Close
#

Basic Bark Control

See Product Details

24 Customer Reviews

58 100 24
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
24 reviews
1 star
9
2 star
3
3 star
3
4 star
0
5 star
9

Add your Basic Bark Control review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
20/
20%
Did not work6/24/17
by
Tested and adjusted several times, did not work on my Botder Collie. Did everything but prevent my dog from barking. Will be returning tomorrow.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're very sorry to hear that your Basic Bark Control Collar is not having an effect on your dog's barking, Brittnay! We'd love an opportunity to speak with you and see if we can find a way to get the collar working properly for you. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379 and we'll be glad to assist you.

Rating
60/
60%
by
Worked very well for about 3 months. Bought bunch of new batteries. Nothing.

Would like a replacement.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, Scott! We can understand how it would be frustrating to have a collar that works for a short time, but we can most certainly offer support!

The collar may simply need to be reset. To reset your collar, please remove the batteries, run the probes across a rough surface like a plastic cutting board in a sweeping motion (about 10-12inch sweeps) 8-10 times. This will do a battery drain and reset the collar. Lift up the little metal tab inside the housing of the collar and ensure that it is springy so that it will make contact when the battery is put back in. Then, put the battery back in the collar, rub it across the rough surface again. Slide it right into your hand. Lay one hand flat on the rough surface so that both probes simultaneously touch your hand. If you feel static on your hand, please ensure that the collar is snug and right up against the vocal cords. This should do the trick! If you keep having trouble, please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379 for further troubleshooting and warranty support.

Rating
100/
100%
Thank you!!4/13/17
by
I highly recommend this collar! I have a Puggle and Lab, they bark at the drop of a leaf and get each other going ALL THE TIME. Now all I need to do is show the collar at times and they stop lol. I have been using them for about 6 years. Never had a problem with the collar or replacing the batteries.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Immediate training of 2 80 dogs with 0 incidents...
Also have had 3 dogs of family members stay over and we out collar on them and walked them around yard... than no chains needed... even the little 10lb schnauser. :)

Rating
60/
60%
by
I bought this collar 2 years ago and when I first bought it, it worked amazing for around the first 6 months. When I had to replace the battery then the back collar started working off and on. I thought it was the batteries making it work off and on. Even though this bark collar has never fully worked as good as it did when I first bought it, it still has been one of the better bark collars and the only thing that has worked for my dogs. I have 3 collars but one of the collars I can't even take the battery off now because the sides of the battery have broken off. Now I can't even replace the battery on it. I am going to try and contact them to see what they can do about sending me another collar because I am extremely upset about that and it just happened.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, Danica! We can understand how it would be frustrating to have a bark collar that is not working well, and we want to help! Please try removing the battery from the collar that is not working consistently. Lift the little battery tab that is down inside the housing to ensure that it is springy. Leave the battery out for about 15 minutes so that the collar will reset. Put the battery back in, and this should correct the consistency. Sometimes these collars hold on to the energy from the previous battery, and it simply needs to be drained out.

We will reach out to you privately for further assistance so that we can find a way to create a better experience for you.

Rating
60/
60%
batteries3/12/17
by
so far I had to have 4 sets of batteries sent due to the ones were dead that were sent. need come up with a better battery

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your concerns, Nancy. We are sorry to hear that you have had difficulty with your bark collar batteries! You may find it helpful to know that the battery life depends greatly on the device in which it is used, and how the pet uses the device. If your dog is barking excessively, it may reduce the battery life. Please reach out to our Customer Care Team if you have any questions or need troubleshooting at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
20/
20%
by
I purchased the first collar and it worked for about 4 months. After two months it quit going off, so i figured it was in need of new battery's. I replaced the battery's and it still did not work. I contacted Pet Safe and they sent me a new one. The replacement only lasted about one month. My dog only needed it inside so it was not like it was getting we or anything. Not worth your money because they do not last long.



​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're sorry to hear about the issues you've run into with the Basic Bark Control Collar! Battery life in this particular collar is typically around 3-6 months, but this can be less depending on how much your dog wears it and how often it is activated. The first battery or two may not last as long as later batteries, since your dog is far more likely to activate the collar more often when first learning how the collar works and how to avoid the collar's correction. If you are still experiencing issues with the collar, please do give us a call, as we're more than happy to help. We can be reached at the number 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
20/
20%
Useless2/9/17
by
I purchase this bark collar about a year ago. It worked for about a week but as my dog got used to it and I even tried it at the highest level, doesn't faze him at all anymore. In my opinion, this was a total waste of money. The batteries last about a week and are way too expensive. Great idea, if it worked but it doesn't. Save your money and get an empty water bottle and fill it full of 10 pennies and it will do the same thing and even better

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're sorry to hear that your collar doesn't seem to be working, Allan. Please know that this is not normal and there are a few things to check to make sure that you have a working collar. First, please ensure that you are using the PetSafe RFA-67 batteries. There are some third party manufacturers who sell batteries listed as being compatible with our products but they may not work properly or they may experience reduced battery life. It may help to reset the collar by removing the battery and then dragging the sensor probe against a hard surface in 10 inch straight lines. This will deplete the battery memory. After installing a brand new RFA-67 battery, please also check the fit of the collar on your dog. It should be tight enough so that it does not rotate easily on the neck (but you should still be able to get one finger under the strap at the back of the neck). Fit the collar while your dog is standing, high on the neck just above the vocal box, and centered under the chin. Please contact us at 1-800-732-2677 if you continue to have issues so we can help you to have a better experience!

Rating
20/
20%
by
I bought two Basic Static Bark collars to help alleviate my puggle's and beagle's separation anxiety barking when we are not at home. The collars are fitted properly and in accordance with instructions and the batteries are working, yet BOTH dogs continue to bark. The biggest problem is that both collars tend to move to one side of the dogs' necks, so the dogs are probably not receiving the static correction. The directions state to "REPOSITION THE COLLAR ON THE PET'S NECK EVERY 1 TO 2 HOURS.." Obviously, if we are not home, this is impossible to do. I wasted almost $100 on collars that do not work on either dog. Petsafe customer service recommended that I should purchase the more expensive Deluxe Petsafe Collar. No thanks. I'm done wasting my money!

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to review the Basic Static Bark Collar. We are terribly sorry to hear that it did not work well for your puggle and beagle, and can understand your frustration! These collars must be lined up with the vocal cords in order to detect the vibration of the bark. It is possible that an alternate strap that is more like a belt instead of the nylon make make a difference. Please reach out to us at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Have used this collar on two dogs, a 9 pound Japanese chin and a 60 pound Black Lab. Both had barking problomes the Lab took a while to quit but the Japanese Chin quit after two times, the shock did surprise him though and he cried for a few seconds which was very sad but he is fine and not barking which is great!

Rating
20/
20%
Poor1/29/17
by
Bought this collar a little while ago now, maybe 5 months ago. At the start it was great, worked very well. However, I recently just changed the batteries and it worked for a little bit and now nothing when my dog barks. It only beeps sometimes when I rub it against a hard surface as well. Very disappointing as I paid fairly good money for this item to just stop working. After reading reviews it seems that many people have had the same feelings. Time to change to a different brand!

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We can understand how it would be frustrating to have a bark collar that is not working as expected after a short time, Cassie! This collar carries a 1 year warranty and we are are here for troubleshooting assistance. It is possible that the collar may simply need to be discharged. To do this, remove the battery, run the probes over a rough surface such as a plastic cutting board in a sweeping motion of about 10-12 inches about 8 times. This discharges the energy from the battery and resets the collar. Then, put a new battery in, and ensure that the collar is snug and right up against the vocal cords.

If you continue to have difficulty, please reach out to us at 1-866-738-4379. We want to do all that we can to help you!

Rating
20/
20%
College sucks12/28/16
by
I put this collar on my 2 month old hound it's been over a week now and not one thing has changed in her barking I put her in her kennel which is the only time I put it on her purchase new battery $8 for 2 of them because you can only buy certain batteries for this collar hasn'tchanged one stinking bit she's been barking for about 45 minutes as I'm writing this

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to review the Basic Static Bark Collar, Bob! We are so sorry to hear that it is not working well for your dog. Please ensure that the collar is snug and right up against the vocal cords so that the bark can be detected, and the collar will activate accordingly. We will reach out to you privately so that we can help!


Rating
40/
40%
by
This is the second time I bought this collar. Thought I did something wrong with the first one as it started out working very well. After about one months worth of use it almost never picks up on my great danes barking. I change the battery to no avail. I even make sure I test it on the same surface as when I first buy it and it takes multiple rubs to get it to pick up the vibrations. It is consistently placed correctly on the dog. There should be no reason for it to do this. But they both did the exact same thing. So now I am past the return date on two expensive collars that don't work.



​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're very sorry to hear about the problems you've run into with the Basic Bark Control Collars, Tyler! If the collars are working when tested, but don't seem to be activating when your dog is wearing either of them, keep in mind that the collars will always begin at the lowest correction level and then slowly move up in the strength levels each time your dog barks within a 30 second period. Due to this, it can sometimes take some time before the collar reaches a level which your dog responds to, especially if they have been using the collar for a time and may have become desensitized to the correction of the collar (which does happen with some dogs). We'd very much like to speak with you to see if we can discover the cause of these issues and find a solution that will get those collars working properly. Give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379 and we'll be glad to help out!

Rating
40/
40%
by
I was told this is best one for my 8lb chihuahua who sits and growls and he can sit and growl and it does NOTHING. He has to bark really loud for it to work. Not very happy with it.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, Breanna. We are sorry to hear that this did not work well for your chihuahua! Please ensure that the collar is snug and right up against the vocal cords. As most chihuahuas have a higher pitch, the collar may not detect his growling. We would love to hear from you and find a way to get this collar working, or find a bark control device that is a better fit for you. Please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379 for help!

Rating
40/
40%
by
spent $50 on this at PetSmart and while it initially worked, the battery died within 2 weeks. We typically use the collar at bedtime only, occasionally we'll use it mid-day if our bulldog has to be crated (we are in the midst of crate training and he HATES the crate). Got new batteries and a week and a half later, we've already used one and are on the second one in the pack.

Wish I had saved the money and bought the better collar with the adjustable shock levels and larger battery in hopes that it works better, but PerSmart won't take it back even though we've had it less than a month.



​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're very sorry to hear about the problems you've experienced with the Basic Bark Control Collar, Melissa! Typically, battery life in this particular collar is around 3-6 months. The more it is activated, however, the less time that the battery will last; many times the first few batteries will last a shorter time than subsequent batteries simply because the collar is usually activated more in its first few uses while your dog becomes accustomed to how it works. However, a week and a half is very brief so we'd very much like to speak with you to help get the collar working correctly or replaced under the one-year manufacturer's warranty should it fail troubleshooting. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379 and we'll be more than happy to help out!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I'll first start by saying I never do reviews. However I was at my wits end with our nine month old chiweenie. I thought my husband was going to kill me and the dog...and I was praying my neighbors did not have guns because this little 8 pound cutie barked like a 100 lb squealing pig at anything and everything!
Previous to this device I tried the citronella collar and the ultrasonic remote. Neither phased her.
I will say on day one I thought this thing was a piece of junk. I called pet safe and learned that the collar needs to be tightly fitted on the dogs neck or it will not work. After adjusting the collar and I was still on the phone with the representative my Daisy girl went outside and I witnessed it working immediately. We still have some light barking which I imagine occurs before the strengthened static but it is completely manageable. I will say after reading the reviews we have lucked out with the battery… It has been in use with an aggressive Barker for a month and still has not needed to be replaced. Our only downside is that the collar is bulky… I take it off when she comes inside. If I do forget to put it on when she goes outside she will bark up a storm again!


PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Melisa! We are glad to hear that our bark collar has done the trick to keep your Chiweenie's barking down. You may find it helpful to know that we have a smaller unit that is not so bulky that can be seen here :

http://store.petsafe.net/deluxe-little-dog-bark-control


Rating
100/
100%
by
I have an 8 lb maltipoo and she barks and barks and barks NON STOP! When she's outside, she barks at the wind, the trees, cars passing by, neighbors, everything and anything you can think of. I tried obedience training, shaking a bottle full of pennies, catching her in the act and trying to tell her no, citronella spray collar, and the ultrasonic bark collar. My boyfriend basically told me "It's either me or the dog!" and I was running out of options. I finally had it and couldn't chase her around the house anymore distracting her to stop barking and always arguing and defending her with my boyfriend.

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS COLLAR! It works and it only took maybe a day or two for my dog to get the picture that barking must come to a bare minimal. For that dog that's a nuisance because of excessive barking, I highly recommend for you to try this collar on him/her. Yes, you will be nervous for that first "shock" your dog gets, but after that everything else will be a breeze. Your life will change and you will be able to keep your dog IF you are given that ultimatum.

Rating
100/
100%
Finally!!!2/8/16
by
This is an awesome device. My dog would keep me up all night with pointless barking - indoors! I tried everything from benadryl to melatonin - no luck. In addition to long exhausting walks before bedtime, this is a miracle worker. He wore it once for all of 30 minutes and hasn;t barked since. It's been over 4 days and I'veotten my 8 hours sleep back.
Thank you!

Rating
20/
20%
Awful. Useless.10/25/15
by
I purchased a Petsafe fence collars years back and was dissatisfied with how quickly the battery died. I gave up on it. Now I've purchased the bark collar that I DESPERATELY need for my dog. It worked maybe twice on her. I tried 2 brand new batteries on it. Nothing worked. It functioned for literally about a day and its garbage now. And even when it was powered, she constantly barked without any reaction anyway.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that our products have not met your needs and expectations Jeannine. It is possible that with some troubleshooting we can get your devices up and running. Please know that proper fit is extremely important with this collar, as the sensor probe needs to be touching the dog's vocal cords. Sometimes when switching out batteries, the collar needs to be discharged. Please also be aware that this collar is covered by a 1 year warranty, and that we have a Customer Care Center that is available for troubleshooting and assistance. We will email some troubleshooting tips to you privately. If you have any further questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Success! I have used this product on two barkers with much success. It doesn't take long for them to figure it out. We're happy and the neighbors must be too. I don't even have to use the collar after a while. I just threaten to use it. If they get cranked up, all I have to say is, "Do you need the buzzy muzzle?" and they know what that means. We have Welsh Terriers, a breed that can get kind of yappy.


Rating
20/
20%
by
We bought my dog this collar and not even less then a month later the Batterys are junk!


PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are sorry to hear that our Bark Collar did not meet your needs and expectations. The battery life is dependent on many factors including the frequency of your dog's barking. However, the batteries do typically last much longer. We would like very much to provide troubleshooting and assistance on this matter, please give us a call at our Customer Care Center directly at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
100/
100%
Works great 8/6/15
by
Every time I left my apartment my dog would start barking and would be barking when I got back. I had to get her to stop disturbing the neighbors. Once we started using the collar within 2 weeks I didn't even need it anymore.

Now we live in a house and the only time I ever use it is if I know someone is coming over and going to knock on the door or ring the doorbell. She won't bark at all. Works great.

Rating
100/
100%
works great7/21/15
by
I have 4 dogs. They all weigh 50 lbs or more. One of my dogs is a barker. She used to bark anytime she saw a motorcycle, bicycle, jogger, walker or just about anything go by….even if we were riding in the car she would bark at a bicyclist or motorcyclist if she saw one. When we go to the dog park, she is intimidating to the other dogs because she continually barks. When we travel in our motorhome, she causes a disturbance in the campgrounds.
I knew I had to do something. I bought this collar about 4 months ago and it has worked perfectly. In fact the only time she needs the collar now is when we go to the dog park.
It is simple to use and works great!

I am a true believer in the PetSafe products. We have the wireless containment system with 4 collars. I keep extra batteries on hand and they all interchange with each other and the bark collar. I have not had to change the bark collar yet and I do not have to change the batteries on their E collars often.

Rating
20/
20%
by
The battery has to becremoved after each use, and the battery life is terrible. Pay the extra $35 for the rechargeable. I have not ysed the rechargeable bark collar, but have the rechargeable wifi perimeter collar.

​PETSAFE RESPONSE:
We're sorry to hear that you were getting such poor battery life on your bark control collar, Dana! Typically, this particular collar should get around 3-6 months (depending on frequency of activation) of battery life even if the battery is left in the collar all the time. If you are getting much less than this, there may be something wrong with the collar. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​ and we'd be more than happy to assist you! Hours of operation are 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.