Close
#

4-Way Locking Cat Flap with Tunnel

Reviews

60% 100% 8
Overall
%
(8)
#
Ratings Breakdown
8 reviews
5 star
2
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
2

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: 4-Way Locking Cat Flap with Tunnel
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
60%/
60%
Had 2 doors, 1 excellent and 1 got stuck open and wouldn't close, 10/3/14
by
In reading these reviews and can relate with the good ones and the bad ones. I've had 2 of these doors and the first one was great, no problems at all. I eventually (after several years) replaced it with a medium size dog door and all the animals use it. The 2nd one I bought, however, lasted for about 1 year then it stuck open and can't be closed. I don't know if I can replace the flap hardware, the flap itself, or if I just need to buy a new one. Any suggestions? When I try and close the flap it's like it's out of line and won't close securely in the opening. You see I'm willing to risk it and continue using them but if it happens again, I don't know.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: ​We are sorry to hear of the trouble you've experienced with your 4-Way Locking Cat Door and we understand how frustrating it must be to have a stuck flap. To assist with this issue, we would suggest to check the latch lock on your door to see which position it is in and if it may be causing the door to stick. If the lock is in the "open" position and the flap will not budge, please contact our Customer Care for replacement assistance at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
100%/
100%
Great door!, 9/19/14
by
I have 2 of these doors, one since 1988 when it was staywell brand. The bad reviews about door staying open must have their flap hinge installed wrong. These are great doors and the 4way locking feature is nice when you want kitty to stay in after being out all night. I have had many cats and this door is great!

Rating
40%/
40%
Door sticks open, 4/7/14
by
About one year old the door sticks open after cat passes thru. What's the use of a door that doesn't close?

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing trouble with your cat door! Please know that we are happy to offer troubleshooting assistance through our Customer Care Center (1-800-732-2677).

Rating
100%/
100%
16 years, 4/7/14
by
I see some good and bad reviews and wanted to chime in because when i make a purchase i always check reviews, and fair is fair. I've been using this product for 16 years now, since i bought my house, i use it as a basement door access to litter boxes and as a lockout feature when i have company to keep the kitties from bugging guests if they are sensitive to cats. I've never had an issue with the door at all, its survived hundreds of thousands of swings in and out , the lock feature works fine if you tension the screws properly around the unit as you tighten. Tighten evenly is the key so its not uneven around the edges (you cant tell by eye) just tighten little by little clockwise, and don't over-tighten. it'll stay put don't worry.. I wouldn't use this as an exterior door for locking purposes , its not that secure but serves its purpose for temporary lock-down. cats do get restless and find ways to escape from anything that isn't solid, its their nature..... i saw the review about the cat clawing the door to get it open, if they really want to get out they will and i understand your concern totally, my Maine coon ran into it paws first to force it open.. expected... i cut a piece of cardboard with some duct tape on the ends and taped it over the entrance for temporary total lock out. But i don't have to do that very often at all.. You can be crafty with duct tape and cardboard to make an insert to keep nearby for those circumstances...I unfortunately have to look for another door at this time only because my 1 yr old Maine coon is already 15 lbs and is going to be about 25 lbs after done growing , Hell never fit..... with another 14 week Maine right behind him at 6 lbs already... Highly recommended though for regular size cats. Very durable and technically will last a lifetime with simple cleaning. If there was a larger door made by this company, id be buying right now...

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are happy to hear of the success you've had with this pet door! Please know that we do appreciate your time and feedback on the product and how you've made it work for you and your Maine coon. We do offer larger doors, such as the Big Cat Door, which is a 4-way locking style flap that is suggested for cats up to 25lbs! You can view the door at the link below. If you'd like to learn more about this door, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/big-cat-door

Rating
20%/
20%
doesn't work, 11/23/13
by
Cats are able to open door even in the locked postion. It appears the locking mechanism isn't strong enough to hold them in. They are both under the weight rating.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the 4-Way Locking Cat Flap has failed to meet your expectations. While every cat is different, we can understand how frustrating it can be if your cats are capable to force open the locked flap. We do offer many other styles of doors that may be more suitable to your needs. For instance, the Big Cat Door has 2 locking mechanisms, one on each side, that could be a solution to your situation. If you are interested in another style of door, please know that there may be a loyalty discount purchase option available to you by contacting our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80%/
80%
Excellent design works great!, 11/12/13
by
In a four cat household, it's the only way to bring them in and keep them in for the night.
In our history of parenting seven cats, one determined little girl cat has figured a way to open the locked door by pulling on flap with her claws.

Rating
60%/
60%
I like the way the door functions, but it is not strong enough. , 11/6/13
by
We have a male cat that is under 15 lb. that will occasionally have a visitor. When the visitor attempts a rapid exit, he will break the door or the mechanism that holds the door in place.
I have now purchased 3 and am on my last unbroken door.
Can one purchase replacement doors?
Is there a stronger door that will fit in same hole cut in the door?

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear you are experiencing problems with your 4-Way Locking Cat Flap. The frame is not sold individually, but we can offer a loyalty discount on replacement doors. We do have many doors that can offer a better solution for you, your cat, and his visitors, but some may need to be installed in a larger cutout. Please know that this door also comes with a 1 year limited warranty. If you'd like to discuss the replacement options that are available, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Door is too hard for cat to open, 9/7/13
by
Nice unit, but cat can't seem to open. Too much resistance on opening the door.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that you have encountered a problem with your 4-Way Locking Cat Flap. We would be happy to provide troubleshooting tips and information to help you resolve this situation. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

×