Close
#

5-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder

Reviews

77% 100% 12
Overall
%
(12)
#
Ratings Breakdown
12 reviews
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
3

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: 5-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
20%/
20%
Battery compartement door, 7/3/14
by
I recently received the automatic pet feeder, but I don't know how to open the battery compartement door... So I can't put them in...
There is no instructions about it

PETSAFE RESPONSE: Thank you for your time and feedback on the 5-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder. We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your battery compartment door, and can understand how frustrating this can be. Please know that the battery compartment is located under the feeder lid near the display panel buttons, and should easily open by using your thumb or index finger to remove the cover. If you have any questions, or need further assistance with any of your PetSafe products, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Never had a problem, 6/29/14
by
I have had the 5 day feeder for 2 or more years. It turns once a day and I have never had a problem. I don't even think we have had to change the batteries yet.

Rating
100%/
100%
Works Awesome, 6/26/14
by
I've had mine for over 7 years with no problems. I'm getting ready to order another one for our new kitten that eats different foods.

Rating
20%/
20%
No instructions in the box or in the feeder, 5/23/14
by
This is the second Petsafe feeder product I have purchased. I returned the first back to the store when it quit working after two months. I purchased the 5 meal feeder to keep our cat fed while we left for the weekend. When I opened the box there were no directions on how to operate the feeder. The programing sticker was never placed in the feeder. I have not been very impressed with Pet safe products so far and doubt I will spend any more money on them.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the trouble you experienced with your 5-Meal Automatic Feeder! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year limited warranty, and we will be attempting to contact you shortly in regards to your situation. If you have any questions, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
60%/
60%
Doesn't stop turning, 4/12/14
by
I have this feeder for about 7 mos, worked perfectly until about a week ago. Came home after work and noted the feeder was turning. It had been that way all day since four of the five chambers were still filled. My poor cats had not been able to eat! Changed the batteries, reprogrammed it and still it just keeps on turning. Not very happy right now.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the problem you and your cats have experienced with your 5-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder! Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer replacement options. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so we may find a solution that best fits your needs.

Rating
20%/
20%
Doesn't work in cold environment , 12/27/13
by
Went away for the weekend and left it on my covered porch for my outdoor cat. Came back to it halfway between sections. Upon further testing, it ends up that it will not work properly in 40 degree weather.

Cat figured out the backup plan was to go next door and mooch food from the neighbor, so no harm. Other cats might not be so lucky.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you and your cat experienced trouble with your 5-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder! Please know that we do not recommend this device for outdoor use because it does operate with batteries that are affected by temperature. We are happy to hear that your cat had a back-up plan, but if you are interested in a feeder that would work outside, we do offer a Healthy Pet Food Station (link below) that may be more suitable to your needs. To learn more about this feeder, please contact our customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/healthy-pet-food-station


Rating
100%/
100%
Excellent Product - Highly Recommend!, 12/1/13
by
We've been using the PetSafe 5-meal automatic feeder for about eight months (using dry food), and can say without hesitation that it is the best pet product we've ever purchased. We use three on a daily basis for the cats' breakfasts, and thought we would go through batteries quickly, but we're still on the original ones we put in. The noise made as the tray rotates into place is minimal, but enough to alert the cats that breakfast is served. We purchased a second set of three approximately six months ago to be used for evening meals in the event we are away for a day or two. We set a webcam up the first few times to monitor the feedings and were pleased to see how well it worked out.

We had used a different brand of feeder previously which did not have a digital timer, and it was difficult to get the times on three feeders in sync, but with the digital timer on the PetSafe, we are able to get the tray rotations to occur within seconds of each other. We would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for an automatic feeder for their pets.

Rating
100%/
100%
Excellent product; best on the market, 11/23/13
by
I just started using this feeder and bought two, one for each cat. I looked at many different feeders online and in pet stores, and found this to be one of the best! I ordered a different brand through Amazon that cost less, but the product was not made as well; it was difficult to set the timer and difficult to open the lid. The trays in this PetSafe feeder are plenty big for my kitties. They are still getting used to the minimal sound it makes when the tray rotates. The only thing I wish this feeder had was a voice recorder.

Rating
100%/
100%
good, 11/8/13
by
I have been using 2 of these feeders for about 2 years now and I have had absolutely no problem with them. Once I figured out how to adjust the settings, they are very easy to set/to adjust as needed.
The only thing I wish is that it had more compartments to fill......there is a feeder that does had more but it had a lot of negative reviews so I did not try it.
I have and will continue to recommend this product to others.

Rating
100%/
100%
BEST PET FEEDER, 9/26/13
by
I've had 2 of these feeders since 2006 for my 2 cats, giving them 3 small meals a day (wet, dry, wet). The feeders were great since it would distribute the food on time (allowing me to sleep in) and easy to clean, plus the equipment last a long time (one of the feeders is still going strong and the other just stopped working, so after 7 years, I would say that was a good investment) and it wasn't until today that I've needed to buy a new unit. So, the product is built to last. Only thing I would warn on is that I have come across defective brand new units before, when I went to buy one a few months ago. So, if you experience a similar situation with a defective brand new unit, don't be discouraged, just get another one, since I've been VERY satisfied with this product.

Rating
100%/
100%
Changing My Cat, 7/30/13
by
We bought our feeder a day before out 4 day vacation hoping it would do the job better than one of the cheap gravity feeders you could pick up just about anywhere and with our cat she has a problem with if there's food in the bowel or could come out of it she must eat it all till is all gone even if it gets her sick. She also whines a lot when ever my mom ( the primary person who feeds her ) comes in the kitchen, even when it's not her feeding time. My mom tends to give up easily and feeds her just to shut her up, and she knows shes only making her worse. Ever since we've come home our cat has changed by pacing herself at eating. On our vacation I timed out only two meals a day for two days and one meal after we left so all five of those compartments were used up. She used to be feed once at 5am once at 2 a snack at 3 a dinner at 5 a snack at 6 another snack at 8 and it just drove us all crazy. Now its just a simple sound of it turning at 5am and at 2pm and I'm noticing left over kibbles in her bowel so she's pacing herself for sure plus no more whining!! which is wonderful for me since my room is right next to the kitchen which i was never fond of 5am meows.

Rating
100%/
100%
Darn close to being the perfect pet feeder ever, 7/5/13
by
Seems like a lot of research/thought went into designing this product! It is the first feeder my clever/determined male cat has not been able to break into or disassemble. I also got a second one for my female cat. The timer mechanism and battery compartment are under the lid, preventing my cats from toying with them. Digital clock is perfect for feeding at exact times throughout the day and for feeding my two cats simultaneously. Although larger and heavier than all my other feeders, this one is sturdy and seems built to last. Plastic food tray cleans super easily. **Make sure the food tray is seated properly to ensure complete rotation to reveal next meal.** My only "complaint" is that the meal compartments are a bit deep. I think cats in general prefer to eat from a more flat plate so they don't have to get their whiskers/face messy (I use the machines with canned/wet cat food). Overall, an excellent product that has solved all issues I had with feeding my cats while away. Awesome!

×