Close
#

2-Way Locking Cat Door

Reviews

50% 100% 12
Overall
%
(12)
#
Ratings Breakdown
12 reviews
5 star
3
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
5

Review this product
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing: 2-Way Locking Cat Door
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters
  • * Required Fields

Sort by:
Rating
100%/
100%
Very good value for the money, 11/23/14
by
I've had this door for 10 years and have been very happy with it. I have 4 cats so it's gotten a lot of use. The locking mechanism has gotten loose over time so I now put tape on it to keep it in the open position, but otherwise no issues. Very good value for the money. I would definitely purchase it again.

Rating
20%/
20%
Don't use this, dangerous to cats, 10/29/14
by
On of our cats got his paw caught in between the flap and the frame, and started making horrible screaming sounds before he feed himself. I removed the door immediately. Granted, he's not the smartest kitty out there, but if the flap was flexible it would be better.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear of the incident that happened with your cat and his 2-Way Locking Cat Door! We do hope your cat's paw is okay, and we can understand your concern. As pet owners ourselves, we trust and use our products, and never want a pet to be harmed or injured while using them. Please know that because this door is a locking-style door, the flap is not flexible, but we do offer other doors that may better suit your needs. Our Product Experts are happy to help with any questions or concerns you may have with our available doors. For more information, please view the link below, or contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/doors/door-wall-entry

Rating
100%/
100%
Happy Cats, 5/13/14
by
The door itself was easy enough to install. We are not DIY people and learned a lot about our door. It's an exterior door, metal and glass. THAT was a chore and an adventure to cut! Cutting the door and getting it back on the hinges was the chore. Installing the cat door was easy. Our door is just under 2 inches thick. The frame of the cat door does not cover the 2 inch width, but even those of us who are non-handy/DIY should be able to realizing that going in. We wound up taping the inside where the door was cut. Not a professional job, but it can't be seen. The door is a great price, the door itself was easy to install and it works. No complaints.

Rating
100%/
100%
Cat door works fine , 2/16/14
by
Have 2 of these door put into our interior doors works very well.Cat got use to it right away have had not issues like the other 2 have commented on here. Would buy it again if needed to replace but have had it in for more than 4 years now and no problems.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate your time and feedback on our 2-Way Locking Cat Door. We are glad to know these doors have been working well for you and your cat.

Rating
20%/
20%
Replacement parts, 2/1/14
by
Our door flap broke at the pin due to misuse while the dog and cat were playing. Not a manufacturing defect or product problem. Sometime things break when not used correctly. I was very disappointed though, to learn that replacement flaps are not available for purchase "because of the design". I am a mechanic and have a basic understanding of the physics that would be involved with installing a replacement flapper, if it was available. I know this to be true because I just glued the broken pin back on and re-installed the flapper the same way a replacement flapper would be installed, if available. I would rather install a new flapper. The statement you have posted about design is not true and should be removed.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that the collar design has failed to meet your expectations. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Because the flap is the majority of this pet door's design, we do not offer replacement flaps, but we can offer a loyalty discount on the purchase of another door. If you would like to discuss the issues you have experienced and the possible replacement options, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
20%/
20%
Not good at all, 1/27/14
by
This is a product I took a chance on after perusing the reviews and I must agree with others that gave a poor review. My problem with the product is the flap sticks and there is no way I will allow my cat to use simply because she can get in, but will be trapped in the garage. I tried loosening the screws to no avail. The flap door is just poorly designed as does not work well at all. Should have heeded others warning.

Rating
20%/
20%
Poor design, 1/27/14
by
I keep seeing petsafe respond that this product should fit a door 1 - 2" thick. What they fail to mention or take into account are that more interior doors are hollow core and the is nothing to fill the gap between the exterior and interior panel of the door. A simple 1" overlaying rim would suffice. Contact me and I'll share the design with you. Very poorly thought out!


PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We apologize that our PetSafe 2-Way Cat Door has failed to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the appropriate teams for review. We do value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
40%/
40%
One major flaw with this door, 12/10/13
by
Here's the problem...and I think the response from Petsafe to the previous bad reviews shows that they don't seem to understand the "problem". The door WILL fit any door that's at least 1/2-inch thick. Frankly, I don't see a problem putting this thing on a 10 inch thick vault door if you had to (and could cut a hole all the way through it).

The problem is that the 2 pieces of this cat door DO NOT connect to each other, leaving the (typically) hollow interior of the door exposed. The 2 pieces are just covers for each side of your interior door. All it does is make the hole you cut look pretty...and it gives you a flap that you can lock.

What the manufacturer needs to do is provide a way to fill the gap inside the door so your cat can't stick his/her foot into the gap and get stuck. A simple flexible plastic strip would work just fine with adhesive on one side...or maybe some 2-inch thick vinyl tape.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We apologize that you encountered difficulty while installing your pet door. We understand how the 2-Way Locking Cat Door not including a core cover can be frustrating, but you are welcome to modify and build your own based on your particular needs. We do have other doors that do include a piece to fit in between the parts of the cat door, such as the 4-Way Locking Cat Door with Tunnel which can be viewed by using the link below.

LINK: http://store.petsafe.net/4-way-locking-cat-door-with-tunnel

Rating
20%/
20%
Horrible, 9/25/13
by
There is nothing on the box stating it would not fit a 1 1/2 inch door. First time through my cat's paw slide down into the gap and she screamed. Next her paw got caught between the door flap and the frame screaming again. Sticky tape doesn't hold and screws strip. Most unsafe door. Don't buy! Garbage! Gave it a 1 becsuse 0 was not available!

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that you have encountered a problem with the 2-Way Locking Cat Door. This cat door is designed to work with interior doors that are 1-2 inches thick. Based on the information provided, it should be a good fit for your door. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 and we will be happy to assist you with the installation process.

Rating
80%/
80%
Pretty nice!!!!, 9/1/13
by
A friend got this for the door from the kitchen to the basement so the cats could go do their thing with out the dashound following and I volunteered to install it.

This is very simple, though when they say this fits a "Fits interior doors 1/2 - 2 inches thick" they mean just that, and to install it in the door I was installing it in which was less than 1/4 inch thick, it was simple to trim a wee bit of a piece out of the back trim piece so the magnet fit into it and the trim is flush all the way around. I had to use shorter screws as well, but for this price, any adaption was well worth it. I did clean the door frame, and door before using the double sided tape to make sure it adhered well.
The centering and cutting takes some DIY talent, but it was smooth, and fit in the door so well even with the two sided tape for the back trim piece, though I am going to go back and put caulk around the outside of the back trim to make sure it stays in place. (one could drill holes and put in bolts with nice caps if they had too. If I was installing it in a thicker door, I might sand and paint the inside first if there was a chance it showed, again for the price, its easy.
The cat's fit great, the dog doesn't, and I'm sure it will be fine.
Again for the price this is a good door!!!! No matter what door your putting in you will need some kind of DIY talent, and understanding that your adding something to where ever your putting it, and so your "re-making" something what might not have been made to be used like your intending.
If I wanted a door for my cats I would buy this for an INTERIOR door!

Rating
40%/
40%
Asseble does not connect leaving wood showing. , 8/19/13
by
Agree with lisa's review, lip on pet safe door is not deep enough leaving exposed wood. Two pieces do not connect. Previous door had deeper lip and there wasn't any wood showing.

PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We are sorry to hear that the 2-Way Locking Cat Door does not work with your existing door. This cat flap will fit any interior door that is 1-2 inches (2.5 cm - 5 cm) thick. If your door is wider than 2 inches, additional framing would be necessary. If you would like to discuss this issue with us, please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677.


Rating
40%/
40%
This product does not fit a door 2 inches thick. , 4/16/13
by
The two sides, when put together, are only about 3/4 of an inch thick. If you have a door 2 inches thick, the inside of your door is going to be exposed. It should be stated on the outside of the package how thick of a door it can be attached too without seeing the inside of the door. And the two pieces do not link together. one side screws to the door and the other side just sticks on with sticky tabs. No screws.

×