Close
#

6-Volt Battery (2-Pack)

See Product Details

34 Customer Reviews

54 100 34
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
34 reviews
1 star
14
2 star
5
3 star
2
4 star
4
5 star
9

Add your 6-Volt Battery (2-Pack) review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
20/
20%
by
these batteries are terrible they last 1-3 months and your company is ok with that?
these collars protect our dogs and are relied upon by millions of people and that's the best you can do? lithium batteries are so much better these days you could get a better product out. the collar cost $105 to buy plus you think us spending another $50 per year on batteries is good for consumers, shame on you and your design team!

PetSafe Response

Thank you sharing your review with us, Ryan. We value your feedback and will pass your concerns to our design team. We are sorry to hear our batteries do not last the time you have expected. These batteries are used in several PetSafe items with the estimated life of one to three months. We would be happy to assist you with your product to help extend the life of each battery. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Care Team at 1-800-732-2677.


Rating
40/
40%
Battery life8/9/17
by
Same story as many others. Unfortunately I am on my 4th replacement pack of batteries in 2 years - and have dealt with a dead collar w/o batteries for a number of months just to save some money. I no longer believe the statement your company has made that nothing has changed. It is easy to see from the review history that 2-3 years ago the battery life OR the electronics did change since battery life wasn't always an issue. It is a shame, when the batteries are working the system is just fine. But the most frustrating part is getting surprised when my dog finds out the collar is not working before I do. I hope you are working on a solution to fix this issue soon.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize for any issues you've had with low battery life, Mike! We certainly do not want you to have to worry about changing batteries more frequently than is necessary. Please keep in mind that if you are using this battery in collars for a containment system, average lifespan of each battery is around 1-3 months, depending on how often the collar is brought to the edge of the boundary and activated. We would be more than happy to assist you with any battery problems you experience and can be reached at the number 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
40/
40%
Battery life4/19/17
by
At first my husband and I loved this collar because it allows our furbaby to roam the yard and not worry about her getting out. My biggest complaint is that the battery does not last long at all. We installed the system and started using it about 2 weeks ago. We started off with the battery that was already on it when we bought it and it barely lasted 2 days. We had a spare that came with the system and it lasted barely a week and a half. When we weren't using the collar we turned the system off and also removed the battery (especially when we left the system on and knew we'd use it later).

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We can understand how it would be frustrating to have low battery life in a product, Lorin! Each device uses the battery differently, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting so that we can help ensure that you get more battery life! We will be reaching out to you privately for further details and assistance.

Rating
40/
40%
by
I have used PetSafe electronic collars for over 8 years. I've had to replace each collar for both of my dogs more than once due to malfunction. Most recently, I received a box of these batteries at a special rate which I thought was awesome! However, it appears to me that the life of these batteries is not near as long as I remember. I have had to replace a battery in each of the collars every 4-5 weeks, which, to me seems rather short lived. I could be wrong, but wonder if anyone else has found this to be a problem?

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:

Thanks for taking the time to share your review on the RFA-67 batteries, Elizabeth. We're sorry to hear about the experience you've had with your collars and batteries! The battery life will vary depending on many factors such as the model of the collar they are used in, the temperament of the pet, how often the collar is tested, how they are stored, etc. As long as the batteries are PetSafe® then they should typically have approximately 1-3 months of life; however nothing has changed with our batteries so you should see roughly the same battery life that you saw previously.

It may help to drain the battery memory in your collar before installing a new battery. To do this, press and hold the button on the collar with the battery removed (if your collar doesn't have a button, then you can leave the battery out for 10 minutes or so).

It's worth mentioning that there are companies that produce batteries listed as being compatible with our collars in bulk for much less than normal. We cannot guarantee these batteries to work properly or have the normal battery life, though, since we do not make them. Ideally, PetSafe brand batteries should be used for optimal performance.

Please reach out to us directly at 1-800-732-2677 if you continue to experience issues, Elizabeth. We're here to help you and we want to make sure your system and batteries are working properly!

Rating
20/
20%
battery3/13/17
by
If I had knowen I could not get a replacement battery at [certain retailers] . I would not have gotting this model. It has done its job well for about 10 months. The battery has been dead for the last month.
It took that long for the dog to figure it out. I just used it at night so I could sleep.

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to review the RFA-67D-11, Kim! We are sorry to hear that you are having trouble finding a replacement battery. This capsule battery can be found at most pet stores. For more information, please reach out to us privately and we can help find a retailer near you!

Rating
20/
20%
by
We got our system in December and it was probably January to we hooked it up and the battery lasted long enough for my husband to get the perimeter set and that was it.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're sorry to hear that your battery didn't seem to last long, Terri! The life of this battery will vary depending on a variety of factors such as how it's stored, how often the collar is tested or activated, and the model it's used in. For containment collars, the average battery life is 1-3 months. It's worth mentioning that the collar will use power if the battery is installed even if the system isn't set up or used. If the battery is installed in the collar to test it initially, it is important to remove it until you start using the collar. Please know that we are available for support at 1-800-732-2677 if you experience issues with your equipment or batteries!

Rating
20/
20%
by
We had a break in the wire in our fence and it took a few months for us to get it rewired correctly. We got it all done today and put a new battery in the receiver. The battery was dead right out of the package, which is really frustrating. We paid for the system, and took all that time to install it (and then reinstall it when the wire was accidentally cut) and now all that work is wasted because we can't seem to get a working battery.



MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:

We're very sorry to hear that your battery was not working right out of the package like that, Amanda! We would be more than happy to get that taken care of for you. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379 and we'd be glad to assist!

Rating
60/
60%
battery life11/14/16
by
Bought my wireless pet system last year, like very much. Problem I have is the battery life. We replaced the battery last month when the dog was able to leave the assigned area. 3 weeks later she is again leaving area with out getting any warnings. Yes the battery is on 24/7 if we need to turn off during the night when she doesn't need the collar how would I do this? Turn machine off or the collar?

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your concerns with the RFA-67D-11 battery, Jayne! Battery life varies with each device, and we will be contacting you privately to find a way to help!

Rating
100/
100%
by
Best collar I bought for my Coonhound so bad barking habbits

Rating
20/
20%
by
Battery lasted about a week.


​MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:

We're sorry to hear that your battery lasted only a week, Randy! Sadly, without information about the product you were using the battery in, we'd be unable to offer any specific troubleshooting that may be helpful. These batteries typically last approximately 1-3 months in most of the products which use them, however sometimes this can be much shorter depending on how often the product is activated or used. We'd very much like to help out with this and can be reached at the number 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
80/
80%
by
we have had the wireless fence and the product itself works great, but the battery life isn't so great. we have only been using the product for 3 months and need to replace the battery already. overall i'm satisfied with this wireless fence.


​MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Matt! Please be aware that these particular batteries have an estimated lifespan of around 1-3 months depending on frequency of use. To conserve battery life, you may want to try removing the battery from the receiver collar when it is not in use, which should lengthen the life of the battery significantly.

Rating
20/
20%
by
We got the pet safe wireless fencing and an extra collar at Christmas. Now that the snow has melted we are installing it. Easy to set up thus far but the battery on the extra collar was totally dead out of the box. Tried with the battery from the other collar and it worked fine so I know it is the battery. Worried to think that the battery life will be an issue and my 2 large bird dogs will be 3 miles away before I know the battery is dead. Yikes

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Barbie! We are sorry to hear that your new batteries did not have power, and can understand how this would be bothersome. The standard life expectancy is about 5 years. However, you may find it helpful to know that battery performance will deteriorate if stored for a long period of time without being used. Additionally, the various usage conditions such as discharge, temperature, etc. are not maintained within certain ranges the life expectancy of the battery may be shortened. Please also know that that all of our containment collars utilize a low battery light that will give you an indication to change the battery. Please know that we are here for troubleshooting and assistance, feel free to give us a call at 1-866-738-4379 and we will be happy to provide a solution!

Rating
100/
100%
by
My miniature poodle is a great watchdog but her incessant barking sends me right up the wall. Often I don't even have to turn on the unit, just put it on her and she never even starts barking knowing the result. Works every time!

Rating
80/
80%
by
I have an outside collie. She has to "herd" everything, including big trucks and farm machinery. If it wasn't for this product I know she would not be alive. Do I wish the batteries lasted longer? Of course. Is it worth the expense? Definitely!

Rating
80/
80%
by
My dog actually likes having this collar on!

Rating
100/
100%
by
These batteries have worked well in my system. I have had the system for eight years, and my dog wears her collar every day as a reminder, and the system stays on, as she can get busy exploring when she finds a scent. I change the batteries a couple of times a year. Thank goodness the unit blinks when the battery is low, so I know when to change them.

Rating
20/
20%
by
Ive had this wireless system for less than 3 months, I have 2 collars, my dogs learned within a week the boundaries so i removed the collars and shut off the reciever. Now both batteries are dead, is this going to happen every 3 months?


MANUFACTURER RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Stephan. We are sorry to hear that this system has not met your needs and expectations. The Wireless system sends out a signal "bubble", if the collars get too far from the transmitter and lose the signal, they activate. When the transmitter is turned off, if there are batteries in the collar, they will activate because of signal loss. It is possible that they activated and timed out, and the battery was drained as the collar was searching for the signal so that it could reset. In this scenario it is best to remove the batteries to save battery life and reduce unintended activation. If you have further questions or concerns, please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20/
20%
battery life8/20/15
by
used the collar to setup tone mode... three weeks later we went to set up the system and the battery was dead, even though the system was off. I should have read the reviews before I bought system, I wouldn't have bought it... Very disappointing.....

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE

I am sorry to read of the difficulty that you have had with our RFA-67d-11 battery which typically has a shelf life of up to 5 years. There may be some other factors in your situation that have caused the battery to die so quickly, and it may also depend on the device in which the battery was inserted. For troubleshooting, please call our Customer Care Center directly at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.


Rating
100/
100%
Very good8/8/15
by
Very good we take the batteries off the collars when we have the dogs in the house

Rating
20/
20%
by
I'm on my 4th battery in 2 months with very minimal usage. Not even 4 hours every two weeks. I remove the battery every time it is not being used so as not to drain it. I went on vacation without a spare as I had only used the first battery for 5 hours so I never thought I did need one so soon. Well, went to turn it on and the battery was dead. Was very unhappy as it completely affected our trip and the dog had to be leashed the entire time. Had no access to a store as we were camping. Everything else about the unit is great but would never recommend solely based on extremely poor battery life.

​MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:

We're terribly sorry to hear about the batteries in your collar draining so quickly. 2 per month is abnormal no matter which of our products you are using these batteries with, especially if you are removing them when not in use. Please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379​ and we'd be happy to assist you. Hours of operation are 8 AM-8 PM EST Monday-Friday and 9 AM-5 PM EST on Saturdays.

Rating
80/
80%
by
If you take the battery out when not in use the battery will last 6 months. Very happy with the whole wireless system.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Not sure why everybody's batteries are dying. I have had my dog door for more then 3 years. It came with two batteries and today I finally have to order 2 more. They lasted me for 3 years. I have no complaints about these at all. Great product.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I'm not sure why / how so many people have battery problems. I've had my system for 3 years and get 2-5 months out of batteries. I bought the system at a big box store & one of THOSE batteries was dead right out of the box, but Petsafe sent me one no charge. I'd say to order them from Petsafe because the big box batteries will probably be old-ish.

Rating
100/
100%
by
Update to my previous review. They stand behind their product and are sending me a pack of new batteries today. Not all that were dead but I guess that's my fault for purchasing them other places besides Petsafe. I'll update once more on the battery life. The woman I spoke with was very nice and helpful and I really appreciate the excellent customer service.

Rating
20/
20%
Waste of money10/17/14
by
I have purchased 8 batteries on top of the 2 that came with the fence, (8) and every single battery was dead except this last one that I just took out of the package yesterday. But wait, this one is flashing so it's almost dead. I wonder if this company actually has batteries that aren't dead before you open the package. I've purchased at the pet store, Lowes and online at amazon then the company that we purchased the fence through. Oh, and batteries are not cheap or returnable so I'm taking a gamble every time I purchase one. I can't believe these batteries die just by sitting on the shelf. I read other reviews at amazon and everyone complains about them. I will be contacting them today finally because I've had it. We'll see if they stand behind their product...I'll let you know.

Rating
100/
100%
by
It was said to last 6 months. Ours lasted over a year before we had to replace it.

Rating
60/
60%
by
I read the other comments here about the batteries dying in less than 6 months. One person even mentioned that his battery lasted 6 months with one dog but died quicker with a different dog. I wonder if it matters how often the dog challenges the fence and causes the collar to activate? It would be helpful if PetSafe stated that on the site, if this is actually the case (life of battery depends on how often the collar is activated....). I might opt for the rechargeable collar (if it works with my system) for one of my dogs but the others, who don't challenge the fence, can stay on the battery operated collar, it lasts 6 months!
Thanks for everyone's reviews! I still love this system and so do my neighbors and pups!

-2 (two) 70-90lb Labrador Retrievers, 1 (one) 9lb miniature dachshund

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the 6-Volt Battery. You are correct in thinking that each battery can last differently depending on how often your pets challenge the boundary. Please know that because these batteries are used in various products such as our Bark Control, Remote Trainer, and Pet Containment devices, each estimated time can vary and this information is stated in the product's manual. On average, the estimated battery life of these particular batteries can range anywhere from 1-3 months depending on use. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40/
40%
Terrible9/2/14
by
I bought two of these collars for my little chihuahuas and after only one month, I find myself having to replace batteries that were suppose to last six months. The $8.00 battery plus the high cost of shipping make me wish I would have purchased a different product at my local pet store.

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that these batteries do not meet your expectations! Please know that for most devices that use these batteries, the estimated battery life is about 1-3 months depending on use. Many of our retailers do carry these products, and we also offer a battery subscription plan that is more cost effective and covers the cost of shipping. For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20/
20%
by
We bought a bark collar for our collie who only yaps when our neighborhood kids are outside. After getting shocked a few times she quickly learned to quit barking. We would keep the collar on during the day while she's outside and take it off at night. After a few weeks I began to notice her barking again, checked the battery and it was dead! My dog doesn't bark that much and for it to already be dead in half a month after buying this product has left a sour taste. Not to mention you can't just replace the dead battery at Radio Shack, you have to order from the company!

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the batteries failed to meet your expectations Please know that the average battery life does depend on the model of the bark collar, and how frequently it is used. If the bark collar is ON even when not in use, it can drastically reduce the battery life. We are sorry to hear that you are unable to find the replacement batteries at your local retailer, but there may be other retailers that carry our products. To find our products in your area, please use the Where To Buy page (link provided below). For more information, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK : http://www.petsafe.net/where-to-buy

Rating
20/
20%
by
I started using Petsafe about 6 years ago, then 3-1/2 years later our dog passed. The system worked great, and the batteries lasted 6 months to a year. A year ago we got a new dog, and started to reuse the system and it worked great for 6 weeks and we needed a new battery. These batteries are not what they used to be. Our dog does not test the boundary line, because she is deftly afraid and does not come close to it, as we have a big yard she doesn't need to. I've purchased them at the big box store as well as online, the ones from the big box store seem the worst, they probably sit for long time. This is a discredit to the consumer, the batteries are cheaper, but the price is not. Petsafe now has cashflow for battery purchases. For now I will continue to use the sytem. In the fall we will research replacing the sytem with a competitors.

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that this product has failed to meet your expectations and can understand how frustrating how it can be to experience a problem with your receiver battery. Please know that the average life for the RFA-67D batteries are 1 to 3 months depending on use. If your battery life is seems shorter than usual, we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance through our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100/
100%
by
We have been using this system for almost 3 years and are VERY pleased! The collar and base unit are great and these 6V batteries do last a long time for us. We only have to change them every 2-3 months and our dog wears the collar all the time. Pet Safe has changed our lives. Our dog is happy and we are happy!!

Rating
40/
40%
Batteries6/9/14
by
The only place I could find a reference in the instruction manual about battery life was in the FAQs, which has the question "How often do I need to replace the Receiver Collar battery?" The answer is "depends on how frequently your pet tests the Boundary Zone". If the manual or the store clerk that sold me the system would have told me the battery may go dead in a month or two I would have kept extra batteries on hand rather than finding out the system was not working because my dog got out! The only thing more ridiculous than the short battery life is the obvious intention to hide that fact from the purchitaser.

MANUFACTURER RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the battery for your receiver collar has not met your expectations. Please know that these batteries are used for many different devices and the battery life will vary. The battery life of your receiver collar is often stated in your product manual. Depending on the model, most PetSafe In Ground Receiver Collars have an average battery life of 1-3 months depending on use. For more information on your particular product, please call our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20/
20%
by
The battery is unreliable! Bought the containment system a month ago and after one shock my dog stayed within his set boundary, not even getting close to the distance when the collar beeps. A week ago (3 weeks after purchase) my dog was outside when a squirrel ran to the front yard, dog jumped the fence and was gone. I later tested the collar and the light didn't turn on/beep at the boundary. The collar then started to beep while sitting on my counter the next day (containment system was off). For the amount of money spent on this system more reliable batteries would be appreciated. Not to mention I now have to drive 30 minutes to the pet store to get the brand specific batteries.

Rating
20/
20%
by
Batteries barely last a month. We have started taking the batteries out of the collars at night to try to save battery life. Seems like we are buying batteries every month for our two dogs. Don't understand why the batteries can not last longer. My mother in law has invisible fence and her batteries last over 6 months. Love the convienience of the wireless fence but we are on our last nerve with replacing these batteries. For the amount of money we have spent on batteries over the past few years we could have had an invisible fence put in.