Close
#

6-Volt Battery (2-Pack)

Reviews

47% 100% 9
Overall
%
(9)
#
Ratings Breakdown
9 reviews
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
4

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: 6-Volt Battery (2-Pack)
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
Lasted longer than expected, 9/16/14
by
It was said to last 6 months. Ours lasted over a year before we had to replace it.

Rating
60%/
60%
Rechargeable?, 9/9/14
by
I read the other comments here about the batteries dying in less than 6 months. One person even mentioned that his battery lasted 6 months with one dog but died quicker with a different dog. I wonder if it matters how often the dog challenges the fence and causes the collar to activate? It would be helpful if PetSafe stated that on the site, if this is actually the case (life of battery depends on how often the collar is activated....). I might opt for the rechargeable collar (if it works with my system) for one of my dogs but the others, who don't challenge the fence, can stay on the battery operated collar, it lasts 6 months!
Thanks for everyone's reviews! I still love this system and so do my neighbors and pups!

-2 (two) 70-90lb Labrador Retrievers, 1 (one) 9lb miniature dachshund

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for sharing your feedback on the 6-Volt Battery. You are correct in thinking that each battery can last differently depending on how often your pets challenge the boundary. Please know that because these batteries are used in various products such as our Bark Control, Remote Trainer, and Pet Containment devices, each estimated time can vary and this information is stated in the product's manual. On average, the estimated battery life of these particular batteries can range anywhere from 1-3 months depending on use. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
Terrible, 9/2/14
by
I bought two of these collars for my little chihuahuas and after only one month, I find myself having to replace batteries that were suppose to last six months. The $8.00 battery plus the high cost of shipping make me wish I would have purchased a different product at my local pet store.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that these batteries do not meet your expectations! Please know that for most devices that use these batteries, the estimated battery life is about 1-3 months depending on use. Many of our retailers do carry these products, and we also offer a battery subscription plan that is more cost effective and covers the cost of shipping. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
battery dead after 2 weeks of minimal use! , 6/25/14
by
We bought a bark collar for our collie who only yaps when our neighborhood kids are outside. After getting shocked a few times she quickly learned to quit barking. We would keep the collar on during the day while she's outside and take it off at night. After a few weeks I began to notice her barking again, checked the battery and it was dead! My dog doesn't bark that much and for it to already be dead in half a month after buying this product has left a sour taste. Not to mention you can't just replace the dead battery at Radio Shack, you have to order from the company!

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the batteries failed to meet your expectations Please know that the average battery life does depend on the model of the bark collar, and how frequently it is used. If the bark collar is ON even when not in use, it can drastically reduce the battery life. We are sorry to hear that you are unable to find the replacement batteries at your local retailer, but there may be other retailers that carry our products. To find our products in your area, please use the Where To Buy page (link provided below). For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK : http://www.petsafe.net/where-to-buy

Rating
20%/
20%
used system a long time, 6/21/14
by
I started using Petsafe about 6 years ago, then 3-1/2 years later our dog passed. The system worked great, and the batteries lasted 6 months to a year. A year ago we got a new dog, and started to reuse the system and it worked great for 6 weeks and we needed a new battery. These batteries are not what they used to be. Our dog does not test the boundary line, because she is deftly afraid and does not come close to it, as we have a big yard she doesn't need to. I've purchased them at the big box store as well as online, the ones from the big box store seem the worst, they probably sit for long time. This is a discredit to the consumer, the batteries are cheaper, but the price is not. Petsafe now has cashflow for battery purchases. For now I will continue to use the sytem. In the fall we will research replacing the sytem with a competitors.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that this product has failed to meet your expectations and can understand how frustrating how it can be to experience a problem with your receiver battery. Please know that the average life for the RFA-67D batteries are 1 to 3 months depending on use. If your battery life is seems shorter than usual, we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance through our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
great product, 6/9/14
by
We have been using this system for almost 3 years and are VERY pleased! The collar and base unit are great and these 6V batteries do last a long time for us. We only have to change them every 2-3 months and our dog wears the collar all the time. Pet Safe has changed our lives. Our dog is happy and we are happy!!

Rating
40%/
40%
Batteries, 6/9/14
by
The only place I could find a reference in the instruction manual about battery life was in the FAQs, which has the question "How often do I need to replace the Receiver Collar battery?" The answer is "depends on how frequently your pet tests the Boundary Zone". If the manual or the store clerk that sold me the system would have told me the battery may go dead in a month or two I would have kept extra batteries on hand rather than finding out the system was not working because my dog got out! The only thing more ridiculous than the short battery life is the obvious intention to hide that fact from the purchitaser.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the battery for your receiver collar has not met your expectations. Please know that these batteries are used for many different devices and the battery life will vary. The battery life of your receiver collar is often stated in your product manual. Depending on the model, most PetSafe In Ground Receiver Collars have an average battery life of 1-3 months depending on use. For more information on your particular product, please call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Batteries life unreliable , 5/5/14
by
The battery is unreliable! Bought the containment system a month ago and after one shock my dog stayed within his set boundary, not even getting close to the distance when the collar beeps. A week ago (3 weeks after purchase) my dog was outside when a squirrel ran to the front yard, dog jumped the fence and was gone. I later tested the collar and the light didn't turn on/beep at the boundary. The collar then started to beep while sitting on my counter the next day (containment system was off). For the amount of money spent on this system more reliable batteries would be appreciated. Not to mention I now have to drive 30 minutes to the pet store to get the brand specific batteries.

Rating
20%/
20%
Very disappointed , 1/28/14
by
Batteries barely last a month. We have started taking the batteries out of the collars at night to try to save battery life. Seems like we are buying batteries every month for our two dogs. Don't understand why the batteries can not last longer. My mother in law has invisible fence and her batteries last over 6 months. Love the convienience of the wireless fence but we are on our last nerve with replacing these batteries. For the amount of money we have spent on batteries over the past few years we could have had an invisible fence put in.

×