase the level of static correction that he is feeling. For more information, please view the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/training-behavior/remote-trainers/big-dog-remote-trainer

Rating
40%/
40%
Worked well until..... , 10/13/14
by
We bought this collar for our Pit /Lab mix. It worked great for about a month until a washer piece came off that keeps the collar from sliding over the medal prong. It still works, but with only one prong making contact it doesn't phase our dog at all. I came to the Pet Safe site hoping to purchase a replacement piece, but the piece we need is not offered. I guess we'll try Lowe's.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear about the issue you are experiencing with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer! Please know that we do offer replacement probes through our Customer Care Center, and the FlexContacts are also compatible! For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 or visit the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/flexcontact

Rating
60%/
60%
Worked great until it meet my escape dogs, 8/28/14
by
The devices were working great, until my two, to smart for their own good lab mix dogs, found a way to easily get the collars off and lose them. That is my only problem. Of course my oldest dog (2yrs.) has been really, really good at escaping from nearly every make and model of harness and collar known to me. They did kindly replace them since they were under warranty though. The customer service was great, kind, helpful, and knowledgable.I will work with them both after I get my new ones.

Rating
20%/
20%
It worked great - then abruptly stopped, 8/16/14
by
We purchased this about a month ago and worked wonders for about a week. Our 90+lb lab was a completely different dog. One day while working with him outside, it unexpectedly quit working resulting in a runaway dog.

I contacted customer care and went through the troubleshooting process in which "passed" the test. We replaced batteries and it still does not work on our dog. It shocks, we can see his fur move but does not phase him any longer.

I am not sure if it needs longer prongs, or if there is something wrong with it - but it is useless at this point.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you've experienced with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer! We can understand how frustrating it must be to have purchased a product that doesn't seem to work for your pet! Please know we will be attempting to contact you to offer troubleshooting assistance. Depending on the length and thickness of your lab's fur, it may be possible that the probes are unable to make proper contact with his skin. If you are using the short probes, longer probes may be necessary. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
AWSOME, 8/8/14
by
This collar is a life saver. I have a big dog just over one year and 80 pounds already. He learned very quickly to respond to the beep so I do not have to shock him. I beep him and he listens to my commands. I have small grandchildren that he would jump on and knock down and scratch but now he knows better and the kids can play with him without getting hurt. Also I left the collar down on the table where he got it and chewed it so it would not stay on him. I called the company and they sent me a replacement free of charge. So if you are looking for something to train a hardheaded dog I would highly recomend this. Yes depending on useage you might have to change batteries every month or so but I do not find that a problem because the peace I get from not having to chase and disipline the dog and no screaming grandkids is worth it. May I also say that I can take him for a walk without a leash and he will not run off or chase things. He might start to chase something but a quick beep and he stops and returns to my side. Can't say enough good things about this company and their products.

Rating
80%/
80%
all good but what about the batteries, 6/13/14
by
so we bought 2 of them for our dogs and they are responding just fine. as soon as they hear the hear the beep they stop and behave like the good dogs they can be. when the collar works that is. in less than one month we have used up the original batteries (4 set of 2 ) and now the first collar is blinking red again. I am begining to worry about the trustworthiness of them. dont think I should have to replace them that often. never had to for any other device in the past . anyhow, they are fine and do what they are supposed to.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear you have had success with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainers and your 2 dogs! We do understand your concern for the battery life, however, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting assistance. The average battery life for this system is up to 1-3 months depending on use. If you are experiencing the low battery indicator (1 flash every 5 seconds) on your receiver collar, we would recommend to remove both batteries from the receiver, and while the batteries are not in the device, press and hold the power button on the collar for 15 seconds, and replace the batteries. When inserting the batteries, ensure that both of the CR-2032 batteries are facing "+" side up. If this does not resolve the issue, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for further troubleshooting and replacement assistance.

Rating
100%/
100%
Exceeded our expectations!, 6/12/14
by
I own three large breed dogs (a very stubborn but adorable Redbone Coonhound, Golden Retriever, Flat-Coated Retriever) and a medium sized Pit Bull mix. All are rescues that were rescued at different ages. Our dogs have not had any "official" training except by us (we are not professionals) and there's a lot of room for improvement in that department. They know basic commands but often we have to say them more than once to get them to listen. We had all the dogs with us at our local pet store (never an easy feat let me tell you!) and they pulled us all over the store, got into stuff and our anxiety ridden boy pooped in the middle of the store. I hooked my larger dogs leashes into the child safety seat in the buggy so they could walk in stride with the buggy and me. This always works well for me and them. The two smaller dogs (90 lbs and 55 lbs respectively) my stubborn husband had on leashes that he was holding. It was these two that were greatly misbehaving. We were buying pet life-jackets to take on a boating trip the next day. We wanted to teach the dogs to jump off the boat and retrieve a retrieve stick.

Anyway, I passed a display of Petsafe training devices while listening to our boy bark incessantly because I moved more than 10 feet from him. Frustrated I hooked his leash into the buggy with the girls and he settled down. I have wanted to buy an e-trainer for the longest time but didn't want to hurt my dogs or cause them to fear me. I have discussed this with multiple trainers and watch Ceasar's shows to learn how to do things better. I purchased the RFA-473 and read the manual that evening and tried the levels out on ourselves to make sure that it wouldn't hurt the dogs. We mostly used the collar on our boy (90 lbs with loads of long fur!) and it worked better than we expected! He responded beautifully to it and it immediately corrected unwanted behavior without hurting him. I wish WISH that I had purchased this sooner! We just need 3 more!


Rating
20%/
20%
Don't waste your money, 5/6/14
by
We bought this trainer for our 40 lb. 6 month old lab. She doesn't even flinch when set on the highest settings. We tried trimming her neck hair but that made no difference. We purchased a different brand - dog responded immediately. After just a few days - all we need to do is put the collar on her - don't even use the remote anymore!

Rating
60%/
60%
Contact Probes, 5/3/14
by
Works pretty good. My border collie didn't respond until setting 8. I used it for a week, then one of the probes fell out in the yard. You'd think that they would have had them torqued correctly at the factory. Now I got to find a replacement and I'm sure I'll be charged by PetSafe for that.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear about the trouble you've experienced with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer. Please know that the probes are designed to be removed in order to use the appropriate length needed for your pet. We would be happy to offer replacement assistance through our Customer Care Center. Please call 1-800-732-2677 so that we can help find a solution.

Rating
60%/
60%
Not strong enough, 4/29/14
by
My year old 45 lb mixed breed dog didn't even flinch and the setting didn't matter. Fur around the neck area not an issue - she has short fur and the collar was tight enough too. I will say she was a stray that was rescued off the streets so not sure if this has something to do with it. We're going to try the collar for stubborn dogs next - hopefully it works.

Rating
40%/
40%
contact points came out with 1st use , 4/8/14
by
noted contact points came out on the first use and I caught that they were out and found them. I tightened them and then used it for 5 days and had the contact points come out again! I can not find them and now need to reorder them. Very disappointing quality for out of the box.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you experienced trouble with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer! We can understand how frustrating it must be to discover missing probes shortly after purchase! Please know that we do offer the replacement probes that you need through our Customer Care, and would be happy to offer replacement options. For assistance, please call 1-800-732-2677. We look forward to hearing from you!

Rating
20%/
20%
Contact point came out on first use, 4/1/14
by
We do not know how the collar works on our lab yet as one of the contact points came out about 15 minutes after we put it on the dog. Of coarse, the pet store we purchased it from does not sell just this part alone, so we have to order it and pay for the part and the shipping for it. I would think that after spending this much on the collar that this would not be an issue. At this time, I will give a bad rating until this is resolved and we have a chance to see how it works.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize to hear that you experienced trouble with your Remote Trainer! We can understand how frustrating it must be to purchase a product and experience and issue within its first use. Please know that the Contact Probes are designed to be removed and exchanged with probes of a different length if needed. We suggest to ensure the Contact Probes are tightly in place prior to each use. If your local retailer does not carry these items, we would be happy to offer replacement assistance! Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. We look forward to hearing from you!

Rating
60%/
60%
it's OK, 2/23/14
by
It breaks down easily and is not hyperactive dog proof. I have only had it for about two months and I'm buying replacement prongs for a second time and replacement batteries. This product could at least last a little longer before shelling out more money out of my pocket after already paying $150.

Rating
60%/
60%
Prongs came out, 2/19/14
by
I don't like to complain but I ordered this for my blue healer and she only wore it for 2 days when the prongs came out. It worked well up until that point. For 140 dollars I just expected a little more out of it. I would also buy 2 more plus the wireless fence. I realize that sometimes you just get a item that wasn't up to par but I'm scared to buy more at that cost to find out.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your time and feedback on your Remote Trainer. We are sorry to hear that you encountered a problem with your contact points! Please know that these probes are designed to be removed in case they need to be replaced. It is recommended to ensure the contact points are tight prior to each use. If your receiver collar is damaged and the probes will not stay on the device, please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677 for replacement options.

Rating
20%/
20%
Good but the batteries go fast., 2/9/14
by
I have been using this product for about 2 months and I have to change the batteries every 2 weeks, and that get expensive.

Rating
80%/
80%
Good product, 2/4/14
by
I really like this product. Works well on my stubborn 125 lb. german shepherd. However, the prongs are a little short for his thick coat. I heard I can get longer prongs for this. Where do I find them? Thanks.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear that you've had success with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer! The longer probes can be purchased by contacting our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. We also have Flex Contact Points which are not only a little longer than the short probes on your collar, but also will "flex" with your dog's movements! They are available on our website, and you can purchase them by using the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/flexcontact

Rating
60%/
60%
Great when it works...but eventually it breaks., 1/19/14
by
I have been using these collars for almost 8 years. I have had several, because they break, eventually. The prongs fall out or the the plastic components snap in half. I have had a couple that had a rechargeable battery which was great. But now it seems like you are forced to buy the ones with replaceable batteries- a money scheme? I don't like the fact that these collars break so easily. In the beginning, Pet Safe allowed me to send one back and get a new one. I have had 5 pet safe collars thus far. It is an expensive investment, but allows me to keep my dog safe from the highway on which we live. I would be happy to have the plug-in/recharging collar again.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer. We do offer a variety of remote training systems that include both replaceable and rechargeable battery models. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a solution to the issues that you have been experiencing.

Rating
100%/
100%
Good Product, 1/10/14
by
I have had the collar for well over a year. Maybe 2 years now. It has just recently quit working. It has been well used. I have a 180 lb Bullmastiff. She is very sweet but very Bull Headed !! It has work well with her. I will be purchasing a new one soon.

Rating
60%/
60%
Battery life small, 1/5/14
by
Collar works great but the only problem I have is the battery life on the collar doesn't last more than 2 weeks. Why is the battery draining so quickly? It's a watch battery so I should last... I have been through 3 sets of batteries.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear you've had success with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer, but we are sorry to hear you are experience trouble with your batteries! To prolong battery life, we suggest to turn off the collar when not in use. The batteries can last between 1 to 3 months, depending on how frequently you use the Training System.

Rating
100%/
100%
100% Satisfied, 12/25/13
by
Got this product at the recommendation if the breeder. We have a very high energy , very athletic hunting Labrador. This allows her to run untethered in the yard or woods. I use a vocal correction, then tone only, then static if necessary. She learned on the first day to respond to my vocal command. Now I only use the tone. I have not even needed the static correction in weeks. This even stopped her dead in her tracks at my command from chasing a bunch of deer we encountered in the field. If you love your dog, get this collar. It's better than a fence because it goes wherever we go, plus it demands one-on-one time with your pet.

Rating
40%/
40%
Product is , 12/3/13
by
I am on my fourth collar set. Three just stopped working and the fourth was lost when the prongs fell out somewhere in the woods. I have tried to return them to the store where I purchased them, to no avail. I am buying another because I need it and , when it functions, it is great.
I wish there were other options similarly priced. I would NOT recommend this product to others; in fact, I may dissuade them.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the PetSafe Big Dog Static Remote Trainers. Please know that this PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty as well as other options may be available to you after the first year. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
80%/
80%
Great product , 12/1/13
by
Love this collar worked great till I lost the remote. Does anyone know if you can buy a replacement remote?


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for letting us know how happy you are with the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer. We are sorry to hear that you have misplaced the remote for your system. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 with the model number of the receiver collar so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
20%/
20%
Completely dissatisfied, 11/27/13
by
I have had the product for two weeks, the dog had lost the transmitters twice. The collar is on as tight as I can get it without choking him. There is no reason for the transmitters to "unscrew" themselves and disconnect from the collar, but they do.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your PetSafe Big Dog Static Remote Trainer. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40%/
40%
not happy - poor quality, 11/1/13
by
Had a few weeks and worked ok on highest setting. Stopped having any response and took it off to see that one prong was completely missing and the 2nd fell off upon removal. The nuts had never been tightened that held the prong in place.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer. Because the probes can be unscrewed and changed for another length, they can unscrew during normal wear and may result in loss. To help prevent loss, check the tightness of the probes prior to placing the receiver collar on the pet. We do offer replacement accessories through our Customer Care. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 to place an order.

Rating
20%/
20%
Does not work, 10/26/13
by
I spent a money on something I thought would work, what a waste of time and money. I made sure that everything was set up correctly. My dog got loose from me and I tried to stop her by using the collar and she did not even flinch. So we took it off and my husband shocked himself and he said on the highest setting it barely did anything. So know am out $150.00 and no collar. WORTHLESS!!!!!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this system has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to further troubleshoot this system and for additional warranty replacement information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Very happy with this product. , 10/24/13
by
I was a wits end with my golden/st Bernard mix. At 9 months old he is over 100 pounds, he was fast and was getting obnoxious, jumping, running away and just being disobedient. I was hesitant about buying a "shock" collar, but was concerned that he would be uncontrollable at the rate he was going and size he will end up.

Before using it on him, I did feel the shock on the different levels so that I know I would not be hurting him. Its didn't hurt at all, the strongest being less then a static shock.

I was very pleasantly surprised that he has responded so well to it & so quickly! After following the tutorial instructions, with in just two days of training only needs the tone as a reminder to behave most of the time.

I have had many dogs over the years and never needed "assistance" training any of them until him, but feel fortunate that I had this to correct his bad behavior, before it made him an unpleasant dog to be around.

Rating
20%/
20%
Beyond horrible. , 9/28/13
by
DO NOT BUY. I have used a wireless "fence" from this company before, I can't tell which is worse. The "shock" collar or the "fence".

Within 2 hours, this will be my 3rd collar in this model. The 1st collar came returned with no test light, so I went back to get a brand new collar never opened. Huge mistake.

Set up the flags all around my yard, perfectly. Both the prongs touched my dog's skin. Low level 1 did not phase her. Neither did ALL of the low levels (She has been running all day, she is tired, and none of this even got her attention!).

When she crossed the flags, I'd zap her on the highest level- High 8. Did NOTHING. Even with the prongs touching her skin. She tried to walk out of the yard (very slowly, she was hardly even walking) when she saw a jogger. I used +2, that worked, but it never worked again.

2 hours later, the collar does not pair up with the remote. I have no idea how that happened. ONCE on level high 8 I got it to work, still holding down the button, the red light on the collar went off.

*UNRELIABLE. *DO NOT BUY. *WASTE OF TIME. *WASTE OF MONEY. *NOT TRUSTWORTHY!!!!!!!!!!!!! *BREAKS DOWN!!!!!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this system has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us and for additional information on replacement options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
Re: Waterproof Collar?, 9/18/13
by
This is NOT a waterproof collar. 2nd one we've had to order. We go to the lake and our lab (34 lbs) just walks in the sandbar, sometimes not even up to her collar. We've had to put it in rice for 48 hours and do not used it at the lake anymore. Not spending another $100+ to buy a third one. Other than that, to train on dry land (we use it to train our property line), it's a great product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience. We would like the opportunity further discuss this incident with you and provide any additional troubleshooting or replacement options that may be applicable. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
100%/
100%
excellent product. Within a few days just having the receiver on was enough. No other steps were needed to correct anything. Not the barking or the "Selective hearing.", 7/8/13
by
Excellent product. My dog was non-responsive to an ultrasonic bark control device-to give you an idea of the need to bark. With the Big Dog Remote Trainer he was resposive right away, and with a few days it was sufficient to just have the receiver on the dog. ie: no correction was needed-not even the tone button. "Selective hearing" was also resolved right away.

×