Close
#

2-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder

See Product Details

20 Customer Reviews

48 100 20
Overall
%
#
Ratings Breakdown
20 reviews
1 star
11
2 star
2
3 star
0
4 star
2
5 star
5

Add your 2-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder review:
  1 2 3 4 5
Rating

Have a question about this product? We're happy to help! Send us your question.

  • Max 2000 characters

Sort by:
Rating
20/
20%
by
Successfully used on two occasions and never worked again. Did the obvious, new battery, two hour increments set to test - nada. Very disappointed. Typically I have had good luck with Petsafe products. It's been more than 30 days so I guess I'm out of luck.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We can completely understand how it would be frustrating to have a feeder that stops working after such a short time, Deb! The 2-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder carries a 1 year warranty and we will reach out to you privately for further support. We want to ensure that you have a great experience with all of our products!

Rating
100/
100%
by
I have a seventeen year old sweet cat. We are an airline family so we do a lot of short trips because we do not have family near by to take care of our guy. We are just not comfortable with others in our home in our absence.

I tested the feeder and it did not work at first, but soon realized that my expectations did not match how the product actually performs. It did perform like it should over the next two days of testing. As a precaution, before leaving I fed my cat a fresh can of wet food and plenty of kibbles, ( a kibbles only diet upsets his stomach ) and several bowls of water in case the battery did not work, or incase I programed it wrong. When we returned home from our trip, both sections were opened, and he had eaten most of the food out of both sides, and some of the kibbles. ( the wet food that I left him was already moldy looking after two days). I am a happy camper. When not in use, I will maintain the feeder by taking out the battery to keep it from calcifying, and make the $1.50 investment to add a brand new battery every trip we take. I have to add, who leaves a mechanical feeder or water dispenser, without a non-mechanical back-up for a beloved pet? Please, machines always fail when the power source fails. Batteries fail and there may be a power outage because of the weather. The most common reason for failure is human err. It is almost never the machine. And so what if it is the machine, your pet depends on your common sense, so think it through. There is never a smart reason to come home to a pet who was without food or water for days like some of the reviews I have read, when the solution is so simple. My review is that the product works well, the price was reasonable for what the dispenser offers, and it is easy to clean and maintain.

Rating
20/
20%
JUNK !!4/23/17
by
Used it for a couple months to feed a stray that we "adopted" ...had TWO of them and BOTH FAILED !! GARBAGE !!



​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're terribly sorry to hear that you had two feeders fail, Dave! We can certainly understand how frustrating that would be. Be sure that the feeders are used only indoors and that a fresh battery is used. Keep in mind that the timers on the feeders must be set to 2 hour increments, so if set to a time less than this, the timers may not function. The feeders carry a one-year warranty that would very likely cover the problem you are experiencing with them, so please give us a call at the number 1-866-738-4379 and we would be happy to assist you with getting them working properly or replaced, if necessary.

Rating
20/
20%
by
WARNING: DO NOT TRUST THIS FEEDER TO WORK!!!!

I travel for work and needed this feeder to keep my cat fed while I am away. With that being said, this is the type of product that I MUST BE ABLE FULLY RELY UPON AND TRUST IMPLICITLY to do what it's supposed to do!!!

I tested it before leaving town (24 and 48 hour increments for each bowl). The feeder worked...but only that one time.

Then when I left town for 4 days, I returned to find that NEITHER OF THE LIDS POPPED OPEN! I was INFURIATED! My cat went 4 days on one bowl of food I left her before leaving town! IT WAS A TOTAL DISASTER!!!

I had inserted a fresh battery before I left (and YES, it was inserted in the correct position, and YES it was a fresh Quantum long-lasting battery right out of the package).

I left town two days ago and tried again. I put in yet another fresh battery. Needless to say, I came back home to find BOTH BOWLS STILL CLOSED!!!

How am I supposed to trust this product to keep my cat fed while I'm away?!?!

This is a crappily made product and the battery encasement is super cheap looking.

And WHAT IS THAT DIAL that looks like a little black gear that is situated right above the battery supposed to do? It's not mentioned ANYWHERE in the "manual".

In addition, there isn't even any sort of cover that keeps the battery protected! If this feeder is anywhere near her water bowl and any water gets on the floor, it can easily seep into the battery encasement and will rust and ruin the entire battery mechanism.

There is NOTHING in the "manual" that helps troubleshooting issues.

Coming home to my half-starved cat after the failure of your product to work was traumatic.

1. WHY DID IT JUST STOP WORKING AFTER ONE TIME?

2. WHAT IS THAT SMALL BLACK GEAR DIAL NEXT TO THE BATTERY USED FOR?

3. HOW CAN I GET THIS CRAPPY THING TO START WORKING AGAIN WITHOUT PUTTING MY CAT'S LIFE AT RISK?

I WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO TRUST THIS FEEDER TO EVER WORK AGAIN!!!!

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the 2-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder. We are sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience with the feeder, and can understand your concerns. We would be happy to have your feeder sent in for testing, and find a way to create a better experience for you. The black dial on the bottom of the feeder has no function. It is a piece from a previous design. We will reach out to you privately so that we can find a way to help ensure that your cat is fed on time.

Rating
20/
20%
Disappointed1/30/17
by
Very cheaply made. Does not come with ice packs to keep the portions fresh as do other feeders I have had before. Returning to [pet retailer] ASAP.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Carol! We are so sorry to hear that the 2-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder did not meet your needs. This feeder is intended to be used with dry food only, and was not designed to be used with an ice pack. Your feedback has been passed along to our design teams. If you have any questions, please reach out to us at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
20/
20%
Terrible!8/25/16
by
I bought 3 different Petsafe 2 meal feeders. 2 from one Petsmart and 1 from another Petsmart.

None of them worked. Turned out, 2 were returns that didn't work; and, the last one- never unwrapped- didn't work either. The timer never worked in ANY of them.

The wasted gasoline and 40 miles of driving back and forth to get another one, and another one.

I won't waste my time or money on this brand any more.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

Sorry to hear about the frustrations you've experienced with the 2-Meal Feeders, Lynne! Please keep in mind that the timers must be set in 2-hour increments. A setting lower than 2 hours will not open the tray. In addition, keep in mind that these are mechanical timers, similar to egg timers, so the time they keep may vary slightly from the more accurate time on a digital clock.

​If you are using a new battery in the feeders and it is inserted correctly, but the timers are still not working at all, please give us a call at the number 1-800-732-2677 and we'd be more than happy to help.

Rating
20/
20%
by
Great concept, terrible execution. My bunnies managed to pop the top open after tugging on the exposed basin lip. The lid is only held down with a small nub of plastic, so it's incredibly easy for it to be jostled loose. On the back where the hinges attach there's a small connected piece of plastic that lifts up, which also makes the lid easy to pop open.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

Thank you for providing feedback on the 2-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder, Androo! We are sorry to hear that this did not work well for your bunnies. This feeder has only been tested with cats and dogs and a different type of feeder may be better suited for your pets. If you have any questions or concerns about our products please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379.

Rating
40/
40%
by
This product worked great for about 2 months. Our cat stopped bothering us to eat and it opened when it was supposed to. However, after two months it has just become a regular food bowl. Our cat figured out he could pry the doors up. One door is completely broken and won't open anymore. He also figured out how to bite the dial and spin it, shortening the set time or even opening it. Not worth the price for only a month or two of use.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us David! We understand how frustrating it can be to experience an issue such as this. It's possible your cat's very curious temperament may be better paired with one of our other feeders. Our product experts would be happy to discuss with you your needs and offer a recommendation. Please give us a call at 1-866-738-4379 and we'll be glad to see how we can help! Our office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. Eastern and Saturdays from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Eastern.

Rating
100/
100%
by
We were taking an extended vacation, and when I calculated how much it would cost us to have our petsitter come in twice a day, I fainted. The problem we needed to solve was how to feed one of our little darlings, who is diabetic, 2x/day. The answer, of course, was an automatic feeder. I AGONIZED for weeks over various brands, configurations, reviews, and in the end opted for this model. I own two of their fountains and have no complaints. I also hoped after reading some of the reviews that PetSafe tweaked their design, especially the battery holder.

We did dry runs for a full two weeks. On Day 2 one of the lids did not pop up as it was programmed. I discovered the plastic tray was askew, tapped it firmly in place, and never had any other issues. I had no trouble with the programming, once I read the instructions, nor did our petsitter. The battery snapped into place, and though it's uncovered, fit so snugly no amount of jostling could loosen it.

To overcome the issue of no replacement trays, I took another reviewer's suggestion and purchased silicone cupcake tins to prepackage and freeze meals. Freezing worked for us because our petsitter came in the evening and loaded the feeder with the next day's meals. Hats off to the reviewer for thinking of the cupcake tins because it was a brilliant idea! The tins fit nicely into the trays, and tray clean up was unnecssary until we got home.

We have a multicat household. The little darling for whom the feeder is intended is a simple girl, follows the rules to the letter, and in fact asks if she can eat before her head goes into the bowl (which is not to say she doesn't try to sneak food when we're not watching, because she can binge like nobody's business!). The other cats don't like her food, and she wouldn't dream of trying to break into it. But, if she were bound and determined to spring it open by wrestling with it, yea, could probably be done. Not easily, but possible.




Rating
20/
20%
by
I was excited to not have to be annoyed to death at 4am everyday anymore, but my cat figured out how to open this in less than a week and eats her breakfast the night before.


​PETSAFE RESPONSE:

We're sorry to hear that your cat was able to break into the feeder, Alona! Please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677 and we would be happy to find out if a replacement would solve the issue or if we need to get you a different type of feeder that will work better for your needs.

Rating
100/
100%
Excellent10/19/15
by
We use this to dispense medication for our dog when we can't. I tied a bell on it to alert my dog there is a "treat". Absolutely a life saver. Literally!

Rating
20/
20%
by
I am going away in two weeks only for 3 days and did not want to use my regular pet sitter for this short amount of time. This seemed easy enough since a previouse one I bought was too hard to program. I wanted to see how it worked before I actually used it..same situation as some others on here. Did not work. Put a new battery in it before I went to bed..woke up and nothing. It will be going back to Petco.

PETSAFE RESPONSE

We are sorry to read that this feeder has not met your needs and expectations! It is possible that with some troubleshooting we can get this feeder up and running. For troubleshooting and assistance please give us a call at 1-800-732-2677. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. EST and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. EST.

Rating
100/
100%
by
I'm on my second auto feeder. This is only because the dog attacked it trying to chew open one of the lids to get to the yummy deliciousness inside. I love love love this product. Now instead of getting up at 4:30AM to the demands of the cat, I can sleep in on the weekends. Works like a charm in the dining room table away from the dog. Thank you for making this product.

Rating
80/
80%
My 3rd feeder1/14/15
by
My previous cat who lived to 20 had an "eating" problem. You left it, he ate it so when I was gone all day he would have nothing. I purchased 2, one for home and one for my parents' home. Always worked well. That was maybe 15 years ago. My current feline was diagnosed with diabetes and where he used to just nibble all day, now he devours all food at once! Can't have that. Need to give him smaller, more frequent meals so I took out my 2 old ones from the closet, only 1 still worked. The motor could be heard waaaay down the all but it worked. Then I came home and it had not move and the motor was sluggish. Hey, I got my money's worth!
Anyway, I just received the new one last night and I was excited until the battery was in and I heard nothing. Tried several batteries - nothing. If you put the motor right by your ear, you could hear something going. Guess you guys made a quieter motor! Tried it first and it worked. Put it for middle of the night and it worked. I am pleased. I only hope this one lasts as long as my other ones did!

Rating
20/
20%
Quit working12/15/14
by
Worked for about 1 month, then quit. Replaced battery, still not working. Checked battery voltage, it measured 1.6 which is a full AA battery. The design is quite simple (which is good), but it uses a cheap clock mechanism which I believe has a hard time driving the gears. Don't waste your money.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that your 2-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder is no longer functioning! We can understand how frustrating this can be, and we would be happy to help! This product uses dials that are very similar to egg timers to operate. Once the battery is inserted, simply set the timer in any 2 hour increment by turning the dial clockwise (turning the dial counterclockwise can damage the timer). You may hear a faint "ticking" sound. If the product is still not working properly, please know that it is backed by a 1 year warranty, and our Product Experts are standing by to offer troubleshooting and replacement options for you. For more information, call 1-800-732-2677.

Rating
80/
80%
by
I had the same experience as other reviewers. The first one I received was a dud. I put in the battery, and nothing happened. However, I then called the number I found in someone else's review who had had the same problem, and I was immediately sent a replacement. (No charge to me, and no requirement that I send the non-working one back.) The replacement works fine, just as advertised. Granted, one can't fine tune the setting, since it only sets in two hour increments. Also, my pet, a dog, is not aggressive about trying to get into it. He just goes into the kitchen fairly often to see whether it's opened yet or not. I suspect a more aggressive pet could nudge it to open. By the way, the lids pop open noiselessly. I expected the dog would learn to hear the opening sound, but that hasn't happened because it is so silent.

Rating
40/
40%
by
The product works as it should. Once you figure out how to set the timer to open when you want it to, it does what it should do. The problem is that it is too easy to open if you have a "gifted" cat. My cat is highly curious and likes to open drawers and other things he isn't supposed to, so this product was a piece of cake for him. I watched him pop these open in just a couple of minutes.

Rating
100/
100%
by
This product works great. It always my cat to eat at designated times. Also helps when I am traveling.

Rating
20/
20%
doesn't work5/9/14
by
I also bought this product just yesterday. I put a new battery into it and set one tray for 2 hours and one for 4 hours. I wanted to see how it worked before I had to use it while I was away. I noticed after about 3 hours it was still on the counter and closed. The dials never moved. I really wished it had worked. I will be returning it to Petco in the morning.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that you have had trouble with your 2-Meal Feeder. Please know that this product is backed by a 1 year limited warranty, and we would be happy to offer troubleshooting and replacement assistance. Please contact our Customer Care Center at 1-800-732-2677 so that we may provide a possible solution.

Rating
20/
20%
Doesn't work2/11/14
by
I purchased this feeder to find out it does Not work. I tried 5 batteries and the timer never moved. I returned it and looked at another one to see if it was just the one I bought. But when I put the battery (new battery) in it didn't work either. I recommend skipping this product when you see it on the shelf at your local pet store.

PETSAFE RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear that the 2-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder failed to meet your expectations. The timer on the feeder is not required to move to operate properly. The dial is to set the time in which you'd like the pet to access the meal. Please make sure that you are setting the dial in 2 hour increments only. We also suggest not to turn the dial counter-clockwise, as this can damage the product. Please know that the 2-Meal Automatic Pet Feeder does come with a 1 year limited warranty. You can review the warranty information at the link provided below.

LINK: http://www.petsafe.net/support/policies-and-terms/warranty-information