Close
#

Big Dog Static Remote Trainer

See Product Details

63 Customer Reviews

52 100 63
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
63 reviews
1 star
25
2 star
10
3 star
9
4 star
4
5 star
15

Add your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
100/
100%
Great product 11/28/16
by
We use on our Mastiff to keep him away from road and to learn his boundries, love it.

Rating
100/
100%
by
We purchased this collar in May 2016, so we've had it for 6 months. We have a Boxer, and the collar works very well on him. I like being able to adjust the level of correction from the remote control and see the level on the remote's LCD screen. We live on 5 acres, and the range of this collar is excellent. It's nice to be able to let the dog run on our property and not worry about the range of the collar. We use it literally every day when we let the dog out to run, and after 6 months there have been no issues with durability. So for us, the collar works exactly as advertised. But even better, PetSafe customer service has been excellent for the 2 times I've called them. Shortly after purchase, we had an issue with the remote control, and they quickly sent us a new one which has functioned perfectly since we received it. We also had one of the metal probes on the collar fall off (which was our fault for not periodically checking their tightness), but customer service took care of that quickly also. We're very happy with this purchase and it was well worth the money spent.

Rating
40/
40%
Fell apart11/6/16
by
I played a lot of money for this thing, and after a few weeks one of the pins fell out. No way to find it in the grass. Would expect it to hold up better for the money I played for it.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're sorry to hear that one of the probes has come out of your receiver collar, William! Because the probes can be removed in order to swap them out with replacements or probes of a different length, these can begin to come loose over time with normal usage. We suggest tightening the probes once every week or two to ensure that they are still fully attached to the receiver box. That being said, we would be more than happy to help out with this situation. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
20/
20%
by
Battery life is horrible! We only put on the dog when we let her outside or if there is company over. It's turned off after every use, the dog hates being outside and it's only on for 10-15mins at a time and we are lucky to get 1.5 weeks out of it.
Recently the product will not even stay on. Everything is paired, brand new batteries, and the thing shuts off after about 10 seconds.... Only reason it's not in the garbage is we paid so much for it.... In hopes we can figure out a solution. Fail pet safe, big fail....

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for reviewing the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer, Junior. We are sorry to hear that the trainer is having short battery life, but we can certainly help! With this model the standard lifetime of the batteries is approximately 2 weeks if it is being used regularly.

If the collar is shutting itself off it means the batteries are low, or that the battery tabs inside the collar housing need to be pinched inward. Simply remove the battery tray and gently pinch the tabs inward with something such as a small screw driver so that when you put a fresh set of batteries into the collar they will be pinched by these tabs more efficiently and the collar will stay on.

This trainer carries a 1 year warranty and we are here for you. If you are in need of troubleshooting or warranty assistance we can be reached at 1-866-738-4379.


Rating
60/
60%
by
I have an 80 lbs lab/husky mix. This has been great for training. Rarely use the shock, mostly the sound stimuli to reinforce verbal commands once ignored. The only reason I have to give the product 3 stars because since purchasing the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer in July of 2016, will now be replacing the 4th set of batteries. I have used the Petsafe brand of batteries and Duracell. Petsafe brand lasts maybe a week. I shut it off at night or when he is crated but it really goes through batteries. If you are looking at this product, read the reviews for the rechargeable collar because I am probably going to pay in batteries the difference between this collar and the rechargeable collar. Depending on the battery life of the rechargeable, it probably is worth picking that one.

Im really disappointed how quickly this uses batteries.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer, Kris. We can understand how it may be frustrating to need replacement batteries often. Generally speaking, the batteries in this unit should last about 2 weeks if being used daily. We would love to hear from you and find a way to make the batteries last longer! Please reach out to us at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
100/
100%
by
My dog is if the hunting type and doesn't hunt. She always is following her nose across our Main Street after cats skunks or other dogs. After getting one of these pet safe collars, my dog is able to walk Main St with me. and not ever stray to the Rd. My collar also worked for a yr without incident and when I reached out to customer service they took care of everything


Rating
100/
100%
by
I started to experience some problems with my training collar after about a year of trouble free use. After a few calls to the customer service team, I was sent a new receiver collar, then a new transmitter, and when the issues continued, they sent me a whole new kit, no questions asked. It is nice when a company stands by their product!

Rating
20/
20%
Poor Product9/12/16
by
We purchased this product less than two months ago and on our second set of batteries.

We very rarely use the product, but for some reason it dies after short usage.

I would not recommend this product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We can understand how it would be frustrating not to get the battery life expected out of a collar, but we are here to help! The collar should get battery life of about 2 weeks, and turning the collar off after each use will increase the battery life. It is possible that the battery tabs inside the collar housing need to be pinched inward. Simply remove the battery tray and gently pinch the tabs inward with something such as a small screw driver so that when you put a fresh set of batteries into the collar they will be pinched by these tabs more efficiently. Please also ensure that the CR2032 are a high quality brand and that they are inserted properly. We will be reaching out to you privately to find a way to help out.

Rating
20/
20%
Junk9/8/16
by
Bought this on August 30th 2016. September 5th 2016 and it's already dead. This is a horrible lifespan for a collar that needs to stay on my dog 24/7.

3rd Petsafe collar that I have bought and failed. Will not buy another Petsafe product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer, Chase. We are sorry to hear that you have had trouble with so many collars, and we would be happy to find a way to help. You may find it helpful to know that we do not recommend leaving these collars on your dog for more than 12 hours per day as a general safety precaution. Please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677 so that we can keep your collars running for years to come.

Rating
100/
100%
by
My pit pup was 9 months old and still ridiculously hyper. This collar keeps her under control without harming her. I can now walk her without a leash! The only downside to the product is the fast use of the expensive batteries.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are so glad to hear that the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer has worked well for you and your Pit puppy! To increase battery life, please ensure that the collar is being turned off when not in use. The batteries in the collar should last about two weeks if being used for long periods of time daily.

You may also find it helpful to know that we make rechargeable systems such as the Elite Big Dog Rechargeable Static Remote Trainer PDT00-13625 and the Yard and Park Rechargeable Static Remote Trainer PDT00-12470.

If you have any questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
100/
100%
Outstanding9/1/16
by
We have a 90 lbs, 9 month old male German Shepherd. After two days training, he has stop barking unnecessarily when he outside. Outstanding.

Rating
20/
20%
worthless8/24/16
by
I have a very energetic Catahoula blue tick mix....a hunting dog from both sides of the family so she tends to chase everything. I bought this collar in hopes of a little better control. it didn't even phase her. and of course since the box is glued shut theres no hope of returning in "as new" condition. and yes I had the collar on tight and tested it on my hand before I even put it on her. I will not be buying another petsafe product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience. We can understand your frustration as Catahoula dogs can be very stubborn! You may find it helpful to know that this collar has 16 levels and the screen display will have h8 on the screen for the highest level. Please ensure that it is turned all the way up to this level. We will be contacting you privately to find a fair solution. If you would like to discuss some options please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. We want to help!

Rating
20/
20%
batters suck8/12/16
by
For the price of this collar the battery should be lithium not this crap that only works for 2 weeks. I can't afford to replace them that offten. Not to mention the screws on the collar are stuck and I can't get the dead ones out.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Kyra, we are sorry to hear that the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer has not met your needs and expectations. You may find it helpful to know that turning the collar off when not in use can extend the battery life, if left on continually, the batteries should last about 2 weeks. The handheld is only using power when buttons are pressed, the rest of the time it is in a sort of "sleep mode" to save battery life. We are sorry that the screws have become stripped, it is important to use the correct size of screw driver when changing out the batteries to keep them from becoming stripped. We will contact you privately for a solution, we want to help! Feel free to give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
80/
80%
by
I struggled to train my rescue dog to come when called for over 6 months. Dog classes and tons of different methods made no difference and I was getting very frustrated by my lack of progress. I finally bought this collar in a moment of desparation, but was too scared to use it for a couple months because of how scared my dog is of things already; I didn't want to traumatize him further! I followed the manual directions and didn't get anywhere, but with the advice of my grandfather (who has trained dozens of hunting dogs and pets) I altered the procedure slightly (use beep as a warning for the shock) and my dog now comes on command 100% of the time after only 3 days of light training. Additionally I only had to shock him twice (and only at the lowest setting!!). I am so thrilled to finally have found an effective method of training my non-food-motivated pup. This is a great tool for smart dogs that don't find treats, toys, or attention motivating.

Rating
20/
20%
It sucks. 7/25/16
by
Brutal! Horrible. Sucks the life out of batteries and just all around sucks. I wish I read all these comments before. Lesson learned. Do not buy this. They have a rating system from 1-5, it should be 0-5

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are sorry to hear that the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer did not meet your expectations, and can understand your frustration. With this unit the standard lifetime of the batteries is approximately 2 weeks. The battery tabs inside the collar housing may need to be pinched inward. Simply remove the battery tray and gently pinch the tabs inward with something such as a small screw driver so that when you put a fresh set of batteries into the collar they will be pinched by these tabs more efficiently and the collar battery life will be improved. This unit carries a 1 year warranty and we are happy to help out! Please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677 for troubleshooting and assistance. We will try to contact you privately via email as well.

Rating
20/
20%
by
Finally tried it after a year of sitting in the box in the garage. Brand new batteries. Tester showed current. Dog never showed any response, no matter the settings. My $159 loss, not testing it within 30 Day Warrenty.
Pinching Choke Collar($19) works every time she tries to drag someon down the street

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We're sorry to hear you're not finding success with your remote trainer, Douglas. If you haven't done so already, you may wish to try fresh batteries with your product. Even though you are showing a current with your battery tester, exposure to extreme temperature changes while stored in the garage could impact the ability of the batteries to provide the appropriate power to your remote trainer.

Your remote trainer comes with 16 total levels of static correction, 1-8 low and 1-8 high. If your Mastiff is not responding to the remote trainer, you may want to check the setting of the trainer to ensure it is not on 1-8 low. This may be a factor as to why your pet is showing no reaction. Also, please be sure the collar is properly fitted on your pet. You may find it helpful to know that while the return period for items purchased through our Customer Care Center or Website is 30 days, your product does come with a 1 year warranty! If you continue to have any difficulties with your system, please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379 and we'll be happy to see what options are available to you.

Rating
20/
20%
by
I wish we would have read these awful reviews before purchasing this product. We were looking for something for our very hyper Lab and this work great for about a month. Then the whole system quit working. We replaced the batteries it worked maybe for an hour then we couldn't get it to cut on anymore. Very disappointed in this system and it wasn't a cheap one either..

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Caroline. We are sorry to hear that the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer has not met your needs and expectations, and can understand your frustrations. Please ensure that you are using two high quality brand CR2032 batteries in each unit, and that both batteries are facing positive side up. It is also possible that the battery tabs inside the housing need to be pinched inward a bit and it should solve the issue instantly. This unit carries a 1 year warranty and we are here for troubleshooting and assistance! Please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677 so that we can help!

Rating
20/
20%
by
I am disappointed in your training collar from the perspective of battery life. When fully charged it is quite effective and a good product, but I feel that it should have been disclosed or indicated on the comparison displays about it's battery life being a concern. I was not aware at the time there were rechargeable alternatives. Not sure if the local [retailer] even sold these. It has been at least two months since I purchased this and since I can not find receipt or original packaging I guess I am stuck. At the time I would have paid a little more had I know about and had the option to buy the rechargeable version.


We have never gotten the indicated 2 weeks of battery life. These batteries are reasonably expensive and it is somewhat bothersome that after buying a fairly expensive unit I am having to replace a lot of expensive batteries.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us, Bob. Please know we do try to provide as much information as possible on our products via our website. Our product experts are also available to help answer any questions you may have about an item prior to purchase. While many retailers do carry a wide selection of our remote trainers, not every retailer will feature all of our remote trainer options. To extend the battery life of your remote trainer, be sure to turn the receiver collar off when you are not conducting training sessions with your dog. If you find this style of remote trainer is not meeting the needs of you and your pet, please feel free to call PetSafe Customer Care at 1-866-738-4379 and we'll be happy to see how we can help!

Rating
100/
100%
Works Great4/22/16
by
I bought our system in May of 2013. I am writing this as of April 2016 and am still using the collar on a daily basis. It has worked consistently and effectively every time we have needed to correct our dog's behavior, which I am proud to say is extremely rare. Just having the collar on makes all the difference. I have repeatedly recommended this to our family and friends and will continue to do so. Thanks for a fantastic product.

Rating
20/
20%
Falls apart2/15/16
by
I have now owned two of the big dog collars. The first one I used on my dog for a week. batteries died twice in that week. I went to change the batteries again and the only thing left on my dog was a collar with two holes in it, that was why it wasn't working. Then I returned it to my favorite ranch store where exchanged, the parts I had, for a new one. I never did find the rest of the collar. I put the new one on my dog, not realizing that the problem was the prongs, and I lost the second one by night's end. I will say a bonus is that I called customer service and they are sending me a new one. Hopefully this will work better than the last two. I now know that I need to tighten the prongs because apparently they are not tightened very well to begin with.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Teresa! We are sorry to hear that you have experienced so much trouble with the probes on your trainer. Please know that if the probes are loosening up so frequently it may be due to the receiver collar being too loose. If a dog is fairly rambunctious The collar may shift back and forth and loosen the probes. This trainer comes with a Test Light Tool that doubles as a probe wrench so that you can tighten or loosen them. If you have any questions or concerns, please give us a call any time at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Shock collars are high voltage and cause the animal severe pain
This is a static collar, it uses a small watch type battery that isn't that stong, it cause the animal discomfort, but it does not hurt him. just gets his attention. My only regret is I should have got the one with 1000 feet range. Good collar, especially if you're working with a professional trainer, It's taught my dog not to jump. Not to leave the yard, I've tried.the collar on myself before I put it on the dog and it's not like getting a shock, it feels more like a tense unit. It really just tightens the muscles in the neck. I've used it since March and I've only replaced the batteries 2 times, and I'm bad about leaving it on when not in use. It's a good product, I'd buy it again for sure. Pet Safe is a great company that focuses on humane animal training
2 thumbs up.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thanks for providing us with your feedback, CJ! You are absolutely right in that the stimulation provided by a remote trainer is meant to get a pet's attention and redirect behavior. Every pet is different as far as what level of stimulation they respond to, and this style of remote trainer has 16 total levels -8 low and 8 high- in order to help accommodate the needs of most pets. If you have any questions about the features of this product or the training needed in order to successfully use it, please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379. Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. Eastern and Saturdays from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Eastern.

Rating
40/
40%
by
Remote control battery dies quickly. Battery in collar hard to replace and also dies quickly. Stimulation does not seem to work every time. End up shocking dog unnecessarily when it quits working and I'm trying to correct the dog and the moment has passed. The beeper works fine, the shock, not so much. This confuses the dog and frustrates me. Will try another brand. Never had an issue with pet safe invisible fence products, must be this model?

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer. We are sorry to hear that this trainer has not met your needs and expectations. Please know that if there is inconsistent reception it could be due to a damaged antenna, low batteries, or it could simply need to be reprogrammed. For troubleshooting assistance please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. We will contact you privately via email as well so that we may assist you in a solution.

Rating
20/
20%
by
Returning this tomorrow, which will be my second return attempt. This was great the first week but after that it just has not worked. It turns on and turns off within 30-60 seconds. After further review it appears that it is just the battery life of this product. So disappointing. I took it back to the pet store within a 2 week period, they played with it and it seemed to be working again. Got it home and it lasted less than a day before it was back to turning off almost immediately. Taking it back tomorrow to exchange it for a rechargeable product. $20 more expensive but definitely more cost effective than replacing these batteries constantly. On top of that, the "stimulation" part has NEVER worked on this. Even though it seems to blink that it is shocking, our dog never reacted. Went and bought a shock collar to test his responsiveness, at the smallest stimulation he bolted like I have never seen, leading me to believe this never did what it was supposed to.
Definitely not worth the money.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are sorry to read of the trouble that you have experienced, Jade! Please know that the battery life on this unit is approximately two weeks. If the collar is shutting itself off, it is due to low batteries or because the battery tabs inside the housing need to be pinched inward a bit and it should solve the issue instantly. Please also know that there are 16 levels of correction on this system, Low 8 and High 8, it starts off extremely low as many dogs are more sensitive than others. Another concern is proper fit, the probes must be making skin contact at all times in order to deliver the correction. We can understand your frustration completely, please know that we are here for troubleshooting and warranty replacements. If you have any questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20/
20%
by
we loved the product the 1st 2 times we used it. we brought the unit from a very reputable feed/farm store that carries only reputable products. Of course I did not register the product within 30 days but have the receipt. Even after putting in 2 new batteries and making sure the unit was off after replacing them I went to use the unit a week later and the available charge did not last more than 30 seconds. We purchased the unit to use in the creek as it said water proof. expensive lesson to learn about not registering products.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for your feedback Lisa, we are sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience with your remote trainer. With this unit the standard lifetime of the batteries is approximately 2 weeks. If the collar is shutting itself off it means the batteries are low, or that the battery tabs inside the collar housing need to be pinched inward. Simply remove the battery tray and gently pinch the tabs inward with something such as a small screw driver so that when you put a fresh set of batteries into the collar they will be pinched by these tabs more efficiently and the collar will stay on. If the trouble continues, we would like to help. Please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
20/
20%
by
4 sets of batteries in a month I've bought better units for sure !

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are terribly sorry to read that you are having trouble with your trainer. The standard battery life for these units is about 2 weeks if left on continually. If you are not getting appropriate battery life, please ensure that you are turning the collar off when it is not in use. Additionally, be sure that the battery tabs inside the collar are making good contact. To do this, simply remove the battery tray and gently pinch the tabs inward with something such as a small screw driver so that when you put a fresh set of batteries into the collar they will be pinched by these tabs more efficiently and the collar will stay on. If you continue to have concerns, please give us a call for troubleshooting. It may be a quick fix. Please call our Customer Care Center directly at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
20/
20%
by
I'm convinced this product is a money scam because you have to constantly replace the batteries. They do not last more than a week or so. We shut it off every night at bedtime and also on rainy days when our dog is inside. It's very frustrating. I wouldn't recommend spending the money on this product unless you plan on using it for a very short time or plan on spending quite a bit on batteries.

I typically love Pet Safe products, however, this one falls short :/

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

I am sorry to read that this trainer did not meet your needs and expectations. On page 11 of the manual it is stated that "If the Receiver Collar is left on continuously, the maximum battery life will be two weeks." if you are getting less than this we must do some troubleshooting to find if we can remedy this scenario. To find a solution, please call our Customer Care Center directly at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
100/
100%
by
My family and I are so thrilled that we found this product. We rescued a hound dog 8 weeks ago and up until we bought the remote trainer we had issues with him running away and barking. We were looking at expensive trainers to come into our home and help with training but, we wanted to do this on our own, the same way we trained our other rescues, this guy is just a bit more work. We had the remote trainer less than 6 hours and he was already responding to it. The best part is two days after we bought it he is now walking OFF LEASH!!!! We would never put anything on any animal that would hurt them. The static alerts him and to tell you the truth he responds just as well with the beep sound.... Awesome, Awesome, Awesome

Rating
40/
40%
by
I was excited about the potential of this product until I realized I would need new batteries about 6 times/month. Ridiculous. Product should have been better matched to the demands of the power supply/batteries.

​PETSAFE RESPONSE:
We're sorry to hear that the batteries in your remote trainer are draining so quickly. To conserve on battery life, please remember to always turn off your trainer when it is not in use. However, even if left on continuously, the batteries should last much longer than 5 days, so there may be something wrong with your trainer. Please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379 and we'd be more than happy to help with troubleshooting and, if the unit is faulty, warranty replacement. Hours of operation are 8AM-8PM EST Monday-Friday and 9AM-5PM EST on Saturdays.​

Rating
20/
20%
Junk5/4/15
by
Worked one day,not after that,don't waste your money.total piece of junk

​PETSAFE RESPONSE:
Thank you for sharing your experience, Porter! We're very sorry to hear that the remote trainer stopped working so soon after you purchased it and we know how frustrating it can be. Our remote trainers carry a one-year warranty and we would be happy to get that replaced for you under the terms of the warranty. Please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379​ and we would be glad to assist you. Hours of operation are 8AM-8PM EST Monday-Friday and 9AM-5PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
20/
20%
by
I have had this remote collar for a month and a half and have replaced the batteries three times already. When the batteries are functional the unit shuts down and needs to be turned back on almost every fifteen minutes thus when a behavior needs to be immediately corrected the unit is not working because who is really checking the collar every fifteen minutes. The collar loosen easily and needs to be tighten frequently. Don't waste your time or money!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are sorry to hear of the issues you've experienced with your system and can understand your frustration. The battery life for this product is about 2 weeks. To help prolong battery life, we recommend to ensure that your system is turned off when not in use. If the collar strap is slipping easily, you may need to re-thread the strap through the buckle (see page 13 of your manual for a step by step guide). If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20/
20%
CRAP1/22/15
by
absolutely the worst thing that i have ever purchased from petsafe. not only does it not work, but the contact points disappeared after ensuring they were tightened before use. I use this collar 3 times, the first two times, maybe got 10 minutes of "training time" in before i had to re tighten the contact points, and the third time, they just disappeared all together.


PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We apologize that you have experienced issues with your contact points, and we can understand how this can be a disappointing experience. If the black washers are in place behind the contact points, it is not common for the probes to be loose. Please know that we will attempt to contact you to offer some assistance with your system. For more information, call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20/
20%
Shuts down.1/14/15
by
Pet smart told me this was the collar to buy, so I did. $140.00 what a joke. This collar shuts down ALL THE TIME. Oh it will work just fine for about 2 - 15 min. Then nothing. yep it shut down again rendering it useless. It will not stay turned on. It has a mind of it's own. This product is JUNK. If there was a no star I would select it but I am forced to give it 1 star rating.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer failed to meet your expectations! We appreciate your feedback and can understand your frustration. Please know that this product is backed by a warranty, and our Product Experts are standing by to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40/
40%
by
This product (Big Dog Remote) comes with only short prongs. On my Bouvier the prongs needed to be longer. I was forced to buy a kit that included the longer prongs and a bunch of other items that were un-needed by me. So with shipping the cost of the product increased by close to 15 bucks. These longer prongs should have been included, or at the very least offered as an option at the time of the original purchase. It should also be in the description facts. I was lucky that the product i bought was adaptable to longer prongs ... some aren't. i am leary of buying anything else from Petsafe as i would be afraid of the accuracy of the description.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the product accessories did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate you sharing your frustration with us, and your suggestion to include this information to the description has been forwarded to the appropriate team for review. Because longer probes are only needed for some pets with thicker or longer fur, most of our collars come with the shorter probes. Prior to ordering, if you have any questions regarding these products, we invite you to contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 or at http://www.petsafe.net/support/contact-us .

Rating
40/
40%
by
My dog responds very well to this collar when the batteries are not dead. I originally bought the collar, had it on my dog for a week and maybe hit the shock a handful of times (1 second zap at low 8) and the thing died after a week!!! Thought to myself maybe I need to use it less. Bought the petsafe batteries from petsmart and replaced the ones in the collar. I set the system on my counter and it lasted 11 days before it died, no usage at all besides the blinking light.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your experience with the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer with us! We are sorry to hear of the trouble you've experienced with the battery life, and would be happy to help offer troubleshooting solutions.The green LED will indicate a good battery, when pairing is complete, and when the tone button is being pressed. The red LED light flashes when the stimulation button is being pressed and also when the battery is running low (1 flash every few seconds). Please know that we do recommend to turn off your receiver collar when not using this system to help prolong the battery life. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 or visit the link below.


LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/training-behavior/remote-trainers/big-dog-remote-trainer

Rating
40/
40%
by
I bought this collar to help with breaking some of my 9 month old lab's bad habits, including putting his feet up on the counters and getting into the garbage can. Even on the highest level, doesn't appear to work well. I have tested and it is working and I even replace the prongs with longer ones. He doesn't appear to be fazed by this at all and doesn't acknowledge when the button is pressed.
The tone button is working great for some of the training we do with him though.


PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are sorry to hear of the problems you are experiencing with the static correction not affecting your pup, and we would be happy to help! If you have tested the collar and know that the static correction is working properly, his lack of response could be due to his thick coat. We would recommend to check the positioning of the collar, and ensure that it is secured high on your lab's neck (close to the ears) and tight enough where you are only able to put 1 finger in between the probe and the dog's neck. This collar does have 16 different levels of intensity, and depending on your lab's behavior, it may be necessary to increase the level of static correction that he is feeling. For more information, please view the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/training-behavior/remote-trainers/big-dog-remote-trainer

Rating
40/
40%
by
We bought this collar for our Pit /Lab mix. It worked great for about a month until a washer piece came off that keeps the collar from sliding over the medal prong. It still works, but with only one prong making contact it doesn't phase our dog at all. I came to the Pet Safe site hoping to purchase a replacement piece, but the piece we need is not offered. I guess we'll try Lowe's.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear about the issue you are experiencing with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer! Please know that we do offer replacement probes through our Customer Care Center, and the FlexContacts are also compatible! For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 or visit the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/flexcontact

Rating
60/
60%
by
The devices were working great, until my two, to smart for their own good lab mix dogs, found a way to easily get the collars off and lose them. That is my only problem. Of course my oldest dog (2yrs.) has been really, really good at escaping from nearly every make and model of harness and collar known to me. They did kindly replace them since they were under warranty though. The customer service was great, kind, helpful, and knowledgable.I will work with them both after I get my new ones.

Rating
20/
20%
by
We purchased this about a month ago and worked wonders for about a week. Our 90+lb lab was a completely different dog. One day while working with him outside, it unexpectedly quit working resulting in a runaway dog.

I contacted customer care and went through the troubleshooting process in which "passed" the test. We replaced batteries and it still does not work on our dog. It shocks, we can see his fur move but does not phase him any longer.

I am not sure if it needs longer prongs, or if there is something wrong with it - but it is useless at this point.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you've experienced with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer! We can understand how frustrating it must be to have purchased a product that doesn't seem to work for your pet! Please know we will be attempting to contact you to offer troubleshooting assistance. Depending on the length and thickness of your lab's fur, it may be possible that the probes are unable to make proper contact with his skin. If you are using the short probes, longer probes may be necessary. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
AWSOME8/8/14
by
This collar is a life saver. I have a big dog just over one year and 80 pounds already. He learned very quickly to respond to the beep so I do not have to shock him. I beep him and he listens to my commands. I have small grandchildren that he would jump on and knock down and scratch but now he knows better and the kids can play with him without getting hurt. Also I left the collar down on the table where he got it and chewed it so it would not stay on him. I called the company and they sent me a replacement free of charge. So if you are looking for something to train a hardheaded dog I would highly recomend this. Yes depending on useage you might have to change batteries every month or so but I do not find that a problem because the peace I get from not having to chase and disipline the dog and no screaming grandkids is worth it. May I also say that I can take him for a walk without a leash and he will not run off or chase things. He might start to chase something but a quick beep and he stops and returns to my side. Can't say enough good things about this company and their products.

Rating
80/
80%
by
so we bought 2 of them for our dogs and they are responding just fine. as soon as they hear the hear the beep they stop and behave like the good dogs they can be. when the collar works that is. in less than one month we have used up the original batteries (4 set of 2 ) and now the first collar is blinking red again. I am begining to worry about the trustworthiness of them. dont think I should have to replace them that often. never had to for any other device in the past . anyhow, they are fine and do what they are supposed to.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear you have had success with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainers and your 2 dogs! We do understand your concern for the battery life, however, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting assistance. The average battery life for this system is up to 1-3 months depending on use. If you are experiencing the low battery indicator (1 flash every 5 seconds) on your receiver collar, we would recommend to remove both batteries from the receiver, and while the batteries are not in the device, press and hold the power button on the collar for 15 seconds, and replace the batteries. When inserting the batteries, ensure that both of the CR-2032 batteries are facing "+" side up. If this does not resolve the issue, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for further troubleshooting and replacement assistance.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I own three large breed dogs (a very stubborn but adorable Redbone Coonhound, Golden Retriever, Flat-Coated Retriever) and a medium sized Pit Bull mix. All are rescues that were rescued at different ages. Our dogs have not had any "official" training except by us (we are not professionals) and there's a lot of room for improvement in that department. They know basic commands but often we have to say them more than once to get them to listen. We had all the dogs with us at our local pet store (never an easy feat let me tell you!) and they pulled us all over the store, got into stuff and our anxiety ridden boy pooped in the middle of the store. I hooked my larger dogs leashes into the child safety seat in the buggy so they could walk in stride with the buggy and me. This always works well for me and them. The two smaller dogs (90 lbs and 55 lbs respectively) my stubborn husband had on leashes that he was holding. It was these two that were greatly misbehaving. We were buying pet life-jackets to take on a boating trip the next day. We wanted to teach the dogs to jump off the boat and retrieve a retrieve stick.

Anyway, I passed a display of Petsafe training devices while listening to our boy bark incessantly because I moved more than 10 feet from him. Frustrated I hooked his leash into the buggy with the girls and he settled down. I have wanted to buy an e-trainer for the longest time but didn't want to hurt my dogs or cause them to fear me. I have discussed this with multiple trainers and watch Ceasar's shows to learn how to do things better. I purchased the RFA-473 and read the manual that evening and tried the levels out on ourselves to make sure that it wouldn't hurt the dogs. We mostly used the collar on our boy (90 lbs with loads of long fur!) and it worked better than we expected! He responded beautifully to it and it immediately corrected unwanted behavior without hurting him. I wish WISH that I had purchased this sooner! We just need 3 more!


Rating
20/
20%
by
We bought this trainer for our 40 lb. 6 month old lab. She doesn't even flinch when set on the highest settings. We tried trimming her neck hair but that made no difference. We purchased a different brand - dog responded immediately. After just a few days - all we need to do is put the collar on her - don't even use the remote anymore!

Rating
60/
60%
by
Works pretty good. My border collie didn't respond until setting 8. I used it for a week, then one of the probes fell out in the yard. You'd think that they would have had them torqued correctly at the factory. Now I got to find a replacement and I'm sure I'll be charged by PetSafe for that.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear about the trouble you've experienced with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer. Please know that the probes are designed to be removed in order to use the appropriate length needed for your pet. We would be happy to offer replacement assistance through our Customer Care Center. Please call 1-800-732-2677 so that we can help find a solution.

Rating
60/
60%
by
My year old 45 lb mixed breed dog didn't even flinch and the setting didn't matter. Fur around the neck area not an issue - she has short fur and the collar was tight enough too. I will say she was a stray that was rescued off the streets so not sure if this has something to do with it. We're going to try the collar for stubborn dogs next - hopefully it works.

Rating
40/
40%
by
noted contact points came out on the first use and I caught that they were out and found them. I tightened them and then used it for 5 days and had the contact points come out again! I can not find them and now need to reorder them. Very disappointing quality for out of the box.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you experienced trouble with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer! We can understand how frustrating it must be to discover missing probes shortly after purchase! Please know that we do offer the replacement probes that you need through our Customer Care, and would be happy to offer replacement options. For assistance, please call 1-800-732-2677. We look forward to hearing from you!

Rating
20/
20%
by
We do not know how the collar works on our lab yet as one of the contact points came out about 15 minutes after we put it on the dog. Of coarse, the pet store we purchased it from does not sell just this part alone, so we have to order it and pay for the part and the shipping for it. I would think that after spending this much on the collar that this would not be an issue. At this time, I will give a bad rating until this is resolved and we have a chance to see how it works.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We do apologize to hear that you experienced trouble with your Remote Trainer! We can understand how frustrating it must be to purchase a product and experience and issue within its first use. Please know that the Contact Probes are designed to be removed and exchanged with probes of a different length if needed. We suggest to ensure the Contact Probes are tightly in place prior to each use. If your local retailer does not carry these items, we would be happy to offer replacement assistance! Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. We look forward to hearing from you!

Rating
60/
60%
it's OK2/23/14
by
It breaks down easily and is not hyperactive dog proof. I have only had it for about two months and I'm buying replacement prongs for a second time and replacement batteries. This product could at least last a little longer before shelling out more money out of my pocket after already paying $150.

Rating
60/
60%
by
I don't like to complain but I ordered this for my blue healer and she only wore it for 2 days when the prongs came out. It worked well up until that point. For 140 dollars I just expected a little more out of it. I would also buy 2 more plus the wireless fence. I realize that sometimes you just get a item that wasn't up to par but I'm scared to buy more at that cost to find out.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your time and feedback on your Remote Trainer. We are sorry to hear that you encountered a problem with your contact points! Please know that these probes are designed to be removed in case they need to be replaced. It is recommended to ensure the contact points are tight prior to each use. If your receiver collar is damaged and the probes will not stay on the device, please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677 for replacement options.

Rating
20/
20%
by
I have been using this product for about 2 months and I have to change the batteries every 2 weeks, and that get expensive.

Rating
80/
80%
Good product2/4/14
by
I really like this product. Works well on my stubborn 125 lb. german shepherd. However, the prongs are a little short for his thick coat. I heard I can get longer prongs for this. Where do I find them? Thanks.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear that you've had success with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer! The longer probes can be purchased by contacting our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. We also have Flex Contact Points which are not only a little longer than the short probes on your collar, but also will "flex" with your dog's movements! They are available on our website, and you can purchase them by using the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/flexcontact

Rating
60/
60%
by
I have been using these collars for almost 8 years. I have had several, because they break, eventually. The prongs fall out or the the plastic components snap in half. I have had a couple that had a rechargeable battery which was great. But now it seems like you are forced to buy the ones with replaceable batteries- a money scheme? I don't like the fact that these collars break so easily. In the beginning, Pet Safe allowed me to send one back and get a new one. I have had 5 pet safe collars thus far. It is an expensive investment, but allows me to keep my dog safe from the highway on which we live. I would be happy to have the plug-in/recharging collar again.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer. We do offer a variety of remote training systems that include both replaceable and rechargeable battery models. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a solution to the issues that you have been experiencing.

Rating
100/
100%
Good Product1/10/14
by
I have had the collar for well over a year. Maybe 2 years now. It has just recently quit working. It has been well used. I have a 180 lb Bullmastiff. She is very sweet but very Bull Headed !! It has work well with her. I will be purchasing a new one soon.

Rating
60/
60%
by
Collar works great but the only problem I have is the battery life on the collar doesn't last more than 2 weeks. Why is the battery draining so quickly? It's a watch battery so I should last... I have been through 3 sets of batteries.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear you've had success with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer, but we are sorry to hear you are experience trouble with your batteries! To prolong battery life, we suggest to turn off the collar when not in use. The batteries can last between 1 to 3 months, depending on how frequently you use the Training System.

Rating
100/
100%
100% Satisfied12/25/13
by
Got this product at the recommendation if the breeder. We have a very high energy , very athletic hunting Labrador. This allows her to run untethered in the yard or woods. I use a vocal correction, then tone only, then static if necessary. She learned on the first day to respond to my vocal command. Now I only use the tone. I have not even needed the static correction in weeks. This even stopped her dead in her tracks at my command from chasing a bunch of deer we encountered in the field. If you love your dog, get this collar. It's better than a fence because it goes wherever we go, plus it demands one-on-one time with your pet.

Rating
40/
40%
Product is 12/3/13
by
I am on my fourth collar set. Three just stopped working and the fourth was lost when the prongs fell out somewhere in the woods. I have tried to return them to the store where I purchased them, to no avail. I am buying another because I need it and , when it functions, it is great.
I wish there were other options similarly priced. I would NOT recommend this product to others; in fact, I may dissuade them.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with the PetSafe Big Dog Static Remote Trainers. Please know that this PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty as well as other options may be available to you after the first year. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
80/
80%
by
Love this collar worked great till I lost the remote. Does anyone know if you can buy a replacement remote?


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for letting us know how happy you are with the Big Dog Static Remote Trainer. We are sorry to hear that you have misplaced the remote for your system. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 with the model number of the receiver collar so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
20/
20%
by
I have had the product for two weeks, the dog had lost the transmitters twice. The collar is on as tight as I can get it without choking him. There is no reason for the transmitters to "unscrew" themselves and disconnect from the collar, but they do.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with your PetSafe Big Dog Static Remote Trainer. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
40/
40%
by
Had a few weeks and worked ok on highest setting. Stopped having any response and took it off to see that one prong was completely missing and the 2nd fell off upon removal. The nuts had never been tightened that held the prong in place.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your Big Dog Static Remote Trainer. Because the probes can be unscrewed and changed for another length, they can unscrew during normal wear and may result in loss. To help prevent loss, check the tightness of the probes prior to placing the receiver collar on the pet. We do offer replacement accessories through our Customer Care. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 to place an order.

Rating
20/
20%
Does not work10/26/13
by
I spent a money on something I thought would work, what a waste of time and money. I made sure that everything was set up correctly. My dog got loose from me and I tried to stop her by using the collar and she did not even flinch. So we took it off and my husband shocked himself and he said on the highest setting it barely did anything. So know am out $150.00 and no collar. WORTHLESS!!!!!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this system has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to further troubleshoot this system and for additional warranty replacement information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I was a wits end with my golden/st Bernard mix. At 9 months old he is over 100 pounds, he was fast and was getting obnoxious, jumping, running away and just being disobedient. I was hesitant about buying a "shock" collar, but was concerned that he would be uncontrollable at the rate he was going and size he will end up.

Before using it on him, I did feel the shock on the different levels so that I know I would not be hurting him. Its didn't hurt at all, the strongest being less then a static shock.

I was very pleasantly surprised that he has responded so well to it & so quickly! After following the tutorial instructions, with in just two days of training only needs the tone as a reminder to behave most of the time.

I have had many dogs over the years and never needed "assistance" training any of them until him, but feel fortunate that I had this to correct his bad behavior, before it made him an unpleasant dog to be around.

Rating
20/
20%
by
DO NOT BUY. I have used a wireless "fence" from this company before, I can't tell which is worse. The "shock" collar or the "fence".

Within 2 hours, this will be my 3rd collar in this model. The 1st collar came returned with no test light, so I went back to get a brand new collar never opened. Huge mistake.

Set up the flags all around my yard, perfectly. Both the prongs touched my dog's skin. Low level 1 did not phase her. Neither did ALL of the low levels (She has been running all day, she is tired, and none of this even got her attention!).

When she crossed the flags, I'd zap her on the highest level- High 8. Did NOTHING. Even with the prongs touching her skin. She tried to walk out of the yard (very slowly, she was hardly even walking) when she saw a jogger. I used +2, that worked, but it never worked again.

2 hours later, the collar does not pair up with the remote. I have no idea how that happened. ONCE on level high 8 I got it to work, still holding down the button, the red light on the collar went off.

*UNRELIABLE. *DO NOT BUY. *WASTE OF TIME. *WASTE OF MONEY. *NOT TRUSTWORTHY!!!!!!!!!!!!! *BREAKS DOWN!!!!!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that this system has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us and for additional information on replacement options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60/
60%
by
This is NOT a waterproof collar. 2nd one we've had to order. We go to the lake and our lab (34 lbs) just walks in the sandbar, sometimes not even up to her collar. We've had to put it in rice for 48 hours and do not used it at the lake anymore. Not spending another $100+ to buy a third one. Other than that, to train on dry land (we use it to train our property line), it's a great product.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience. We would like the opportunity further discuss this incident with you and provide any additional troubleshooting or replacement options that may be applicable. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Excellent product. My dog was non-responsive to an ultrasonic bark control device-to give you an idea of the need to bark. With the Big Dog Remote Trainer he was resposive right away, and with a few days it was sufficient to just have the receiver on the dog. ie: no correction was needed-not even the tone button. "Selective hearing" was also resolved right away.