Close
#

Static Bark Collar

Reviews

57% 100% 28
Overall
%
(28)
#
Ratings Breakdown
28 reviews
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
13

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: Static Bark Collar
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
20%/
20%
Poor investment. Waste of money., 9/25/14
by
We received this collar on 09/05/2014 and starting using it on 09/06/2014. By 09/07/2014 our dog was no longer barking while wearing the collar. On approximately 09/20/2014 the collar was no longer operational. We ordered 2 new batteries, which we received today (the batteries are supposed to work 3-6 months, not quite - by a long shot....). Also, we only put the collar on our dog when she went outside, so she actually wore it very little during this timeframe. We changed the battery. Nothing. No light. No "beep". We should have read more reviews about the poor quality of this product. We hate wasting good money on an item that lasted only two weeks. From the numerous reviews of this collar, it is obviously defective and should not be sold.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience with the Static Bark Collar. We are sorry to hear of the issues you have experienced with this product, and we would be happy to help offer a resolution! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and our Product Experts are standing by to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
I love it! , 8/27/14
by
I originally bought the pet safe bark collar for my pomeranian about 5 years ago. I have moved back to an apartment and need it for my pekingese. The collar works great, I have replaced the battery a few times and I have found that I can get the batteries at Lowes for about $10. Now I have another dog and I'm going to buy another collar. Hopefully this one will work as great as the old one that I'm still using.

Rating
100%/
100%
August 27 2014 Follow Up, 8/27/14
by
i tried to scroll thru reviews to see when i bought this but i semed to be in a loop.
my dogs behavior is very good now. they just sit and watch. the neighbors lawn mower doesn't even seem to bother them. i am only using them when i m away; just in case but it has been a 100% turn around. jimksam

Rating
20%/
20%
$70 a week...., 8/19/14
by
I purchased this product a few months ago. It worked.... for about a week. Thought maybe it just had a dud battery. That happens, I get it. Paid more money for two new batteries. Well, needless to say, the collar is junk. Turns on, will beep once for testing and then it's just dead. Very disappointed. Seems to be of sub-par build quality. When it did work it worked great. But like I said. I paid seventy bucks at petsmart for a one week product.


PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your time and feedback on your experience with the Static Bark Collar. We are sorry to hear that it failed to meet your expectations, and we will be attempting to contact you to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. Please know that this particular bark control device uses vibration to detect a pet's bark, so to test the collar, we recommend to glide the probes along a rough surface at least 10 inches. You should then be able to hear the collar "beep" to know that it is working properly.The average battery life on this collar is 3-6 months. If the battery is low, you should see a low battery indicator which is a red light that flashes every few seconds. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
DONT WASTE YOUR TIME, 7/30/14
by
This product is very poorly made and I wish I wouldnt have bought it. Put it on my dog when I got home from the store, walked in the house, came back outside not 10 MINS. later to find the cheap buckle had come un-done and the collar torn to shreds! I would advise everyone to spend a little more money for a better bark collar and have it forever then buy this product and have it fail at any time. I train and handle dogs all the time so go get a better collar!!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Static Bark Collar failed to meet your expectations. We can understand how frustrating it can be to have chew damage to a new product, but please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and we will be attempting to contact you to offer replacement assistance. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Product did not last, 7/15/14
by
I got this collar not 6 months ago. I recently moved and needed to use it for my dog when I went to work out of respect for my new neighbors. To my surprise after not being used for about a month the unit won't even turn on. I went to a pet store to buy replacement batteries and that did not work. The unit I purchased was more expensive but looks just like this one and it did not last me 6 months and I paid almost $150 at petsmart for it.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the problems you've encountered with your Static Bark Collar and we can understand how frustrating having a new product fail to work can be. Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year warranty, and we have product experts standing by to help offer troubleshooting for your situation along with any replacement assistance that may be needed. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Has NO effect , 6/9/14
by
We bought this device at Menards after reading decent reviews put it on our german shepherd husky mix (who goes crazy when we leave the house) and had absolutely no effect on her, I tried it and it works just not for her.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the Static Bark Collar did not meet your expectations! Please know that we do offer troubleshooting assistance and would be happy to help find a solution that best suits you and your pet's needs. If your German Shepherd/Husky mix has long fur, the collar's metal probes may not be making contact with the dog's skin. Often, people who find this to be the case, will find success by trimming the hair around their dog's neck. Please know that we also have other Bark devices such as ultrasonic, spray , and vibration that may be a better fit for your dog. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
Stops barks in their tracks!, 6/8/14
by
Finally a unit that works! Tried every other model, loud beeping (dog ignored, drove us crazy), ultrasonic (is this on?), spray (a cool breeze?), then this. Dog stopped barking almost immediately. Wish we had tried this sooner, "can't teach an old dog new tricks", but it's working. The neighbors have stopped complaining, no more fines from the county, and I finally got a good night's sleep! This has saved our dog from the pound.

Rating
100%/
100%
Unbelievable! Peace at last! , 6/6/14
by
We put this on our largest dog ( the mother) , she barked once, and NEVER since. The good news is the rest of our dogs are following her lead and not barking as much either. We're going to get these collars for the rest of our dogs anyway, cause it's so nice to sit outside by the pool and not have them all barking ! This is a product that absolutely does exactly what it says. Well worth the money.

Rating
100%/
100%
Made all of our lives more enjoyable!!, 5/22/14
by
We have a 4 month old lab and she would just sit in your face and bark. If we would sit on the deck and she was on her leash she would bark at everything! We would have to bring her in the house so she would stop. Now we put her collar on and all it takes is one bark and she knows!! Now we can be outside together and relax with no barking distraction! She also seems more relaxed with it on. Life is good!!

Rating
60%/
60%
Works great, but batteries die quickly, 5/14/14
by
I bought this product last November for my rescue labradoodle who barks incessantly while in the car. It works great. One zap and she is quiet. My only problem is that the batteries last only 30-45 days and it is only used in the car which is at the most 5-6 hours per week. I have gone through 4 batteries in 6 months. At $3.50 per battery plus shipping this is becoming a pricey product. Also, as the battery gets close to dying my Hazel takes the much milder correction and continues to bark. My suggestion is to check out all products to see if others take batteries you can buy locally and less often. I would have paid more for a collar that doesn't eat batteries

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the batteries of this Bark Control Collar do not meet your expectations! Please know that the average battery life is about 3-6 months depending on use. To help save on battery usage, we suggest to remove the battery from the device when it is not in use. We also have the Rechargeable Bark Control device that may be more suitable for your needs. To learn more about this product, please use the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/rechargeable-bark-collar

Rating
60%/
60%
Works sort of, 4/29/14
by
The bark collar does everything right. It shocks him when he barks which is good. But the problem is then he yelps after he barks and then it shocks him again and again as he keeps yelping. My dog is a wuss and that might be part of it, him overreacting. He is a pug-beagle mix. Other than that problem it works fine.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear you have had success with your Static Bark Collar. We do appreciate your feedback, and can understand your concern for your pet receiving unintended activation. Please know that on rare occasions, a dog may get into a bark-correction-bark-correction cycle. If this happens, reassure your dog with calm, soothing tones. As your dog relaxes, he will understand that if he becomes quiet, he will not receive any more Static Corrections. If you have any questions, or would like to discuss your concerns further, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Not consistent , 3/15/14
by
I have a 25lb frenchie who just moved from the country to the city with me. All the new noises make her on edge, barking all the time. The shock correction does work when the collar actually shocks my dog. HOWEVER, she can carry on barking for 30 seconds before she gets a zap. Unless it works consistently, I don't see how she can learn not to bark. It seems cruel due to lack of consistency because she doesn't understand what causes the shocking. I've followed all the directions to a T. Not sure what the problem is.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your time and feedback on the Static Bark Collar. We do apologize that you are experiencing issues with your system. We can understand how an inconsistent training tool must be frustrating. Please know that we do have some troubleshooting tips to assist in ensuring that this bark control product will work for you and your frenchie. To help the device be more consistent, make sure that your pet is not wearing any other collar, and that the strap of this device fits snug, just under the snout, and positioned to the middle of her neck. This collar has a vibration sensor that requires a proper fit in order to respond to the dog's bark. If the bark control collar is still inconsistent, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 for more troubleshooting tips.

Rating
100%/
100%
Jack Russell TERROR, 2/21/14
by
My dog when I would leave home would bark all night long until I returned the next day. This irritated everyone in my home. We breed and raise Jack Russell Terriers and know how yappy they can be. Well, after the first day my dog had quit barking. He ow only barks to let me know someone is pulling in the driveway or a couple of barks if they are at the front door... This is now without the collar. It worked so well that now he doesn't even need it. THANK YOU PETSAFE.

Ps- we still use the collar on the other dogs for training purposes some of our dogs take longer than others to get the point, but the outcome had always been what we wanted. Peace and quiet.

Rating
100%/
100%
Very happy with this collar!!!, 2/5/14
by
I bought this collar for my pitbull/American bulldog mix. He had a very bad habit of barking non stop. I say had because after only one shock he realized he better stop barking. No more barking problems since! I would recommend this collar to anyone who has a mouthy dog like me lol.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great so far!, 2/1/14
by
I just purchased this yesterday. I have a beagle and a doberman. The beagle is very vocal, as beagles are famous for, the doberman not so much. When the two are together, the beagle is the ring leader and starts a bark-fest. I put the collar on him last night and after the first bark, he has been completely silent. He is not a fan of the shock. I don't even think I'll need a second one for the other dog! Works amazingly so far! Petsafe, my neighbors and my sleep schedule thank you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Worthless., 1/26/14
by
This product was well reviewed on amazon and recommended by a dog trainer at petco, so I thought it would be with the money so that my wife and I could get a good nights sleep. This thing is a worthless piece of poorly constructed technology that it does not work. We followed all the troubleshooting instructions to make sure it actually has power, and it does. When I rub it on my jeans it goes off. Granted, my dog has long hair, so my wife and I, at about midnight last night, shaved our dogs throat. GUESS WHAT!!!! Didn't help. Our dog shortly there after had a full blown freak out, and te collar went off ONCE, and it was in the middle of the barkathon. It deterred him for about half a second, then he was back at it. The center sensor is resting against bare skin, it is on, and the collar does nothing. This to duct does not merit even one star. I will be asking for my money back from amazon.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the PetSafe Static Bark Collar has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Please keep in mind that any training or training product can take up to 2 weeks of consistent training before the pet fully understands and responds. If you would like to discuss additional training or troubleshooting tips, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
100%/
100%
Very effective, 1/21/14
by
We are very happy with the results of the product however the company needs to package the battery separate from device to ensure battery has a full charge. Ours only lasted 4 days! Very unhappy with this problem and have hopes of a coupon or to be sent 2 batteries to replace the ones that came with the 2 collars that we purchased.

Rating
100%/
100%
awesome, 12/18/13
by
Works perfectly need a second one as we are currently alternating between 2 dogs. We have a second placebo collar we have been using but the one smarty pants figured it out.

Rating
100%/
100%
works great, 12/17/13
by
I had it on my old dog for 5 years until he passed away, the new puppy we got had barking issues as well. I put it on him...he barked twice and learned his lesson. I recently had to replace the battery and found them at PETCO for cheaper than I thought (2 for $10)

Rating
20%/
20%
Problems , 11/18/13
by
I have had this less then 30 days and it did work for about three days and stopped working , I have looked at your site for trouble shooting it but no advice. any clue why no matter if new battery or not still does not work ,I have tried tight as well. nothing...

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of this issue. We would be happy to assist you with additional troubleshooting tips to get the product functioning properly or provide any replacement options that may be applicable. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
100%/
100%
Petsafe static bark collar, 11/1/13
by
I had my collar for 12 years. It has worked all that time on the same battery. I keep it in my glove compartment. My dog has a barking fit every time he is left in the car. I tried everything to make him stop. Nothing ever did except The Petsafe static bark collar. When he sees that red collar coming out he sure stops barking quick. After it is on he is like an angel. When I get back to the car, he puts his head up towards me to take it off!!! A simple beep does it all. The only problem I have now is after 12 years the batteries available are too small. I was hoping the company has some of the old type around.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Thank you for sharing your experience with the PetSafe Static Bark Control Collar. We are happy to hear that your pet responds so well to the collar. A few years ago a slight change was made to the contacts of the battery, however, this did not change the actual size of the battery module. The new battery design should fit properly into your collar. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 if you continue to experience this issue and we will be happy to further assist you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Worthless, 11/1/13
by
Jeff…I bought the same collar and you are absolutely correct ….IT DOES NOT WORK AS ADVERTISED. I too put the collar so tight it nearly choked the dog and still no shock effect. My Schnauzer is driving me crazy.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Static Bark Collar is not working well for your pet. If your pet is not responding well to the static correction, we would be happy to assist you with additional troubleshooting, training and fitting tips. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
This product DOES NOT WORK. DO NOT BUY!, 10/25/13
by
This product does not work. My daschund barks and barks and barks and barks and the collar never goes off. I have it so tight he can barely breathe. Then I loosen it, still doesn't work. Absolute waste of $60. So very disappointed.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that the PetSafe Bark Control collar has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to further speak to someone regarding additional training and troubleshooting tips, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Bark collar does not work, 10/25/13
by
Purchased the BC-103 OM bark collar...and have had no luck. Just purchased replacement batteries and they were no help. Would love my money back or the option of another product that works!
Would live to hear back from petsafe regarding this!
Thanks


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have had this experience with our PetSafe Bark Control collar. This PetSafe product is covered by a one year limited warranty. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide troubleshooting and warranty information as needed. We look forward to hearing from you.

Rating
20%/
20%
Does not have any affect, 10/12/13
by
This collar is my second petsafe product but very disappointing, especially compared to the success of our radio transmitter fence we use for our dogs (we love it!) this bark collar was much more expensive than other options and has no affect what so ever on my Bassett or our cocker. We know other petsafe products work on our pets so this one not working was a surprise and very disappointing. Definitely NOT worth the money.


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Static Bark Collar was not a good fit for your pets. If your pet is not responding well to the static correction, we would recommend considering one of our Spray, Ultrasonic, or Vibration bark control products. If you would like to discuss this with us or for additional training tips, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
They don't work, 9/22/13
by
I purchased your static bark collar for three small dogs about a eight months ago, one is a Yorkie ,one is a Dachsund and the other is a mixed Jack Russel ,Palmarainian, pug. The Yorkie was traumatized the first time it shocked him and the other two it had no effect on them .Now it doesn't effect any of them. I've replaced the batteries on them several times thinking that would make a difference but it doesn't . I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Static Bark Collar was not a good fit for your pets. If your pet is not responding well to the static correction, we would recommend considering one of our Spray, Ultrasonic, or Vibration bark control products. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
BC103 OM ineffective, 8/27/13
by
I purchased 2 BC 103 OM collars several years ago and haven't had success to date. My Min-Pin litter mates bark at everything coming and going. It's as if they were competing. The first encounter was horrible. One of the dogs became very skiddish after the initial trial. This later subsided to some extent. The collars seems to function properly, but has little effect on the barking. I remain optimistic and continue to use the collars. I have replaced the batteries several times and there is no difference with fresh batteries. The collar fabric is now frayed and need replacing. Don't know if it's worth the added investment.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the Static Bark Collar is not a good fit for your pet. If your pet is not responding to the static correction, we would recommend considering one of our Spray, Ultrasonic, or Vibration bark control products. If you would like to discuss this with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

×